BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Final Target

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    Kind of disappointing

    The plot line seems very interesting, but I found the book full of very cheezy parts. The characters are very superficial and you really don't feel any sympathy or excitement.

    I just didn't get a feel or satisfaction from the book. And most parts annoyed me. Like, if a character has never gone to another country, how the heck are they going to move around and find a place so easily? Everything just seemed so easy, it felt boring and very cliche.

    I don't recommend it. To me it was a waste of time, but you be the judge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    Make a movie of this book

    Someone should make a movie about final target. It was the best on I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2005

    BRILLIANT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Couldn't put it down. I finished in a matter of hours. One of, if not, her best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!

    this was one of her best books ever!!!! it's IMPOSSIBLE to put down. excellent plot. it had a perfect mix of romance, thrill, and suspense. definitly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2002

    IT WAS GREAT!

    it was great! All of her books that I've read have been great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2002

    Pretty Good

    This was a little hard for me to get into, but once I did , it sure was a good book. This is the first book that I read with the CD's for the book, very nice to read this way, exspecially if your driving, since you can't read when your driving you can listen to the story. Then read when you get home!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2002

    Another Outstanding Book!

    I could NOT put it down. Talk about a book that takes ahold and doesnt let go. The plot twists and turns make for an exiting read. Tho I think Galen needs his own book. He needs more action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2001

    Sounded better than it was

    I picked this up in the new book section of the library, and the beginning was quite promising. However, I found the plot to be boring and the romance uninspired. I may try one or two other books by this author as perhaps this was an exception for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2001

    Good Book

    I thought the book was very good. Not quite up there with Ugly Duckling (my favorite Johansen novel), but a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2001

    FAST PACED COULD NOT PUT DOWN ENDED TOO SOON

    This was one of her best I have read. Her characters are so real and different, that you get caught up in them real quick. This was such a quick read I was not ready to put this down and alas the ending came too quick. I sure hope Ms. Johansen writes a sequel to this novel,there is still so much she could do with these characters. You will enjoy this book very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2001

    SUSPENSE AT FULL-THROTTLE

    In Vasaro, France seven-year-old Cassie Andreas, the U.S. President¿s daughter, awakens to find a heinous massacre taking place in the family¿s farmhouse estate. Everyone, including her Secret Service bodyguards and her nanny (who ended up betraying her) has been killed. She begins a desperate search for a family heirloom called the Wind Dancer, which she feels will provide an emotional escape from the bloodshed around her. Just as she finds the statute, she is saved from certain death by a mysterious stranger named Michael Travis, and slips into catatonic trauma. We learn that Travis is an elusive underworld ¿information¿ broker and thief. President Jonathan Andreas is not sure if Travis is the hero he appears to be, or if he had another reason for being at the estate that evening. Andreas moves Cassie to the Virginia home of Dr. Jessica Riley, who helped her own sister Melissa come back from the same condition. Jessica doesn¿t seem to be getting anywhere with Cassie, but when Melissa returns to visit at the same time that Travis bargains his way back onto American soil, things begin to heat up tremendously. Although it appears that Melissa has a ¿special¿ connection with Cassie that Jessica cannot understand, it is Travis who holds the key to Cassie¿s recovery. He soon launches a deadly game of Russian roulette with the little girl¿s life, drawing them all into an international nightmare in which one of the main characters is brutally murdered, and the others are left to create the bait that will flush out a killer. FINAL TARGET starts with a bang and escalates from there. This is a solid chase that features restrained passions, coolly determined characters, and unspeakable danger. 4 Stars. This is a solid, entertaining read. The characters are very well developed and the dialogue is sharp. However, a little more information about catatonic trauma would have added more depth and believability to the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2001

    dissappointed

    I was really dissappointed with Final Target. I found it contrived and silly dialogue..no depth at all! Certainly not up to par when compared to her previous books. Please bring back Eve Duncan! This book was like reading a fairy tale but poorly done. Joanne, I know you can do better..please lose this format!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2001

    Don't waste your time

    Normally I enjoy Iris Johansen, but this book was quite awful. A contrived, silly plot with lousy dialogue and characters I really cared nothing about. Seems like she was trying to recreate elements from The Ugly Duckling (which I loved), as well as some of her other, better books. Not very suspenseful, and the token romance was forced and uninteresting. Sorry to be so negative, but I was really disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting romantic suspense

    In Vasaro, France, Michael Travis aborts an attempt to kidnap Cassie, the daughter of the American President. Many men die while her nanny, a traitor, tries to hand Cassie over to the terrorists. Cassie goes into a catatonic state. The President has many doctors try to bring Cassie back but they all fail. President Andreas is forced to turn to Dr. Jessica Riley for help. Jessica once succeeded in pulling her own sister Melissa out of the same condition even though it took years to accomplish that feat. <P>Travis knows Europe is too hot for him to remain there so he maneuvers the President into giving him a ride back to the States to guard Cassie. While watching over Cassie, a psychic bond forms between Travis and Cassie. When Travis returns to Europe, Jessica, Cassie, and Melissa accompany him. While there, Melissa obtains quite an education having to shoot someone and dodge the good and bad guys all the while falling in love with Travis. <P> Years ago, Iris Johansen wrote the ¿Wind Dancer¿ trilogy and that statue play a prominent role in this book. FINAL TARGET is a thrilling romantic suspense novel that will have fans of the author ecstatic and bring Ms. Johansen new readers. A secondary player deserves his own story be told especially with the nastiness that he goes through in this exciting tale. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2