Customer Reviews for

Finale (Hush, Hush Saga #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 444 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(352)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

OMFG OU CANT STOP READING THE BOOKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I LOVE THE BOOKS AND I HOPE THAT THEY STAY TOGETHER AND NEVER GIVE UP ON EACH OTHER!!! I ALSO HOPE THAT THE WILL BE HAVING SOME FIGHTS AND THEN MAKE OUT AGAIN AFTERWARD SO I HOPE THAT THE BAD GUYS ARENT THE SCOT OR THE WIRED PGYCOPATE EX OF PATCH . I THINK THAT THEY WIL...
I LOVE THE BOOKS AND I HOPE THAT THEY STAY TOGETHER AND NEVER GIVE UP ON EACH OTHER!!! I ALSO HOPE THAT THE WILL BE HAVING SOME FIGHTS AND THEN MAKE OUT AGAIN AFTERWARD SO I HOPE THAT THE BAD GUYS ARENT THE SCOT OR THE WIRED PGYCOPATE EX OF PATCH . I THINK THAT THEY WILL BE A HUGE TEAM AND FIGHT FOR WHAT IS RIGHT AND AND WHAT THE BELIVE IN! I ALSO THINK THAT THERE MIGHT BE A MOVIE AND THAT IF THEY DO I KNOW SOME PEOPLE THAT WHOULD BE GOOD FOR SCOTT AND PATCH AND HOPEFULLY THEY CAN LOOK SO SEXY SHIRT LESS!!!!!! I LOVE THEM SO MUCH MY FAVORITE IS PATCH BUT MY FAVORTIE REBLE IS" SCOTTIE THE HOTTIE"

posted by 2011601 on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

ANTICLAMATIC

That and my disapointment about sums up how i felt when the book ended. Love every last book except the finale.

posted by Anonymous on October 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    First and foremost, let me say this: if you're reading a book in

    First and foremost, let me say this: if you're reading a book in a series and it's been a long time since you read the previous book(s) and you don't remember a lot, I suggest at least scanning the prior book(s). That said, I did not do that, and it affected my view of the book just a teeny bit because 1) I forgot, like, everything, and 2) I was reminded, by Finale, of how I may have felt when reading Crescendo and Silence. I had to ask myself, did I love the other books in the series? I can't remember. And that's why I should've reread/scanned the other books. Really, I don't quite know how I feel about this book or how I felt right after reading it.

    As for Finale itself...I don't even know where to begin. I wouldn't say I didn't like the book. It was composed of several elements, but I guess nothing really wowed me. Maybe I was too hyped for the book and expected it to be amazing, but that didn't happen. I thought I'd cry and be left with all the FEELS, and I wasn't. And that sucked.

    Several things happened in the book--the drinks with devilcraft, Nora getting stabbed, Nora getting kidnapped, the happenings at the party--that needed more to the scene. I like things to happen, and I don't like them to be quick. When Nora was stabbed, I wanted to feel Patch's panic, but I didn't. Instead, the chapter ends with her blacking out and the next one starts with her being fine. That's it?! I just feel like a thousand things happened and that each thing took up one page when they could've taken up, like, five.

    My biggest problem with Finale was probably Patch and Nora, or the lack thereof. Part of what makes me love these books is the steamy hot romance between these two, and there was pretty much NONE in Finale. They were together on several occasions and I'd get nothing more than a peck and barely any butterflies. This is the last book in the series; I want a lot of this! And then there's the end. Oh, the end. Now, I don't need sex scenes or erotica or anything--I'm nineteen, I'm too young for that! But after waiting four books for Patch and Nora to do the deed, I needed and wanted something. Instead, I was just told that they were going to do it. That's it. Nothing more. There's been a buildup to that moment through all the books, and to not get anything was just disappointing. Also, Patch's letter. I thought it was going to be a love letter, not a letter saying he's in Hell, blah blah blah. That was kind of upsetting.

    Now, the book wasn't all bad. Nora got a lot more kickass in this book, and Patch a bit more understanding and gentle. Sort of. I really liked Scott, and there were several shockers in this book. I'm very happy that Patch finally has feelings and can actually feel. The ending solved all the problems (I think), so now there shouldn't be anymore worrying about who's going to kill who. I liked that Nora did something badish for once and deviated from her usual self. I know there's more good from this book, but I'm totally blanking.

    In the end, Finale just didn't do it for me, at least not the first time around. It had its ups and downs, yet ended up not giving me some of the things that I really wanted to see in the last book of this series. I was up until four in the morning reading it on a school night, and that says something. This series still has and always will have a place in my heart and on my shelves. And I will always be in love with Patch Cipriano.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    A quick read, but not without its problems.

    I have loved the Hush, Hush series. I think Fitzpatrick is a very talented and promising writer. But I think the first book was the best of the series.

