Customer Reviews for

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4
( 13805 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7449)

4 Star

(2152)

3 Star

(1378)

2 Star

(814)

1 Star

(2012)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

603 out of 781 people found this review helpful.

If you're on the fence, take my advice...

I have never felt so passionate about writing a book review. Before choosing to dive into these books myself, I read hundreds of reviews. These reviews left me unsure about spending the $30 to read the trilogy. I can't express how glad I am that I did. There are a few i...
I have never felt so passionate about writing a book review. Before choosing to dive into these books myself, I read hundreds of reviews. These reviews left me unsure about spending the $30 to read the trilogy. I can't express how glad I am that I did. There are a few important points I want to make: So many of the bad reviews consist of comments regarding the repetitive use of words or phrases such as "inner goddess" or "beguile." Come on now, who cares? Other reviews bluntly call this "PORN." I could not disagree more. Does EL James use the same word twice in a sentence? Does she use the phrase "inner goddess" multiple times throughout the works? Did I have to use my dictionary and/or thesaurus countless times while reading the series? The answer to all of those questions is YES. However, when reading, are these the sorts of things readers should really be focused on? My answer to that question is NO. So what if I had to use my thesaurus? So what if Ana and Christian talk differently than most of my American friends in some conversations? This was a beautiful piece of fiction. Rather than nagging about the fact that I had to look up several words, I saw it as an opportunity to expand my vocabulary, which I absolutely did. Now onto the fact that some people consider these books "PORN." That's absurd. Are there countless sexual encounters, most of them very graphic? Yes. Firstly, when you go to read these books, you are likely well aware of these facts. So, don't complain about it AFTER you read them. Secondly, I do not practice, nor do I know much about the BDSM sexual lifestyle. However, I feel that the BDSM lifestyle is essential to the story of Christian Grey. So are the numerous sexual encounters. The sex and the BDSM aspect play an important role in the story. Without it, the GROWTH of the characters would not be as evident. Christian is a troubled man with a disturbing past, which has led him to choose this type of lifestyle. However, Ana saves him. And, that is what makes this such a beautiful love story... Not to mention, the beginning of most new, steamy relationships does consist of a lot of sex. It's reality for most people. Here's another thing most reviews don't mention: These books are LAUGH OUT LOUD funny! The email exchanges between Ana and Christian had me giggling nonstop. In addition to giving me the giggles, the characteris in this story also warmed my heart, scared me to death, made me furious, and even made me cry. This trilogy has it all! My advice: ignore the bad reviews; ignore the repetition of some words and phrases throughout the book; look past all the sex. See what this story TRULY is: a BEAUTIFUL love story that is the perfect example of how love can change even the darkest of souls. I will certainly be reading the future works of EL James. The Fifty Shades Trilogy is by far my favorite series to date. If I could give 10 stars, I certainly would. READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by a_shipman on May 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1348 out of 1603 people found this review helpful.

Fifty shades of a cheesy romance novel

So I just finished this book, and I'll admit it def. had my attention. And yes it was a fast and easy read. So for entertainment factor I give it 2 stars. HOWEVER, do not be fooled...I would NOT consider this well written, nor is this close to the best book I've ever re...
So I just finished this book, and I'll admit it def. had my attention. And yes it was a fast and easy read. So for entertainment factor I give it 2 stars. HOWEVER, do not be fooled...I would NOT consider this well written, nor is this close to the best book I've ever read. One of the other reviewers mentioned phrases repeated over and over again, and I couldn't agree more. At multiple points, it was as if the story was moving in circles. Sex scene after sex scene...which as you can imagine will keep you reading! So, if you are looking for a mindless romance novel full of descriptive sex scenes.... this is your book. But if you're looking for good literature with depth of characters and story...move on.

posted by 7482562 on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 814 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 41
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    I read this book to understand what all of the fuss my girl frie

    I read this book to understand what all of the fuss my girl friends were talking about. Holy cow I have NEVER encountered a more WHINY character in my life. I practically threw my Nook across the room she pissed me off so bad. I will not be reading the other books in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh, my! Or as Anastasia Steele would say ¿ jeez, holy crap, cra

