BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fighting to Survive (As the World Dies Series #2)

Average Rating 5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Rhiannon Frater provides a super middle book as the adrenalin is gone, but the end of days remains imminent

    As The World Dies not with a whimper or a bang but with a zombie bite, a few of the dwindling human populace in Texas Hill Country convert a small construction site into a fortress. Travis led the conversion that provides some security from the surrounding ravenous zombies. However, inside the shelter is a big ghetto with overcrowding and not enough supplies to survive an extended siege.

    Salvation is next door at a hotel overrun by the reanimated horde, but getting there and cleansing the place will not be easy as human scavengers like the biker gang lurk nearby and the ever present and growing zombies occupy the joint. While the external threat is dire, the biggest break down is inside amongst the survivors. Having endured The First Days, the cohesiveness no longer exists. Rival groups offer solutions while dealing with psychological issues like survivor guilt that overwhelms at times people like Jenni and Katie.

    With a deft merging of Maslow's hierarchy inside of a George Romero world, the second As The World Dies zombie apocalypse is an exciting tale of hope and despair as the euphoria of the early days of just surviving by the minute loses the adrenalin surge. The story line is at its best when the humans debate how to live and when the outside world assaults them. When the lead two females and their "mates" turn romantic rather than sexual escapism from reality, Fighting to Survive loses psychological momentum; for instance Jenni not to long ago watched her husband dine on their toddler, but now has a boyfriend of sorts. Still Rhiannon Frater provides a super middle book as the adrenalin is gone, but the end of days remains imminent.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Awesome

    Part of one of the best zombie fiction series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    must read

    awesome zombie series and great continuation from book one, love Katie and Travis, cant wait to start reading book three!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    This is the Best Zombie book Ever, I love it !!!

    This is the Best Zombie book Ever, I love it !!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2014

    Great series!

    Wonderful continuation of the story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    More, more, more!

    L O V E D it! Great story line, great characters, great writing. Lots of action. Highly recommend for fans of the zombie genre. Can not wait to read the third book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    Brilliant book Fighting to Survive is the second book of the As

    Brilliant book

    Fighting to Survive is the second book of the As the World Dies series.  I honestly did not think it could be better than ‘The First Days’, but wow, it was AWESOME!!

    The survivors in the fort no longer have ‘just’ the zombies to contend with, they now have a marauding band of bandits to contend with too – as if life was not difficult enough for everyone already.  These bandits are the worst kind of bandits imaginable.  They are in fact worse – much worse – than the zombies, as they are still human (which, I suppose, is somewhat debatable).

    The one positive aspect for the occupants of the fort is that they were eventually able to move into the hotel.  Clearing the hotel and making it safe had its own problems and tragedies, but it had a huge impact on morale, and it brought a sense of normality back to everyday life.

    The characters – the good and the bad – are all great, they have depth, and their weaknesses and strengths are highlighted brilliantly in the story.  I really cared about what happens to each and every one of them (except the bandits of course).

    What was interesting was how the group handled conflict – there is no ‘law’ anymore, no judges and no courts.  Everyone has their own feelings on how to deal with serious crimes committed within the group.  How they eventually dealt with it, was interesting.

    I recommend this book to everyone – if you have read post apocalypse/zombie fiction, or not, read this series, it is a brilliant and well written story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Really good book

    I have mpnot finidhed this book but i love it so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of Fighting To Survive

    If you thought The First Days was exciting, you better fasten your seatbelt because Fighting To Survive is one hell of a ride!

    We continue from pretty much where we left off from The First Days. Watching the people in the Fort survive. In this installment the survivors move finally migrate over to the hotel, fight off more zombies, encounter Bandits, and some fights among each other occur. And once again, we have our Vigilante make another appearance which is yet another addictive aspect in these books.

    I found myself blinking even LESS in this book. I could not turn away, and simply had to keep reading to find out what was going to happen to this group of awesome characters! Ok, I lie. There came a point in the book where I had to stop! I was too freaked out to keep reading. I came back, read a page, and had to stop again! Sometimes, it’s not the zombies that are the scariest things out there. It was like when I was watching the movie The Road. Great movie, but I couldn’t keep going! It totally affected my mind, and I just couldn’t do it. I had to stop. I thought it was going to be one of those moments, but with some encouragement from a fellow blogger buddy, she convinced me to keep going. And let me tell you, thank God I did!

    This alone should tell you just how great Rhiannon Frater is as a storyteller. Everything in this world she has created is so real and so addicting that I was totally and completely immersed in this world of death, survival, and hope. As it was in the first book, the descriptions provided all throughout the book was top notch! I could close my eyes and picture every character, the surroundings, heck sometimes the smells of both the dead and the survivors. Not only was Fraters world building so completely awesome, but her approach to the many different relationships that are built during this time is equally addictive. One would think that love would be impossible to find and grow under such duress situations, but a lot of the characters find love amongst all the chaos…and I loved every minute of it!

    We are introduced a few more unforgettable characters which only added to the awesomeness that is this trilogy! Another testament to how awesome Frater’s writing is is how I was able to feel so many different emotions when reading about the characters. I felt sadness, happiness, anger, love, awe, and HATE. Oh yes, hate was felt and on more than one occasion. It was those intense emotions that I felt while reading this book that has solidified how much I love the characters in these books! I need to know more…I need to know how everyone will fair! Will they survive? Will love endure? Who will die? Ack! So many questions.

    Fans of The Walking Dead, zombie movies and books will completely devour this book, but be forewarned that you will WANT to have the third book, SEIGE, on hand. You do NOT want this ride to end!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    What can I say, I love the As The World Dies books! I love that

    What can I say, I love the As The World Dies books! I love that it combines romance with gore! I enjoy seeing the characters and their different relationships develop. I cannot wait to read the third book, and the untold stores Vol. 2!! I love Rhiannon's work. I recommend this trilogy to anyone! Its definitely worth the purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    exciting and scary as hell!

    This is part two of a story about people who survived when everyone around them turned into zombies. True, this type of story has been done again and again and yet this author definately stands out. This story grabs you and doesnt let go and it somehow grabs you emotionally and wrings you dry at the same time. I recommend this to all zombie and apocolypse fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Fantastic read! Great sequel to the first book in this series an

    Fantastic read! Great sequel to the first book in this series and I'm anxiously awaiting the third installment. Highly recommend to fans of the zombie genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    One of the best books ive read

    It was a thrilling twist and kept me on my toes....im hoping there will be a third book coming because this was an amazing turn out from the first book.i recomend to all zombie lovers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2