BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fight Club: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 889 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(632)

4 Star

(176)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Sorry, there's nothing to talk about.

    What Fight Club?

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Better than the movie!!

    The movie Fight Club has been my favorite for many years and I just barely got the chance to read the actual book. In my opinion the book is on another whole level compared to the movie. I love the way the characters are presented more and I feel like some of the back story Palahniuk gives you that is not in the movie makes the story move along much better. Based on the style of writing Palahniuk uses in this book, I think I'll be buying more books he has written. If as an individual you are easily offended you should probably not read this book because it can be quite vulgar at times. I laughed off a majority of the vulgarity but that may not be a possibility for everyone. This book has now become one of my favorites just like the movie and I think anyone like me that really enjoys the movie would feel the same if they read this book. I definitely recommend it but again warn that it may not be for everyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An appetizer to try more Palahniuk

    Having seen and loved the movie when it came out, I have had this book on my list for a while. Just as this was Palahniuk's first novel, this my first Palahniuk novel.
    In the beginning, I was somewhat, unfairly disappointed in the book, and more impressed with the movie. The movie had done such a good job of adapting the book that the book offered little, if anything new to the reader. However, as the narrator starts to transform, the book gets stronger and the writing is impressive. Like Plath's "The Bell Jar" and Conrad's "Heart of Darkness," this is an excellent trip into a mind losing its grip on sanity.
    The main character(s) is/are strongly written, but the ancillary characters are much thinner. It is obvious that this was a short story - a fantastic Chapter 6 with incredible images and hints of the inner turmoil revealed throughout the tale - fleshed out into a what is better described as a novella due to its length and singular focus on a single character. In some ways it reminded me of an excellent etude by Chopin, displaying a great deal of talent, but without the complexity of the intermingling instruments of a full orchestra.
    In the end, it was a quick, satisfying read - an appetizer resulting in a desire to read more of Palahniuk.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    Vampire

    Sets u down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Bumblewing

    Now, show me again...just to make sure you've got it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Wow! Great group!

    This is one amazing group you have here! Let's see, one, pathetic cat who uses one-post death moves and doesn't even use proper grammar. Oh, great STARCLAN, I am trembling with fear on my paws! This must be the evilest group EVER! I must go and warn everyone about it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Sssssh! JUST READ IT!

    Sssssh! JUST READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Fight Club: A Novel

    This is my all time favorite movie and I just read the book. It was pretty good and very similar to the movie. I'd highly recommend it if you like the movie and psychological thrillers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    He was a normal guy, you know, good but boring job, IKEA furnitu

    He was a normal guy, you know, good but boring job, IKEA furniture, nothing exciting happening in his life at all.  But he couldn't sleep so he started attending support group meetings, for diseases he didn't have like brain parasites and testicular cancer to help with his insomnia.  And it helped, for a while.

    But then he met Tyler Durden, who introduced him to Fight Club, and he didn't need those support groups anymore to sleep.  Fight Club is an underground club where the rules are simple:

    You don't talk about fight club
    You don't talk about fight club
    Two men per fight
    One fight at a time
    No shoes, no shirt in the fight
    Fights go on as long as they have to
    If this if your first night at fight club, you have to fight

    Soon Fight Club leads to chaos, madness, and mayhem.

    "After a night in fight club, everything in the real world gets the volume turned down. Nothing can piss you off. Your word is law, and if other people break that law or question you, even that doesn't piss you off."

    But hey, I know what you are going to say right now.  "I saw the movie.  I don't need to read the book."  So don't.  But you're totally going to miss out on an amazing Chuck Palahniuk book.  Fight Club was made into an awesome movie, but I have to say, the book is just as good if not better.

    And you know what else?  I'm telling you to read Fight Club.  And my word is law, and if you choose to break that law or question me, even that doesn't piss me off.

    (Did you see what I did there?)

    Even in writing this post, I've risked everything by breaking the first rules of Fight Club.  So you better read this book.

    Thanks for reading,

    Rebecca @ Love at First Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Good read

    I had seen the movie a few times and really enjoyed it and so I decided to check the book out as well... it was a very good read and very much like the movie; random, anarchic, nihilist etc.

    I really enjoyed it and will actually be reading more of Mr. Palahniuk's books now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Just what I was expecting

    I read this book after falling in live with the story from the movie so much, I had to read the origin from the story. Did not disapoint me. The narration made it very fun to read and I look forward to reading it again in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Very entertaining read

    This is a pretty dark story, but short and very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My first Chuck Palahniuk book! but not my last!

