Customer Reviews for

The Fight of Our Lives: Knowing the Enemy, Speaking the Truth, and Choosing to Win the War Against Radical Islam

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    A Much Needed Book In Our Times

    Every now and then you come across a book whose message you feel is so important you wish you could buy cases of its volumes and pass them out on street corners. The Fight Of Our Lives was, for me, one of those books.

    Using the response to Nidal Hasan's massacre of his fellow soldiers at Fort Hood in 2009 as a starting point, authors William J. Bennett and Seth Leibsohn make the case that America has, in her zeal for political correctness, rolled over and submitted to a dangerous enemy by a refusal to define exactly who that enemy is. With an overwhelming repugnance to label terrorism for what it is and discussing how Islam feeds it, we have, as a country, given those who would see our end free reign. The authors also include an excellent chapter that does a great job of differentiating between violence committed in the name of Judaism and Christianity, and violence done in the name of Islam, a much needed explanation in our times. The Fight Of Our Lives is a call to the honest observance of events taking place around us, and an encouragement to regain our country's backbone that guarantees freedom for all but does not suffer violence against it.

    I cannot recommend this book highly enough. It is not long (one hundred fifty pages), but its message is acute. The Fight Of Our Lives has the potential to be an important read for Americans of all faiths, as well as those with none.

    I received a free copy of this book from BookSneeze®.com in exchange for my honest review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "The Fight of our Lives" by William J. Bennett - A Must Read

    I like to take this opportunity to thank Book Sneeze/Thomas Nelson, for the opportunity to read and review "The Fight of our Lives", by William J. Bennett. This politically based book shows us just how fragile our lives became as a result of 9/11 and how we, if we listen and watch, can change the way in which things appear to be going.
    As the cover indicates, this book also explains the by knowing the enemy, and be speaking the truth, we can choose to win the War against Radical Islam. Bennett takes the reader through the various events that have been shaping the way we think, and the way we look at our lives since 9/11. As you read through the variety of sections of this book you will be faced with facts and actions that need to be taken in order to keep our county and lives safe. We are truly in the middle of "The Fight for our Lives", and only through decisive actions both on our governments part and well as ours can we win this war.
    Bennett looks at The Fort Hood incident where there were many hints if not out right red flags which could have been as well as should have been actions taken in order to prevent the slaughter of many Americans.
    Secondly there is a section on just How we got where we are today. There are more sections to this eye opening book if only we take the hard look. Could the Fort Hood tragedy been avoided? I believe it could have been, but as the reader of this wonderful book, can you make your own decisions.
    "The Fight of our Lives", should be made a part of any library and I think that every American should read this book. You will be surprised at the things that you will learn by reading "The Fight of our Lives".
    Thank you Mr. William J. Bennett for providing a catalyst for change in direction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    "We loved death more than you love life!" That line st

    "We loved death more than you love life!" That line struck me right there, whats on their mind going on? "Fight Of Our Lives" is a book written to wake up the world to the dangers of Radical Islam. I'm not anti-muslim but, anti-Muslim sentiment might have peaked, there were six times as many incidents of bias against Jews, as there were against Muslims. As William J. Bennett and Seth Leibsohn show, what needs to happen to be sure this never happens again. And its happening now! What the'ye gonna killed for just a video? I understand them but killing is not a solution, violation is not a solution only way we'll escape their eventual fate is to be informed and this book does an excellent job of doing just that. This is not a book intended to detail every mistake, error, and lapse of judgment for radical Islam. Read this and be ready for the fight of our lives!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Excellent information and reading

    The Fight of Our Lives by William Bennett and Seth Leibsohn

    This book by Bennett and Leibsohn chronicles the 10 year period between September 11, 2001 and now. It shows what has happened, what could happen, and what needs to happen to be sure this never happens again.
    I read this book before the 10 year anniversary of September 11 and, having read it prior, it really affected the viewing of the news and recap of that terrible time.
    Bennett, as always sucinct when he believes strongly in a subject, makes it clear the urgency he feels when dealing with this region. I thought it gave understandable descriptions of wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, and what history calls for us to do in the present. I read this book for Book Sneeze in exchange for the book, and the opinions are all mine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Informative Read

