Customer Reviews for

The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity

Average Rating 4
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Can You Answer the Question?

One of those books you want everyone around you to read--can't stop talking about it. Thought provoking. Page turner. Interesting historic themes weaved into story. Many truths. One of the few books I will keep to re-read.

posted by NotSurprised on September 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Final Summit - Not Quite the Finale

All-in-all, the read was enjoyable if you have some time to kill, but there is not much spiritual depth here. If you want to find success here on Earth, you might find some good tips in The Final Summit, but if you want to be great in the kingdom of God, you won't find ...
All-in-all, the read was enjoyable if you have some time to kill, but there is not much spiritual depth here. If you want to find success here on Earth, you might find some good tips in The Final Summit, but if you want to be great in the kingdom of God, you won't find many answers in this book.

posted by Vishaal on November 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Can You Answer the Question?

    One of those books you want everyone around you to read--can't stop talking about it. Thought provoking. Page turner. Interesting historic themes weaved into story. Many truths. One of the few books I will keep to re-read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    Changed my thinking

    The Travelers gift was the best book I ever read, It altered my whole approach to everything. But with The Final Summit Andy Andrews creates a further push forward as well as an extremely entertaining read. This book changed my thinking again! A serious must read after you have read The Travelers Gift.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another creative Andy Andrews' book

    Another blend of fiction and real people who have made a difference. Very creative way to inspire you to be the best person you can be. I want to pass them all along to my teenage grandson.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Great Read

    I should start off by saying, I am an agnostic. So, when I first picked up 'The Final Summit' to review, I was put-off by the over-sweetness of the characters at first. But, I am also a fanatic on Historical Fiction, so I pushed on...and I am glad I did! Mr. Andrews captures historical personas wonderfully, although a certain Prime Minister was missing his scotch.
    Other than that I though the book was a real page turner...I could hardly put the book down. I read into the wee hours of the morning to finish.
    The book is about the archangel Gabriel being commanded to give humanity 5 chances to come up with the answer to putting humanity back on track for civility and humanity's sake. I do not wish to say anything further for fear of spoiling the book. But I can say, even for an agnostic, this book is truly inspiring!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    The Final Summit

    I loved reading this book and all the Andy Andrews books I have read so far. Always inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Andy Andrews hooks us again with the Travelers reconvened!   


    Andy Andrews hooks us again with the Travelers reconvened!   

    In this sequel to The Traveler's Gift, David Ponder is called to a Summit Conference with the other Travelers on a quest to find the one principle that will save humanity from the destructive path they are spiraling down.

    The historic figures who are the Travelers are called by the Archangel Gabriel to come up with just two words that will prevent their ultimate destruction as mankind. Catching up with David Ponder at age 74, each of the Travelers lend their wisdom, leadership and analytical minds to try to solve their impending dilemma before the sands in the heavenly hourglass run out. There are so many great take aways here, its difficult to choose the best one, but I loved this definition of wisdom:  “Wisdom is the ability to see into the future, the consequences of one's choices in the present.”  


    Andy's historic Travelers to name a few: Winston Churchill, Christoper Columbus, President Lincoln, Anne Frank, King David and a Civil War soldier, Joshua Chamberlain made me want to pick up the biographies of all of them and read more about them.  Andy, to quote Dave Ramsey (author) is a “life whisperer” indeed!  What a storyteller, for sure, but stories that have an eternal purpose!
    Loved it!


    Thomas Nelson Publishers gifted me with this book, but they wouldn't have needed to do that to get a great review and the applause for Andy Andrews The Final Summit to do it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    This book is really a sequel to the Traveler's Gift and I recomm

    This book is really a sequel to the Traveler's Gift and I recommend reading that book first. It sets the scene for The Final Summit. While chapter one of The Final Summit does recap The Traveler's Gift - it just gives a basic overview. I personally think it would be hard to totally grasp The Final Summit without first having read The Traveler's Gift. So go out and get a copy of The Traveler's Gift - read it first. You won't be sorry as it is a fabulous book. Then read The Final Summit - another great read. The Final Summit takes place roughly 30 years later. Daniel is struggling because his wife, his life long friend and companion, has recently died. The archangel Gabriel makes an appearance as he has been sent to summon all the travelers to a meeting - a summit. Gabriel is the guide and facilitator for the upcoming summit conference. The travelers are being convened because God is upset with the human race and God is giving the travelers a chance to intervene and save mankind. I very much enjoyed both books and really like Andy Andrews's writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    A MUST read for anyone who just needs a little hint on where to start making changes.

