Customer Reviews for

The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity

Average Rating 4
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Can You Answer the Question?

One of those books you want everyone around you to read--can't stop talking about it. Thought provoking. Page turner. Interesting historic themes weaved into story. Many truths. One of the few books I will keep to re-read.

posted by NotSurprised on September 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Final Summit - Not Quite the Finale

All-in-all, the read was enjoyable if you have some time to kill, but there is not much spiritual depth here. If you want to find success here on Earth, you might find some good tips in The Final Summit, but if you want to be great in the kingdom of God, you won't find ...
All-in-all, the read was enjoyable if you have some time to kill, but there is not much spiritual depth here. If you want to find success here on Earth, you might find some good tips in The Final Summit, but if you want to be great in the kingdom of God, you won't find many answers in this book.

posted by Vishaal on November 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Not my cup of tea, but still a good read

    The Final Summit by Andy Andrews I looked forward to this new book by Andy Andrews. Andrews is a motivational speaker who has a carefully worded, gentle way of writing that usually keeps your attention. This book, The Final Summit, is as Andrews describes it as having David Ponder as "a classic hero=a common everyman who has the ability to speak for us all." It has a connection to Andrews' other books, as Ponder is now 74 years old and facing decisions which he has to make using past principles and through meeting historical figures. I loved The Traveler's Gift. This, not so much. Although it is an easy read (easily doable in 2 days), and has a gorgeous cover to be used as a gift, I just couldn't get into it. Was it the history? Maybe. It just seemed to be very similar to the others. Just not my favorite, but still good. I did read this book as part of the Thomas Nelson publisher for Booksneeze, but the opinions are all mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Lacking in spiritual depth.

    is about a man named David Ponder who is summoned by the Archangel Gabriel to attend a "summit" to answer the question "What must humanity do, individually and collectively, to restore itself to the pathway toward successful civilization?"

    Ultimately my feelings on this book are mediocre at best. I felt as if the character portrayal of Gabriel was misguided. Several times in the book Gabriel is portrayed as less than impressed with humanity. While I truly can see that God and Gabriel would both have every right to feel less than impressed with humanity I don't feel that either of them would act as portrayed in this book.

    The idea that one man - David Ponder - holds the fate of mankind in his hands is disappointing to me. No earthly man holds the fate of mankind. Jesus Christ holds the fate of mankind in His hand. No amount of talking about how humanity has diverged from the right path will change the path we are currently on. This world needs Jesus and to suggest anything other than this solution is...honestly....drivel.

    I will say that from a fiction stand point this book was interesting to read. I just feel that even though the book made me think deeply about some things in my own life the author could have pointed readers to Jesus instead of giving the impression that they, in their own ideas and power, can bring themselves to the right path.

    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Final Summit by Andy Andrews

    A quest to find the one principle that will save humanity before mankind destroys itself finds David Ponder in a race against time. He has been chosen by the archangel Gabriel to lead a summit of fellow travelers, using their wisdom and experience to save mankind before all that is known is destroyed. Ponder soon finds himself traveling to the most unlikely of places to interview the most fascinating of subjects such as Winston Churchill to George Washington Carver to Joan of Arc, he must work to discover the one solution that will save humanity. Together, with the help of hundreds of his fellow travelers, before time runs out, the final summit of Travelers must work quickly to avoid dire consequences.

    Will the group come up with the answer in Time? What could possibly be the one action that could change the times of history? The team is assembled much like CEO's in a boardroom. There are five chances to come up with the correct answer and with only a limited time. The Travelers have their chance to voice their opinion.

    The book is an easy read and enjoyable if you don't have anything else to read. It is a bit too "New Agey" implying people have the courage, intellect, strength, etc. to save the world. The book hints that it could be a spiritual principle that would save humanity but ends up being something else entirely (I won't spoil it).

    David Ponder comes back from answering correctly and saving humanity and the book ends. How long was he gone, 3 hrs, 3 days, 3 wks? Nothing about the good people at the beginning of the story who were concerned about him hiding away in his home, how this revelation would affect the characters, Ponder's life, humanity, maybe for another book, but I won't be interested in finding out.

