BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4
( 13889 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7488)

4 Star

(2163)

3 Star

(1389)

2 Star

(819)

1 Star

(2030)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

275 out of 466 people found this review helpful.

Recommended, but Should be Available on Nook

This is a great read and E. L. James certainly has some great storytelling techniques. The author does a great job of keeping the reader on the edge and she adds amazingly disturbing details in everything she writes. Last, a great book like this should undoubtedly be av...
This is a great read and E. L. James certainly has some great storytelling techniques. The author does a great job of keeping the reader on the edge and she adds amazingly disturbing details in everything she writes. Last, a great book like this should undoubtedly be available on Nook.

posted by CharleneVDavis on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1355 out of 1616 people found this review helpful.

Fifty shades of a cheesy romance novel

So I just finished this book, and I'll admit it def. had my attention. And yes it was a fast and easy read. So for entertainment factor I give it 2 stars. HOWEVER, do not be fooled...I would NOT consider this well written, nor is this close to the best book I've ever re...
So I just finished this book, and I'll admit it def. had my attention. And yes it was a fast and easy read. So for entertainment factor I give it 2 stars. HOWEVER, do not be fooled...I would NOT consider this well written, nor is this close to the best book I've ever read. One of the other reviewers mentioned phrases repeated over and over again, and I couldn't agree more. At multiple points, it was as if the story was moving in circles. Sex scene after sex scene...which as you can imagine will keep you reading! So, if you are looking for a mindless romance novel full of descriptive sex scenes.... this is your book. But if you're looking for good literature with depth of characters and story...move on.

posted by 7482562 on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1728 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 87
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Fifty shades of a cheesy romance novel

    So I just finished this book, and I'll admit it def. had my attention. And yes it was a fast and easy read. So for entertainment factor I give it 2 stars. HOWEVER, do not be fooled...I would NOT consider this well written, nor is this close to the best book I've ever read. One of the other reviewers mentioned phrases repeated over and over again, and I couldn't agree more. At multiple points, it was as if the story was moving in circles. Sex scene after sex scene...which as you can imagine will keep you reading! So, if you are looking for a mindless romance novel full of descriptive sex scenes.... this is your book. But if you're looking for good literature with depth of characters and story...move on.

    1355 out of 1616 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Horrible

    I was sucked in by all the great press. It reads worse than a Harlequin Romance. The characters are pithy and stereotyped. Uggh, don't waste your time or money. And there are two more to come? I am fearful that so many people seem to think this is a great book. :(

    870 out of 1148 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Recommended, but Should be Available on Nook

    This is a great read and E. L. James certainly has some great storytelling techniques. The author does a great job of keeping the reader on the edge and she adds amazingly disturbing details in everything she writes. Last, a great book like this should undoubtedly be available on Nook.

    275 out of 466 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    Oh my, she flushed. My inner goddess cannot believe she wasted s

    Oh my, she flushed. My inner goddess cannot believe she wasted six hours of her life reading this nonsense. I do not know that I have ever read a more poorly-written book. Did anyone even edit this book, or spell-check the content? The only thing I enjoyed about reading it was that I was able to read it on my iPad. That and the fact that I could hit "delete" when I finished it.

    238 out of 322 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    I guess I just expected something more after all of the buzz. I

    I guess I just expected something more after all of the buzz. I was disappointed.

    209 out of 290 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    This book is depressing. That's the only way I know how to descr

    This book is depressing. That's the only way I know how to describe it. It felt like there was a dark cloud over my head while I was reading. I put the book down and felt the need to sit out in the sun for awhile. No exaggeration. The characters are horrible. Is this how young women think and act these days? Like completely clueless dolts? Are we supposed to think Christian Grey is sexy? Because he gave off a serious Ted Bundy vibe to me. I've read my fair share of romance novels and bodice rippers. I have even read and enjoyed the Twilight series. But I have never read such low quality writing in my life. How in the world did this get published? That's another aspect that depresses me. The English language has been butchered to a carcass. "Thomas Hardy" (whom the narrator contuinually mentions) is rolling over in his grave. Save your money, please.