    I read this book a few weeks ago and can' t stop thinking about its message. The analogies are so simple, yet so in-depth at the same time. Andy has a famtastic way of blending the right amount of humor with seriousness to make you both think and giggle out loud all the way through the book. After reading it on my Nook, I bought hard copies for my daughter and friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Thoroughly Enjoyed It!

    Having read other Andy Andrews books, I was looking forward to this one. I must now go back and read The Traveler's Gift, although this book does make sense alone. It is a participant event, so to speak.....I kept searching for the answer, along with the Traveler's, to the question posed by Gabriel. The overwhelming feeling after reading it is one of hope, faith, and just sheer pleasure, with a sprinkle of foreboding. It is very entertaining and enriching to read the interactions between the Travelers from different historical eras. I was always interested in Joan of Arc in my childhood, and of course Winston Churchill is "larger than life". Having Mother Theresa and C.S. Lewis at the same forum, along with Cleopatra, and Dr. Schweitzer among others, and hearing everyone's opinions on what the answer might be really makes it one of those books you want to read straight through. I agreed with all of the answers offered, and thought of some of my own; but of course, without the final answer, none of the others matter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Thought provoking

    The Final Summit is the stand alone sequel to The Travler's Gift. A Traveler is a person who has traveled in time and David Ponder happens to be one of these people. In his seventies, he is feeling depressed and lost when the archangel, Gabriel, appears to him and asks him to lead the summit to find out the answer to saving humanity before it's too late. It's a race against time as David and all the great minds from history come together in this novel and together discover what humanity must do to save themselves.

    I absolutely loved the way this story was written. It caused me to think and actually question my own actions to what I have done to help humanity or to hurt it. Do I do everything I can? The way this was written was a fictional story but it reminded me of a self help book as well, helping me to be more than I am and to try harder than I do. It was also fascinating reading the histories of the characters. Two of them I hadn't even heard of but their stories were amazing. What awesome people we have had throughout history who set such amazing examples.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Excellent

    I couldn't put it down. Andy Andrews is an excellent writer. I have read all of his books and each are so uplifting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Interesting Ponderings.

    Title: The Final Summit.

    Author: Andy Andrews.

    Genre: Christian, Fiction, Sequel, Humorous, Save-The-World.

    Plot: David Ponder, the seventy-four-year-old protagonist, stands alone in his lofty apartment, contemplating the recent loss of his beloved wife Ellen and the past twenty-eight years since he first went on the adventure of his life. He had been at his darkest point then also. But David is about to learn that his adventures aren't over yet and his help is needed to save humanity.

    Whisked away to the final summit, a gathering of travelers from all of history, David teams up with recognizable historical figures and Gabriel the archangel to solve a puzzle of a most complex nature. "What does humanity need to do, individually and collectively, to restore itself to the pathway toward successful civilization?" is the question they must solve in a limited time frame with only five chances at guessing correctly.

    The end result could save humanity and restore it to its grandeur of bygone eras.

    Likes/Dislikes: This was a highly interesting book! Some people who are more into action will find people sitting around discussing such things as wisdom and character to be boring but I enjoyed it. Winston Churchill's humorous commentary had me laughing several times. However, there were some people at the summit which, I assume, takes place in heaven, that I rather doubt will be in heaven. Cleopatra particularly; knowing what I know about ancient Egypt, I rather doubt we'll have the privilege of meeting her up there. Other than that, it was wonderful!

    Rating: G-10 and up for reading level.

    Date Report Written: June 25, 2011.

    I received this book free from the publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed in the above review are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    A Delight for Historical Fiction Lovers!

    Overview:
    The Final Summit is another great work of fiction by Andy Andrews. In The Final Summit, you will counter a cast of familiar historical figures as well as David Ponder from The Traveler's Gift. The basic premise of the book is that the world has been on a downward spiral for some time now and it's time is nearing an end unless a solution can be found to reverse this spiral. Ponder, who is recently widowed and is now questioning his will to live, is summoned by the angel Gabriel to lead a council of the most powerful and world changing minds from the past. Members of this council include biblical figures such as King David all the way to more contemporary figures like Mister Rogers-even Amelia Earhart makes an appearance. Together these individuals must come up with an idea to reverse the downward spiral of the world. They have five chances to solve the problem, and they must do it before the sand in the world's hour glass runs out. Will they be able to save the world? Only time will tell.


