Customer Reviews for

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 1735 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(800)

4 Star

(236)

3 Star

(132)

2 Star

(136)

1 Star

(431)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

275 out of 466 people found this review helpful.

Recommended, but Should be Available on Nook

This is a great read and E. L. James certainly has some great storytelling techniques. The author does a great job of keeping the reader on the edge and she adds amazingly disturbing details in everything she writes. Last, a great book like this should undoubtedly be av...
This is a great read and E. L. James certainly has some great storytelling techniques. The author does a great job of keeping the reader on the edge and she adds amazingly disturbing details in everything she writes. Last, a great book like this should undoubtedly be available on Nook.

posted by CharleneVDavis on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1356 out of 1617 people found this review helpful.

Fifty shades of a cheesy romance novel

So I just finished this book, and I'll admit it def. had my attention. And yes it was a fast and easy read. So for entertainment factor I give it 2 stars. HOWEVER, do not be fooled...I would NOT consider this well written, nor is this close to the best book I've ever re...
So I just finished this book, and I'll admit it def. had my attention. And yes it was a fast and easy read. So for entertainment factor I give it 2 stars. HOWEVER, do not be fooled...I would NOT consider this well written, nor is this close to the best book I've ever read. One of the other reviewers mentioned phrases repeated over and over again, and I couldn't agree more. At multiple points, it was as if the story was moving in circles. Sex scene after sex scene...which as you can imagine will keep you reading! So, if you are looking for a mindless romance novel full of descriptive sex scenes.... this is your book. But if you're looking for good literature with depth of characters and story...move on.

posted by 7482562 on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    R-Rated retelling of Twilight where the supernatural element is

    R-Rated retelling of Twilight where the supernatural element is replaced with S&M. Although I like the story (because Stephenie Meyer did a great job), I am really surprised that the author hasn't been sued for plagerism. From story structure to dialogue, the similarities are really insurmountable.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    Overall the book kept me interested but like everyone else is sa

    Overall the book kept me interested but like everyone else is saying it was definitely repetitive. Also, Ana Steele kind of reminded me of Bella Swan from Twilight so it was a little weird at first but then you realize it's a more mature book. Anyway, the whole inner goddess thing was really starting to annoy me but I kept reading and I think it was worth it because Fifty Shades Darker was better! Also they're really easy reads if you're just looking to get lost in a quick book... but seriously who wouldn't want to be Anastasia Steele? ; )

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Here's a shocker...I didn't read the book yet. I did, however, r

    Here's a shocker...I didn't read the book yet. I did, however, rate it as "good" and here's why: Because all the bad reviews give an aspiring writer like me hope. I did read an excerpt from one of the chapters (chapter 1) and found it to be easy reading for sure. The fact that this book got so many bad reviews, yet here it is - a best-seller and an upcoming movie to boot! Just goes to show that no matter who you are, no matter how many mistakes you make, there is still hope for that one shot of success. Albeit rare, you never know.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What was all the talk about this book. I guess i expected someth

    What was all the talk about this book. I guess i expected something else. But i won't lie the book will keep your attention. The e-mail between Ana christian was great. I guess christian lifestyle BDSM.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    I enjoyed this book. Christian is mysterious, dark, and sexy.

    I enjoyed this book. Christian is mysterious, dark, and sexy. Ana is intelligent, young, and trying to navigate through her emotions. The sex is really hot, but it isn't shocking. It plays on darker sexual fantasies and the deep down desire to be dominated by a smoldering man. The writing was better than I expected. It's a good summer read and find myself drawn in. I'll read book 2!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Entertaining enough but not unique

    I heard this book was a break through and unique, but I didn't find either description accurate. Overly hot guy and inexperience and insecure girl. Ana's character was all over the place emotionally and very irritating at times. Christian's character was equally perplexing, but I'm thinking this is what the author wanted. Ana is insecure in her looks and doesn't understand how Christian could possibly want her, but then she somehow grows a pair in various parts of the book to tell him off. Doesn't make sense. Also, her over-analyzing mind drove me over the wall and I skipped paragraphs of her over-thingking things. I guess the whole time I read I was thinking 'poop or get off the pot.' BDSM is not explained in this book as it should be and the uproar about how explicit the sex scenes are is rubbish. I've read more explicit stuff than this and it had nothing to do with BDSM.
    The author was repetitive using the same words or phrases to explain things and it's very noticeable. I'd try and find this at a used book store before buying it new, or borrowing it from a friend. I'm paying the full $10 again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    I try to see the good in most things, so I can say that this boo

    I try to see the good in most things, so I can say that this book did make me laugh-out-loud a few times, however if you are looking for a book to ignite your "Inner Goddess," this is not it. I never felt warm on the inside, but I did feel disgusted on at least one occasion. Hard to imagine this is a trilogy, but I guess there are relationships out there that are sicker than this one, just not used to reading the details. A few times, I felt like one of the main character's personality shifted & I found myself reading his dialogue in a different voice--maybe this was error on the writer's part. I don't consider myself the best reader, and I managed to read it in two days, so yes the read is easy & it kept me interested in what would happen next. Overall, I'm glad I read it to satisfy my curiosity, and I recommend the same.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    Ehh... I've read better

    I was really Hoping this would be better. First of all, how many times is a person going to flush in one page?? Also the fact that she used the phrase "my sex" made me feel like a 4 year old with a code word for vagina. Did anyone else note the similarities to twilight? I know this started as a fanficition with something to do with twilight..but seriously. She has a crappy car that Christian hates and insists she get a new fancy car (hello Edward) her mo couldn't come to graduation because her husband hurt his leg...same tng happened in elclisp with Bella's mom and Phill. Her mo has all theses crazy hair brained ideas...like bell as mom. Kate reminds me of Jessica (only more extreme) . It just felt like she couldn't get her own ideas so she stole ideas from her inspiration or whatever twilight was for her.

