BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Final Salute: A Story of Unfinished Lives

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    Best Non-Fiction Novel I Have Read By-Far

    I met Jim Sheeler at an event at the University of Colorado. He brought one of the marines with him as a guest to tell the stories behind fallen soldiers. This book has inspired me greatly. It makes you grateful for what you have because for these guys, they are living it a day at a time overseas. I know several men in the marines right now overseas stationed in Iraq. Everyday I keep telling myself that they will come home; hopefully they will but one of them was killed in action not too long ago. I have come to support the men and women in the military no matter who the president is and no matter who I am sitting next to. It is an honor to be friends with these guys. They are like brothers to me when they are on US soil; they watch over me. To read Sheeler's book brought tears to my eyes on more than one occasion. His writing style puts you in the room as the marine informs the family of the death of their son or husband, daughter or wife. I highly recommend this book to anyone whether you are a military buff or just looking for a good read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    MUST READ!

    This book should be in every classroom, home, office...it is that great.<BR/>I read alot, and I can't remember the last time a book has gripped me on every emotional level. If you have someone fighting for this country or not, if you have mixed emotions about the war, this book details the lives of those families that have lost their loved ones protecting this country, the life of the soldier, the gut wrenching pain of their private hell when they are informed of their loss. Whatever your view is, this book will change not only your mind, but your life. These families become your family. Their pain becomes your pain. Jim Sheeler has beautifully written this tribute to all involved and sheds light on what happens after our fallen heroes have come home to their final rest. The man should be given a Pulitzer for this work. I cried. I grieved. I have immense pride for these soldiers, their families, the courage to knock on the door...it would take wide shoulders to bear this responsibility. The Final Salute is not only for these families of the book, but for all the servicemen & servicewomen who have given their lives to protect America & their families. I stop now when the news speaks of our fallen heroes, I know now what will come next for them. I became conditioned, as most of us have after these many years of war. Not anymore. I read this book and felt shame for my selfish thinking of my daily gripes. I want you to get this book if you are considering it, you will not be sorry. Thank you Jim Sheeler & the families for bringing these beautiful lives full circle in such an honorable way. May God Bless.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    I must say I just got the book today and I am only 77 pages into it. But so far I have had tears in my eyes for the biggest part of it. It's so far a wonderful book that takes you into the lives of those who lost someone they loved. Jim Sheeler really wrote a wonderful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    Spectacular Insight to the Dearest Price to Pay

    I purchased this book yesterday, and completed it today. As an avid military follower, and part of a military family, I knew some of the stories featured. This book, however, brought to light the lives of not just the Soldier, Marines, and Corpsman, but their families. Jim Sheeler did an amazing job touching all aspects. At the same time, he has touched the hearts of everyone who picks this book up. With every turn of the page, you feel your heart tear, tears well in your eyes, and you want to reach out to the family. Major Beck is an astounding person, and exemplifies what it means to be a Marine. I highly recommend this book to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2008

    A reviewer

    This was difficult to read and even more difficult to put down. It is so heartwarming to know the military provides compassion and respect in so many ways we are unaware of, for the families and friends of those who sacrificed their lives for our freedom. It reminds us to keep all of them in our prayers daily.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    True cost of freedom

    I am not done with this, but I can say that the author has chosen a wonderful, if sad topic for a book about the true cost of freedom. The stories all touched me, especially the one about the Navy Corpman, because he seemed so full of life and had had a lot to give to people. Just reading what I have made wish I could reach through and give the families a hug, and the main focus, Maj Beck seems to be a wonderfully compassionate person for those who lost someone. Should be read on July fourth, to understand what independence and democracy costs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    A story of Grief and Honor

    A true account of a man's journey to inform families of the loss of loved ones overseas, the book tells the stories of soldiers, marines, and sailors who didn't get the chance to come back home. It is one of the most heartbreaking books I have ever read. Through the intimate moments of people's grief, you can't help but grieve as well. Mr. Sheeler pulls you into the book through vivid descriptions of life and death.
    Each story is different but they all have one common similarity, loss. Each family visited is given the tragic news of the passing of a loved one. It is Major Steve Beck's job is to stick by the families until his services are no longer needed. This time varies with each family, some shy away from him while others fully depend on him for support.
    Each story is a memoir for the deceased. He gets to know the families so well allowing him to get to know the fallen soldier even more. Recounting everything from the first knock at the door to the final burial, he is there every step of the way.
    Sheeler has a gift to know exactly what should be written. He provides information in a way that isn't overwhelming. He touches on both the personal and ceremonial sides of Beck's journey. It is a beautiful display of love, loss, pain, and honor. There is no doubt that you will be affected by this book, I strongly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    Truly Amazing

    I cannot remember the last time I was so deeply drawn into a book. The emotion continued to roll over every page. The tragedy that he mastered dealing with, showing complete compassion at every turn...

    A life changing story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    All encompassing; a must read for every American

    I myself am in the Army, but on the National Guard side. I'm am teacher by profession. With that said, I have many friends who are fighting in this war. What Americans need to understand is that we can feel however we want about the war-support it or be against it-but we must, we MUST support our soldiers. We must NOT forget that over 5,000 American lives have been lost since the start of this war. Those are over 5,000 families that are missing a loved one, who think of a loved one gone, who have flags that are forever folded...We need to never forget these soldiers who have died, and support the ones still fighting.

    This book is touching, thoughtful, and NOT political. It is what it should be-inspirational, beautiful-a memorial.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1