Customer Reviews for

The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity

Average Rating 4
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Changed my thinking

The Travelers gift was the best book I ever read, It altered my whole approach to everything. But with The Final Summit Andy Andrews creates a further push forward as well as an extremely entertaining read. This book changed my thinking again! A serious must read after ...
The Travelers gift was the best book I ever read, It altered my whole approach to everything. But with The Final Summit Andy Andrews creates a further push forward as well as an extremely entertaining read. This book changed my thinking again! A serious must read after you have read The Travelers Gift.

posted by JimO9485 on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Final Summit - Not Quite the Finale

All-in-all, the read was enjoyable if you have some time to kill, but there is not much spiritual depth here. If you want to find success here on Earth, you might find some good tips in The Final Summit, but if you want to be great in the kingdom of God, you won't find ...
All-in-all, the read was enjoyable if you have some time to kill, but there is not much spiritual depth here. If you want to find success here on Earth, you might find some good tips in The Final Summit, but if you want to be great in the kingdom of God, you won't find many answers in this book.

posted by Vishaal on November 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Waste of Time, Fake, Stupid Book! 5 Chapters are all EXACTLY the same!

    5 HIGHEST - 1 LOWEST STARS: 2 Stars


    READ IT OR SKIP IT? SKIP IT


    WHO MIGHT LIKE/HATE THIS BOOK?

    I don't expect many people will like this book. Perhaps historians who enjoy reading about the fictional thoughts of old dead presidents, Anne Frank, and Joan of Arc.



    BOOK REVIEW:

    I wasn't expecting a lot from this book but I thought, at least it would have some clever or thoughtful ideas. The book was horribly stupid! The characters in the book are bland and have very little personality. The personality that they do have is fake and far-fetched. Each of th 5 chapters dedicated to finding out the answer to save humanity from itself is dedicated to one character from history: Joan of Arc, Abraham Lincoln, an unknown nobody guy, etc. And there is no character work. Each chapter is SUPER repetitious! The whole thing is ridiculous! The only part of each chapter that changes is the guessed answer. And the solutions these fictional historic characters come up with are so silly! And the final solution will drive you crazy and disappoint you to no end. Save your life and time and don't even bother borrowing this book from a friend.



    Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, Thomas Nelson, but I am giving an honest open review of the book from a young straight Christian female persepctive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    Waste of Time

    "The Final Summit" by Andy Andrews
    David Ponder is carried off to the Final Summit by Archangel Gabriel. The Final Summit being a meeting where 'travelers' gather so that they can find the answer to the question that will stop 'the end of humanity'. David Ponder, Winston Churchill, Joan of Arc, Abe Lincoln, WWII spy Eric Ericson, and King David are summoned by Gabriel to answer the question, "What does humanity need to do, individually and collectively, to restore itself to the pathway toward successful civilization?" They get five tries and if not God will destroy the world.
    Honestly this book was super boring. I did not enjoy reading this, it was a waste of my time. I had to force myself to finish the book and a lot of times I just wanted to skip whole parts. The whole story takes place in a meeting and all they do is discuss what the answer may be, and you know what the answer is? Two words, 'Do Something', are you serious? 'Do something', Hitler did something and he thought it was good. Even the way Andy describes Gabriel, arrogant and petty, angels are supposed to be sinless. I just don't see the purpose of this book. Overall I do not recommend this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Not worth Reading

    David Ponder, a man in despair, has been chosen chair of this final summit. He is brought there by Gabriel, yes, the archangel (although Winston Churchill purposely leaves out the 'arch' to irk him and readers I assume). In company with five select other Travelers, and with the assistance of all the other Travelers of the world, David attempts to answer the final question:
    "What does humanity need to do, individually and collectively, to restore itself to the pathway toward successful civilization?"

    The answer, Gabriel says, contains two words, and the summit has only five tries to save the world.
    The Travelers struggle with this question sand slips through a large gold hourglass as time moves on.in unexpected ways.



    As someone who is on her own journey of faith I find that The Final Summit is not the book to find that faith. This book may be feel like Mr. Andrews wants to leave God out of everything. My impression is that Mr. Andrews feels mankind should save mankind and not turn to God for our salvation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    Unrealistic Stupid Solution to "Save the World" is the REAL LIFE cause of all the world's problems!

    This book was really DUMB!!! The main character David is taken to a meeting with all these famous people to decide how to save humanity. The archangel Gabriel tells them to find the solution to this question: "What does humanity need to do, individually or collectively, to restore itself to the pathway towards a successful civilzation?" Gabriel tells them they have 5 guesses or God will destroy/end the world. Sounds kind of interesting, right? But their guesses are pretty silly (something you and I probably would never guess) and the solution is SOOO stupid, you will die! In fact, the solution is not even a solution - it is the REAL LIFE cause/problem with the world right now! How could the author get the answer SO BACKWARDS??? If you are a thinker, you will want to throw this book out after you are done!

    Don't Read Further if you don't want to know the 5 guesss and the solution:
    X
    X
    X
    X
    X
    X
    X
    X
    X
    X
    X
    Guess 1: Courage (wrong answer)
    Guess 2: Seek wisdom (wrong answer)
    Guess 3: Be courageous (wrong answer)
    Guess 4: Self-discipline (wrong answer)
    Guess 5: Develop character (wrong answer)

    So they used up all their 5 guesses. Then suddenly they come up with the REAL SOLUTION and tell Gabriel and he accepts their answer: DO SOMETHING. Do Something is the solution to all humanity's problems. Since I couldn't ever believe "Doing something" is the solution, I hated this book. What a let down. They didn't even try "faith" or "love" or something like that. "Do something"??? But all humans are already "doing something". It just isn't the right something.

    Disclaimer: Got this book free of charge from Book Sneeze. But gave honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1