Customer Reviews for

The Final Testament of the Holy Bible

Average Rating 3.5
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

The idea of this book made me give it four stars. The modern Christian of today might be totally offended by this book because the author writes about what Christ stood for not what man over the years has made Christ. All I read was the synopsis and it look like the a...
The idea of this book made me give it four stars. The modern Christian of today might be totally offended by this book because the author writes about what Christ stood for not what man over the years has made Christ. All I read was the synopsis and it look like the author hit it on the head. Christ stood for love thy neighbor. Man today interprets that as, Love only the neighbor who thinks and believes like we do. War have been fought in by so called born again Christian presidents who have no idea what Christ's message was and ministers burn holy books of other religions in the name of Christ and innocent people thousands of miles away are killed in the name of that other religion.

I am sure the Christian of today would find this book threatening and not rate it very high. If you are a reader that can think for himself then give this book a try.

posted by JeffreyRCrimmel on April 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

All or Nothing

I would agree that many Christians today do not live like they should. I would also agree that some Christians do things that make every Christian look bad. However, you cannot say that Christ only said to love thy neighbor. He said much more than that! The Bible is for...
I would agree that many Christians today do not live like they should. I would also agree that some Christians do things that make every Christian look bad. However, you cannot say that Christ only said to love thy neighbor. He said much more than that! The Bible is for us to accept and live by, either all or nothing. You cannot pick and choose what you like or what you want to follow. Jesus did say, "Love thy neighbor as thyself." (Mark 12:31 and in many other verses) However, He also said, "the one who created them from the beginning 'made them male and female' and said: 'For this reason a man shall leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh'? So they are no longer two separate people but one. No man therefore must separate what God has joined together." (Matthew 19:4-6) The Bible also states that we should not murder, steal, commit adultery, covet, use the Lord's name in vain, and many others. You cannot say that Christ only cares about love, because He cares about everything. He cares about what we do, what we say, and how we live. A simple work of fiction that caters to this world can never compare to God's plan and the teachings of Jesus.

posted by forgive_forget on April 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    All or Nothing

    I would agree that many Christians today do not live like they should. I would also agree that some Christians do things that make every Christian look bad. However, you cannot say that Christ only said to love thy neighbor. He said much more than that! The Bible is for us to accept and live by, either all or nothing. You cannot pick and choose what you like or what you want to follow. Jesus did say, "Love thy neighbor as thyself." (Mark 12:31 and in many other verses) However, He also said, "the one who created them from the beginning 'made them male and female' and said: 'For this reason a man shall leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh'? So they are no longer two separate people but one. No man therefore must separate what God has joined together." (Matthew 19:4-6) The Bible also states that we should not murder, steal, commit adultery, covet, use the Lord's name in vain, and many others. You cannot say that Christ only cares about love, because He cares about everything. He cares about what we do, what we say, and how we live. A simple work of fiction that caters to this world can never compare to God's plan and the teachings of Jesus.

    28 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    The idea of this book made me give it four stars. The modern Christian of today might be totally offended by this book because the author writes about what Christ stood for not what man over the years has made Christ. All I read was the synopsis and it look like the author hit it on the head. Christ stood for love thy neighbor. Man today interprets that as, Love only the neighbor who thinks and believes like we do. War have been fought in by so called born again Christian presidents who have no idea what Christ's message was and ministers burn holy books of other religions in the name of Christ and innocent people thousands of miles away are killed in the name of that other religion.

    I am sure the Christian of today would find this book threatening and not rate it very high. If you are a reader that can think for himself then give this book a try.

    16 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    Do not waste your time or money.

    I read this thing hoping for insight or at least fodder for thought. What a colossal waste of time! The messiah figure teachs: 1. The God couldn't care less about mankind 2. That God is not resposible for creation but rather thermodynamically improbable evolution is. 3. That the bible is false, and is, to quote, "stone age science fiction" and 4. That life is pretty much about having sex with eveyone around you, regardless of sex. All this candy coated with a thin "love your neighbor" veneer. It is devoid of Judeochristian principles and a waste.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    Fundamentalist Christians won't like this

    The theme of this book is wonderful: The teachings of Christ are not what is being followed today. Today, fear is what drives religious people, not love. Not "do unto others". Not love thy neighbor. What are people afraid of if it isn't people who don't think exactly like they do? A provocative book and well done.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    40 years out of date

    The style of the book, in which each 'chapter' is narrated by a different character who tells of his/her relationship and experiences with the protagonist, is about the only really interesting thing about the book. It relates the return of the messiah to earth. Unfortunately, his simple minded message is the old one from the sixties; only love matters, and the only way to be happy and fullfilled is to make physical love to as many people of either sex and in as many combinations as possible. The language is not graphic enough to be pornography. The book seems to be aimed at the younger generation who missed out on Woodstock and the 60's.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    So very interesting!

