BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fighting Love (Love to the Extreme Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Worth your time and money

    ## Definitely worth your time and money. This was much more emotional than I thought it would be. I actually found myself needing a tissue a time or two. Most of the book I enjoyed. The part I didn't like was the constant mention of Tommy's women (ergo only 4 stars). What a total man-whore. I don't find it necessary to reiterate that over and over. Once gets the point across just fine. Nevertheless, fantastic story that I will be reading again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Once I started reading I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Sweet Rollercoaster

    Holy cow didnt see that coming. I thought it wouldd be like every other friend to lover story but its not at all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    It was good

    About 200 pages or so the book was pretty goood. Nice love scenes and the emotions where there in the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Excellent

    Excellent read!!!!! I loved the story of best friends to finally identifying they loved each other. It wasn't until like page 150, but it was so funny when Tommy beccame so jealous when Julie started dating a big hunk MMA Heavyweight named Brody!!!! I was happy for her!!!! There is an ending an an HEA!!!!! I was impressed how well this book was written when it came to describing the fights, my husband teaches and coaches Mixed Martial Arts and currently has a fighter going pro, I know how dedicated the coaches and fighters are in real life!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Great Read

    Love the story, the characters, the attaction and the HEA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Hey

    How do you get a user name or something tht doesnt say anonymous?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Friends to Lovers Character-Driven Romance

    Find this review and more at Lusty Penguin Reviews!

    Lovers of contemporary romance will be completely swept away when reading Fighting Love, A Love to the Extreme Novel, by Abby Niles.

    Tommy “Lightning” Sparks and Julie Rogers have been best friends since they were ten years old. A mixed martial arts fighter, Tommy needs a place to live after his house burns to the ground. As best friends would, Julie offers Tommy her guest room, which he accepts. Julie has a hard time adjusting to Tommy’s presence because she realizes that she has been in love with him since he found her missing puppy all those years ago. Niles does a masterful job of interweaving stories from their youth, which really brings emotional depth to this story. Julie’s only problem is Tommy does not feel the same way. A loyal character, Julie has stood by Tommy’s side through thick and thin, which I just loved. I also enjoyed how fearless she is when telling Tommy he has screwed up, even though she is unable to let him know how she really feels. But, in the end, Julie decides to take the biggest risk and goes all out to see if Tommy is her one true love, which I just adored. When he first moves in, Tommy sees Julie only as a sister-like friend, but he slowly ascertains his feeling run way deeper than that. Both of them worry that changing their relationship from friends to lovers may just ruin everything between them. Their dates were highly entertaining, especially their trip to the aquarium when Julie wanted to see the penguins first. Their bedroom play is spicy hot. Tommy starts to show Julie that he is falling for her too, only to pull back because he fears that he is unable to have a real relationship. Unfortunately, he cannot see how these false starts end up hurting Julie more and more each time. Although patience is Julie’s middle name, she is devastated when she grasps that Tommy will never change and kicks him out. Tommy has so much to learn in the relationship department that I thoroughly enjoyed watching him figure it out and mature, and in turn, fell for him hard. The manner in which Tommy apologizes so fits his personality and is truly amazing. I suggest having tissues at the ready because if you are anything like I am, they will be needed.

    Fighting Love is a well-executed, character-driven romance with realistic characters and a happily ever after that will leave tears in your eyes and a huge smile on your face.

    I received an eBook copy of the book for the purpose of an honest review. I was not compensated for this review, and all conclusions are my own responsibility.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Juh

    Gybu

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is my second book by Abby Niles--and it won't be my last.

    This is my second book by Abby Niles--and it won't be my last.

    Friends-to-lovers can be such fun when done well, and this one definitely is. Tommy was a bit slow on the uptake--but, you know, he is a guy--and I absolutely loved the foil that Brody's character provided. Tommy wouldn't have clued in so quickly--relatively speaking--to the fact that his relationship with Julie had gone beyond the BFF stage without the jealousy that the other fighter inspired. (He's going to get a book too, right? And Mac? They definitely deserve their own stories, both of them.) Julie, of course, had known that she was in love with Tommy since, oh, forever, but felt like she was in permanent "friend zone" territory.

    And then he moves in with her....

    There was a lot of fun "almosts" in this book, and a whole lot of drama going on behind the scenes that made it an entertaining read. (Did I mention Brody already? Yes? Well, let me just reiterate--he's awesome! Needs own book!) I'll admit that both Tommy and Julie went a tad bit too far at times with their internal struggle, creating unneeded drama and that the ending was fairly abrupt, BUT Tommy made an absolutely lovely grand gesture, which was enough to cover a multitude of sins, let alone the small handful that were here.

    Fighting Love is the second in the series, but works fine as a stand alone.

    4 stars/ B rating.

    I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    Julie and Tommy have been best friends for most of their lives.

    Julie and Tommy have been best friends for most of their lives. They've always been there for each other, but Julie has secretly loved Tommy for many years. Tommy is completely oblivious though, and goes through women like candy. Julie has finally had enough and decides she just has to get over Tommy, once and for all. He'll never see her as more than a friend. Then Tommy's place burns down and he has nowhere to go…except to Julie's. Of course, Julie will let him stay with her, but that only makes it harder on her considering her feelings for Tommy. When she starts dating a fellow fighter, Tommy sees red and will stop at nothing to get rid of Brody. Tommy doesn't understand his intense feelings against Brody. He's just trying to protect his best friend, Julie, right?
    Ooh la la, this is one sexy romance with an uber-hot hero I couldn't get enough of! He's stubborn and sometimes a little dense, but he's also protective and dedicated to his best friend, Julie, which makes him the perfect hero. When it comes to romancing a woman though, he just needs a little push in the right direction and Ms. Niles gives us an ingenious heroine who will do just that…and then some! When Julie decides she's tired of playing nice, she'll pull out all the stops to get her man and that made Fighting Love a fantastic romance novel to me. I adored how Tommy fought his feelings and held back his lust, trying to protect his best friend. It makes his fall that much sweeter when the hero and heroine finally get together. I highly recommend not only this book, but the author, Ms. Abby Niles, too! I'm not only going to read her next book, but I'll be scurrying to find all those that I've already missed! Fighting Love is an excellent read and most definitely a keeper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    This book was what was expected and had a very predictable plot.

