Customer Reviews for

The Final Hour

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Is it supposed to be Christian?

    Book 4 in "The Homelanders" series, The Final Hour, follows Charlie West on his final desperate attempt to save one American city from the terrorist group he had sworn to take down. Although only a teenager---one whose reputation had been destroyed and whose memory had been erased---Charlie finds himself in the beginning of Final holed up in Abingdon prison for crimes he only sort of committed, with inmates who murder and guards who do no better. Charlie may not survive prison life, but he must: his memory is returning in flashes, and at one point he realizes that he alone knows not only the time but also the location of the largest attack ever devised by Prince and his terrorist group, the Homelanders. Can Charlie get the message to Rose, his protector? Can he do it in time? And will his family and friends ever know that all he has done, all he has sacrificed, he did for them? for his country?

    This youth fiction (touted by some as TV's 24 in book form and for kids) is a fast-paced action novel that puts the lead teenager in some very adult situations, and its entertainment factor certainly rates high among teens and youth-at-hearts. Published by Thomas Nelson, some might consider this book "Christian," though the protagonist himself is not. The messages of the book, generally speaking, are not very Christian either. Charlie's sensei and mentor, Mike, is purported to be a believer, though throughout the book he is very silent about his faith and, when the opportunity for witness or evangelization presents itself, he seems to cower in the vagueness of "faith" and "hope." With his nearly-dying breath, he tells his student that the most important thing he could do to honor his death is to stop the terrorist---not give his life to Christ or join in the faith that he loved. Thus I found the protagonist's Christian "hero" to be ultimately weak and unappealing. Do not get me wrong: I believe that both faith and hope are the greatest benefits of my salvation in Christ Jesus, as probably Mike did as well. But when these two things stand apart from Jesus (i.e. there is no mention in Whom the faith and hope are), they are ambiguous and ultimately useless to the non-believing reader.

    I do not believe that every Christian novel needs to be an evangelistic tool. But when the main character, the one with whom our teenage readers are meant to relate, is a non-believer, I think it ought to be the purpose of the author to bring that character at least towards considering the atoning work of Christ for his sins, not simply covering the main points of the plot without any mention of Jesus' name. I love clean fiction and would recommend this series to the youth in my life, but I would certainly hope that they would also see the weakness in the secondary hero of the book, Sensei Mike.

    [I received this book free for review from Thomas Nelson Publishers]

    ©2011 E.T.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    The Final Hour

    The Final hour by Andrew Klavan is a gripping tale about a teenager woke up one day having his world crumbling beaneath him. This book is a part of Homelanders series, and I have to say that if you haven't read the books before this, you'd find it hard to understand what's going on with this book.

    This book is not meant to be read as a standalone. Highly recommended for boys age 12 and up. Highly thrilling and exciting read. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.

    I received an ARC of this book from Thomas Nelson Publisher. I was not required to write a positive review for this and I was not compensated in any ways for this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Charlie West woke up one day tie to a chair in a torture chamber, no recollection of where he was at, no memories of his past year with people standing outside the door. This may seem terrible, but it got worse as this group, called the Highlanders, wanted him dead and the cops wanted him arrested for they believe he killed his best friend. He couldn't understand any of this until he met Mr. Waterman who supposedly knew all the answers, but did Charlie make it in time? As his memory returns through out the piece, explanations are forced upon us and intensity grows. Definitely as Charlie somehow figures out where the Highlanders plan to strike next. Can he stop them? Is it too much for him to take on his own or.is he alone for he stands by the saying "You are never alone"? He doesn't have much time and many lives are at stake.

    The Final hour is a great completion to an amazing four book series by Adnrew Klavin. All the Highland books were nothing but fast past novels that only kept you wanting more as questions arose with every page turned, yet many more questions arise with the answers given. This book was not an exception as we followed the conclusion of Charlie Wests story as he searched for answers and release of his "forced life" in "The Final Hour." I believe this book, along with the whole series, is a great read for many children. It is filled with many moral, spiritual and just character building elements that should be mimicked by all. Honestly, the whole series took me a little bit to get into just for the fact its in first person, but Klavin doesn't allow that unique style from taking over your understanding of entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You are never alone

    Charlie West finds himself in a prison, accused of murdering his close friend Alex Hauser. A group of Islamic prisoners are out to kill him, while another bunch of hard-core ones save his life. He had infiltrated the Homelanders group, which is a dreaded terrorist group, plotting against USA. He has lost his memory thanks to medication, but has begun to get it in bits and pieces. He realizes that FBI has disowned him and no one believes his innocence or his double life. The only two people he can rely on are his karate master and the one FBI detective who knows him.