    The Fight of Our Lives by William Bennett and Seth Leibsohn is an amazingly informative book on the war that radical Islam has declared on America and western nations. Bennett endeavors to reveal not only failures that we as America have had in the war against terror, but our many victories as well. He does this in his usual, detailed yet easy-to-read format. Avoiding much political verbiage, Bennett invites the reader into the horrific war of Islam against Christianity. Much criticism is focused on President Obama and the current administration as well as past administrations. Although this is truly not my sort of read, I did find the many illustrations and stories quite enlightening and informative in ways I never though imaginable. I have always loved Bennett's writing style, and he outdoes himself in this book. This is an excellent and informative read with a sound Christian emphasis. If looking to expand horizons and knowledge about what is happening throughout the world in regards to the war on terror and Islam's fight against Christianity, this is a definite must-read. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishing through the Booksneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am enclosing this in accordance with the FTC's 16CFR, Part 255"Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Fight of Our Lives by William J. Bennett & Seth Leibsohn...A Double Edged Sword!

    The title of this book The Fight of Our Lives Knowing the Enemy,Speaking the Truth & Choosing to Win the War Against Radical Islam is a bit misleading. I had high hopes for this book that was somehow mistakenly placed in the Christian book section. I say mistakenly because first of all Scripture is only used a couple of times in this book and that is only because quotes from Lincoln and Washington happened to contain them. Secondly, the authors seem to have no understanding of who the real enemy is and while they may want you to choose to win the war against Radical Islam they never actually get around to helping the reader truly discover how to do that. Anyone can point out what's wrong but only the truly wise can help you know how to change it.

    The authors seem conflicted or confused when they change their stance from all Islam is bad and is not a religion of peace in any aspect to a stance that says their is such a thing as moderate Islam and Muslims and that those Muslims need to stand up and reform their religion yet they never addressed their change in their view of Islam. It was as if halfway through the writing of this book they changed their minds but didn't have time to go back and rewrite the first half of the book. Nor did they educate the readers on their change of view or what sparked it. I found it confusing.

    The authors use the word fundamentalist to describe extremist groups, they claim that Christianity does not have a violent past like Islam and that God is a God of peace. I have to stop and wonder...have they ever read the Bible? Yes God does want peace, He is love but He is also just, righteous, and jealous. My God wiped Sodom and Gomorrah off the face of the Earth, told the Israelites to wipe out the people who occupied their promised land and so on. The author does comment on the fact that any violence employed for the cause of Christianity is merely historical and should not be viewed as a belief by the religion as a whole. To which I do partly agree. Christianity to a Christian is not a violent religion except for our extremist groups.Notice I said to a Christian. To us the Bible makes sense and we have an understanding that all the things in the Bible that were violent happened for a reason. To an unbeliever though the Bible and Christianity can seem violent. The authors seem to have conveniently forgotten about the Crusades in which hundreds of "infidels" were slaughtered in the name of Christianity - convert or die. And what about the abortion clinic bombings of the past in which innocent lives were taken in the right to life campaigns. The authors do mention the abortion clinic bombings but in a very dismissive whitewashed way.

    What is my point? Just this, the very words and facts the authors are using can very easily and have been in the past used against Christianity especially fundamentalist Christians. If we are quick to jump on the bandwagon to condemn Muslims we must be willing to accept that fact that someday that very sword can be turned against us to condemn us as well.

    I did not like this book and would never recommend it any Christian individual or group as a study or otherwise.