    I will admit that I thought it was a good mindless read for the sex, but Christian as a person drove me nuts...and I can't stand when women are portrayed as weak.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    I've bought best seller hardcovers for less than this paperback.

    I've bought best seller hardcovers for less than this paperback. I have heard good things about this series but $20 for a paperback is ridiculous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2014

    I enjoyed it but , I liked "Just Like That" by E J Coh

    I enjoyed it but , I liked "Just Like That" by E J Cohen better...
    It was steamy and funny...what could be better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    OK. I will admit the book is no classic but come on....all of yo

    OK. I will admit the book is no classic but come on....all of you knew what the book was about and heard enough to know it was going to be before starting it.  I have to laugh to myself at those of you who are "trashing" this book but still managed to finish it.  All I know is , when I am reading a book and not enjoying it I stop reading and and just go on to another book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    So I just finished reading the 1st book. I write myself and I ca

    So I just finished reading the 1st book. I write myself and I can't tell you how badly I cringed as I found myself reading the same words over and over again. The writing was pretty terrible, but if you can get past that...which was pretty hard for me to do...it's actually not as horrible as some may think. Yes she should have changed up the word "murmur." I can't tell you how many times I saw that word and I wanted to scream. And since this was originally a twilight fanfiction there are so many twilight references. That go annoying, but the story line is interesting. I don't think I've seen a story quite like this....it's a bit fascinating. I got the same thrill from reading it as I did from twilight and I enjoy getting lost in a book. This was her very first story so maybe next time she'll learn to change up the words more. Overall I give her 3 1/2 stars....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    It wasn┬┐t good nor bad, just a story. I read about in USA Today

    It wasn’t good nor bad, just a story. I read about in USA Today and found myself piqued by all the controversy and such surrounding the book so I decided to read it to see what all the fuss was about. There was nothing in the book that hasn’t been done in any other erotic or even some more risqué romance novels a million times before. Each character that appears in the book is a walking cliché going through the same repetitive motions of other literary characters (not as smoothly as they did I might add) ; the naïve school girl who blushes at the drop of a hat and has an “inner goddess” and “conscious” who wore glasses if I’m not mistaken but don’t quote me because I hardly remember (I lost interest in the half-way point of the book and forced my way though it to a predictable “cliffhanger” ending) falls in love with “Mr. Dangerous” and helps him to overcome his dark and troubled past. That is not to say that one can’t make a story that follows the same plot interesting with a shocking revelation about the characters, Ms. James tried to do that with the entire BDSM stick that the male lead had but it falls flat in the execution, it was uninspired and seems forced; that’s not to say she didn’t spark my interest in these characters enough to continue to read their story but it’s nothing to write home about. In the end, she wrote a marginally interesting story with clichéd characters and a predictable plot but not one as terrible or great as others make it out to be but, as in all forms of entertainment, its value is in the eye of the beholder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    This book was very interesting :) I liked it .. I only read this

    This book was very interesting :) I liked it .. I only read this book because everyone was talking about how amazing this series is and i have to say it was a good series but not what i thought it was goin to be like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    This book was an okay book if one is in to very clear detailing.

    This book was an okay book if one is in to very clear detailing. The book is explicit in certain aspects and depends on the person reading it weather they will enjoy it or not. In this book Christian and Ana become extremely close friends to the point they end up eventually spending multiple hours of their day together, bonding and creating many memories. This book is not all dirty like many people think it is. It stills keeps a good storyline throughout the novel. During this book Ana is faced with many obstacles in her and Christians relationship together which causes her to change and get upset with many things. I personally kind of liked this book, it starts out boring but gets better a couple chapters in. It's definitely not a boring book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    You're going to want the next one

    I am an avid romance reader so of course I was intreguied by this. And as far as the content I have read much more graphic stories. But none the less I was hooked. Oh Christian how I grew to adore you. I was happy with the way things progressed. She didn't just jump into anything without thinking about it more. Yes it was only a couple of days but she thought about it none the less. And the ending...I had to jump to the second one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    I just finished reading this book and well it was OK. I've read

    I just finished reading this book and well it was OK. I've read better. They storyline was good but the sex part was a bit excessive. There were parts that bored me and I had to skip paragraphs and even a few pages. All in all the the book was just Ok for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Recommend

    Okay it was a gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Recommend

    Okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    I read just about anything so i went into this book with an open

    I read just about anything so i went into this book with an open mind. As far as the writing style, the book is no literary masterpiece. However, it was entertaining enough to keep me reading. Its definitely a little more graphic then most romances and is not for everyone's taste. There is lots of repetition in both wording and plot scenes. by the end you will probably get tired of hearing about the main character blushing and biting her lip. that being said If your looking for a light read, this is not a bad book. However, I would definitely opt for a library check out rather then a buy. Unless you got a taste for that kind of scene, its doubtful you will read the book more then one. And with the book being close to 13 dollars in some places, its would be much easier on the wallet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7