    In one of his memory attacks, he remembers about a terrorist plot by the Homelander chief Prince, on New Years Eve in New York, which can potentially kill millions. The prison warden laughs it off. He now needs to somehow foil the plot, by hook or crook.

    Does Charlie West succeed in it? This is what forms the rest of the novel.

    The story unfolds at a steady pace and keeps the reader intrigued. Parts of the plot could arguably be unrealistic. But considering the contemporary nature of the plot, the reader can relate to it. I felt that it would have helped to read the earlier Homelander novels to understand the characters, especially Charlie West, better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    3 1/2 stars a real page turner

    This book starts with a bang and keeps going full throttle to the end. Action, action, action, it hardly ever lets up. The forth in a series that looks now to be done, is fast paced and hard to put down. I read it in one afternoon. I'm not sure if Charlie will ever be able to return to normal life, he is anything but a normal kid.

    I think this is a great book for kids 11 and older, especially boys. Good values and the message that you are never alone are weaved in and out of these pages. God is always with you and will lift you up when you are sure you have nothing left to give. This doesn't deter the book from killing off very bad guys and from the main character wondering why him, why can't he just be a normal kid? Normal isn't so bad after all.

    This story ties all the loose ends from the other three and gives you more background into the characters. I didn't love the whole Islamic terrorist thing, I think anyone can be a terrorist and this book proves that also, but I hate stereotyping of anyone or any race. Good morals and values fill this book and anyone who likes action would enjoy this series. Maybe someday it will be a movie, could happen, look at the authors bio.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    A Thrill Ride

    The Final Hour brings to a conclusion the story of Charlie West in the fourth and final novel in the Homelander's series. Andrew Klavan delivers a thrilling story of conquering evil by staying true to your beliefs. The roller coaster ride begins with the first pages of the novel and the reader has to hold on thru each page as the adrenalin builds with each new chapter. The Final Hour is not a politically correct book. It is a straight up examination of the battle of good against evil - American traditional morals versus the evil of radical Islam. To the Islamic enemy, Charlie West represents the Great Satan, and the author unabashedly takes sides in this story by highlighting the Judeo-Christian culture of America. Charlie exemplifies good Christian ideals and lives by his belief. This is a tremendous read for teens today - the kind of book they should be reading. Although the target audience is teenagers, the pace of this book makes it enjoyable for folks of all ages! I heartily recommend! Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through their bloggers review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    The Final Hour

    If you enjoy high crime, suspense and action then the Homelander series is for you. The story of Final Hour is about a young teenage boy, Charlie West who finds himself in Jail. One minute he was a teenager who felt alone, despite struggling to do the right thing and then next time he knows he is in jail with a recollection of a memory about a terrorist attack that soon will occur and if he doesn't do anything, millions of people will die and he will have the guilt of knowing that he could have stopped it.
    The final book, Final Hour allows closure to the entire series and the reader will find out if Charlie will succeed or have to live the rest of his life as an enemy of America filled with guilt and regret.

    I recommend this book to anyone who likes fast pace or action books.

    I received this book from Book Sneeze. I was not required to write a positive review for this book, and I was not compensated in any ways for this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    For action pack addict

    This is book is indeed a God sent for those who love action and suspense type of book. It's a page turner. It's action pack from the first page.

    What I really like about this book is the determination and the courage shown by Charlie. Well, you can say it's just fiction. Any Tom Dick and Harry can write one thing and act another. But then for the author to have the heart of the thing it is something to be commented on. More people would take and take instead of making sacrifices.

    What I dislike about this book is that the book I was supposed to received was a hard copy. But then I received an e-mail that it was being replaced by an e-book. Those who knows me knew that I dislike reading e-book. Yup, I preferred paper I had a hard time trying to download a copy of this book. My home computer kept giving error message. Frankly, I have yet to successfully download this book.
    But thank God to a good Samaritan who have requested the same book, forward her copy for me to read so that I can do this review. Thank you, "pal".

    I would recommend this book for boys and girls from age 12 onwards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    The Homelanders

    Andrew Klavan's action and adventure series "The Homelanders" may well be the next publishing sensation - I just completed the last book in this series titled "The Final Hour".

    Charlie West, the teenager hero of all "The Homelanders" novels (The last thing I remember, The Long way home, The truth of the matter and now finally, The final hour) is caught in the middle of a murder / terrorist attack / many other unfortunate things. This series captures the various problems he goes thro' because of this and how he emerges victorious. Written in a juvenile fiction format, all these four novels are in un-putdown-able category, giving you a thriller-movie-screenplay-ish reading experience.

    I started reading Andrew Klavan's novels based on a friend's recommendation in twitter. First it looked like a silly exercise, but pretty soon his writing style and twists-n-turns made me a serious reader and follower of all the "Homelanders" novels.