    ...to read the entire review google Auntie M's Universe.
    I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than your average exposé

    I prefer to read fiction because non-fiction usually serves as a good antidote to insomnia. I struggled to get through this work for that reason only. Unlike other non-fiction list-our-woes type of books, THE FIGHT OF OUR LIVES is a true eye-opener.
    Most books of this ilk merely point out the problem, but this one delves deeply into the cause of our slide into political correctness and directs us to a clear resolution. "Rolling off our couches" is a good first step.
    In eight short chapters, plus an introduction and epilogue, Bennett & Leibsohn describe the lessons we SHOULD HAVE learned (but didn't) from Viet Nam (which showed Bin Laden our weaknesses) to the Ft. Hood massacre (which underscored our PC standing). Quoting Gen. George Casey of the recent attack: "As horrific as this tragedy was, if our diversity becomes a casualty, I think that's worse." I had to read that line several times, asking myself, "Can a military general REALLY put diversity above his soldiers?"
    This book clearly identifies our enemies, some of whom are within our own culture. Eleven pages of notes for their voluminous footnotes is indicative of the authors' intense research. THE FIGHT OF OUR LIVES isn't based on opinion, but proven facts. I hope it starts a wildfire of couch potatoes getting involved in taking back our country. I will certainly share it, give it as a gift, and recommend it.
    I received a free copy of this book from BookSneeze®.com in exchange for my review, and am in no way compelled to write flattery for flattery's sake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    The Fight of Our Lives

    'The Fight of Our Lives : Knowing the Enemy, Speaking the Truth & Choosing To Win The War Against Radical Islam' by William Bennett and Seth Leibsohn not only reflects the failures of America in the war on terror but also attempts to formulate some strategies for victory.
    I usually don't select political books but I am very glad I gave this one a shot. This book is well written and it doesn't lose the reader in complicated political jargon or policy. Bennett and Leibsohn also make an effort to be as even-handed as possible in their critique of American policy makers. Contrary to the modus operandi of many conservative writers today, to simply take aim at the current administration through President Obama and cast as much blame on him as possible. 'The Fight of Our Lives' is not one of those books as there is a fair amount of criticism of the past administrations as well, whether Republican or Democrat.
    An excellent read without political overtunes and recommended for people of all walks of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    Un-Christian Attitude, Not Loving or Forgiving

    My recommendation is PASS on this book.

    I thought a Christian author would show more grace, love, kindness and political correctness. I was very shocked to see and authors bias, anger and judgment right from the dust jacket cover! I thought this book was very unchristian. I didn't expect to see an author claiming to be christian to be encouraging and promoting anger and hate. I was taught that "anger" is NEVER justified. We may feel angry, but we are not to be proud of this anger. Anger is another form of hate and those feelings come from Satan. Jesus would never encourage or promote anger and hatred, even against terrorists. People may be afraid of terrorits and take measures to protect themselves, but we should never cross over to the dark side and ENJOY their sufferring, ENJOY torturing/waterboarding them. We should never take pleasure in the sufferring of others. I feel this book is very angry and political and the author was writing a very pro-war polticial view and a very un-christian book. I don't think this book should even be classified as Christian. I would not ever recommend this book to any of my Christian friends. I didn't find love, kindness, forgiveness, understanding and compassion in this book. I found angry Americans who love their troops and are happy to kill and promote killing. This is an "American needs to be tough on war and terrorists and we Americans need to give up all our civil liberties and freedoms just incase someone somewhere someday gets us". Sounds like fear - another emotion from Satan. What happened to our faith in God our Lord and Savior?

    Disclaimer: I got this book free of charge from the publisher for this review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Laborious to read and slightly outdated

    Perhaps it was the fact that I read this book shortly after the death of Osama bin Laden, but I just couldn't get in to it. While I am definitely on the conservative side of the political spectrum, I found this book to be just laborious to wade through. It's not necessarily that I disagreed with everything that was being said, it's just that it was not very interesting to read. The book serves in many ways as an expose on liberal policies in regards to the War on Terror, but I can't say it contained anything I hadn't read or heard about before (if not in specifics at least in generalities). It was overly predictable in its content. Beginning to read it shortly after the death of Osama bin Laden very well could have tainted my view of it, since they spent a good deal of time talking about him and in my mind I was thinking, "This is outdated since the man is dead." I'll give it 1.5/5 stars over all.