    Crazy book. But intriguing as well. It helped for me to watch the movie first and then read the book. There was so much things going on in this book. Fantastic read and writing style. I wish it was longer though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    As good as the movie

    I saw the movie a couple years ago and loved it. I thought the book might be boring since I saw the movie and knew what was going to happen. To my suprise the book was very good. I stayed interested even though I knew what was going to happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2007

    Top 5 Must Reads!

    In reading Chuck Palahniuk¿s Fight Club I was given the opportunity to take a trip onto the twisted psyche of the book¿s anonymous hero. This thrilling and mildly disturbing novel takes the reader from a terrorist¿s cookbook, past the festering clam chowder served at ¿ritzy¿ restaurants and straight into the pits of Project-Mayhem. The style the book was written in was fragmented. The sentences were choppy and it seemed to jump from concept to concept, back and forth through time, and it could at times be frustrating, but once given the time to get into the flow of the book, the fragments seem to come together and it makes sense as a whole. As the book progresses, the mood becomes apparent. It is a dark novel, meant to make the reader think about his or her own life and his or her priorities. The book is basically sarcasm with a smile. The entire story is told by the nameless main character. Palahniuk uses a common vernacular that can speak to anyone. The adventure begins down the barrel of a gun, and it is at this point that the reader gets a look at the narrator¿s anxiety disorder. The narrator suffers from an obscure OCD, where he feels the need to be complete. The narrator defines himself by what he owns. He is his yin yang coffee table, and his sofa. He is the condiments in his refrigerator. He lives by IKEA, and he is incomplete. By making the narrator someone people can relate to, the reader instantly wants to know more about this man. He is funny, and witty. He speaks in sarcasm and metaphors. He is what we all think we are. Then he meets Tyler Durden. Tyler is who we all want to be. This balance between the characters makes for a dynamic duo. The two heroes go on an adventure to save the pathetic and wasted souls of its fight club member. Through fight club, these people learn to let go of worldly possessions and attachments and use this freedom to wreak havoc on those who are still defined by what they own. This concept of ¿It's only after you lose everything that you're free to do anything¿ connects to people. Palahniuk writes in such a way that readers hang on his every word. We wish we were Tyler. We wish we were part of Project Mayhem. It even made me want to pick a fight! This dark dramatic comedy is the quick read that we all wish could last forever. It can be read in a day, or it can be savoured for weeks. I choose to keep mine by my computer so as to not be without it. I recommend this book to anyone who ever wished they were someone else or even to those who are perfectly content with their own lives. This book deserves to be read by everyone. It is smart, funny, scary, and sad all at once and gives the reader a wider outlook on life and the things they think they own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2007

    You are not your Fight Club DVD

    I'm definitely a fan of Palahniuk's work, and Fight Club is no exception. But I have to say everyone takes this particular book too seriously. Keep reality in mind, and don't make Tyler Durden your new idol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Weird stuff

    Man, this is one far out book! I actually haven't seen the movie yet but am going to buy it right away. No wonder people were falling over themselves to make a movie of this. Tyler is one of the greatest characters ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    I love his books but...

    Material wise, the book is amazing. I'm just not as into to it as I am with his other books. I also hate how everyone references this book when they havn't actually read the whole thing or havn't read it at all. This is not a childrens book! My school library [I'm in eight grade, mind you.] has this book and I wouldn't reccomend it to some sixth grader or even one of my fellow eight graders. It's not that I don't like the book, so much as I don't like the way people represent it. Like I said before I do love this book even though in my oppinion it isn 't one of his greatest. One more thing is this book seems to be extremely overrated, so don't praise so much, yeah it's a great book but don't glamorize it. So Parents, please don't give this book to your kids, because a] they probably won't understand it. b] the things they do understand will probably gross them out. c] most kids my age probably wouldn't even be interested in a book like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2006

    Unique

    Great book, which they made into a great movie. So, so different. Up there with Benjamin Kunkel (Indecision) and Pax (The Black H) for freshness of approach. Thoughtful, different, novel writing, with great dialogue. Along with Pax and Kunkel, is my favorite living author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2006

    WHICH ENDING???

    I liked the book's ending over the movie, but I do feel (Unlike MOST film versions) that in several ways the movie is as good as the book in a lot of the the profound areas-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9