    186 out of 249 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    $21.00? Get real!! Unfortunately, this originated from a Twilig

    $21.00? Get real!!
    Unfortunately, this originated from a Twilight fan fiction titled "Master of the Universe." Google it and add "PDF" to get a copy.
    Basically, the author just changed Edward/Bella into Christian/Anna. Unbelievable.

    140 out of 225 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This took my breath away!

    Simply put, this is one of the best books I've ever read.

    57 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I am ashamed to admitt I fell for all the media hype this book h

    I am ashamed to admitt I fell for all the media hype this book has generated. But the bottom line is Fifty Shades of Grey is poorly written with redundant dialog, absurd characters and a ridiculous story line. I am so surprised (and a little concerned) by the number of readers who gave it 5-Stars - were we reading the same book? PLEASE, PLEASE, do not waste your time or an ounce of your intellegence by reading this book, let alone the next two.

    55 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    I vomited after reading this "book"

    I love good erotic romance, and was so eager to pick this up after it was recommended by numerous friends. I am beginning to question their sanity. To put it plainly, this book sucked. It was horrible. And it wasn’t just the writing that was atrocious. If you have a thing for misogynistic men who have an oedipal complex, then this is the book for you! The main male character is so deeply emotionally disturbed that it is sickening and disturbing. And Ana is a pathetic young woman who clearly has no self-respect. I am sick of novels that portray women as weak and pathetic; willing to do anything for their mate. This is NOT an accurate portrayal of BDSM at all, and I am appalled the series is so popular. This book made me angry – I can’t believe so many women are into this trash. But I guess that explains why so many women are in messed up relationships and allow men to treat them like dogs. Happy reading!

    52 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Must read

    Please put it on the nook great story!!

    42 out of 95 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Sexy and Hot. Reminded me of Twilight, but with more sex.

    Sexy and Hot. Reminded me of Twilight, but with more sex.

    41 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Why are there so many anonymous 5 star reviews???

    It would appear someone is attempting to pad these reviews. It's probably Barnes and Noble, since they want to sell more books. I hope people take the time to read the real reviews and not just the high 5 star count, which is not an accurate reflection of what real readers thought! Here is an HONEST review by someone who read this book and the other two, also: Don't waste your money! These books are so cliche and predictable and unoriginal! What is so special about them? Why all the fuss? I don't understand why people are making such a big deal. Boring, predictable and there are even spelling and grammar errors! This is no Pulitzer Prize author, people! Anyone who reads this contemporary erotic romance genre and/or dom/sub/bondage type novels regularly will come back with a negative review for this book. There are so many better writers and novels out there in this genre. The BDSM in these books makes no sense. Specifically, it seems like the author can't make up her mind about whether Christian turned into a Dom just because it turned him on or because he's psychologically damaged (which is an overused and inaccurate theme in many D/s romance novels). Nothing about this relationship is realistic. How about an original idea? Don't be another customer who is fooled into paying 30 bucks for these e-novels! Not worth it.

    41 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    IF YOU THINK BANGING ROCK TOGETHER IS FUN..

    Then you will enjoy one of the worse pieces of garbage ever published! This book was bad and the author should be ashamed. I can only guess that is the reason for the initials . My "inner goddess" turned into Athena and wanted to burn this book. "oh my" I was angry! How in the world could such amaturistic crap end up on the best sellers list. The porn bored me and then they went back to talking! The main character Ana is the most pathetic female I have ever read . I had no desire to root for her and had no clue what century she was from. Then there is Grey. We are suppose to feel as if he is a guy we would all secretly want. If I wanted a sociopath then yes. The writing must be intended to appeal to the lowest common denominator because I felt my brain cells sliding out of my head the more I read. Never Again!!

    41 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    You Will Love This!

    A wonderful book, by a wonderful writer. I've read most of Ms. James' writing and love, love, love them all. This is an adult book, so keep that in mind if you select to read it and doesn't disappoint. This is part of a trilogy and the story is wonderful. This is a deeply moving story with unforgettable characters in an exciting setting. It will keep you on the edge of your seat! What a rollicking, smexy, fun ride! SS

    41 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    To All the Nay sayers....

