Customer Reviews for

Final Gifts: Understanding the Special Awareness, Needs, and Communications of the Dying

Average Rating 5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Dare the Journey, You'll never be sorry

We all understand that death is difficult to swallow, especially when it is a parent, sibling, child or someone close to our heart. Sometimes our relatinship may even be one in which there have been many ups and downs. With the help of others, like the authors who have...
We all understand that death is difficult to swallow, especially when it is a parent, sibling, child or someone close to our heart. Sometimes our relatinship may even be one in which there have been many ups and downs. With the help of others, like the authors who have been present with many people walking the final journey of life, they provide a familiarity of the journey so we to can see through our emotions and understand what is happening to us and the one dying. Having read this book a few months before mom's final days, we were prepared to face our issues, her issues and those close to us who refused to face death. This is a journey to remember and one in which joy may be found. This book was passed to me, I have passed it on many times because it not only gave me courage but showed me how to use that courage for my dying mother who was more courageous that we could have imagined. Those dying want our honesty and our attention to what is happening to them. It will also eventually happen to us, it is the journey of life. Dare the journey with an open heart.

posted by Anonymous on October 26, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

My Mom was at Hospice, and a staff member recommended that I get this book, written by two Hospice nurses. I was able to better understand what my Mom was going through and the book explained how and why some things happen. It was a GREAT resource for me, and I'm tell...
My Mom was at Hospice, and a staff member recommended that I get this book, written by two Hospice nurses. I was able to better understand what my Mom was going through and the book explained how and why some things happen. It was a GREAT resource for me, and I'm telling all my friends about this great book.

posted by 8983726 on June 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2004

    Dare the Journey, You'll never be sorry

    We all understand that death is difficult to swallow, especially when it is a parent, sibling, child or someone close to our heart. Sometimes our relatinship may even be one in which there have been many ups and downs. With the help of others, like the authors who have been present with many people walking the final journey of life, they provide a familiarity of the journey so we to can see through our emotions and understand what is happening to us and the one dying. Having read this book a few months before mom's final days, we were prepared to face our issues, her issues and those close to us who refused to face death. This is a journey to remember and one in which joy may be found. This book was passed to me, I have passed it on many times because it not only gave me courage but showed me how to use that courage for my dying mother who was more courageous that we could have imagined. Those dying want our honesty and our attention to what is happening to them. It will also eventually happen to us, it is the journey of life. Dare the journey with an open heart.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    Final Gifts is the best book I have read about death and dying. I have purchased over a dozen of these books over the last five years. I have given this book to those I talk to that are dealing with a dying friend or relative.

    What a great book!!!!! I am so glad to have read this book while taking care of my mom during her last months. I would have missed interpretted many dreams and visions that she had had I not read this book. The personal experiences that the hospice nurses talk about were so easy to relate to what was happening with my mom and I. As I said I give this book away to anyone who is going through the death or dying of a relative or friend. The only stipulation is that they pass it on when they are finished. Everyone I have given the book to has greatly appreciated the reading and are happy they have had a chance to read it before their love one has passed. I always keep two on hand just in case. Purchase this book you will not be disappointed!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2003

    My Mother's Final Gift to Me

    During my mother's last days in a hospital, a chaplain gave me a copy of FINAL GIFTS to read while at her bedside. Most personal accounts discussed were about patients who could still communicate with others. However,since my mother could no longer speak, I was comforted to find a section on nonverbal communication too. The book encouraged me to watch all of her actions very carefully. A few hours before she passed away, she glanced at the foot of her bed, gazed away, and glanced back with a surprised look on her face. I noticed that she lifted the index finger of her hand, which was resting on top of a blanket. At first I thought it was an involuntary movement, but I saw that she lifted it a second time. It occurred to me then that she was POINTING at something at the foot of her bed! I don't know if it was an angel, or my father who passed away before her, but it was definitely someone. If I had not read this book, I might not have realized the significance of my mother's last efforts to communicate with me. These final moments with her have enriched my life and that of others with whom I have shared this story. I urge those who struggle with end of life issues to take advantage of the insights provided in this helpful book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    Amazing

