Customer Reviews for

The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity

Average Rating 4
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Changed my thinking

The Travelers gift was the best book I ever read, It altered my whole approach to everything. But with The Final Summit Andy Andrews creates a further push forward as well as an extremely entertaining read. This book changed my thinking again! A serious must read after ...
The Travelers gift was the best book I ever read, It altered my whole approach to everything. But with The Final Summit Andy Andrews creates a further push forward as well as an extremely entertaining read. This book changed my thinking again! A serious must read after you have read The Travelers Gift.

posted by JimO9485 on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Final Summit - Not Quite the Finale

All-in-all, the read was enjoyable if you have some time to kill, but there is not much spiritual depth here. If you want to find success here on Earth, you might find some good tips in The Final Summit, but if you want to be great in the kingdom of God, you won't find ...
All-in-all, the read was enjoyable if you have some time to kill, but there is not much spiritual depth here. If you want to find success here on Earth, you might find some good tips in The Final Summit, but if you want to be great in the kingdom of God, you won't find many answers in this book.

posted by Vishaal on November 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Can You Answer the Question?

    One of those books you want everyone around you to read--can't stop talking about it. Thought provoking. Page turner. Interesting historic themes weaved into story. Many truths. One of the few books I will keep to re-read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    Changed my thinking

    The Travelers gift was the best book I ever read, It altered my whole approach to everything. But with The Final Summit Andy Andrews creates a further push forward as well as an extremely entertaining read. This book changed my thinking again! A serious must read after you have read The Travelers Gift.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another creative Andy Andrews' book

    Another blend of fiction and real people who have made a difference. Very creative way to inspire you to be the best person you can be. I want to pass them all along to my teenage grandson.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Final Summit - Not Quite the Finale

    All-in-all, the read was enjoyable if you have some time to kill, but there is not much spiritual depth here. If you want to find success here on Earth, you might find some good tips in The Final Summit, but if you want to be great in the kingdom of God, you won't find many answers in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Great Read

    I should start off by saying, I am an agnostic. So, when I first picked up 'The Final Summit' to review, I was put-off by the over-sweetness of the characters at first. But, I am also a fanatic on Historical Fiction, so I pushed on...and I am glad I did! Mr. Andrews captures historical personas wonderfully, although a certain Prime Minister was missing his scotch.
    Other than that I though the book was a real page turner...I could hardly put the book down. I read into the wee hours of the morning to finish.
    The book is about the archangel Gabriel being commanded to give humanity 5 chances to come up with the answer to putting humanity back on track for civility and humanity's sake. I do not wish to say anything further for fear of spoiling the book. But I can say, even for an agnostic, this book is truly inspiring!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2014

    I read The Final Summit a while back and honestly forgot all abo

    I read The Final Summit a while back and honestly forgot all about it.  It just wasn’t a book that was memorable nor engaging for me.  

    This is a fiction book about a guy named David Ponder.  Apparently there is a companion book before this one but it didn’t seem like this couldn’t stand alone.  David has been visited by Gabriel and told that God wants him to go to this meeting place and try to answer the question that will save mankind.  The answer is only two words and they get five chances to guess.  The cast of characters are somewhat interesting when you get to “talk” with Abraham Lincoln, Joan of Arc, etc.  The overall back and forth conversation just didn’t hold my attention.

    I also just couldn’t wrap my brain around a situation where God would hinge the fate of the world on a situation like this.  The premises just didn’t make sense to me and therefore I think that kept me from having the open mind that I really needed for this book.  Maybe I will come back to it one day and have a different opinion.

    This book was given to me in exchange for my honest review and thoughts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    The Final Summit

    I loved reading this book and all the Andy Andrews books I have read so far. Always inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Andy Andrews hooks us again with the Travelers reconvened!   


    Andy Andrews hooks us again with the Travelers reconvened!   

    In this sequel to The Traveler's Gift, David Ponder is called to a Summit Conference with the other Travelers on a quest to find the one principle that will save humanity from the destructive path they are spiraling down.

    The historic figures who are the Travelers are called by the Archangel Gabriel to come up with just two words that will prevent their ultimate destruction as mankind. Catching up with David Ponder at age 74, each of the Travelers lend their wisdom, leadership and analytical minds to try to solve their impending dilemma before the sands in the heavenly hourglass run out. There are so many great take aways here, its difficult to choose the best one, but I loved this definition of wisdom:  “Wisdom is the ability to see into the future, the consequences of one's choices in the present.”  


    Andy's historic Travelers to name a few: Winston Churchill, Christoper Columbus, President Lincoln, Anne Frank, King David and a Civil War soldier, Joshua Chamberlain made me want to pick up the biographies of all of them and read more about them.  Andy, to quote Dave Ramsey (author) is a “life whisperer” indeed!  What a storyteller, for sure, but stories that have an eternal purpose!
    Loved it!


    Thomas Nelson Publishers gifted me with this book, but they wouldn't have needed to do that to get a great review and the applause for Andy Andrews The Final Summit to do it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    This book is really a sequel to the Traveler's Gift and I recomm

    This book is really a sequel to the Traveler's Gift and I recommend reading that book first. It sets the scene for The Final Summit. While chapter one of The Final Summit does recap The Traveler's Gift - it just gives a basic overview. I personally think it would be hard to totally grasp The Final Summit without first having read The Traveler's Gift. So go out and get a copy of The Traveler's Gift - read it first. You won't be sorry as it is a fabulous book. Then read The Final Summit - another great read. The Final Summit takes place roughly 30 years later. Daniel is struggling because his wife, his life long friend and companion, has recently died. The archangel Gabriel makes an appearance as he has been sent to summon all the travelers to a meeting - a summit. Gabriel is the guide and facilitator for the upcoming summit conference. The travelers are being convened because God is upset with the human race and God is giving the travelers a chance to intervene and save mankind. I very much enjoyed both books and really like Andy Andrews's writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Good but...