    So i really liked this book. I thought it was really great actually. I'm not sure why people think Ana sounds like a 15 year old girl because frankly she sounds like most 20 something girls that are out there. Actually her vocabulary is higher than most aside from she says "oh my!" and talks about her "inner goddess". Hello! that is something a 20 year old might say. Especially a 20year old virgin... if those still exist. ;-) I guess some people can't relate to the mind set of 21 year old girl, who is for the most part innocent.

    So to all the book bashers on here i say, if you can do a better job then write your own story, we need more good authors out there anyways. If you didn't like this book then give it a low rating and move on, no need to verbally bash the author just because, for some unfathomable reason, you don't remember what it's like to be that young and yes, to talk immaturely at times, but hey, maybe you were all just perfectly mature and no nonsense in your 20's unlike the rest of the world. :-P

    It is a lovely book, and yes does sound like Twilight at times, but for all you adult twilight fans out there who were left with more to desire then this is a great book. If you're a hopeless romantic who doesn't mind a little kink, then this is a good book to read.

    39 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    Suckered In

    The fact that this book is on the top of the bestseller list makes me believe that the Mayan calendar may be correct after all. Like many before me, I wanted to see what all the fuss was about. What I found was a poorly written, angsty piece of work that does not deserve the praise people seem to enjoy heaping on it. The main female character, Ana Steele, is annoying enough to make Bella Swan look like Elizabeth Bennet, and the sex scenes weren't anything to write home about. Additionally, the fact that Ana continues to tell Christian that something is wrong with him does not exactly make for a well-adjusted relationship. As someone accustomed to reading romance novels, I cannot fathom why people are so titillated by this book. If you, like me, can't stand not knowing what all the fuss is about, do yourself a favor and get it from a friend or the library, but do not get suckered in to buying it.

    31 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Must Read

    The best Twi fanfiction ever. Besides that fact, really well written. I could not put this down.

    26 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    Mindless drivel! Don't get me wrong I love a good erotic read, b

    Mindless drivel! Don't get me wrong I love a good erotic read, but this was just plain stupid. Who really talks like this....a 27 year old gazillionaire who uses language like a 17th century scholar....and the blinding, beautiful "virgin" who boldly asks a complete stranger, "Are you gay?" Really?! The dialogue is atrocious and so unbelievable!! This book was possibly one of the worst I have ever read, and the fact I paid money for this pile of garbage makes this experience even worse!

    25 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    This book was recommended to me. I looked up reviews before buyi

    This book was recommended to me. I looked up reviews before buying it for the nook. I have no idea what the big fuss is. I only have a list of things that made me feel disgruntled with the book. It took me forever to read it because I didn't want to come back to it but I had paid for it and wanted to hold out until the end for some redeeming quality, but none manifested by the last page.The writing is terrible. Some of the sex scenes are repetitive. Her reaction to everything is "oh my" and she keeps talking about how good looking he is. They keep calling each other by their last names and it's so very annoying bc the author wants us to think it's sexy. There's no subtlety at all. Everything is spelled out for us. The author also says things via the character such as (paraphrased) "my mother's been through 4 marriages. It's safe to say she knows something about men." seems counter intuitive to me. n'est-ce pas?

    Then there was all the campy "smart ass" exchanges between them that i thought was boring and cringe-worthy. I think the author wanted us to think that the main character was some woman who was above it all and then she met this guy and fell hard for him. Instead, to me, she seemed like some close minded shallow girl who is smitten with some rock star or something. She yo-yos between feeling completely unworthy to getting on her high horse and only does things to stay with him because he's so dreamy, flies his own plane, plays piano, is tortured, speaks languages and is a billionaire. Give me a break. I honestly did not see any good reason why she fell in love with him at all. There was nothing between them really to merit that happening on either end. And.. also, the inner goddess stuff.. omg..

    That being said, the idea of it is appealing and interesting but I guess the execution and quality of work was not up to par for my tastes. To each their own. And sure I wouldn't mind that kind of bedroom life but I also, in my every day life expect to fend for myself.. not make an attempt to fend for myself while some billionaire takes care of me. Don't want a lap top? Then don't accept it. Don't want a car? drive yourself home! This book is obviously written for the twilight brand of girls who want to wait around for tortured billionaire mr. right. ugh. Spare me.

    25 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1728 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 87