Customer Reviews for

Fighting for Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awsome

Great book loved it had. 280pg

posted by 17295860 on March 11, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

My rating: 3 of 5 ¿¿ Ten years ago Shelby though she









My rating: 3 of 5 ¿¿




Ten years ago Shelby though she was making the right decision in setting free the man she loved so he could pursue his dreams. Slight miscalculation on her part was that she never bothered asking him what he wanted. Over the years she ha...








My rating: 3 of 5 ¿¿




Ten years ago Shelby though she was making the right decision in setting free the man she loved so he could pursue his dreams. Slight miscalculation on her part was that she never bothered asking him what he wanted. Over the years she had much cause to regret that decision, and even after all this time had not been able to completely let go. Of course, just as Shelby is getting ready to take that first step, who else but the source of her years of pining would make a sudden appearance in her life. But now in the form of subject matter for an article she has just been assigned to write on the MMA Heavyweight Champion, "The Destroyer".




Years of hard work and dedicated training have paid of for Matt Reynolds, and now that he has reigned in his 'wilder' side, he hopes he can settle into a steadier groove after winning the championship. He had come from very little, but had managed to make something of himself, it was time to treasure that. When his manager suggested an article for a renowned fitness publication would help boost his image, Matt didn't hesitate a moment. That is, until he was introduced to the writer of said article..... a woman he had tried hard to forget for years, the same woman who he had never been able to completely remove from his heart.




To say their unexpected reunion was a surprise is an understatement. Both Matt and Shelby are shaken by the encounter, and although Shelby runs, this time Matt is not going to let her get away easily. Even though it's been years, he still wants some answers and if possible a look to see if there is anything left between them. When cornered, Shelby tries to explain her reasons for leaving back then, although she still doesn't share everything with him. A decision she may come to regret.




When a long-time nemesis gets a lead on some damaging information, he does not hesitate to try and use it to drive a wedge between Matt and Shelby and threatens to break apart what has only just been rediscovered....




****




The story is not unfamiliar...... rejected years ago only to find each other again with an opportunity to clear up any remaining misunderstandings, leaving out one crucial detail that threatens to end the blissful reunion yet a second time around!
This particular version made a bit more interesting with the addition of a competitive nemesis of our hero, who is known to stoop low to shake up his opponents. Low enough to dig up dirt as old as ten years down memory lane....




Shelby thought she did good by letting Matt go to pursue his dream, and for the life of me, I have never met an 18-year old who has not thought of herself long enough to come to that conclusion...... Call me a cynic.... OR..... call me a mother of four (now adult) children, feet solidly planted on terra firma, knowing that unless the girl is a veritable saint, there isn't an 18-year old female in love, in her particular situation, who could bring herself to be that self-sacrificing. If she had had any hardships in her life before that....... any hard knocks to overcome....any indication at all that she had needed to grow up at a young age due to trauma of some sort, I might have bought into the extreme maturity at a naturally selfish age. As it is......nah.




Matt's reaction back then is far more character and age appropriate: Pissed off, heated, proud, all of those things and more. Flipping the bird at her and the rest of the world, by working  his ass off to get to where he wanted to go and living it up as if he isn't hurting every step of the way. Now that makes much more sense to me. But then, Matt baffles me as well! He takes one look at her after ten years and basically decides that whatever it was is forgiven, and hey.....let's try this again. For a guy who says 'he has though about her at times over the years', he sure says "I never stopped loving you" awful quick!!




Needless to say, I have a bit of an issue with the credibility of the crux of the story, BUT that is not to say I don't like it..... because I do. I actually enjoyed reading this book. In part it was the MMA scene, which is always interesting, and also the interaction between Shelby and Matt. Despite the way they came together, their effect on each other is very tangible. And I don't just mean the scalding chemistry. They have an actual connection that can be sensed in the way Shelby can hold back the instinctive violence in Matt that wants to come out, and Matt is able to ground Shelby with a simple touch or word. 




That right there, is the result of a piece of fine intuitive writing on the part of L.P. Dover. She must have had a strong sense of who she needed her characters to be, to be able to tie them together so well. Not only that, but she was able to translate that into words and onto the reader. Well done!




¿A charged and steamy fight for a seductive second chance!¿




**Copy provided in return for an honest review.**

posted by RipeForReader on March 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    My rating: 3 of 5 ¿¿ Ten years ago Shelby though she









    My rating: 3 of 5 ¿¿




    Ten years ago Shelby though she was making the right decision in setting free the man she loved so he could pursue his dreams. Slight miscalculation on her part was that she never bothered asking him what he wanted. Over the years she had much cause to regret that decision, and even after all this time had not been able to completely let go. Of course, just as Shelby is getting ready to take that first step, who else but the source of her years of pining would make a sudden appearance in her life. But now in the form of subject matter for an article she has just been assigned to write on the MMA Heavyweight Champion, "The Destroyer".




    Years of hard work and dedicated training have paid of for Matt Reynolds, and now that he has reigned in his 'wilder' side, he hopes he can settle into a steadier groove after winning the championship. He had come from very little, but had managed to make something of himself, it was time to treasure that. When his manager suggested an article for a renowned fitness publication would help boost his image, Matt didn't hesitate a moment. That is, until he was introduced to the writer of said article..... a woman he had tried hard to forget for years, the same woman who he had never been able to completely remove from his heart.




    To say their unexpected reunion was a surprise is an understatement. Both Matt and Shelby are shaken by the encounter, and although Shelby runs, this time Matt is not going to let her get away easily. Even though it's been years, he still wants some answers and if possible a look to see if there is anything left between them. When cornered, Shelby tries to explain her reasons for leaving back then, although she still doesn't share everything with him. A decision she may come to regret.




