Customer Reviews for

The Final Hour (The Homelanders Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Anonamous

    Most radical book ever!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    The final hour

    Best series and books ive ever read in my life i absalutely loved it perfectly planned it really hooked me from begining to star

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    Charlie West is in prison, and not just some juvenile detentions center. He¿s in Abingdon State Prison, a high security prison for the vilest offenders. And between the prisoners and the brutal guards, it looks like Charlie might be someone¿s next victim.

    But his memories are slowly coming back, and Charlie learns that a terrorist strike is coming soon. He has to do something, but what? No one will listen to a convict, all his allys are gone, and time is ticking away. But Charlie can¿t give up. Not when lives are at stake.

    Loved it! And I closed this book with a smile on my face, because these four novels really felt like one big story, and it was tough to wait for each next one. I loved the way Andrew Klavan told this tale, how he weaved it backwards and forwards with action and memories and mystery. It was very cleverly done. This is a GREAT series for boy readers. So if you love action and adventure novels, or if you¿re looking for some books for a young man, look no further. This is the series. I highly recommend all four Homelander books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    We eant more!!!

    Every person ive talked to thats read this has loved it!!! Please continue something near to it!! Best book ever!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    I loved it!

    Awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Awesome

    Best series in the whole world

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    AMAZING

    Best book ever. Just saying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Amazing

    An amazing ending to the homelanders series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Awesome

    Great and perfect series for action book lovers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    HIGHLY recommend!

    Final chapter in a fantastic series. Please bring back Charlie West!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Can't put it down!!!!

    My second favorite storyteller after garcia marquez!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Love this series

    Highly recommend. Would especially appeal to a teenage boy, but I'm 70 years old and loved the entire series! Very relevant to the times we live in. (I'm going to buy the hard book series for my grandson.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    I have one little question?

    Can any one tell me how it ended?i lost the book and didnt get to read the last part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Is it supposed to be Christian?

    Book 4 in "The Homelanders" series, The Final Hour, follows Charlie West on his final desperate attempt to save one American city from the terrorist group he had sworn to take down. Although only a teenager---one whose reputation had been destroyed and whose memory had been erased---Charlie finds himself in the beginning of Final holed up in Abingdon prison for crimes he only sort of committed, with inmates who murder and guards who do no better. Charlie may not survive prison life, but he must: his memory is returning in flashes, and at one point he realizes that he alone knows not only the time but also the location of the largest attack ever devised by Prince and his terrorist group, the Homelanders. Can Charlie get the message to Rose, his protector? Can he do it in time? And will his family and friends ever know that all he has done, all he has sacrificed, he did for them? for his country?

    This youth fiction (touted by some as TV's 24 in book form and for kids) is a fast-paced action novel that puts the lead teenager in some very adult situations, and its entertainment factor certainly rates high among teens and youth-at-hearts. Published by Thomas Nelson, some might consider this book "Christian," though the protagonist himself is not. The messages of the book, generally speaking, are not very Christian either. Charlie's sensei and mentor, Mike, is purported to be a believer, though throughout the book he is very silent about his faith and, when the opportunity for witness or evangelization presents itself, he seems to cower in the vagueness of "faith" and "hope." With his nearly-dying breath, he tells his student that the most important thing he could do to honor his death is to stop the terrorist---not give his life to Christ or join in the faith that he loved. Thus I found the protagonist's Christian "hero" to be ultimately weak and unappealing. Do not get me wrong: I believe that both faith and hope are the greatest benefits of my salvation in Christ Jesus, as probably Mike did as well. But when these two things stand apart from Jesus (i.e. there is no mention in Whom the faith and hope are), they are ambiguous and ultimately useless to the non-believing reader.

    I do not believe that every Christian novel needs to be an evangelistic tool. But when the main character, the one with whom our teenage readers are meant to relate, is a non-believer, I think it ought to be the purpose of the author to bring that character at least towards considering the atoning work of Christ for his sins, not simply covering the main points of the plot without any mention of Jesus' name. I love clean fiction and would recommend this series to the youth in my life, but I would certainly hope that they would also see the weakness in the secondary hero of the book, Sensei Mike.

    [I received this book free for review from Thomas Nelson Publishers]

    ©2011 E.T.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    The Final Hour

    The Final hour by Andrew Klavan is a gripping tale about a teenager woke up one day having his world crumbling beaneath him. This book is a part of Homelanders series, and I have to say that if you haven't read the books before this, you'd find it hard to understand what's going on with this book.

    This book is not meant to be read as a standalone. Highly recommended for boys age 12 and up. Highly thrilling and exciting read. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.

