Customer Reviews for

Final Theory

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Solid "Scientific" Mystery

For those who enjoy "science-based" who-done-its, this is a action packed first novel for Alpert. He obviously has a flair for mysteries and for constructing a plot with both likeable heros and murderous villans, with a dash of government conspiracy thrown in for good m...
For those who enjoy "science-based" who-done-its, this is a action packed first novel for Alpert. He obviously has a flair for mysteries and for constructing a plot with both likeable heros and murderous villans, with a dash of government conspiracy thrown in for good measure . . . all based around an historical look at Albert Einstein's research. The ending is fairly far-fetched. But let's remember that this is fiction and even Einstein's theories were beyond the realm of the usual reader's level of understanding. But Albert does not let this get in the way and gives us just enough of a physics lesson so we can follow along. As I said, a good who-done-it and a great first novel. I look forward to reading more of Mark Alpert and I'm sure we will see him again.

posted by 3242279 on December 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

REALLLLLLLY BAD!

Everyone in the miltary and fbi awre incompetent and dumb while the plucky phds are physical and moral gods. One of the worst books I have read.

posted by 6633203 on April 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    Solid "Scientific" Mystery

    For those who enjoy "science-based" who-done-its, this is a action packed first novel for Alpert. He obviously has a flair for mysteries and for constructing a plot with both likeable heros and murderous villans, with a dash of government conspiracy thrown in for good measure . . . all based around an historical look at Albert Einstein's research. The ending is fairly far-fetched. But let's remember that this is fiction and even Einstein's theories were beyond the realm of the usual reader's level of understanding. But Albert does not let this get in the way and gives us just enough of a physics lesson so we can follow along. As I said, a good who-done-it and a great first novel. I look forward to reading more of Mark Alpert and I'm sure we will see him again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Breath taking action that leads to the Final Theory

    Final Theory: Book Review

    Final Theory by Mark Alpert, a novel that contains everything from science to breathtaking action. David Swift, who was a physics professor and an author of a book that changed the perspective of Einstein's and the people who worked with him. Swift's life takes a turning point when his old college professor and the old assistant of Einstein becomes the second murder of a Soviet Soldier, in a chain of murders that are linked to Einstein and his final theory that was never publishedbecause Einstein feared it would be used for wrong. Einstein maintained his final theory a secret, giving his secret to only one of his assistants to pass on to someone he chose.

    ?David Swift is linked to the murders and is strongly motivated to find and communicate the theory to both sides of the search. Which are a corrupted FBI working for the US government and a group of terrorist lead by an unexpected leader. Swift will have to make the hardest decisions of his life to save the world and his family.

    ?I really enjoyed this book. It constantly took my breath. A book that you will want to keep reading. I loved the way the author describes the action and changes the pace of the story. David Swift is one of those characters of whom everyone can make a connection with as he is very well described and introduced. If you like action and drama TV series like 24 this is a book you will really enjoy. I can easily find a lot of connections between this two. Every time a problem seems to be solve another one arises. Terrorism is also one BIG topic that you can relate between these two.

    ?The story can get a little confusing when the author starts mentioning all the physics theory and all the scientific terms (one that is used pretty often in string theories). That is one of the only things I didn't like of this book. As I was reading I sometimes got lost orconfused with all this information because was brandnew to me. If you are planning to read this book Istrongly recommended that you do some research to learn a little about the theories of Einstein and the string theories that circle the globe. This will really help you get a hold of the book and you will not get as lost as I got when they mentioned all this scientific information. Still I learned a lot from this book, but it is always good to know a little bit before reading any book that refers to historic or scientific discoveries.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    My Dad LOVED This Book

    I got an early copy of this book for my Dad's birthday, (which is aggravatingly close to Father's Day - grrrr) and gave it to him last weekend. He's already finished. It's got science. It's got action, and now my Dad won't stop telling us about Einstein's theories. He doesn't read a lot of fiction, but this one he loved. GET IT FOR FATHER'S DAY

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1