    I received this book free from the publisher in return for a review; I was not required to write a positive review. I am disclosing this to comply with FTC regulations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A clear detailed view on the veil that has fallen over America regarding who our real enemy is and how we are more unsafe than ever.

    The Fight Of Our Lives gets right to the point with the Fort Hood incident that happened Nov of 2009, the second worst terrorist attack in 8 years. An important point is made of this incident and how America should have been moved by that day of terror or at least given a wake-up call. This a truth many in our government don't like to talk about, which proves we are un-safe anywhere from Islamic terror, whether overseas or here in America. I learned many scary statistics especially about the year Obama was elected (2009), and how we had 12 terrorism related events in America that year alone, yet only 20 events between 9/11 (2001) and 2008. I found this book to be a real eye opener, with many important details explained by Bennett and Leibsohn that every American should read about.

    The main point of The Fight Of Our Lives is how our government from the beginning has failed to name who we are in war against. This due to our government not wanting to single out the Muslim religion as the main reason for our fight on terrorism, instead our government has hidden behind a curtain of secrecy. The importance of allowing citizenry from the Muslim community seems to have over shadowed our need to protect the U.S. The main issues now on the agenda for the next election seem to be mostly job related and regarding the economy and deficits, another point in the book. I believe this is important however the scary thought is that terrorism has been placed on the back burner as if it has been completely eradicated. Especially now that Osama Bin Laden has been killed. I also believe us citizens who care about America need to wake-up and take a hard look at who our neighbors are. Yes, we have created an atmosphere that America is a free country and anyone has the right to practice their own beliefs and religion, but how far should we let this go. Allowing the building of a Mosque within two blocks of 9/11, should not be OK. Wake up America! We will never have another Ellis Island where our immigrants come into this country for peace and the dream of a better life. We need to be diligent if we care about our country because our government cannot be everywhere, also because they fail to name our true enemy. Times have changed and we need to take responsibility to keep the U.S. safe, even if this means allowing ourselves to give up some of our freedom and rights to our government so we can be protected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    The Fight of Our Lives

    The Fight of Our Lives is written by William Bennett and Seth Leibsohn. Its purpose is to help America win the fight against radical Islam. It addresses the problems of not knowing the enemy, calling radical Islam other names, and the need for a disire to win the war we are in. While the book did tell the truth, I think its' impact will be small. Most people who would buy this book all ready agree with the authors' point of view. The book held my attention for the most part but I kept thinking that the authors' plan for victory will never occur. He wants Islam to be reformed. And America to have more national pride in itself. The reformation of Islam is a crazy idea in my opinion. And even if there was an Islamic reformation, the radical Muslims will not follow the new teachings. More national pride would be nice, but when the leader of the free world bows down to a foreign king what reason do we have to have pride in our country. If our leader tells the world how bad America is why should the teachers our our school childern be expected to do any different. In the end the book was worth reading and I would let my friends read it also. But unless you are undecided in were you stand on the issue of radical Islam don't bother to buy this book. I mean no offence Mr. Bennett and Mr. Leibsohn. I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Political Ideology will not be swayed either way.

    I was intrigued by this book, because ultimately the author chooses to speak about a topic that I think has long been ignored in the public specter, especially amongst political elites.

    The book itself is structured in a way that it won't leave you guessing as to which political ideology the author belongs to. If you are a liberal going into this book, you probably won't agree with much; and if you are a conservative going into this book, you will probably emerge the same.

    The book is well sourced, and well documented, to back up the author's points. He's also not motivated by a personal vendetta of any significance, other than to promote the idea that we need to step up to the plate and actually fight against radical Islam. There are some suggestions in this book as to how to accomplish that. But again, your political ideology will probably determine your feelings on this book.