    I would have liked better if it focused more on the famous people who used historically proven principles that made life better for themselves and others, instead of trying to present a story within a story, leaving both stories wanting. I was disappointed in the end
    This book also has a readers guide as with all books lately whether it is needed or not.

    I received a free copy of the book from Thomas Nelson as part of their Booksneeze Blogger program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Not what I expected

    I came into this book with high expectations. It's a book by a New York Times best-selling author, and it's a Christian fiction. Since I do not read much Christian fiction, I was really looking forward to a good read.

    The Final Summit by Andy Andrews is not what I expected at all. It's the story of David Ponder, an ordinary man given the quest to find the answer to humanity. Angel Gabriel tells him to come up with the two words that answers the question: What does humanity need to do, individually and collectively, to restore itself to the pathway toward successful civilization? In this quest, Ponder meets past great historical figures such as Winston Churchill, Joan of Arc, Abraham Lincoln, and the like to help him find the correct answer. In the process, they discuss the various values that humanity depend on most to succeed.

    Learning about the historical figures is certainly the biggest appeal of the book. One person in particular, Eric Erickson, is someone I had never heard of but is said to have hastened the end of WWII. It's sort of a "Night at the Museum" where historical figures come alive and talk to each other about the world in which they lived.

    There is just a lot of dialogue and discussion about what the answer to the question may be, but there's no action that I would expect of a story about a "quest" with time travel involved. The writing I estimate to be about a 4th-6th grade level, so maybe it's a book for appropriate for a younger age. This book is more like an allegory or inspirational book to gain insight into living with strong values.

    Disclosure: Thomas Nelson provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for this review. Opinions are entirely my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    The Final Summit

    David Ponder is an ordinary old man who is summoned by the archangel Gabriel to lead a meeting.

    "With a serious nod, Gabriel began:
    - You are at a turning point, he said
    - You, the human race, are balanced on a precipice, and He is not pleased. . now the Travelers are being convened with an opportunity to avoid what seems to me, the inevitable." (page 32-3)

    The most influential leaders of the past history are gathered around a table to discuss 'the one principle that will save humanity.'

    "What does humanity need to do, individually and collectively, to restore itself to the pathway to ward successful civilization?" (page 71)

    The Travelers in charge for the Answer are: Winston Churchill, Joan of Arc, Abraham Lincoln, Eric Erickson, King David, George Washington Carver, and Joshua Chamberlain.

    The Final Summit is my first reading of Andy Andrews, so my opinions about this book could be incomplete.

    I was disappointed since the start of the book because, although the ingredients were 'high level', the result is poor.
    Reading the praise for The Final Summit, I was expecting a story stuffed with ideas, suggestions, and quotations from historical characters.
    I was also expecting a bit of fantasy.

    The style of the book suggests the idea kind of brainstorming meeting for insurances' sellers, so motivational purposes are far from this book. The final answer 'that will save humanity' seems hanging over there, and so .
    It is not just double-entry accounting.

    I advise to reread hagiographies books, where 'examples' and suggestions comes from real life.

    Booksneeze has provided me with an Arc of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Less than Thrilling

    The Final Summit features main character, David Ponder as a time traveling. . . well. . . old businessman. Ponder must save humanity and he has a deadline by which to do so. He is joined by a large gathering of famous figures from history who he has been called to lead in this mission.

    I think this book is sort of what might happen if Frank Peretti and Michael Crichton got together to write a novel, but were told they weren't allowed to add much action. Don't get me wrong here. . . I really like Crichton's work and some people actually like Peretti's. But the net result in this case is a slow moving, preachy novel.

    It is interesting the way Andrews weaves together historical accounts with commentary on the state of humankind and what he believes we must all do in the face of everything in order to maintain civilization. His historical accounts are accurate and he clearly researched each figure that had a prominent role in the story.

    If you like Christian easy-read fiction, this book is a great choice. It'll probably make you think a little bit, but not so much you'll have to really work at it. So if you're looking for a quick little summer read, pick this one up tomorrow when it hits the shelves!


    To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, I am obligated to mention BookSneeze® has provided me with a complimentary advanced reading copy of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1