    Author Andy Andrews
    My Thoughts:
    When I first learned that David Ponder was a returning character from another Andy Andrews book I was a little worried that I would be lost. I was pleasantly surprised that I could follow and enjoy The Final Summit without having read The Traveler's Gift. I also liked the cast of characters whom Andrews includes in his heavenly council-especially some of the lesser known individuals like Eric Erickson (never heard of him before this book but he's real!).

    I thought that the story line was interesting. The varied cast of characters from different cultures and eras provided some interesting interactions, and I had to chuckle to myself when he described some of the scenes taking place in the council chambers. In the end the solution the council decides upon isn't all that new or radical but it still is true and holds important meaning. The best part is that this self-help answer comes to you in an easily digestible fiction form. How nice! All in all I thought The Final Summit was great. I recommend it to individuals who enjoy historical fiction and to those who are looking for uplifting and encouragement in their own lives.

    This book was provided to me at no cost by Thomas Nelson Publishing for review purposes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    The Final Summit by Andy Andrews is an incredibly entertaining fiction read with deep life messages sprinkled throughout it's pages!

    It was a privilege to read this book and I am excited to share this author with you in case you've never read him. He is what I would call a modern day C. S. Lewis! I know that is saying a lot, but that is exactly the style of writing found in this book titled: The Final Summit. I can't wait to get my hands on the ten other books he has written, beginning with The Noticer and ending with the The Butterfly Effect. The Final Summit is centered around the book's main character, David Ponder, who travels through time to gather in a final summit meeting with some of the world's greatest leaders from the past. Their mission is to identify the one solution that will save humanity. As the book progresses, the reader is drawn into history with a mesmerizing hold. One by one, strong leaders from days gone by are introduced and their defining moments in life are revealed. As the group looks closely at pivotal points in their lives, they grow closer to isolating the one principle that will save humanity. A cast of characters such as Winston Churchill, Joan of Arc, and George Washington Carver, just to name a few, make this book come alive with imagination and intrigue! An easy and entertaining read with a very deep message places this book high on my list for recommended reading! Thank you to Thomas Nelson Publishing Company (Since 1798) for providing a review copy of The Final Summit presented to me through Booksneeze. The statements in this review are a reflection of my own opinions and based solely on my personal estimation of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Fascinating Definite Read

    A blend of fantasy and history, this book was fascinating. I loved the combination of real life values with historical figures like Abraham Lincoln, Winston Churchill, and Anne Frank. I was working through the problems with the characters and I couldn't put the book down. I felt their disappointments and their struggles. I really like the background given for the characters. Even though the book was fiction, it was really interesting to see the historical people in a new way. This book is the continuation of the first book and the author did a really good job of explaining all the necessary information in this book. I don't feel like I missed anything without reading the first book. This book really challenged me to think in a new way about people and what is necessary for success and community. There are so many good points of advice and real life application that are presented in the book. The end result was pleasantly surprising and it turned out differently than what I thought but it ended very well. There was a really confusing part that wasn't resolved, but overall I really enjoyed it and I will recommend it to all of my friends.
    This book was sent to me free for review for Book Sneeze.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    THE FINAL SUMMIT by ANDY ANDREWS

    In "The Final Summit," Andy Andrews, a gifted writer and a world-class communicator, creates a classic piece of literature for our times, in a unique and powerful blend of history, science and religion. Drawing upon words, carefully culled from the deep recesses of his own heart, Andy Andrews deals with life's most baffling issues, to make history come alive, by utilising the help of hundreds of his fellow Travelers through the centuries, as David Ponder strives hard to discover the one solution that will save humanity. Time is crucial and of the utmost essence, and the final summit of Travelers find themselves working as fast as possible to avert disastrous consequences. Following in the footsteps and imbibing the spirit of its famed predecessor, "The Traveler's Gift," this sequel, "The Final Summit" explores the time-tested, historical principles that have guided the greatest leaders of all time and prompts us to adopt these principles in our own lives.

    © Miriam Jacob

    To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, I would like to mention that, as part of every Web or retail site review, BOOKSNEEZE has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book from THOMAS NELSON PUBLISHERS.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from THOMAS NELSON PUBLISHERS through BOOKSNEEZE book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Wonderfully written book, difficult to put down!