    I received an ARC of this book from Thomas Nelson Publisher. I was not required to write a positive review for this and I was not compensated in any ways for this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Charlie West woke up one day tie to a chair in a torture chamber, no recollection of where he was at, no memories of his past year with people standing outside the door. This may seem terrible, but it got worse as this group, called the Highlanders, wanted him dead and the cops wanted him arrested for they believe he killed his best friend. He couldn't understand any of this until he met Mr. Waterman who supposedly knew all the answers, but did Charlie make it in time? As his memory returns through out the piece, explanations are forced upon us and intensity grows. Definitely as Charlie somehow figures out where the Highlanders plan to strike next. Can he stop them? Is it too much for him to take on his own or.is he alone for he stands by the saying "You are never alone"? He doesn't have much time and many lives are at stake.

    The Final hour is a great completion to an amazing four book series by Adnrew Klavin. All the Highland books were nothing but fast past novels that only kept you wanting more as questions arose with every page turned, yet many more questions arise with the answers given. This book was not an exception as we followed the conclusion of Charlie Wests story as he searched for answers and release of his "forced life" in "The Final Hour." I believe this book, along with the whole series, is a great read for many children. It is filled with many moral, spiritual and just character building elements that should be mimicked by all. Honestly, the whole series took me a little bit to get into just for the fact its in first person, but Klavin doesn't allow that unique style from taking over your understanding of entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You are never alone

    Charlie West finds himself in a prison, accused of murdering his close friend Alex Hauser. A group of Islamic prisoners are out to kill him, while another bunch of hard-core ones save his life. He had infiltrated the Homelanders group, which is a dreaded terrorist group, plotting against USA. He has lost his memory thanks to medication, but has begun to get it in bits and pieces. He realizes that FBI has disowned him and no one believes his innocence or his double life. The only two people he can rely on are his karate master and the one FBI detective who knows him.

    In one of his memory attacks, he remembers about a terrorist plot by the Homelander chief Prince, on New Years Eve in New York, which can potentially kill millions. The prison warden laughs it off. He now needs to somehow foil the plot, by hook or crook.

    Does Charlie West succeed in it? This is what forms the rest of the novel.

    The story unfolds at a steady pace and keeps the reader intrigued. Parts of the plot could arguably be unrealistic. But considering the contemporary nature of the plot, the reader can relate to it. I felt that it would have helped to read the earlier Homelander novels to understand the characters, especially Charlie West, better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dissapointing Finale

    For Charlie West, life has been far from simple or easy. It gets complicated even further when learns that that the terrorist group, the Homelanders, is nearing their huge attack on America. And the more he discovers about the planned strike, the more he realizes that he is the only one who can stop it. Time is of the essence; it all comes down to the final hour.

    I admit that between my reading the third and fourth books, I did not go back to read the first and second. And unfortunately, it now looks as if it is too late. Any further inquiries on Charlie West's past are answered.

    While this book certainly does not make my list of favorites, I did enjoy it much more than The Truth of the Matter, the third book. While many plot secrets are unveiled, I did not feel like it was spewing facts. There is plenty of action in the midst. However, the book was way too short. Even for a YA novel. The action doesn't even truly begin until the second half. I felt myself wanting to get into the story, wanting to like it. But there was simply way too little material for that to happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    3 1/2 stars a real page turner

    This book starts with a bang and keeps going full throttle to the end. Action, action, action, it hardly ever lets up. The forth in a series that looks now to be done, is fast paced and hard to put down. I read it in one afternoon. I'm not sure if Charlie will ever be able to return to normal life, he is anything but a normal kid.

    I think this is a great book for kids 11 and older, especially boys. Good values and the message that you are never alone are weaved in and out of these pages. God is always with you and will lift you up when you are sure you have nothing left to give. This doesn't deter the book from killing off very bad guys and from the main character wondering why him, why can't he just be a normal kid? Normal isn't so bad after all.

    This story ties all the loose ends from the other three and gives you more background into the characters. I didn't love the whole Islamic terrorist thing, I think anyone can be a terrorist and this book proves that also, but I hate stereotyping of anyone or any race. Good morals and values fill this book and anyone who likes action would enjoy this series. Maybe someday it will be a movie, could happen, look at the authors bio.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Great Series!!

    I really enjoyed The Homlanders series by Andrew Klavan. The final Hour is the last installment of the series. What a great book and what a great series. I hear that it will be turned into a movie and if they can keep it somewhat close to the book it will make for a blockbuster.
    These books are more geared towards young teenage kids. But adults will love these books as well.
    A little bit about the books, Charlie West is a high school kid that goes to sleep and wakes up the next morning tied to a chair and threatening to be killed. Charlie escapes and goes to the police which in his mind are the good guys but comes to find out they are after him as well.
    The book are action pack and have a great message to young kids to not give up and never give in. I really did enjoy this series. The book is an easy read and one that you will set down to start and can not but down not matter how tried you are at nights.
    Thanks to Thomas Nelson for my free copy of this book. My review is that of my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4