    I'm totally torn on how to review this book. Was it interesting? Oh yes, incredibly so. There were times I wanted to give it a 3 because, frankly, all the orgy stuff was just a little too extreme to me in the context of the book itself. I wanted to wait a few days before I reviewed it to think on it and it is my perception that Mr. Frey chose extreme as his theme throughout the book on purpose. To be the extreme opposite of the religious right. Mr. Frey hits on many huge points that are cracks in the armor of certain religious Christian hypocrisy when taken too far.the very reason people are fleeing the Christian church in record numbers today. The common theme is do as I say, not as I do. If we are judging people based on their choices and actions and saying it is in the name of the "Lord", then that is not the idea of Jesus that I have in my head. My idea of Jesus is a loving, patient, non-judgmental soul who will be with you no matter what - pretty much the "Ben" in this book (but minus the orgy stuff.lol).

    I'm fascinated by the contrast in reviews on this book. People either love it or hate it. Those that hate it seem to feel offended by it. I like controversial books because they make me think. Usually when people are offended it is because it strikes a chord close to home either in their beliefs or actions.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    I love this!

    If Christians hate this book it only means I love it! Keep it coming James!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Last testament

    Excellent book. Could have done without the f k word so much. Loved the story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I've read one other book by James Frey before. You know, the boo

    I've read one other book by James Frey before. You know, the book that caused all that controversy... A Million Little Pieces, yeah. That's the one. I really enjoyed his writing. Having read and enjoyed that book was one of the reasons I was interested in reading this book of his. The other reason was because I was interested in a book that pushed the boundaries and wanted to shake things up a bit.

    The book started out really well, but it lost its momentum over time. It began to feel repetitive and boring. The biggest example of this was the unrealistic amounts of sex that Ben Zion has with his followers. By no means am I offended at the thought of the Messiah having sex with anyone (or even a number of people), but it was more outlandish than realistic in the book. I feel like it would have been more powerful and meaningful to have him sleep with a few people he encountered rather than nearly everyone. Instead of conveying a message of love, I got the message that the Messiah had a very healthy libido.

    Overall, I enjoyed the book. While it wasn't the thought-provoking book I thought it was going to be, it was worth the read.

    3.5/5

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Good

    Blasphemous, but a good read. I like the way Frey writes.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    Fantastic!

    As always I'm a huge fan of James Frey and he didn't dissappoint in The Final Testament of The Holy Bible. Such a great read...I loved it! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    Christian Fundamentalist will not like this

    Back to basic, love eveyone, believe what you want to believe, believe what you can handle. If you don't fit the government or Christian Fundamentalist, you must be destroyed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    All or nothing comment

    Oh my lord!! You r such a judgemental hypocrite!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Worst book in print

    What an awful book I am returning it. Why didn't he stick with the type of books he has written before? I particularly like the first one which later turned out to be a lie.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    This is a complete waste of time and money. The sophomoric writ

    This is a complete waste of time and money. The sophomoric writing, the endless repetitions of the main character's sayings repeated endlessly by other characters, the vulgar let alone profane actions of the characters, especially the main character made this a difficult book to get through. I finished only because i wanted give it a fair review. The ending did not justify having to slog through paragraphs upon paragraphs of repeated ideas. I found myself skiming over passages and then realized I had not missed anything. Ot was as though the author had to have so many words to submit and thus felt repeating both words and actions endlessly would fool us into thinking he was being creative. If I was grading this as an essay in a school setting, I wold have given it a D and told the student to go back and write, not keep repeating. Save your money and time and purchase something by someone other than this sophomoric writer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Loved it

    I thought it was great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Loved

    This book is really good and gives a different light on everything we were taught to believe. Although i dont agree with everything in the book it was still very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Can't wait for his next book!

    I have enjoyed all of Frey's novels and this one didn't disappoint! He has a unique writing style that pulls you in and does a great job conveying the feelings of the characters. This book keeps you guessing what is going to happen until the end. I was sad when it was all over; I definitely wanted to keep reading more. Overall, another fantastic novel by Mr. Frey and I look forward to reading his next one!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Decent

    I purchased this book with very high expectations, simply because I have been a huge James Frey fan and have loved his work. However, the style of this book was not very appealing to me, which is why I was drawn to him in the first place. This book was worth the read, but wasn't as well as what I was expecting. I look forward to his upcoming books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Interesting...

    I have read all of Frey's work as I love his writing style. This book was a big departure from his previous work. It was a thought provoking and engaging story. Worth the read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6