Customer Reviews for

Fight Club: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 884 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(628)

4 Star

(175)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 175 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    A dark, gritty book that is well written...

    Chuck Palahnuik writes a dark, gritty story called Fight Club. It is one of the most disturbing books that I have read in my whole entire life, yet I enjoyed it immensely. <p> The book is about a young man (who is unnamed for a reason you¿ll find out at the end of the book) that have given up on society. He is somewhat suicidal and has low self-esteem ¿ so low that he¿ll attend support groups for incurable diseases just to feel ¿alive¿. That changed when he met Tyler, who is quite intelligent and charismatic. After they met, Tyler starts up a club where members can fight each other and feel alive. However, what starts out as a small illegal fighting club turns into something larger and the unnamed main character is unfortunately caught in the middle. </p> The story is well written and is quite easy to read. But be forewarn ¿ this book is not for the faint of heart. The story is filled with gruesome details and facts that will shock anyone... However, what confuses me mostly is the order of events written. What one chapter is about has simply nothing to do with the next chapter. It is as if the plot fast forward or rewind to random parts of the main character¿s life. Perhaps by this writing technique, one can see how insane the characters are in the story. <p> However, the ending is unsatisfying and leaves the reader on a cliffhanger. Overall, this story is an excellent book to read on a whim, as the story is quite short and fun to read. </p>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2003

    Unbelievably REAL and DEEP

    This is an unbelievable book. Palahniuk is so believable that he¿s unbelievable. There¿s a quote in this book, along the lines of, ¿what you see at fight club is a generation of men raised by women.¿ Fight Club makes sense. Palahniuk¿s use of repetitive lines really brings points home. In this book, you follow along the life and times of Tyler Durden, you learn things because Tyler knows things. It¿s almost impossible to describe this book except to say that you should read it. If you¿ve seen the movie, read the book. If you¿ve not seen the movie, read the book first. Although it¿s a pretty good adaptation, this book begs to be read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2002

    Do you know Tyler Durden?

    This is the second book that ive read with out someone telling me too, and i really enjoyed it. Palahniuk has a great way with words and putting together original sentance and paragraph formations. I saw the movie first, and i love that, but i think the ending in the book is better than the movie ending. The characters that Chuck creates are so easy to relate to that you just cant stop reading about them. A definate read for fans of the movie or of new styles of writting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2002

    UNFORGETTABLE DARK AND INSPIRING SURREAL NOVEL

    Fight Club is a daring, extreme novel about a disillusioned white collared working insomniac unhappy with his life. He gets involved in a mission inspired by Tyler Durden to overthrow the current corrupt civilization by recruiting fellow disillusioned working professionals into Fight Club. Paradoxically therapeutic, Fight Club's participants beat eachother up only to find comraderie and affirmation in their mission toward 'Project Mayhem''s ultimate goal of destroying civilization and rebuilding something new and better. The terroristic methods employed toward achieving this goal are extreme, shocking, and controversial. This is likely to offend some readers, especially in the wake of the recent Sep 11th attack on America. Furthermore, the author writes rather affectionately and in eerie detail about the ingredients of homemade bombs, the pros and cons of one versus the other, and the impressive damage they can potentially inflict (and later in the novel do) on people and property. However, even some people who don't necessarily have a pre-existing unusual fetish for these horrible terroristic weapons and the damage they inflict, can appreciate the surreal, imaginative, revolution-minded world the author has created. The book is a liberating explorative medium to understanding the angst and rage that underlies the repressed subconscious minds of the alienated members of our society today. In the book these people are not underground extremists; they are ordinary mainstream professionals: doctors, policeman, janitors, and lawyers. One must keep in mind the author's true intentions behind writing the novel which is to simply explore this angst and rage, but not necessarily recommend that we act on it through the extreme methods described in the book. It is an incredible book. If you think Stephen King has an eerily twisted mind wait until you enter the mind of Chuck Palahniuk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2001

    if you liked fight club...

    I saw the movie before I read the book and what can I say about either that hasn't already been said. However, if you liked this book and you found yourself identifying with the narrator another book that will keep you thinking is Dostoevsky's 'Notes From the Underground' Can you find the amazing parallels?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2000

    HANG ON FOR A GOOD RIDE

    Contemporary writer Chuck Palaniuk has graced the new generation with another Anti-hero. I found myself oddly drawn to the Tyler Durden character and to his philosophy doled out like a gum ball machine. The psychological spiral of the books narrator lured this reader into the realm of ¿Okay this reads like a Formula book¿ . I was happily disappointed when right turns lead into darkness. I have read all of Chuck Palaniuk books and each one is just as good as the next. I believe this is defiantly a mans book. I don¿t think chicks would get the point of view.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2000

    Fright Club

    An honest yet apocalyptic description of today's crave for 'the appearance'. Nice clothes, nice bank accounts, nice looks - all mercilessly questioned and then demolished to be confronted with what really matters and counts. As the novel progresses though, Palahniuk's grip on his material somewhat slips. Nevertheless worth reading for the overall rollercoaster ride that the author allows you to indulge in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 1999

    Outrageous, hilarious, toxic

    Fight Club is not an ordinary story in so far as it is to be understood in what is called in French `le deuxieme degre`. If you read between the lines you will discover the caustic, vicious, unforginving picture of our society and beyond the acid reality of our own often nihilistic lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 175 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9