Customer Reviews for

Final Exam: A Surgeon's Reflections on Mortality

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Excellent book

    Pauline Chen speaks candidly about how doctors are ill-equipped to handle patients' end of life care and how some doctors have found their own ways to help patients through this tough time through their own trial and error process. The book is not nearly as morbid as one might think upon first glance. Chen is an excellent and engaging writer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2008

    Final Exam: Captivating and Timeless

    Final Exam is a captivating book that opens the door into medical school and the inward fight of a surgeon. Chen's honest confessions and frustrations with time and medical policies encourage the reader to fight for a change in the way society handles the dying and death. The audience is people involved in the medical field or striving to be¿but anyone can thoroughly enjoy it. She speaks of real life cases and the struggles and difficulties of a being in a profession aiming to cure. Final Exam is a timeless account of something we all have to deal with. It provides insight and sympathy with an issue no one enjoys discussing: death. It¿s a quick read¿I highly suggest it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    Surprisingly Frank

    This is an outstanding book by an outstanding surgeon. She does a great job of expressing both the triumphs and the sadness involved in her profession.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    Final Exam: A Surgeon¿s Reflection on Mortality, by Pauline Chen. I first came across this surgeon in the splendid Virginia Quarterly Review, and her thoughtful, moving writing guaranteed that I¿d pick up this book. Her tender reflections on end-of-life care, not to mention her honest discussion of dealing with people who have no choice but to view life from the vantage point of the end, is an illuminating meditation on the relationship between medicine and mortality. Chen¿s book is a vivid reminder of the necessity of compassion in our technology-driven age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2007

    An honest look at the shortcomings of medical training

    I really liked this book and found it absorbing reading. It is a fascinating look at the interior life of a surgeon and a very honest look at how the detachtment required of a surgeon can be so great that genuine compassion is lost. Dr. Chen is to be commended for her ability to learn from the times she blew it with patients and to continue to move closer to those tough places where none of us want to go, in particular when the medical options have pretty well run out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2007

    Compelling story--Not just for doctors

    This is a great book in several ways: 1' as a personal story of some one falling short of their expectations and then finding their way back, 2' as a glance into what medical training feels like, and 3' as an examination of why doctors and patients don't talk more about death/the dying process. This book is not just for doctors or medical students. Some of the passages are incredibly beautiful, and the patient profiles are powerful--in just a few pages, I came to really care about the people. I am truly impressed by Dr. Chen's ability to observe and communicate the key details of a situation, her ability to make scenes and people real to me. Sometimes, I could FEEL her exhaust as she went through her training 'there is a great description of the SMELL of exhaust.' To give you a better idea, I have typed in a passage below. Each time I read it, I again think, 'Wow.' 'and I wish there was some way I could have the same experience'. From pages 102-103 If you poke a hole from the belly into the diaphragm and, with your fingers, clear away the cobweblike tissues that separate the heart from the spine, there will be just enough space back there to fit your entire arm. And if you put a small incision along the base of the neck, as you do when you remove an esophagus, you might even see, if your forearm is long enough, the tips of your fingers poking out while your elbow remains enveloped by the soft, rubbery stomach and a flap of liver. It¿s tempting to leave your arm in that warm, reassuring space. On the back of the forearm, you can feel the hardness of the vertebral bones, at the tips of the fingers, the coolness of open air, and at the elbow, the slithering contractions of the small bowel. But what you will marvel at most, and what will make you keep your arm there for just a few seconds longer than you probably should, is the sensation you notice against the patch of skin on the underside of your wrist, the most tender area where mothers gauge the temperature of milk for their babies. Against that small swath of skin, and squirming of its own accord, you will feel the strong, twisting contractions of the heart. And it will remind you as you look down at the open belly and warm skin and bloodstained instruments on the table that the person whose body embraces you is very much alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2007

    Not Original, Not Cohesive, Not Worth Your Time

    I found myself in a B&N bookstore in Atlanta this past weekend and picked up this book off an end cap display. The title intrigued me both because of my interest in surgery and the concept of dying. The only reason I continued to read the entire book after the first chapter was to possibly find a plagiarized paragraph after noting a very simliar sentence refering to 'Jimmy Durante' as to one in a book I read a while ago by Dr. Ira Byock, M.D. The author scatters her thoughts and jumps around the entire book, never fully giving any description justice or fully reflecting on morality like she promised in the title. Its ok though, her first profession is a surgeon and from her biography she sounds like a great one. Her experiences are definitely interesting, but she really does not convey them properly. Overall, I was disappointed with her lack of originality, the disjointedness of the chapters, and complete lack of literary skill and poise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1