Customer Reviews for

The Fight of Our Lives: Knowing the Enemy, Speaking the Truth, and Choosing to Win the War Against Radical Islam

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    "We loved death more than you love life!" That line st

    "We loved death more than you love life!" That line struck me right there, whats on their mind going on? "Fight Of Our Lives" is a book written to wake up the world to the dangers of Radical Islam. I'm not anti-muslim but, anti-Muslim sentiment might have peaked, there were six times as many incidents of bias against Jews, as there were against Muslims. As William J. Bennett and Seth Leibsohn show, what needs to happen to be sure this never happens again. And its happening now! What the'ye gonna killed for just a video? I understand them but killing is not a solution, violation is not a solution only way we'll escape their eventual fate is to be informed and this book does an excellent job of doing just that. This is not a book intended to detail every mistake, error, and lapse of judgment for radical Islam. Read this and be ready for the fight of our lives!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than your average exposé

    I prefer to read fiction because non-fiction usually serves as a good antidote to insomnia. I struggled to get through this work for that reason only. Unlike other non-fiction list-our-woes type of books, THE FIGHT OF OUR LIVES is a true eye-opener.
    Most books of this ilk merely point out the problem, but this one delves deeply into the cause of our slide into political correctness and directs us to a clear resolution. "Rolling off our couches" is a good first step.
    In eight short chapters, plus an introduction and epilogue, Bennett & Leibsohn describe the lessons we SHOULD HAVE learned (but didn't) from Viet Nam (which showed Bin Laden our weaknesses) to the Ft. Hood massacre (which underscored our PC standing). Quoting Gen. George Casey of the recent attack: "As horrific as this tragedy was, if our diversity becomes a casualty, I think that's worse." I had to read that line several times, asking myself, "Can a military general REALLY put diversity above his soldiers?"
    This book clearly identifies our enemies, some of whom are within our own culture. Eleven pages of notes for their voluminous footnotes is indicative of the authors' intense research. THE FIGHT OF OUR LIVES isn't based on opinion, but proven facts. I hope it starts a wildfire of couch potatoes getting involved in taking back our country. I will certainly share it, give it as a gift, and recommend it.
    I received a free copy of this book from BookSneeze®.com in exchange for my review, and am in no way compelled to write flattery for flattery's sake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    The Fight of Our Lives

    'The Fight of Our Lives : Knowing the Enemy, Speaking the Truth & Choosing To Win The War Against Radical Islam' by William Bennett and Seth Leibsohn not only reflects the failures of America in the war on terror but also attempts to formulate some strategies for victory.
    I usually don't select political books but I am very glad I gave this one a shot. This book is well written and it doesn't lose the reader in complicated political jargon or policy. Bennett and Leibsohn also make an effort to be as even-handed as possible in their critique of American policy makers. Contrary to the modus operandi of many conservative writers today, to simply take aim at the current administration through President Obama and cast as much blame on him as possible. 'The Fight of Our Lives' is not one of those books as there is a fair amount of criticism of the past administrations as well, whether Republican or Democrat.
    An excellent read without political overtunes and recommended for people of all walks of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Political Ideology will not be swayed either way.

    I was intrigued by this book, because ultimately the author chooses to speak about a topic that I think has long been ignored in the public specter, especially amongst political elites.

    The book itself is structured in a way that it won't leave you guessing as to which political ideology the author belongs to. If you are a liberal going into this book, you probably won't agree with much; and if you are a conservative going into this book, you will probably emerge the same.

    The book is well sourced, and well documented, to back up the author's points. He's also not motivated by a personal vendetta of any significance, other than to promote the idea that we need to step up to the plate and actually fight against radical Islam. There are some suggestions in this book as to how to accomplish that. But again, your political ideology will probably determine your feelings on this book.

    There's a fair amount of the fear factor in this book, but again, this isn't news to me on the "need to do this" basis. Basically a call to arms to defend our nation against an enemy that has so far avoided the direct criticism it so desperately cries out for from those in positions of power in our government. I am grateful that Mr. Bennett has chosen to speak out on this very serious and deadly issue. It took some courage to write this book, especially since the enemy he challenges has no apparent fear of silencing it's adversaries by whatever means necessary.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Worth The Read

    A quick and solid read that pulls no punches. A wake up call to many of the confused views of tolerance and an effective argument against the appeasing of terrorist and radical Islam. A powerful challenge to the apologists of cultural correctness at any cost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    he Fight of Our Lives by William J. Bennett & Seth Leibsohn

    The Fight of Our Lives is a book about the "focus" America as a country has lost on the war on terror. Reading this book makes you think about how -the powers that be perceive the threat we are facing on a daily basis from terrorists. I found it very eye-opening. Quoting every source from Osama Bin Laden to our current president The Fight of Our Lives tries to show the mistakes and attitude America has taken when dealing with the radical extremists muslims while recounting some of the most horrific acts of violence this country has ever seen. I am a veteran of the U.S. Navy so the attacks on the USS Cole will forever stay with me..however it seems most have simply moved on with their IPODS,FB and Twitter filled lives. The Fight of Our Lives attempts to re-engage its readers by showing Americans lucky enough to read this book just how the muslim world views America and her policies. Interviews with leaders both in this country and in the muslim world- investigations into what happened after the attacks in Fort Hood, 911 and the USS Cole are all brought out and discussed. It all points to a weakness we have as Americans recently adopted to stay politacally "numb" and not take a stand so that we dont offend anyone and be the bad guys. Sure, Bin Laden is dead but what he stood for is not which is the complete destruction of the American "Infidels". The Fight of Our Lives is a needed reawankening to the fight against such people and to let them know we are still the "United" States. Ireceived this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    Very educational

    The Fight Of Our Lives was written recently by William Bennett with Seth Leibsohn. I normally do not read anything political, or anything that even mentions politics. When I read the description of this book, however, I changed my mind. There were many lives lost during 9/11 as well as the more recent incident at Fort Hood. I found this book to be very educational and informative regarding the truths behind what is going on in our country as well as in our government.