    There's a fair amount of the fear factor in this book, but again, this isn't news to me on the "need to do this" basis. Basically a call to arms to defend our nation against an enemy that has so far avoided the direct criticism it so desperately cries out for from those in positions of power in our government. I am grateful that Mr. Bennett has chosen to speak out on this very serious and deadly issue. It took some courage to write this book, especially since the enemy he challenges has no apparent fear of silencing it's adversaries by whatever means necessary.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Worth The Read

    A quick and solid read that pulls no punches. A wake up call to many of the confused views of tolerance and an effective argument against the appeasing of terrorist and radical Islam. A powerful challenge to the apologists of cultural correctness at any cost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    he Fight of Our Lives by William J. Bennett & Seth Leibsohn

    The Fight of Our Lives is a book about the "focus" America as a country has lost on the war on terror. Reading this book makes you think about how -the powers that be perceive the threat we are facing on a daily basis from terrorists. I found it very eye-opening. Quoting every source from Osama Bin Laden to our current president The Fight of Our Lives tries to show the mistakes and attitude America has taken when dealing with the radical extremists muslims while recounting some of the most horrific acts of violence this country has ever seen. I am a veteran of the U.S. Navy so the attacks on the USS Cole will forever stay with me..however it seems most have simply moved on with their IPODS,FB and Twitter filled lives. The Fight of Our Lives attempts to re-engage its readers by showing Americans lucky enough to read this book just how the muslim world views America and her policies. Interviews with leaders both in this country and in the muslim world- investigations into what happened after the attacks in Fort Hood, 911 and the USS Cole are all brought out and discussed. It all points to a weakness we have as Americans recently adopted to stay politacally "numb" and not take a stand so that we dont offend anyone and be the bad guys. Sure, Bin Laden is dead but what he stood for is not which is the complete destruction of the American "Infidels". The Fight of Our Lives is a needed reawankening to the fight against such people and to let them know we are still the "United" States. Ireceived this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!

    What would you say if you knew that since 9/11, there have been numerous more attacks based on "doing allah's will"? What if I told you that rather than fighting ferociously against this obvious threat to American Citizens, America is just ignoring the drastic happenings of radical islam? Sadly, this is the case with many, if not most Americans. This eye-opening book uses many different true stories, which were violent acts of terrorism, yet when questioned about the acts, not one were the words Radical, muslim, or Terrorist used in a tv interview. Our own President not only is ignorant of this saddening islamic ritual, but he bowed to a known supporter of terrorists.

    This book was very good. I never realized the dire effects of ignoring radical islam. It was unbelievably interesting how some American people can be so worried about appeasing the muslims, that they forget when George Washington mentioned that everyone should have freedom of religion, AS LONG as they remained peacefully with America and her laws. Overall, this book really inspired me to stand up against radical islam, as it daily endangers many of my fellow Americans. I learned that as Christians, and as proud American citizens, we need to rise up, and stand against this vicious, brutal, and merciless sort of a religion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Eye-opening Book!

    This book is very eye-opening. We, who love our country and are conservative in our thinking, know that something isn't right in our country regarding the fight against radical Islam. We can see that there is a huge appeasement and too much weirdness regarding political correctness and what this book points out is the danger that we, as a country, are putting ourselves in by closing our eyes to the truth. Once I started reading this book, it was hard to put down. Not only that, it is an easy read and a quick read. As you start reading the facts regarding this war, you are quickly drawn in to the seriousness of this situation. The book goes into several situations including the Fort Hood shootings and the huge, red flags that were flown by Hasan but ignored because of political correctness. The book also goes into various things that politicians say (and apparently believe), the main stream media pushes, and more. I have known all these things, but to have it all compiled into one book is quite startling and this radical belief system is more dangerous than even I believed. I highly recommend this book to everyone who wants to know the truth about this situation. It's a must read for anyone who wants to know more about this fight and to know the facts rather than the propaganda we are fed through the media.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Review of The Fight of Our Lives by William Bennett and Seth Leibsohn