    You need to read The Traveler's Gift first to really understand what is going on with David Ponder. I did think The Traveler's Gift was better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Book Review : The Final Summit

    If you've read "The Traveler's Gift" you won't want to miss this one! Andy Andrews is a great author and I've really enjoying reading his books. This one was an easy read, great story and I couldn't put it down! I always love reading a book that makes it hard to want to do anything else and leaves you caught up in the story! I will say that my favorite Andy Andrews book is still "The Noticer" but I did enjoy this one as well. If you've got some spare time and love a good read, then pick this one up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Read

    If you enjoyed The Traveler¿s Gift, you will not want to miss the book¿s sequel ¿ The Final Summit. With the fate of humanity resting on the shoulders of one man ¿ David Ponder must discover the one principle that can save all mankind.

    Much like its predecessor, Andy Andrew¿s writing is quickly paced and poignant. All the beloved characters are here and will be joining in as you cheer on David Ponder in his quest for the one thing you can do when you just don¿t know what to do¿

    With the help of hundreds of his fellow Travelers, from Winston Churchill to George Washington Carver to Joan of Arc, he must work to discover the one solution that will save humanity. Time is running out, and the final summit of Travelers must work quickly to avoid dire consequences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    A MUST read for anyone who just needs a little hint on where to start making changes.

    I read this book a few weeks ago and can' t stop thinking about its message. The analogies are so simple, yet so in-depth at the same time. Andy has a famtastic way of blending the right amount of humor with seriousness to make you both think and giggle out loud all the way through the book. After reading it on my Nook, I bought hard copies for my daughter and friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good, but not like the others...

    I liked his other work better than this one. Each is much like the other from a story telling, but this one was a bit harder to get into and not as much action or personal character building. Still enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Not my cup of tea, but still a good read

    The Final Summit by Andy Andrews I looked forward to this new book by Andy Andrews. Andrews is a motivational speaker who has a carefully worded, gentle way of writing that usually keeps your attention. This book, The Final Summit, is as Andrews describes it as having David Ponder as "a classic hero=a common everyman who has the ability to speak for us all." It has a connection to Andrews' other books, as Ponder is now 74 years old and facing decisions which he has to make using past principles and through meeting historical figures. I loved The Traveler's Gift. This, not so much. Although it is an easy read (easily doable in 2 days), and has a gorgeous cover to be used as a gift, I just couldn't get into it. Was it the history? Maybe. It just seemed to be very similar to the others. Just not my favorite, but still good. I did read this book as part of the Thomas Nelson publisher for Booksneeze, but the opinions are all mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Highly recommended but read The Traveler's Gift first

    Excellent book. I love the insight into the lives of the historical characters in Andy's books. There are always lessons to learn as well as principles to follow in his books. The research he does on the historical characters must be extraordinary to come up with some of the details he brings to light in his stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    The Final Summit

    The Final Summit is not exactly an easy book for me to review. There's a lot of things being brought up in this book-mainly the existence of angel and time traveling. It's a wonderful read, don't get me wrong, but the pace is a tad too fast for me.

    Nevertheless, this book is very enjoyable. I managed to get a grasps of this story after a while, and I love the concept of this book. It is highly original and very thought provoking.

    A lovely read if you're not a skeptic. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars. I received an ARC of this book from Thomas Nelson publisher. I was not required to write a positive review for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    the final summit review

    It is a good book that everyone should read and have at home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Are you looking for a fresh outlook on life?

    The Final Summit
    A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity
    By Andy Andrews
    Published by Thomas Nelson

    As part of a BookSneeze® registration I was given a complimentarily copy of "The Final Summit - A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity by Andy Andrews". In part of the agreement I was to read the book in its entirety then write a review about it.

    This story is about a man who is chosen to save humanity. He experiences visions and epiphanies that will lead him into a whole new life style. He becomes a Traveler and is the only Traveler still living. The story follows his journey to answer a very complicated question. The only way to find the answer is to look from within and look outside the box and inside the box at the same time.

    This novel was alright. I had a really hard time getting into it. Nearly half way through was when I became interested. Meeting the characters at the final summit is what caught my attention. The story was meant to be suspenseful, wondering if David will figure out what he has been asked to reveal. The author succeeded to make the readers wonder and really think about what could happen next. The elements of the story flowed together. I was surprised with the outcome of the novel. The message is heartwarming and inspiring. The author made the readers think really hard about their own lives. I would not say it challenged my faith but it made me grateful for my faith and what I do have. I would recommend this novel to others if they are looking for a refreshing look on life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Thoroughly Enjoyed It!

    Having read other Andy Andrews books, I was looking forward to this one. I must now go back and read The Traveler's Gift, although this book does make sense alone. It is a participant event, so to speak.....I kept searching for the answer, along with the Traveler's, to the question posed by Gabriel. The overwhelming feeling after reading it is one of hope, faith, and just sheer pleasure, with a sprinkle of foreboding. It is very entertaining and enriching to read the interactions between the Travelers from different historical eras. I was always interested in Joan of Arc in my childhood, and of course Winston Churchill is "larger than life". Having Mother Theresa and C.S. Lewis at the same forum, along with Cleopatra, and Dr. Schweitzer among others, and hearing everyone's opinions on what the answer might be really makes it one of those books you want to read straight through. I agreed with all of the answers offered, and thought of some of my own; but of course, without the final answer, none of the others matter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8