BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

File M for Murder (Cat in the Stacks Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A fine, charming book to cozy up with.

If you love cats, you will love this third book in the Cat in the stacks Mystery series. A compelling mystery with a lovable cat thrown into the mix. What more could you ask for? I loved it.

posted by Lucilly on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Yikes.

Yikes. I picked this up because of the Humane Reading tag; I'm a huge cat (animal) lover, and this was an inexpensive little trifle to read in one evening. I finished--but b...
Yikes. I picked this up because of the Humane Reading tag; I'm a huge cat (animal) lover, and this was an inexpensive little trifle to read in one evening. I finished--but barely. While I have not read the other books in this series, it does not seem necessary to follow the wafer-thin plot or undeveloped characters. I have no intention of picking up the others. While I realize this is not supposed to be heavy literature, I was rather stunned that a publishing house like Penguin didn't use more editing on this. Characters are stereotyped and cardboard cut outs; the victim is obvious on the first page; the suspects pretty much scream "I am a suspect.' Charlie, the narrator, is apparently only 50--52 years old but comes across as 150. It is supposed to take place in a small Mississippi town so why do Charlie and his son often fall into British references like 'bloody this' and 'bloody that' or 'I say....' Then, sometimes in the next few lines, they'll revert to 'yal'll reckon' or some similar 'southern' dialect. Language and descriptions are incredibly repetitive. One that drove me especially crazy is Charlie using the phrase 'my daughter' over and over again when talking about Lauren, yes; his daughter--but good grief has the author never heard of a pronoun, sentence combining or revision? When a doctor is introduced 'the doc' seemingly becomes the person name--and it sounds almost ridiculous coming from the mouth of a narrator who has just used something British or quite frankly, old feeble lady-sounding. While I am one of the great animal, especially cat, fanatics, the descriptions of petting Diesel, putting Diesel into the harness, Diesel 'chirping' and other sounds--takes up pages and pages. Some of the places the characters take the cat--to a theatre??--seem off the wall even for someone like me. I LOVE the idea of Humane reading; I LOVE the idea of animals treated in beautifully compassionate and kind ways--so give the entire book to the cat and make him the narrator. It would be worlds better than his human counterparts.

posted by irishclaireKG on June 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Twist and turn, a killer revealed

    This third in the Cat in the Stacks mysteries is full of twists and turns. The characters are even more interesting this time around. The murder mystery twines in and around the story with the final revelation bursting open my conclusions.

    Definitely worth more than a single reading.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    this is another fascinating mystery in the ' cat in the stacks'

    this is another fascinating mystery in the ' cat in the stacks' books. charlie's daughter comes home to work at the local college, and in a turn of events is accused of murder. charlie and his eclectic band of roommates work to prove she is not guilty. i had a hard time putting this story down. interesting and mysterious... perfect.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Entertaining

    Charlie & Diesel at it again. Always too many secrets in small town America. The more Miranda James puts the human element in it the better.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Diesel doesn't talk (to other animals or his humans), doesn't do

    Diesel doesn't talk (to other animals or his humans), doesn't do mysterious stunts; he's simply a big lovable cat. His human family are fun to read about as they try to solve mysteries with Diesel providing emotional encouragement.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Highly recommended -you must check it out

    Ever since I read the first book of this serie s, I look for more. I enjoy the relationship between
    man and his Maine Coon cat. In this book, I was introduced to his daughter and discovered his son was still with him as introduced in the second book. The relationship between siblings and parent is respectful and loving, unlike what is reflected in todays world. He does stumble onto some murders and has an unusual relationship with the top cop who is his housekeepers' daughter. I hope there is a fourth book out there as I look forward to the inter-relationships between the cat and dog and humans...reminds me of mine!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I love this series!! Is excellent murder mystery. I love the cat!!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    The Original Pact Code

    A light gray tabby shecat pads in and announces, "The five clans, Horseclan, Ashclan, Sandclan, Northclan, and Rainclan have agreed to a pact that states that we will only rp with each other in accordance to the framework laid down by the Warrior Cat books. The Warrior Code established there will be the ground work for our new clans but we will also have our own pact code to try to make sure our clans are all on the same page. I will list our code here. <br>
    THE ORIGINAL PACT CODE: <br>
    1. THE WARRIOR CODE WILL BE UPHELD BY ALL. <br>
    2. WE WILL ONLY RP REALISTICALLY - Anything impossible in the books is impossible in the pact clans. Examples include: wings, shapeshifting, superpowers, animals other than cats talking or joining the pact clans... <br>
    3. WE WILL NOT RP WITH ANY NON-PACTED CLANS OR EVIL GROUPS - this includes Bloodclan. <br>
    4. A WEEK EQUALS THREE MOONS - one season. <br>
    5. GATHERINGS AND MEDICINE CAT MEETINGS ARE HELD ON ALTERNATE SUNDAYS AND ARE ALL DAY EVENTS - leaders should plan to either be on for gatherings or give permission to their deputy to represent the clan. Bring your Starclan cats to the moonpool for med. cat meetings! <br>
    6. DISPUTES FOR LEADERSHIP MUST BE SETTLED BETWEEN THE DISPUTORS - violence should be refrained from. Voting, visiting Starclan, or fighting all have their flaws so it is up to the disputors. <br>
    7. ONLY 5 CLANS, A TRIBE, AND A ROGUE GROUP ARE ALLOWED IN THE PACT CLAN SYSTEM - please keep in mind that if more pact clans are created it will destroy the pact clan goal, which is to provide a central place where people can come together to rp like the books. <br>
    This covers the basic of The Original Pact Code. Please do not post here. If you have any questions or disagreements, contact me in Horseclan's camp. Now I will also list some tips for realistic rp which I feel will help make this system the best it can be! <br>
    REALISTIC RP TIPS: <br>
    •Only medicine cats can heal! This is extremely important and I know medicine cats get annoyed when other cats do their job. It makes them feel unneed. There should be a max of 3 medicine cats in a clan and even this is excessive. <br>
    •Apprentices need to actually train! Even if your mentor isn't on, ask another warrior. Cats should be apprentices for at least a week. Otherwise it feels like an apprentice one moment, warrior the next. <br>
    •Kits should not attend gatherings, fight, or fall in love. They are KITS! <br>
    •Queens could realistically have kits without birthing problems at about a month old (1 year). <br>
    •Deputies should send out regular hunting and border patrols to keep warriors and apprentices engaged. <br>
    •Remember a clan is only as active as its leader! So leaders keep in mind if your clan is dying, it is only right that you pass on your leadership to someone else. <br>
    •Keep in mind what season it is. It is weird to chase a butterfly in leafbare. <br>
    •Just for people's convience, I have made the following timeline: <br>
    -Kit for two weeks. <br>
    -Apprentice for at least a week. <br>
    -Shecats can have a healthy pregnancy by 1 month. <br>
    -Queen pregnancy 4 days to a week. <br>
    Please keep all of this in mind! All important pact clan information is located in the "cat in the stacks" results and all important pact clan locations are located at the "discover cats" results. Thank you for reading! Together we can make this a fun realistic rp for everyone! ~ Lilywolf, Original Pact Clan Organizer

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Enjoyable read

    Good cozy mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Classified as murder

    I accidently read the secind book first but... i LOVED IT! I totally want the others and im only ten!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Love Diesel

    Diesel does not solve mysteries but he is essential to his master and family. Quite charming mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1