    I liked this fourth book better than the others, mainly because lot of loose-ends are getting connected. Happily, it gave me a feeling of completion after almost 1000 pages of reading. (Of course, I will be more than happy if there is another novel in this series, But that's another matter )

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze dot com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Wonderful Inspirational Thriller for Young and Old Alike!

    So, I am big on thrillers. And, once in awhile, I come across some really great thrillers that are Young Adult, but they read like adult novels. Andrew Klavan's novels are just such novels, and his final installment in his Homelander series, is some awesome work. I really enjoyed reading this novel.

    I only had the pleasure of reading one other book in this series (book 2, The Long Way Home), but I was familiar with Charlie West's story. The suspense that follows his story is outstanding. Charlie's story is a wonderful read for most anyone, as the inspirational message of right and wrong rings true. In today's world, with the threat of terrorists, Charlie's story is one that is life like and his character really comes to life for the reader.

    I truly enjoyed reading this YA novel, and if you have a teenage son (or daughter, for that matter!) who loves action packed reads, and intense thrills, then I high suggest you introduce them to Andrew Klavan's 4 star work. His writing is unique and God's messages are strong. While this is a series, and I suggest you read series in order, you don't have to with this one. Klavan fills the reader in on what has been going on in Charlie's life, so you're not overly confused. Perfect for that fast, entertaining summer read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Good Book to Read

    If you enjoy crime and suspense novels, this series is a must read. The story centers around a teenage boy who despite feeling like he's always alone, struggles to do the right thing. He finds himself in jail at which time he recalls memory that a terrorist attack will soon occur. Having no one to help him, no one to turn to, he must find a way to save millions of people from dying. This is a difficult book to review without giving away what happens. The real focus I think is of a boy who is constantly facing struggles and how he copes seems to be the real plot line. If you would like to read some work by this author but don't have the time to commit to a series there is another avenue you can chose. This author has another book just out called Crazy Dangerous. It is not part of a series and is a one book story. The main character, Charlie West, is a teen who has decided to take a stand by agreeing to go undercover in a homegrown terrorist group in order to catch them and stop their plans to terrorize America. Throughout the series, the story takes us through an action packed adventure where we see how Charlie deals with basically being alone and on the run from both the police and from the terrorist group he infiltrated. With the exception of a few friends, Charlie has to deal with almost everyone thinking he is basically one of the bad guys. In this last book of the series, The Final Hour brings everything to closure and we the reader are finally able to see whether or not Charlie will succeed or have to live the rest of his life perceived as one of the enemies of America. This book subtlety allows the reader to see that Charlie and his sensei, Mike, are Christians and knowing that, as the reader we are to assume his values and everything he does is because of his relationship with Chris

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    The Final Hour by Andrew Klaven

    Hey guys (again)- I got ANOTHER new book from booksneeze (don't worry, I didn't cheat the system. This was one of those "special" book things that I got extra:)) So, anyway, I got a new book called "The Final Hour" by Andrew Klaven. It's the fourth in the series, but even if you haven't read the series, it's still a fantastic read (Although, secretly, for me it made more sense if you read the preceding books first and then get to this one. But that's just me, probably.) But, anyway, before I REALLY get started, I should say that I got this book for free from the booksneeze program, and whatever I say about this book is my honest opinion. Anywho, so, "The Final Hour" is a pretty exciting book (if you couldn't already tell from the title). The book is about this boy who goes to bed a normal kid and wakes up a wanted criminal. He's being chased by terrorists and keeps having vision/ memory things that tell him a new terrorist attack is gonna happen before too long. He needs to help prevent this, but he's stuck. Will he be able to save the people from the evil terrorist attack? I'm not going to say. You'll just have to read the book:P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Another GREAT Andrew Klavan novel.

    This book is about Charlie West, a high school teenager, who through an undercover operation is helping authorities take out a terrorist organization. Charlie finds himself in prison and fighting to stay alive both from the inmates and also the guards. Charlie is also trying to recover from memory loss due to memory loss drugs that he had been given. He understands the important mission he has and he also understands how much danger he is undertaking with this mission - above all else Charlie understands that he always has prayer.

    My Thoughts:

    I was delighted to receive a copy of The Final Hour by Andrew Klavan, from Thomas Nelson via Booksneeze. The novel begins by plunging you into a world of prison life and becomes a page-turner from that point on. Charlie is a wonderful character and is the fuel that drives the suspense for this book. Andrew Klavan has developed some true to life characters with his writing skills. I also liked the way Andrew Klavan weaved prayer through this story. The only area of this book that I found as a negative is the overall plot seemed to be bit predictable - I feel some unusual twists and turns would have eliminated the predictability issues.

    Who should read this novel?

    This is great action packed story for teens and also adults. Anyone who likes fast paced mystery novels will enjoy The Final Hour.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1