    I lost my baby brother, and was instantly grief stricken. Our Hospice nurse recommended this book to me. While it didn't ease any of my grief, (only time will do that), it did offer me much peace as I learned about the dying experience. I now hold hope that my brother found peace in his last days. The little things he was saying to me, and even a conversation the day before we lost him... I now know and understand the messages he was trying to convey to me. I would highly suggest this book to anyone who has someone they either are losing or have lost. I do wish I had read this book before I lost my brother. It would have given me insight and I would have handled certain conversations differently. But moving forward, I too want the dying experience as he had. To be able to find peace, and see him waiting for me would be awesome. Read this book. It brought me so much peace and comfort, and I believe it will for you as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    INDISPENSIBLE REFERENCE for NAVIGATING THROUGH LETTING GO...

    IF someone you love and care about is on the journey toward the end of their life--and isn't EVERYONE? to some degree?--this book is INDISPENSIBLE!!! Buy it for yourself; buy it for a friend; but ABOVE ALL, READ IT!!!
    The authors write clearly and thoroughly about their experience in the field of working with the dying, and their insights are SO VERY helpful--particularly for those of us who've not before dealt with/been through the journey toward the end of life. I've had loved ones pass, of course, but never before in "journey format"...instead...to this point, they've passed suddenly, unexpectedly. This content is not "cliche"--it's informative and HELPFUL!
    This book is SO WONDERFUL, too, because, at a time when there is so much needing to be tended to...it is written in such a way as it is EASY to read and understand...EVEN WHEN you must put it down frequently as you are interrupted by the unexpected urgencies that come when caring for those on the "nearing-death journey" as they call it.
    Buy it for yourself and ALL who care for the one on the journey. Then...buy a few copies for someone you know--they'll appreciate it SO MUCH when they suddenly find themself in the same situation.
    This book is CRITICAL to understanding and maintaining YOUR sanity when caring for those on the journey!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    A must for anyone dealing with the loss of a loved one.

    This wonderful book written by Hospice nurses inludes many wonderful stories about young and old during their last days. Though I read it after my father had passed, I found it comforting because it gave me an understanding of what he may have experienced as he prepared to leave. I have donated many copies to Hospice and have given copies to friends and everyone has loved it and benefited from it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Must read for anyone who has family or friend at the end of life

    This book is a must read for anyone who has someone in hospice or facing the end of life. It helps you deal with the sorrow and to understand what your loved one is going through.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2007

    For Caretakers of those close to death

    I have purchased this book for the third time for dear ones who are facing the death of a loved one. It was recommended to me by my cousin and she has given out numerous copies also. Very informative on what to expect.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2004

    FANTASTIC!!

    As a Registered Nurse, this book gave me inexplicable insight into the dying process. It showed me that the dying and their families go through a process that is unique and very special and that we as nurses need to explore and respect that process.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2004

    This book is a treasure

    I read this book 2 months after my husband of 32 years died in a hospice unit. He had been in the inpatient unit for 30 days following 4 months of hospice care at home. I was at his side constantly during this time. This book has helped me to find some closure and also to understand what my husband and I had been working our way through. This book would be very helpful to anyone with a loved one in a Hospice program, before or after death. I wish I had read it before my husband died.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2002

    Peace for the Living With Letting Loved Ones Go

    My father refused to acknowledge he had a terminal illness. His thoughts were clear until death. I am a nurse and felt helpless and frustrated with how to relate to his refusal of hospitalization and it's inconvenience to family. Reading the book when hospice began helped family members accept his rapidly declining health. I felt inner strength to cope with what was soon to occur in our situation after reading Final Gifts. I was unable to put it down until I finished about 3 hours later. I cried while reading about experiences of others who had died with dignity as their families were by their side. My father died with dignity, at home with his loved ones by his side in a blessed and peaceful departure.I have bought 3 copies and given away each to those who were facing the loss of a loved one. I will buy another to have and reread and possibly share in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2001