    I received this E-book from BookSneeze to read and post my honest opinion. Well...I love this book. Once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down. David Ponder is visited by the Archangel Gabriel and goes to a summit of some of the great minds from history. He meets with Winston Churchill, Abe Lincoln, King David, Joan of Arc, and others to decide what it is that the world must do so that it can continue to go on. Each chapter involves a discussion and advice for what the people individually and as a whole need to do to show that they haven't lost sight of what they should be doing here on Earth. Each answer builds upon the last and leads up to the ultimate answer which you will have to read the book to find out. This is the first novel I have read by Andy Andrews, and I'm hooked. I would highly recommend this book to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Andy Andrew is certainly the 21st C.S. Lewis! A great book!

    The Final Summit is about the story of David Ponder who is now 74 years old. Many years have passed since he discovered the Seven Decisions (If you are like me, have not read The Traveller's Gift before; but a good summary of the Seven Decisions can be found by clicking on the link provided. The summary of these seven decisions is also narrated in the first chapter of this book).

    Nonetheless, even though David Ponder was very wealthy, he was discouraged about life due to the fact that he had recently lost his wife, the love of his life. The angel Gabriel then appears and whisked him away to heaven for a final summit -- a project that he must solve before the time stipulated in movement of the sand in the hourglass.

    Together, with the team of his fellow travelers (comprising of wise and great men and women of the past), from Winston Churchill to George Washington Carver to Joan of Arc, he must work to discover the one solution that will save humanity.

    Whenever I read this book, the one imagination that I always picture in my mind, is that the scene of this drama is somewhat similar to the scenes from the live TV series, the Apprentice. A group of apprentice is given an assignment by the mentor (in this case, the angel Gabriel). The mentor walks out. The apprentice team come together and work out the answer. And when they are ready, the mentor is being called back and a spokeperson of the group presents the answer to the mentor. The catch in this story is, David Ponder and his team is only given five chances to come up with the accurate two-word answer to this question: what does humanity need to do to restore itself to the pathway toward successful civilization?

    As expected, David Ponder used up all five chances before he was able to come up with the answer. In their discussion on each of these five decisions, I learned much wisdom. Indeed, as Chairman of Thomas Nelson, Michael Hyatt, said in his interview with Andy Andrews, this book is really choke full of wisdom, despite being a fictional book. There are so much truths, so much wisdom that we can learn from. There are certain books that I will never re-read; not for this one. This book will certainly goes to my reference shelf.

    Overall, this book is a really good book to read and re-read. I have actually read it twice before writing this review.

    I conclude that Andy Andrew is certainly the C.S. Lewis of the 21st century. He is able to weave in so much wisdom in a narrative account. I will attempt to read his previous books, particularly on The Traveler's Gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    My Review

    When I read the summary of this book online, it instantly reminded me of the movie National Treasure. That is a huge favorite of mine and so I had high hopes for this book. I was not disappointed. Our main character is named David Ponder and he is a self made wealthy man. His wife passed and he has lost his passion for life. Then the Archangel Gabriel shows up and life is about to change. David had already met Gabriel in the previous book, The Traveler's Gift. But now he's told that this humanity's last chance. Him and a group of people have a limited time and 5 chances to figure out the solution to "reset the compass and right the ship."

    This book is a fun adventure that brings history to life. It is an inspirational book as well that gave me insight and a sense of empowerment as I read it. I would highly suggest this book to anyone who likes an adventure, loves history or just needs to be inspired. I plan on rereading this book whenever I need to be inspired.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    Pretty awesome book!

    What would you do if you needed to come up with a solution to save mankind from their greed, pride, and hate? Using only two words, a group of six people, including Winston Churchill, Joan of Arc, Eric Ericson, Abraham Lincoln, George Washington Carver, and the heroic David Ponder, the only traveler that was still alive had to find this solution. Not only did they have to find it in two words, but they had only five chances. Will they find the solution in time, or will humanity be destroyed? In this sequel to The Traveler's Gift, time and wits are running out.
    Though I thoroughly enjoyed this book, I must admit at times it was a bit hard to follow. I absolutely enjoyed the section about Eric Ericson, because I never had known all that he did during World War II, becoming a catalyst to the Nazi's downfall. I enjoyed the historical characters, and the research done on them. The mysterious question always lingered, "What should humanity do, individually and collectively in order to restore itself to the pathway toward successful civilization?" All the while, the surprisingly simple solution is yet to be discovered. Overall, An enjoyable read for anyone who enjoys a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4