Customer Reviews for

Fighter Pilot: The Memoirs of Legendary Ace Robin Olds

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    For combat pilots of the era, Robin Olds was THE face of the Vietnam air war.

    Brig. Gen. Robin Olds was a bigger-than-life fighter pilot best-known for his leadership and combat exploits during the Vietnam War. But, as revealed through his own story, Olds was a seasoned double ace long before he took to the air in Southeast Asia.
    From his birth in 1922, Olds was hard-wired to fly, surrounded by the pioneers of U.S. air power. He was the son of Robert Olds, a World War I fighter pilot, who served as an aide to Brig. Gen. Billy Mitchell and achieved the rank of major general in the Army Air Corps. Giants of early military aviation, such as Hap Arnold, Carl A. "Tooey" Spaatz and Ira C. Eaker, met at the Olds home to discuss what became the tenets of U.S. airpower.
    Olds flew two tours in World War II, distinguishing himself as a natural combat pilot in both the Lockheed P-38 and North American P-51 fighters. As a 22-year-old major, he commanded the 434th Fighter Sqdn., a salute to his leadership skills, as well.
    Although his accounts of aerial battles convey the excitement, anxiety and exhaustion of air combat, Olds also captures the humor, grief and numbing routine that were part a pilot's life.
    The European war ended with then-Maj. Olds having logged 107 missions, 12 air-to-air kills, and 11.5 German aircraft destroyed on the ground. He also had formed strong ideas about how fighters could be employed more effectively, and wasn't shy about expounding on those concepts.
    Multiple attempts to fly combat in the Korean War were thwarted by his movie-star wife, Ella Raines, and her producer friends, who had considerable political pull in Washington. During frustrating years of Pentagon duty, Olds made a conscious decision to become a patriotic rebel-in-uniform; promotions be damned.
    Later, as the war in Vietnam was heating up, it looked like Olds again would be grounded and shackled to a desk, thanks to a pending promotion to brigadier general. However, he managed to "screw up" just enough to get his promotion orders ripped to pieces and, eventually, sent to Southeast Asia.
    He took over as commander of the 8th Tactical Fighter Wing, located at Ubon Air Base, Thailand, on Sept. 30, 1966. Although the wing's morale was dismal, Olds whipped the unit into shape, declaring that he would "lead from the front" by flying combat missions in the F-4 Phantom.
    Olds details preparations for "Operation Bolo," one of the air war's most successful missions. Emulating a flight of F-105 fighters, right down to speeds, call signs and radio transmissions, his F-4s succeeded in suckering a flock of North Vietnamese MiGs into a trap that decimated the Russian-built fighters. Bolo F-4s downed seven MiGs, including one kill by Olds. It was a turning point for the air war in Southeast Asia.
    Olds ultimately flew 152 combat missions and shot down four MiGs, boosting his career total to 16 air-to-air kills. Accounts of those missions are as descriptive as any written about the Vietnam air war.
    After returning to the states, Olds served as the Air Force Academy's commandant of cadets and was promoted to brigadier general in 1968. He retired in 1973.
    Olds's description of a recurring dream about a fighter pilot's final flight in an F-4 Phantom will cause even the crustiest airman to choke up. Guaranteed. Brig. Gen. Robin Olds died of congestive heart failure on June 14, 2007, and was buried at the U.S. Air Force Academy cemetery.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    A wonderful read

    I was hugely pleased with this book. The pre-Vietnam portion was as good as it gets. The Vietnam portion just reinforces the wrongness of the methodology of McNamara and the military set up where non-combat career officers having input into combat decisions is wrong. The Olds comment's on USA individuals such as the entertainment personality J Fonda should convince right thinking people to never let die her activity in Vietnam.
    All in all this book is excellent.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The best book ever what a great American 

    The best book ever what a great American 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    A must read for everyone, not just fighter pilots!