    Oh, my! Or as Anastasia Steele would say – jeez, holy crap, crap, and double crap! I must confess, looking at the popularity of this thing, in a moment of personal weakness, my curiosity got the best of me, and I decided to read this. Now, how to get it out of my brain? Jeez, it’s like walking in on your parents’ having sex. I can’t bring myself to write a review of it, since all I want to do is burn it out of my brain. Jeez, I’d better make an appointment with Dr. Flynn, but seeing as how this shrink hasn’t done too well with Christian Grey, I think I’d better come up with a better option. I know – I’ll call Men in Black and get them to use that ‘flasher thingy thing’ on me.
    Probably the most annoying thing for me was not the overblown sex scenes, but was how often Anastasia says ‘jeez,’ sounding like a twelve-year-old. I had thoughts of Theodore Cleaver in Leave It to Beaver saying, “Jeez, Wally, mom always lets you do stuff I don’t get to do.” This is a strange thought to have when the book you’re reading is an erotic romance.
    Okay, so why did I keep reading? I had read some of the reviews that said it had a surprise ending. Jeez, it was no surprise to me. Actually, if she had done anything else, now that would have been a surprise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Don't waste your precious time...

    I just don't understand the reason why all these women and men, too, are grasping for some deep understanding of the story behind this novel. There isn't one. It's not that I don't appreciate the entertainment, but for a true lover of novels, stop. Don't buy it. If you want to try it out, borrow it from one of the 9,000 people who have reviewed it! This is a novel about sex, dominating, and submission. Not a read for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Ok at best

    This book had so much good press i had to read it. It kept my interest to an extent but i dont understand the hype. Its not well written. Its extremely boring at some points. Theres no good story line. Its okay at best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Hmmm

    It's tough to write good dialogue that engages you in the characters lives and personalities. I think this author has potential to be much better and I blame the editors for not doing what they are supposted to do. With decent editing and about four more rewrites which would eliminate things like biting lips and too many porn scenes and not enough "fleshing" out the plot lines, this might be a much better book. The characters, although flawed, are developed well. An editor isn't editing by allowing obvious 20 something perceptions to be voiced about how all older people ( ie 30 and 40) looked the same ( give me a break ...I'm 60 and that put me off.) As a human being and mother the subject matter concerned me greatly ... I didn't raise my children to be victims and/ or enjoy giving real pain... and if the author had ever been in a truly painful and life threatening situation it would not be romantisized or promoted. There is nothing new under the sun in sexual games. I didn't find it sexy...just disturbing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Terrible - Don't bother

    I originally wanted to read this book because of all the hype surrounding it. Good thing I didn't have high expectations. The actual story line (once you get through all 3 books) is as dramatic as you can get. I got tired of the at-least-once-a-chapter sex scenes. The writing is very plain except for the random word thrown in here and there that I had to look up - not sure if the author used a thesaurus to make her writing "better".

    I will admit, I read all three books solely to have some closure to the books and to find out how messed up Mr. Fifty Shades really is. I got to the third book and was just reading to be done with the series. It won't be a trilogy I'll be reading again or recommending to someone else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    I was not impressed

    I decided to read this after all I kept hearing about how great it was, I was very disappointed. I don't see why it's been on the best seller's list for so long. The way it was put together sounded like a high schooler wrote it, I wouldn't suggest wasting your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Okay book

    I read it ang its all porn everytime i see it it make me sick

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Erotic butt Erotic but repetative

    While the sex scenes were erotic, they became the same old same old. The abuse and degradition were ... disturbing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Twilight xxx

    Everything about this book reminds me of the Twilight series, with lots of sex... The characters, the relationships, Ana's job, her mom, her dad, Christian is adopted and plays the piano, there is even a Jacob wannabe "Jose". Not a bad book, but not very original either.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    It's all Hype, I only finished it because I paid $9.99 for it

    I honestly think I was taken to the cleaners when I paid for this e-book. I only finished it because I paid $9.99 for it. I knew ahead of time that it was literary porn but because of the hype, I thought it would be well written and have a good story line. I was wrong, it never explains anything, it just leaves you hanging so that maybe you'll buy the next one. I won't be buying it and I really doubt that I would read them even if they were free, I don't think the author is that good an author. That last judgement may be just me because I don't like first person narratives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    I bought this book b/c of all the hype of it but I am not a fan!