    This book was what was expected and had a very predictable plot.  I have to say the writing was well done in comparison to what is on the romance book market today and the editing was decent (uncommon find).  I enjoyed it though I didn't fall in love and it will most likely not make it on my reread list.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Having been kicked out of sport he so loved for his violen


    Having been kicked out of sport he so loved for his violent behaviors, Tommy is a bit down on his luck. As the book opens, Tommy is racing back to his house because it is engulfed by flames. The only thing he was able to save are the clothes on his back and his faithful dog, Warrior. Faced with this unfathomable loss, on top of his career low, Tommy turns to his best friend, Julie.

    Julie has loved Tommy almost her whole life. When fate forces her to allow Tommy to live with her, Julie can no longer hide her feelings. As they spend time together, Julie sees a side of Tommy she hasn’t seen since they were children. The cockiness of his professional fighter days has disappeared and her truly caring friend is back. As they grow closer, Tommy is thrust back into the fighting world and just as quickly, Julie wonders if they can really stand the test of time.

    First and foremost, I was impressed by how quickly I was thrown into the world of MMA. This was the first Abbi Niles book I had ever read and I want to tip my hat to her, having never watched the sport myself, as I read the different fight scenes I literally felt like I was there with them. I could hear the heavy breathing, feel the tension, it was perfect.
    That said, I really fell in love with this book from the first chapter. This is the second book in a series, but can absolutely be read as a stand alone like I did. Julie and Tommy were excellent characters, and the indecision on both parts was excellently calibrated. I could understand Julie’s hesitance of getting involved with Tommy considering his offhand behavior before. Plenty of steamy scenes but the emotional connections were pretty spectacular between these two characters. The book ended beautifully and in my opinion was one of the best romance endings I’ve read in quite a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Loved this story. There was a strong friendship turned into hot

    Loved this story. There was a strong friendship turned into hot lovers. But is the fighting more important to Tommy than Julie. He nearly loses her but redeems himself in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Shawnie

    Look i know where you live at in real life u have a boyfriend or crush on someone so i just want u to be my nook baby because i dont want to destroy that ok :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    To brady- hailey got locked out go to result four

    <p>
    <p>
    Mist

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    I need help tap

    I have a love problem theres this guy i like and i think i like he likes me back then theres this other guy that likes me but has a odd way of showing it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars I really enjoyed the first book in this series, Extrem

    4.5 Stars
    I really enjoyed the first book in this series, Extreme Love, and have really been looking forward to reading Fighting Love.  I would like to mention that this is a companion novel and can easily be read as a stand alone.  There is just something about MMA fighters that draws me in, kind of the way books about rock stars does.  I also love stories about friends turning into lovers.  Throw in a hot, sexy, bad boy and I'm hooked.  Tommy Sparks and Julie Rogers have been best friends since they were kids.  He's loves her and is fiercely protective of her, but has had her in the &quot;friend zone&quot; all their lives, where as Julie has been totally in love with Tommy since she was 10 years old, enduring the joy of having him as a best friend and the pain of watching him as a player and with other women, while being side-lined and playing second string for years because she doesn't want to lose their friendship. 




    Tommy has never handled fame well and it's cost him big time.  When a tragic fire causes him to lose everything he has left, he moves in with Julie until he can find a new place.  Suddenly the whole dynamic of their relationship begins to change.  She's acutely aware of his presence and Tommy begins to have thoughts that are not &quot;friend zone&quot; material about Julie that both freak him out and turn him on.  When Julie begins to date another fighter, Tommy realizes he doesn't want her with anything else, a revelation that both scares and excites him.  Julie has always wanted Tommy, but as she begins to sense the signals from him changing, she isn't quite sure if she misreading things or not.  When thoughts turn into actions and cross the line from the mental arena to the physical one, things really get interesting.  Tommy wars with his desires and his worthiness of Julie, while Julie is determined to finish what he's started, which provides for some really hot and humorous situations.  Just when things seem to be finally going well, circumstances change and the past threatens to reclaim the present, causing Tommy to face the possibility of losing his BFF and the woman he loves forever.




    I really enjoyed Fighting Love. I think I liked it even better than Extreme Love. I loved the relationship between Tommy and Julie, which was super hot and romantic, but what I loved best was the way the friendship part of their relationship was emphasized and built upon.  Abby Niles did an outstanding job doing that and let that factor be what everything else in their relationship stemmed from, while keeping it front and center the whole time.  The romantic aspect was swoon-worthy and the sex was sizzling hot, and I loved the story line itself.  Tommy is hot, a total bad boy, cocky, sexy as sin and he know it.  I also loved watching Julie come out of her shell as the relationship between them progressed.  The book captured my attention from beginning to end.  The characters were well written and easy to connect to, while the overall plot was enjoyable and entertaining.  Fighting Love is a wonderful contemporary romance that I totally enjoyed and would most definitely recommend to fans of this genre. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    To Rebecca

    Hi. My name is angel. Wanna cht.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    This was an exceptionally good love story...a wonderful mixture

    This was an exceptionally good love story...a wonderful mixture of friendship, sexy fighters, and love found and acknowledged, at last. I couldn't put this book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3