Customer Reviews for

The Final Hour

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Anonamous

    Most radical book ever!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    The final hour

    Best series and books ive ever read in my life i absalutely loved it perfectly planned it really hooked me from begining to star

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    Charlie West is in prison, and not just some juvenile detentions center. He¿s in Abingdon State Prison, a high security prison for the vilest offenders. And between the prisoners and the brutal guards, it looks like Charlie might be someone¿s next victim.

    But his memories are slowly coming back, and Charlie learns that a terrorist strike is coming soon. He has to do something, but what? No one will listen to a convict, all his allys are gone, and time is ticking away. But Charlie can¿t give up. Not when lives are at stake.

    Loved it! And I closed this book with a smile on my face, because these four novels really felt like one big story, and it was tough to wait for each next one. I loved the way Andrew Klavan told this tale, how he weaved it backwards and forwards with action and memories and mystery. It was very cleverly done. This is a GREAT series for boy readers. So if you love action and adventure novels, or if you¿re looking for some books for a young man, look no further. This is the series. I highly recommend all four Homelander books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    We eant more!!!

    Every person ive talked to thats read this has loved it!!! Please continue something near to it!! Best book ever!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    I loved it!

    Awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Awesome

    Best series in the whole world

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    AMAZING

    Best book ever. Just saying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Amazing

    An amazing ending to the homelanders series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Awesome

    Great and perfect series for action book lovers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    HIGHLY recommend!

    Final chapter in a fantastic series. Please bring back Charlie West!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Can't put it down!!!!

    My second favorite storyteller after garcia marquez!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Love this series

    Highly recommend. Would especially appeal to a teenage boy, but I'm 70 years old and loved the entire series! Very relevant to the times we live in. (I'm going to buy the hard book series for my grandson.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    I have one little question?

    Can any one tell me how it ended?i lost the book and didnt get to read the last part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Great Series!!

    I really enjoyed The Homlanders series by Andrew Klavan. The final Hour is the last installment of the series. What a great book and what a great series. I hear that it will be turned into a movie and if they can keep it somewhat close to the book it will make for a blockbuster.
    These books are more geared towards young teenage kids. But adults will love these books as well.
    A little bit about the books, Charlie West is a high school kid that goes to sleep and wakes up the next morning tied to a chair and threatening to be killed. Charlie escapes and goes to the police which in his mind are the good guys but comes to find out they are after him as well.
    The book are action pack and have a great message to young kids to not give up and never give in. I really did enjoy this series. The book is an easy read and one that you will set down to start and can not but down not matter how tried you are at nights.
    Thanks to Thomas Nelson for my free copy of this book. My review is that of my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    A page-turning thriller - but it is the main character who makes this stand out

    The Final Hour is the fourth and final book in the Homelander series, an action-packed yarn about love for country, family, and values - and the cost of standing against terrorists who would have them obliterated. Ever since falling into Charlie West's story last year, I have been anxious to see how it ends... and if the poor fellow ever gets to rest! On the surface, these books are about a fairly normal high school kid running away from terrorists, solving the mystery of a forgotten year of his life, and putting his top-notch karate skills to use. Oh, and getting wounded and wearied beyond belief in the process. I was in Abingdon State Prison. Locked away for a murder I didn't commit. Waiting for the men who were coming to kill me. With nowhere to run. What keeps him going, besides the fact that he's the hero in an action/thriller book? The answer, my friend, is all that flows beneath the surface in his patriotic and God-fearing veins. Make no mistake - this book, like its predecessors, is first of all a thrilling read. I knew when it came in the mail that I had better be careful about opening the cover. I have sped through the other books like my life, instead of Charlie's, depended on it. But it is the heroic and noble character of Charlie West that makes me want to sneak a set of these books into the room of every adventure-loving boy I know. Charlie respects life and, however nasty the villain, he chooses to never kill needlessly. He hates to lie (old fashioned, eh?). He values freedom and morality. He takes full responsibility for his actions. And when left by all allies, facing impossible odds, he presses on to his last breath. "You're not alone, Charlie. You're never alone" These books were written particularly for teen guys, for whom too little quality fiction is written these days. I'm thankful to Andrew Klavan for seeing the need, and for writing a series that is anything but wimpy or dull. But I can attest that even 26-year old ladies can enjoy Charlie's story. It may not be Homer, Tolkien, or Dickens, but between the fast action scenes, explosions, and karate moves lies a tale every lover of freedom may embrace. *Thank you, thank you to Thomas Nelson for the free reviewer's copy of this book! You did not pay me, nor did I have to give a good review. I just liked it that much.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Action packed series ender

    Memory loss, flashbacks, prison, terrorists, the "Yard King," and much more await the reader of this book. "The Final Hour" is book four in the Homelanders series by Andrew Klavan. Charlie West set out to help take down a terrorist organization threatening the United States, and now he is in prison. While all hope seems gone and life now will be full of plans to stay alive, a plot is hatched that enables Charlie a chance to help stop the terrorist act. Will he break out of prison and escape? Who are his covert partners now and who won't survive? Come along on this roller coaster of action and suspense and find out if Charlie and his friends save NYC.

    I really enjoyed this book and found it to be a quick read.I recommend the entire series to readers and discussion groups (there are questions at the end). As a group, the books tell Charlie's complete story, but each can be read alone as well. While they are written for the Young Adult group, the story line will keep adults captivated as well. I received my copy from the Book Sneeze program of Thomas Nelson. Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    The Final Hour by Andrew Klavan...a great read!!

    If you enjoy crime and suspense novels, this series is a must read.
    The story centers around a teenage boy who despite feeling like hes always alone, struggles to do the right thing. He finds himself in jail at which time he recalls memory that a terrorist attack will soon occur. Having noone to help him, noone to turn to, he must find a way to save millions of people from dieing.
    This is a dificult book to review wihout giving away what happens. The real focus I think, is of a boy who is constantly facing struggles and how he copes seems to be the real plot line.
    If you would like to read some work by this author but dont have the time to commit to a series there is another avenue you can chose.This author has another book just out called Crazy Dangerous. It is not part of a series and is a one book story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2