    I bought this book b/c of all the hype of it but I am not a fan! Really hard to get into. I found myself skipping pages to just get a little further into it. Two thumbs down for me. But that is just my opinion!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Fifty shades of sorrow

    I told myself that I wasn't going to give into the hype of reading this book....every woman out there was reading it and smirking, giving the books bad reviews...who are we to judge anyway eh? But needless to say my inner goddess got the best of me and here I am writing about this book, that clearly everybody out there that gave this a bad report should be spanked! It wasn't the best, it was't the worst, we could have spent our money else were, but it's really like the lottery..hey ya never know! Needless to say the story line did get lost, and Christan and Ana both were pathetic at times but lets give Ms. James an A ? Sure what the heck. You just at times wanted to put the book down and say huh? The ending stunk! It could have been better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Not great

    Fifty Shades had my attention during some parts, but overall I did not enjoy this book because the characters were obnoxious and undeveloped and the dialogue was embarrassing. I don't have a problem with smut books, but I don't typically read them and fell for all the media craze. I could not wait for this to end because it was such a waste of my time. I should have stopped reading about 50 pages in, but was hoping it would live up to all the hype. Don't waste your time, money or brain cells on this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Male Perspective

    Ok, I’m going to state up front that I am male. So that probably automatically excludes me from truly grasping what the heck the big deal is about this trilogy. Sure there is sex, a lot of sex, but really after I read the fourth sex scene I found the writer using the same prose and it gets a little bit repetitive. And I felt dirty reading about it sometimes. I guess I understand the fact that women would love a twenty something year old, handsome CEO of a man, but at his core, Christian grey is a small minded, self centered, lonely shell of a man. My wife enjoyed this book, but when I asked her if I could talk to her like Christian does Ana would she really find that attractive? I already know the answer is NO. Any guy that speaks to a woman in the direct and demanding way Christian does will find himself without women pretty quickly, at least a respectable one. I pressed on to finish the book and wasn’t overly engaged. I’ll stick to mystery and thrillers over fantasy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    80% of this book consist of twisted sex scenes. Don't get me a w

    80% of this book consist of twisted sex scenes. Don't get me a wrong, I don't mind a few in a book where I actually care about the characters and it feels like the right moment. However, this book is just... yeah wow. Sorry if you find out your girlfriend doesn't go into screaming orgasms when you start sucking on her toes (wth?).

    I gave it 2 stars simply because I'm impressed the author was able to convince her Publishers to publish this.

    It's no wonder a lot of middle aged women gravitate towards this. It's easy reading (like most popular books are) and isn't as "dirty" as simply watching pornography. Just don't use this to spice up your sex life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Hype

    I was ok, but I've read better "houe wife porn" so to speak.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Sick

    Fifty shades of stupid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Not nearly as good as everyone says it is. Poorly written. A lot

    Not nearly as good as everyone says it is. Poorly written. A lot of redundancy. I got sick of Anastasia's murmuring inner goddess. The only reason I'm still reading the series is to find out what these deep dark secrets are.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Repepative and whiney

    The woman main character of this book was a dumb whore(even though the author tried to make it out to be that she was having a mortality struggle through the whole book-she still appeared trashy) who has no self-respect or self-esteem. That said, the whole book was whiny and intollerable, and very hard to push through at times. The male lead role was a selfish, controlling freakazoid who belonged in the loony bin for his bipolar disorder. He was abusive, rather stalkerish, moody, disturbed, condescending, and had faaarr too much testoserone running through his veins, and didnt believe he deserved love-not his own or others. This book was repetative, inappropriate, and frankly just an outright run of the mill, sex driven, trashy book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 814 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 41