Customer Reviews for

Fight Club

Average Rating 4.5
( 884 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(628)

4 Star

(175)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 888 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 45
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Sorry, there's nothing to talk about.

    What Fight Club?

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'am Jack's Smirking Revenge...

    Outstanding book! <BR/><BR/>Power animals, split personality disorders, soap, fighting, mayhem, support groups, tainted food, castration, the book has a little bit of everything......... <BR/><BR/>I unfortunately saw the movie, at least 5 times before getting around to reading this book. If you haven't seen the movie yet, STOP, read the book first! <BR/><BR/>I've read two other books by Chuck Palahniuk, this one is the best so far! <BR/><BR/>"Fight Club" is excellent, the characters, the dialogue. It's all amazing! <BR/><BR/>There are so many good lines in this book, its hard to describe, but here are my favorites- <BR/><BR/>"If your a male, and you're Christian and living in America, your father is your model for God. And sometimes you find your father in your career." <BR/><BR/>"Tyler Durden the great, who was perfect for one moment, and who said that a moment is the most you could ever expect from perfection." <BR/><BR/>"How everything you ever love will reject you or die. Everything you ever create will be thrown away. Everything you're proud of will end up as trash. I am Ozymandias, king of kings." <BR/><BR/>There are 8 simple rules for "Fight Club"= <BR/><BR/>1.You don't talk about fight club. <BR/>2.You don't talk about fight club. <BR/>3.When someone says stop, or goes limp, even if he's just faking it, the fight is over. <BR/>4.Only two guys to a fight. <BR/>5.One fight at a time. <BR/>6.They fight without shirts or shoes. <BR/>7.The fights go on as long as they have to. <BR/>8.If this is your first night at fight club, you have to fight. <BR/><BR/>The movie adaption of this book, follows the novel pretty close! Ed Norton and Brad Pitt could'nt have done a better job! <BR/><BR/>Highly recommended to everyone and especially Palahniuk fans that may never have read (Chuck's 1st book)!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    !!!!!!!!!

    there aren't good enough words for this book except

    READ IT!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm Talking About Fight Club

    Fight club is a great book. It is a unique adventure that really makes you think. It blends humor, action, and psychological-thriller style genres. All of the characters are presented as very real people. You get to know them and you have a real interest in them. The twists and turns are incredibly clever. It's a very short book, 218 pages, and is worth the time.
    Even if you have seen the movie I think you would get a lot out of this book. While the movie and book are very much alike, they have differences that make them unique from one another. You connect better with the book, and it is still wildly entertaining.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    there is a you before fight club and a you after fight club. they are different people.

    i wish i could just erase my memory and read this book over and over again. i have read a lot of books since i read this one but none have been able to compare. this is my favorite book of all time. there is really nothing else i can say...read it. you just have to. and be prepared to change. there is a you before fight club and a you after fight club. it is life changing. i LOVE chuck palahniuk. anything he writes deserves a prize

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Modern fiction at its finest

    This is a narrative unlike any other. Palahniuk's quick, sharp voice gets the reader's attention and then holds them captive until the end of the book, at which point the reader will want to get pulled right back into Palahniuk's twisted world for another adventure. Filled with dark humor and hard-hitting satire, this is a novel that cannot be missed.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Better than the movie!!

    The movie Fight Club has been my favorite for many years and I just barely got the chance to read the actual book. In my opinion the book is on another whole level compared to the movie. I love the way the characters are presented more and I feel like some of the back story Palahniuk gives you that is not in the movie makes the story move along much better. Based on the style of writing Palahniuk uses in this book, I think I'll be buying more books he has written. If as an individual you are easily offended you should probably not read this book because it can be quite vulgar at times. I laughed off a majority of the vulgarity but that may not be a possibility for everyone. This book has now become one of my favorites just like the movie and I think anyone like me that really enjoys the movie would feel the same if they read this book. I definitely recommend it but again warn that it may not be for everyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    Absolutely Amazing.

    My favorite book of all time, 'Fight Club' is absolutely amazing with every page. Everything about this novel is so unique and captivating that only Chuck Palahnuick could come up with it. Don't expect to find anything like this! Written brilliantly and artfully, Palanuhnick's 'Fight Club' has been made into a cult classic for a reason.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    The absolute brilliance of Palahniuk's writing is best shown in

    The absolute brilliance of Palahniuk's writing is best shown in this novel. Fight Club is a gritty and witty punch to the gut. The level of details given really put the reader into these settings with the characters, whether the reader wants to be there or not.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Invigorating

    I watched the movie many years ago, long before I was able to comprehend. I found myself longing to watch the movie again but instead decided to read the book.
    I devoured it in one sitting and almost wish I had taken longer, if only to draw out the pleasure that was my first book by Chuck.
    This brilliant story makes you question nearly everything you think you know about your life; it is at once philosophical, tragic, invigorating, disturbing, and romantic. I was completely consumed by the characters and their lives and was dying to find out what happens next.
    The book came full circle and the ending was gratifying.
    I would recommend Fight Club to anyone who believes they can stomach it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    The story begins with this man, the narrator. He hates his job.


