BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Final Catcall (Magical Cats Mystery Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 17, 2013

    oh my, where to start. a story with magical cats, a murder, and

    oh my, where to start. a story with magical cats, a murder, and a romance tryingto happen. yeah, that about covers it. marcus is the almost romance, kathleen is the 'owner' of two magical cats, names owen and hercules. one can walk through walls, the other disappear at will. kathleen moved to minneapolis to avoid her almost husband, he married a waitress while he was drunk just before they were to get married. yeah, i leave town too. with the romance with marcus on hold, andrew, the ex, shows up to 'woo' kathleen back.in town there is a theater group planning a festival of plays. the director, hugh, is found dead in the lookout days after he arrives. there are many suspects, including marcus' own sister, who it seems has a real conection to hugh. marcus is called off the case since he has family involved. so wile he tries to investigate on is own he realizes he is doing exactly what he has warned kathleen notto do. there is romance, murder, and mystery all rolled into one terrific story.will kath go back to andrew and boston? or will marcus ralize what he could lose? will the plays go on? who will direct? and most of all...who dunit? i don't have the answers as i still have 50 pages to read. so i cannot give you any more news, only to say i couldn't wait to post this review, because the story is that great!!! don't miss this great read!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Enjoyed this book very much.

    I read an earlier series and I wanted to find more, but this is the only one I found. I would really like to find the ones I missed.
    Any cat lover would love this book. I swear sometimes my cats are just like Hercules and Owen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Magical Cats Mystery series continues with the fifth book by

    The Magical Cats Mystery series continues with the fifth book by Sofie Kelly, Final Catcall. Kelly's trademark wit and humor shine in this book, as well as her uncanny ability to write feline characters. Owen and Hercules are two cats with some special talents and they one of the reasons this series is so popular. Kelly continues to intrigue readers with the adventures of Kathleen Paulson, librarian and amateur sleuth. Readers get a chance to learn more of Kath's back story with a visit from her mother, an old boyfriends return and the possible break up with her main squeeze and local detective, Marcus Gordon. A great addition to a wonderful series that will enchant mystery readers and cat enthusiasts alike!

     Sofie Kelly has a knack for writing about the relationship between pet and owner. She does a fantastic job of describing how Kathleen and her cats Owen and Hercules interact with each other. I like the fact that Kelly allows Kathleen to treat her cats like members of the family. She even talks to them, to help her sort out her ideas and clues about whatever mystery she happens to be involved in at the moment. . That is a nice touch and will certainly appeal to cat lovers, who understand that fine line between pet and friend.

    Hercules and Owen are quite a duo. The series is basically centered around their special abilities. Hercules can walk through solid objects, like walls and Owen can disappear at the most inopportune moments. Though Kathleen is the main character, these two kitties definitely have a starring role..

    In Final Catcall, there is a lot of action going on. A theatre troupe has experienced a fire and has to move their festival to Mayville. The directer ends up dead and Kathleen ends up in the middle of another one of Marcus' cases. In the last book, Cat Trick, Marcus and Kathleen basically broke up because he didn't feel she trusted him and now her ex-fiancee, Andrew has shown up to win her back. It sets up the book for not only a good mystery, but also a bit of a love triangle. 

    There were plenty of suspects and even a cameo visit from Kathleen's mom, which helps readers to understand more about Kath's back story. I liked the fact that Kathleen tried to stay out of the mystery but couldn't quite pull it off. I think if she and Marcus are ever to stay together, they will have learn to understand each other better. Marcus must realize that she just doesn't have the ability to stay out of it. Which in the case of an amateur sleuth is a good thing. The mystery was well written. The suspects were believable and Kelly gives just enough red herrings to keep readers off track until the end.

    The resolution of Kathleen's dilemina about Marcus and Andrew comes to a bit of an abrupt ending, but readers probably have seen it coming from about the middle of the book. I liked the fact that Kathleen has to make this decision because I think it will drive the relationship she chooses forward and help to solidify it in future additions to the series. I liked the fact that Kelly does gloss over the fact that Kathleen and Andrew have a history together or the fact that she and Marcus have shared some hairy experiences of their own. The love triangle was believable and realistic. 

    Kelly once again shows readers a good balance between mystery and relationships and what makes a good cozy work. I love this series and can't wait to see what Owen and Herc get into next, not to mention Kathleen and all the gang from Mayville.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2013

    This series makes me wish some cat or two would follow me home.

    This series makes me wish some cat or two would follow me home. The author does an amazing job describing the interaction between Kathleen and Owen & Hercules. Every time I read this series I want to
    go get two of my own; and I never have been a cat-person. Seriously considering it. Already eagerly
    waiting for the next installment.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    I loved this book and the full series! Sofie Kelly is a great writer.

    This is just another great book in this series. The writing is light, fun, and it just pulls you into the lives of these people. If you are a cat person, you will love the interaction of humans and cats. I have a cat at home almost just like Hercules!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    This is a charming series for lovers of cats and cozy mysteries.

    This is a charming series for lovers of cats and cozy mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Great magical cat mystery

    Fun read. Do not know who killer is until the end. Also humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2014

    good read

    I really like this series, the cats (Owen and Herc) are really fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Yesterday my car wouldn't start, just click click click when I t

    Yesterday my car wouldn't start, just click click click when I turned the key. You know what that means, it means you are going to have to spend a couple of hours in an uncomfortable chair at the auto repair shop.

    So on my way out of the house I grabbed Final Catcall, which was next on my shelf of TBRs. I'm so glad I did, it kept me entertained while I waited, and then when I got home and settled in for an evening of The Voice on my DVR, I just continued reading, and reading, and reading. I finished before I went to bed, because I really wanted to know who killed the mean director and who Kathleen chose.

    This is a great cozy mystery series. It has the magical cats, but they are not integral to the plot, just a way for Kathleen to let the reader know what she's thinking and where she's going.

    The feral cat feeding program is interesting and I like how the author has incorporated it into the books. Cannot wait to find out what happens to the new little kitten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2014

    I enjoy this series. Kathleen has a wonderfully believable way

    I enjoy this series.
    Kathleen has a wonderfully believable way of interacting with her two rather unusual cats. Her conversations with them and her ideas of their responses are very real to me.
    The mystery works well. The "boyfriend" tensions are quite believable.
    All in all, a good addition to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Hello

    This book series seems great :) ;) :D;D :3 ;3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Firestream

    Pushes her on to her knees opening her mouth before thrusting his hard cock into her wet mouth. "Oh god." He moans as her mouth closed around his cock before he start pounding his cock into it as his b@lls slap against her face. "Like it?" He growls "now tell me exactly how you want me and where. Describe it to me" he demands roughly

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Glasdrop

    I AM DONE

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Help

    OTHELLO RES ONE IS BEING ATTACKED PLZ HELP

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Highly recommended!

    I love both cats and mysteries so this book was tailor made for me! Thoroughly enjoyed it and will read more from this author!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Apprentice den

    Crystalclan

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Paleo

    Yeah. o.o That last post was a fail.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Amberfur

    Comes in.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Sparrowsun

    Sleeps. Super tired.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Summer

    /•\ Summer sighed. /•\

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6