    Vietnam was my war a war which was, in the words of Robin Olds "wrong, not because we (soldiers, airmen, sailors) were there but because the people in Washington - Kennedy, Johnson, and particularly Robert S. McNamara - had never grasped the basic objective. The cost in human lives was a price paid for no stated reason. Men in Washington were playing at war with no understanding of its conduct..." He goes on to say that the way to end that war was to win it. Politicians never allowed us to win it and thus it went is "an everlasting disgrace to our nation, a blundering inept prosecution of a situation that from the very start demanded a positive course with positive, believable goals." Nearly a quarter of my pilot training classmates were killed in that war and I remember it today as though it happened yesterday.

    Unfortunately, the "Me Firsts," the "Me Too's," and the "Deadwood" as described by General Spatz to General Olds ran the military - thus the "dedicated" such as Robin Olds became the square pegs pounded down into round holes. Chappie James went along to get along (a "me to" perhaps) and became a 4 star general. Robin Olds was farmed out to a retirement camp. One wonders how many other Robin Olds there were out there - I know of at least two.

    Olds was brash, overbearing, and his story begs to be read. His tales of pilot training, WW II, and even Vietnam make me wish that I had been born one generation earlier than I was. I for one am happy that he kept a journal and even happier that it did not end up in some dusty pile of papers. I thank his daughter Christina for bringing it to light.

    The man was a legend in my time and in my war! Hear! Hear!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    A "Must Read" for Officers and future officers.

    As a retired military pilot and officer, I found this book very MOVING. If I was an ROTC instructor, it would be required reading for all my students. I especially loved his "pet definition for discipline". I got very frustrated in my military career with leaders who did not know the difference between punishment and discipline. The difference is great and Robin Olds pegged it. I earmarked that page in my book and underlined the sentence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    An Incredible Story

    I listened to the audio version of the book. The narrator does an excellent job conveying the persona of a strong-willed, confident, intelligent, maverick aerial combat warrior. I truly enjoyed this inspiring and and amazing story of the life of Robin Olds. The book is filled with vivid seat-of-the pants air combat actions. But this book is much more. I found myself laughing out aloud in several humorous vignettes - I cracked up when the freshly-minted 2LT Olds "discovered" he actually got paid to fly planes. Later in his life there is a totally hilarious family story about the mayhem that ensures when a family cat "somehow" becomes involved with toothpaste. Conversely, Robin Olds experiences many heart-rendering life events such as long separations from loved ones and dealing with the death of buddies and fellow airmen in combat. This book is very special on many different levels. I would not be surprised if there was a movie made sometime in the future recounting the tales of this very special fighter pilot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    Robin Olds may be gone but reading this brings him clearly to life. I didn't want to reach the end of the book!

    Robin Olds passed away in 2007 but "Fighter Pilot" brings him to life as if you were having a beer with him in the club. This is his story as seen through his eyes but it is also the story of the fighter pilots of the US Air Force from World War II through Vietnam. It's his story but with ample credit given to those he served with during his 30 years of service, those he says he wouldn't have made it without.

    "Fighter Pilot" is different because Olds doesn't embellish his accomplishments but highlights in detail his character flaws and some of the mistakes they contributed to. He admits how his own outspoken behavior and love of fighters got him in plenty of trouble and influenced his career, not always for the better. A tactical meverick with no real use for politics, his desire to be in the fight came with a price over his career. Not that it really mattered to Robin Olds.

    Reading "Fighter Pilot" puts you in the cockpit with such clarity that you can almost feel the concussions from exploding flak. Your mind's eye sees the incoming surface-to-air missiles (SAMs) and your pulse quickens a bit. You know he's going to come home from the mission but there's still a bit of doubt. Few people can relate the tension of aerial combat as Robin Olds did. As long as I was reading "Fighter Pilot" Robin Olds was still alive. For anyone who reads this book he always will be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Thank you Robin for all you did over the years! *HAND SALUTE*

    Thank you Robin for all you did over the years!

    *HAND SALUTE*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1