    The story begins with this man, the narrator. He hates his job. He works as a recall manager for a car company. He does not sleep; he has insomnia. He hates his furniture, his possessions, himself. Everything in his life is distant and remote, and nothing matters to this man. He hates his life. For relief of all this, he attends support groups for people with testicular cancer, blood parasites, tumors, and blood diseases; he pretends to be one of them. This helps him cry, which helps him sleep.

    He is what is considered a consumer like everyone else. The things he owns end up owning him. His life is static, pathetic; he is trapped. When this man’s condo is set on fire and blown to pieces he ends up living with Tyler Durden. Spontaneous, quick witted, charming, and self-destructive, enlightened; this is Tyler. This man sets our main character free. He’s the relief this man needs. Tyler helps him reach rock bottom, let go, be free of worldly possessions and consumerism. They find a new way to achieve relief, fighting. This idea spreads to other men. Tyler becomes the method of madness. This book is about the evolution of this and is a center of self destruction. How things can escalate to total anarchy and organized chaos.

    This book will twist your mind and fill it with thoughts you never knew you would have. Fight Club is dark, brutally honest, violent, and one hundred percent true. This is Chuck Palahniuk’s best work. The philosophical views on enlightenment and society are backwards to what is considered normal, but, who knows, maybe self-improvement isn’t the answer. Maybe you need to let go of everything before you can be free. All men and women need a way out, a way to let go of the consuming lifestyle, a way to devolve from what everyone and everything else has made you. This book is the desire to burn something for the sake of adding it to the fire.


    This isn’t a seminar.

    “If you lose your nerve before you hit bottom,” Tyler says, “you’ll never really succeed.”

    Only after disaster can we be resurrected.

    “It’s only after you’ve lost everything,” Tyler says, “that you’re free to do anything.

    What I’m feeling is premature enlightenment.



    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An appetizer to try more Palahniuk

    Having seen and loved the movie when it came out, I have had this book on my list for a while. Just as this was Palahniuk's first novel, this my first Palahniuk novel.
    In the beginning, I was somewhat, unfairly disappointed in the book, and more impressed with the movie. The movie had done such a good job of adapting the book that the book offered little, if anything new to the reader. However, as the narrator starts to transform, the book gets stronger and the writing is impressive. Like Plath's "The Bell Jar" and Conrad's "Heart of Darkness," this is an excellent trip into a mind losing its grip on sanity.
    The main character(s) is/are strongly written, but the ancillary characters are much thinner. It is obvious that this was a short story - a fantastic Chapter 6 with incredible images and hints of the inner turmoil revealed throughout the tale - fleshed out into a what is better described as a novella due to its length and singular focus on a single character. In some ways it reminded me of an excellent etude by Chopin, displaying a great deal of talent, but without the complexity of the intermingling instruments of a full orchestra.
    In the end, it was a quick, satisfying read - an appetizer resulting in a desire to read more of Palahniuk.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2010

    Surprising and interesting!

    This book is one of the most entertaining, books I have read recently that was well-written. Many authors have a good, or just interesting idea, but do not have the skills to convey them on paper, Chuck Palahnuik is not one of those people, his creative story design and compelling narrative make the story interesting and beautiful. The book takes you deep inside the head of our tormented, but nameless character. It throws you around through through the thoughts of this person as he participates in launching a club that evolves into a terrorism/myaterdom project. This is one of my all time favorite books. Read the book before seeing the movie (which is also excellent)

    Dmitri G (for Mrs. Castle 5A class)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    You wake up and you read this.

    You'll be caught right away by Palahniuk's sweeping aphorisms and fresh writing style. Likely, you've heard of the film or have even seen it before you even knew there was a novel. Read it anyway. It's for people who crave twisted psychological tones, fans of drama or Chuck Palahniuk in general, and heck, even chemists. This book is a special snowflake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Before You Die

    This is one of those books that you just have to read before you die. It has many plot twists and is one of my favorite novels. If you haven't read anything by Chuck Palahniuk, this is where you should start.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Fight Club is one of my favorite books of all time, and I have r

    Fight Club is one of my favorite books of all time, and I have read very many books. This book is hard to get into at first, it is confusing and boring. But trust me, once you keep reading, you wont be able to put it down. Chuck Palahniuk is a great author and this book truly shows that. I would recommend to anyone over the age of 14.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Am m AMAZING

    Amazing book, one of the best I've read in months.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Love

    I love this book. The characters are people I could somewhat relate with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    This book isn't nearly as good as everyone thinks it is!

    This book isn't nearly as good as everyone thinks it is!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    I still for the life of me cannot understand how his writing is

    I still for the life of me cannot understand how his writing is anything close to good. He is so scattered.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 888 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 45