    In The Fight of Our Lives, William Bennett and Seth Leibsohn present a clear defense of American culture and its fight against radical Islam. Since 2001, Americans have evidently forgotten the threat posed by radical Islam, whether through cultural deterioration or political misdirection, or both. As the anger in the wake of 9/11 has passed from the daily lives of most Americans, the appeasement of Islam in American society and political policy has grown stronger. Apologizers for Islam on both sides of the equation-Muslims and non-Muslims alike-have muddied the waters, so to speak, and taken away the American perception of Islamic terrorists as our enemy. Through a cultural, political, and historical analysis, Bennett and Leibsohn provide the reader with an alternative view, one that shows a true need to oppose our enemy rather than appease them.

    Through their book, The Fight of Our Lives, William Bennett and Seth Leibsohn demonstrate a clear and balanced view of the subject. There is no broad brush painting all Muslims as evil; they instead analyze the actions and words of Islamic leaders and terrorists, along with those in the government who appease and apologize for them, in order to prove their point. Without clear leadership and a strong moral viewpoint, the United States ultimately loses culturally, militarily, and politically. Theirs is a traditional view, one that finds its origins in such American historical figures as Lincoln and Washington. By the end of the book, the reader has found much that is thought provoking in the work. Whether or not one agrees with all that is said by Bennett and Leibsohn, every American should carefully consider the content of this book, or we may all lose the battle for the American way of life.

    I was provided with a free copy of this book in exchange for a review. All opinions in the review are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    It Is What It Is

    The authors have stated the facts as clearly as possible. We are in the fight of our lives and we certainly need to understand what is fueling the fire. Radical Islam is still Islam, and it is the violent teachings within Islam that is the source of the violence and hatred expressed by the terrorists today. It stems from the teachings of the Koran and is in stark contrast from the teachings of the Bible, both from the Jewish and Christian perspectives. The comparisons are presented quite well, showing that neither Christianity nor Judaism commands killing of the innocent nor of the unbelievers outside of their religion because of their non adherence or submission to their religious views. many insights are shared regarding our desire for multi-culturism and respect for other religions which keeps many of us from facing the facts as they really are. The primary emphasis in facing the facts is that we need to look at what Islam represents. On pg 116 it is stated, "the refusal to subject Islam to rational analysis is a recipe for further fanaticism". There are various verses quoted from the Koran in the book which clealy shows how the radical Islamists justify their hatred and murderous behavior. I need to point out that the authors of this book donot accuse all Muslims of being terror suspects,on the contrary, they acknowledge that there are many moderate Muslims who denounce terrorism. The authors suggest that there should be many more, and that these are the people who should be making their voices heard among their own brethren. I must say that some political views in the book, I do take issue with, but this is America and we are free to say what we think. There have been new developments in the Middle East since the book was written, and of course new initiatives from the current administration. Osama Bin Laden is no longer a threat, among other things. In spite of some minor differences of opinion, I must say, this book is a must read. Thurman L Faison, author "To The Spiritually Inclined

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed Reading it!

    The book begins with the terrorist attack at Fort Hood and continues to detail the egregious error in white washing Islam and exposes the journey we've taken as a society in trying to "understand" grievances instead of calling out the evil. We've proudly asserted ourselves as enlightened when in truth we have lost our heroes and our country lacks any unity or loyalty to it's own glorious history preferring to put it down in the classrooms and in the public eye. The book writes strong with a ring of truth in its words and takes on the debate whether Islam is a religion of peace or not.

    Bennett and Leibsohn detail most of the terrorist attacks around the world and investigates its roots. He also talks about our dangerous amnesia where Islam is concerned. The academic world seems to have a love affair for Islam.

    It packs a punch in the mere 153-pages (not counting the notes and index). It's worth reading and I hope it serves as a wake-up call to those people who buy into the liberal worldview. If you don't agree with me, I encourage you to read this book and dispute it in another review. Copy from publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2