    TEENS find comfort and understanding

    Our daughter was barely 16 old when my mom was dying of cancer. We received this book from hospice just a few days before her death. It was at bedtime (the only time I had) that I found comfort in reading 'Final Gifts'. When I told my daughter about what I was reading, she asked me to read it aloud as she fell asleep. It helped her tremendously. Death and dying is hard enough for adults. Teenagers have such up and down emotions under normal circumstances---loosing a loved one or friend can seem impossible to endure. The night before Mom died, family and friends gathered. She knew when and where she was going. She was happy, in good spirits, and at peace. My daughter witnessed all of this. This precious time with Mom and the words from this wonderful book relieved any fear she may have had. I continued to read and finished 'Final Gifts' after Mom passed. It gave me comfort and strength as I grieved. I have given copies to many people since 1996, and will continue to do so. It's a 'must read' after death as well. NOTE: upon previewing my review as it would be posted I noticed the date. Today would have been her 74th. 'Happy Birthday' Mom

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    One of the most frustrating things about being with a person who

    One of the most frustrating things about being with a person who's dying is a
    sense of helplessness combined with ignorance. What is the person feeling,
    what does he WANT, are some of the things he says delusional or do they have
    a greater meaning?

    This book helps answer many of those questions, and gives clear examples of
    these things. If you will be spending time with a person who is nearing death, I
    highly recommend this book. And for all that many people find death
    depressing, I have to say I found this book both comforting and extremely
    uplifting.

    Does it cover all the messiness, ugliness, and indignity that death can entail?
    No, but there are other books that do. This still deserves to be one of THE
    books on one's bookshelf.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Perfect Title for a Perfect Book

    This book was recommended to me by a hospice nurse at the passing of my mother. What a comforting, wonderful read! Final Gifts is itself a gift to the reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    This is an excellent book. I highly recommend this to everyone w

    This is an excellent book. I highly recommend this to everyone who is facing the loss of a loved one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    A MUST!

    If you are caring for a loved one and they are nearing death this is one great book to read! I was given my first copy by a Hospice Nurse when I had questions about how my mom was reacting. She gave me the book which at first I only wanted an answer, but later after reading the book I found much more comforting answers than a person could have given me. I have shared this book many times and always get a thank you for sharing. This explains to the lay person or the health care professional what you need to know as people get near death. At the moment I have a real book of this and now a Nook Book of it so I will always have a copy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    Very good book!!

    As the person with the terminal illness, I needed to read this book. It has made me more comfortable about dying. At 47, it is difficult to come to terms with a terminal illness, yet even more difficult when your husband will not talk to you about it. I will try very hard to get him to read this book, as it would help me very much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Excellent book

    This has become my standard gift to those friends that lose loved ones. It helped me tremendously in the loss of my father and I know it has been very helpful to others as they work through their grief. I highly recommend this to anyone that has a loved one who is suffering from a terminal illness or has recently lost someone dear to them. Thought-provoking and touching.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A Must Read for Anyone with a Dying Loved One

    Written by Hospice nurses, angels themselves, Final Gifts is an amazing tutorial on not just listening, but hearing the messages conveyed by a dying loved one. It is highly readable, not written in a fashion to produce copious tears, but rather to provide insight on hidden meanings of the wishes, dreams and feelings of the terminally ill.

    The book was given to me by my dying mother, and I found knowledge and comfort in its pages. Subsequently,I have presented Final Gifts to a number of friends who likewise have discovered significant value in its message.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Very comforting

    I was given this book at the time of my best friend's terminal illness diagnosis. It was an amazing resource and provided me much guidance and comfort during one of the most challenging times of my life. I have since purchased and given many copies to others who are coping with a terminal illness. This is the best resource I have come across...and I have read many, many books on death and dying. I would highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3