    There are many books out there that give various opinions of the author and of the authors views. This book is more than that. There are facts, quotes, even mentions of writings. There is a lot, as the public, we aren't made aware of. Thanks to this book, I am now more aware of different issues that I wasn't aware of before. I recommend this book for both those who are heavily into politics, and those who, like me, do not follow every aspect of politics. Not that I don't want to know what's going on in this world, but I want more than just opinion. This book gives you just that.

    This book, in my opinion, is written with honesty and well documented facts. If you are looking for an informative book with facts based on what seems to have been a ton of research, than I would say this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Very Interesting

    In trying to be politically correct and trying to keep peace with largely Muslim nations, our country has downplayed details from current events. Our current administration has discontinued the use of words such as "terrorists" and "Islamic extremists." William Bennett and Seth Liebsohn feel that these choices, as well as countless others, have already put the US on the path of surrender to those who have endorsed and supported actions such as the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001 and the Fort Hood shooting of December 2009. In this book, Bennett and Liebsohn provide evidence that supports his theory as well as information about what we can do to reclaim this war and claim victory.
    I really enjoyed this book; it was very insightful and really made me think about current events in another way. It is written in a factual manner, rather than one of "Christian bias." This is not a book that I was able to read very quickly as it takes a while to really process some of the information; it doesn't help that I have two small kids running around creating diversions! Whether you agree with the writer's viewpoint or not, this book is well written and very thought provoking.
    Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson Publishers. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    The Fight of our Lives

    The terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001 will be forever etched into the memory of all Americans. It was a day of tragedy, hate, loss, and outrage. It was also a day that propelled the United States into a war with an unconventional enemy. The outrage and anger that Americans felt that day fueled a desire to win the war so that events such as 9-11 never again happened on American soil. In their new book, "The Fight of Our Lives; Knowing the Enemy, Speaking the Truth, and Choosing to Win the War Against Radical Islam", William Bennett and Seth Liebsohn suggest that America's desire and resolve to win the war on terror is waning. Bennett and Liebsohn have written this book to wake Americans up to the fact that we are still at war and that radical Islam is the enemy. Through detailed research, interviews, quotes from politicians, military leaders, and Islamic leaders on both sides, the authors chronicle more than ten years of terrorist attacks against the United States and its allies; including the shooting at Ft Hood, embassy bombings, the attack on the USS Cole, and many other that we see daily in the news. Bennett and Liebsohn cite, time and time again, the connection between the Islam and those perpetrating the attacks. "The Fight of our Lives" also demonstrates how US policy has shifted since 9-11. Beginning there, the leadership of our nation used the words "terrorism", "terrorist", and "war" openly and took a firm stance against those harbored terrorists. The authors suggest that through years of tolerance, appeasement, and political correctness, we hardly hear these words anymore. The authors write to remind Americans that terrorism has not went away. This book is hard-hitting and to the point. It is very "in your face" about the issues of terrorism and Islam. You may not agree with every point the authors make. You will however be challenged to evaluate the facts and decide for yourself whether or not Islam is the real enemy of the United States. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Booksneeze in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Fight of Our Lives

    The Fight of Our Lives: Knowing the Enemy, Speaking the Truth & Choosing to Win the War Against Radical Islam by William J. Bennett and Seth Leibsohn, "is a cultural call to arms addressing our politicians, our citizens, our academies, our think tanks and schools.... We focus on a notion too little heard these days: that there is a war, it is serious, and it can- quite simpmy- end us..... Our focus is the nature of the threat we face and the nature of the response we do not currently possess. It is a focus more on us than our enemy." (page xv- introduction) and furthermore, "There is no such thing as a safe place from Islamic terror, not aborad, and not anywhere in America" page 2. Ironically, in light of the terroristic attack of 9/11, America has become complascent and ineffective- and in contrast to previous wars in American and world history, political leadershipand effectiveness have weakened and crumbled. America is vulnerable - in terms of its military strength and moral resolve.
    This book cites several examples of our nation's ineffectiveness and tolerance with the extremist Islamic threat, for example, Fort Hood. As a nation we have not followed through on terrosrist threats. Our culture of acceptance simply does not recognize the threat and therfore responds in a passive, dismissive way. The initial resove of our nation which was onbious after 9/11 has dissapated, resulting in "moral confusion". page 19 This book is a great resource for anyone interested in political events, and more specifically, about American policy in regards to terrorist threats. It provides an explanation of the ineffectiveness and passivness we see in society today. As a blogger for booksneeze, I recieved a copy of this book for the purpose of writing this review. The opinions expressed are my own.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1