    When a long-time nemesis gets a lead on some damaging information, he does not hesitate to try and use it to drive a wedge between Matt and Shelby and threatens to break apart what has only just been rediscovered....




    ****




    The story is not unfamiliar...... rejected years ago only to find each other again with an opportunity to clear up any remaining misunderstandings, leaving out one crucial detail that threatens to end the blissful reunion yet a second time around!
    This particular version made a bit more interesting with the addition of a competitive nemesis of our hero, who is known to stoop low to shake up his opponents. Low enough to dig up dirt as old as ten years down memory lane....




    Shelby thought she did good by letting Matt go to pursue his dream, and for the life of me, I have never met an 18-year old who has not thought of herself long enough to come to that conclusion...... Call me a cynic.... OR..... call me a mother of four (now adult) children, feet solidly planted on terra firma, knowing that unless the girl is a veritable saint, there isn't an 18-year old female in love, in her particular situation, who could bring herself to be that self-sacrificing. If she had had any hardships in her life before that....... any hard knocks to overcome....any indication at all that she had needed to grow up at a young age due to trauma of some sort, I might have bought into the extreme maturity at a naturally selfish age. As it is......nah.




    Matt's reaction back then is far more character and age appropriate: Pissed off, heated, proud, all of those things and more. Flipping the bird at her and the rest of the world, by working  his ass off to get to where he wanted to go and living it up as if he isn't hurting every step of the way. Now that makes much more sense to me. But then, Matt baffles me as well! He takes one look at her after ten years and basically decides that whatever it was is forgiven, and hey.....let's try this again. For a guy who says 'he has though about her at times over the years', he sure says "I never stopped loving you" awful quick!!




    Needless to say, I have a bit of an issue with the credibility of the crux of the story, BUT that is not to say I don't like it..... because I do. I actually enjoyed reading this book. In part it was the MMA scene, which is always interesting, and also the interaction between Shelby and Matt. Despite the way they came together, their effect on each other is very tangible. And I don't just mean the scalding chemistry. They have an actual connection that can be sensed in the way Shelby can hold back the instinctive violence in Matt that wants to come out, and Matt is able to ground Shelby with a simple touch or word. 




    That right there, is the result of a piece of fine intuitive writing on the part of L.P. Dover. She must have had a strong sense of who she needed her characters to be, to be able to tie them together so well. Not only that, but she was able to translate that into words and onto the reader. Well done!




    ¿A charged and steamy fight for a seductive second chance!¿




    **Copy provided in return for an honest review.**

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Forget "dont waste your money" dont waste your TIME

    I dont generally write review, but in this case i made an exception. I am an avid reader and love the romance genre, but this book is beyond terible, its painful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Awsome

    Great book loved it had. 280pg

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    really enjoyed this book :)

    really enjoyed this book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2014

    I am very happy that MMA romances are 1) popular and 2) getting

    I am very happy that MMA romances are 1) popular and 2) getting better and better. This book was awesome!
    Matt and Shelby had young love as high school sweethearts when an unexpected situation breaks them apart. 10 years have passed and now they are reunited, though it is not happily. Matt is still broken hearted, and Shelby is still keeping secrets. Though now, Matt is the bad boy of MMA and Shelby has been assigned to write a feature about him for a magazine. Will they finally come to terms with what tore them apart and give each other a chance to heal, or do the wounds run too deep for both of them?
    I love MMA fighter characters. They are so badass. And hot…let’s not forget hot. And Matt is definitely hot. He’s a playboy, but he’s not a bad guy, he’s just has a hole left in his heart from Shelby and has tried to fill it with fighting and women. Can you blame the guy?
    Shelby is a great character too. She thought all those years ago that she was making the best decision for people that she cared about, but all it ended up doing was tearing both Shelby and Matt apart in the end. Their love story is one of those kinds where you know it’s just meant to be, they belong together. I loved the tension and build up between them, and the feelings that never really died for either of them. It was a sweet story about second chances, and who doesn’t cheer for two good people to have a second chance with one another?
    As far as writing and general plot, it was good. I was able to figure out the twist before it happened, but that didn’t detract from my enjoyment of the book at all. It’s a really emotional story that I got totally wrapped up in. I haven’t read any of the other standalone books in this series, but I definitely am now. 4 stars!
    Reviewed by Sara for Crystal’s Many Reviewers
    *Copy provided for honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Shaun

    I run in grab and go

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Great book

    I have read all the books in this series and have loved them. When I think she can't get any better she goes and writes another book that tops the last one. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Pierce

    Nods putting his machete up and climbing up a tree

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Axel

    Axel ran in and grabbed both of the District Four packs, and sprinted full speed away.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Arryn

    Having gathered her supplies, she jogged back out.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I loved it, it really pulled me in. There were so many emotions

    I loved it, it really pulled me in. There were so many emotions there. This story is about Matt and Shelby, they are an amazing characters, so real. He is an MMA fighter and she is a writer who has to write a story about him. They were high school sweethearts, but she broke it off. They meet after 10 years again, both still very much attracted to each other.

    This story is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Clove

    Uh. I guess.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Wes

    You know clove?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    JOIN SILVER CLAN

    At under dogs res one. Talk to silver star

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Rose

    A district 10 girl walks in.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Ace

    Brings the rabbit to camp.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Aster

    *Jumps into a tree and then leaps, landing on the table and snagging a blue pack labeled 11 and a loaf of bread before running away.*

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Alex

    Nods.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Kato

    Limps in grabs a trident arrows wire sword axe and limps out.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Want me to write

    Who wants me to write a story? Any story you want!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2