    PROS: This book has the most intricate plot of the series. From the first couple chapters, I worried it was going to be too predictable. However, Fitzpatrick starts weaving a more and more intricate plot, with twists and turns right up to the final chapters. There were no slow, dragging passages. I got through it within 24 hours easily. In fact, I didn't want to put it down.

    CONS: The chemistry between Patch and Nora was more like that of an old, married couple for the first three-quarters of the book. In fact, Patch was rarely in the first half at all, except to make a few threats to this person or that. And he doesn't really have any "action" scenes fulfilling those threats. The couple starts sizzling towards the end, but I miss the swaggering Patch from the first two books of the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I fell in love with the first book and though it was so passiona

    I fell in love with the first book and though it was so passionate and daring and so well written with a good plot, but the further I got in to the story it read more like a true crime novel and the plot got more intricate. It sort of took away from the romance between patch and Nora. In the last book, Finale, I enjoyed, don't get me wrong, but I wanted to feel more for the characters getting together. without risking any spoilers, Marcie Millar's character was lacking a lot and Vee's secret revealed seemed like it was just thrown in there. Kinda odd. it was a good series and I like Fitzpatrick's writing style. She captures the funny and quirky side of teens and tells a good story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    It wasn't the worst nor the best

    I have to honestly say I finished the book feeling oddly underwhelmed. I felt like I lost a lot of the connection I had with certain characters in the previous books, and it seemed alittle rushed. Now don't get me wrong I am far from a "hater", but I do somtimes tend to be a harsh critic particularly because I was expecting so much out of the FINAL installment. The plot was sub-par and some plot twists seemed thought of last moment to save face. Overall I don't really think this was Becca Fitzpatrick's best work.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Ok

    I love the hush hush series but i will admit that finale was a bit disappointing. I expected much more but it was ok. I found it a bit slow at parts and wish the ending was longer. I just felt it just ended too soon. Ok book overall though

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    It was ok, I found myself wanting to smack Nora more times than

    It was ok, I found myself wanting to smack Nora more times than not. I found her very self absorbed, and I did not like the end. Why did she have to do that to Scott, and Vee. She left too many questions unanswered.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This review contains light spoilers for people who haven't read

    This review contains light spoilers for people who haven't read past CRESCENDO!

    The events of HUSH, HUSH have been set into motion decades ago, when an unfortunate man is being forced to swear fealty to a fallen angel. A war between fallen angels and Nephilim, the children of angels and humans, breaks out and enormous sacrifices are demanded of everyone involved.

    Meet Nora Grey, who is drawn into the conflict against her will and, to additionally complicate things, feels attracted to fallen angel Patch.
    Nora is a naturally kind girl. Patch is the total opposite of Nora. He is a real bad boy, playing games all the time. His character confused me and never appeared as likeable as Nora sees him or wants him to be.
    To be honest, Patch in his all-black uniform, never achieved to put a spell on me. Many fell for his bad-ass attitude and craved his tough, sometimes almost aggressive demeanor. He never became a well-rounded character to me that I could’ve said, I knew the true essence of.
    Although it says opposites attract, I simply didn’t see the necessity for Nora and Patch to be together. But I suggest you’d better decide for yourselves if Patch matches your version of an admirable book boyfriend.

    Besides the war and her relationship with Patch, Nora miraculously still has some time to spare to meet up with her best friend Vee. Or later into the story with Scott, who poses as alternative love interest in CRESCENDO. Good choice to let their attraction to each other recede, so that we didn't have to worry about a possible love triangle for long. Jealousy is still a dominant part of all books in the series with potential to easily displease readers. The secondary characters felt almost more important to me than the actual protagonists, they are diverting and especially Scott was one character I loved.

    The HUSH, HUSH books can’t be sold as your typical angel series. There is no heavenly mission to rid the world of evil. The angels we meet are definitely no heroes. They all felt shady and it appeared they weren’t 100 % honest with their allies. These dark and vengeful versions of angels are quite zestful indeed. Even Nora developed an unhealthy pattern of deceit in the last book that tended to annoy me.
    Overlooking the entire series’ course of action, I can’t seem to see a major progress from the first book to FINALE. HUSH, HUSH was a good start into the series, with so much happening in the first book and the appeal of a brand new story. CRESCENDO was the worst out of all of them, because Nora kept on constantly putting herself in dangerous situations and fought with Patch about the most enervating issues. A definite turn-off!

    Next up, SILENCE posed as the part of Nora’s story which I enjoyed most. Due to her abduction, Nora has lost her entire memories concerning her boyfriend Patch and everything about fallen angels and Nephilim. I liked to see Nora rebel against her blockade and act out at everyone who would try to hold her down. The third book marked the part of the series in which things finally got interesting.
    Fallen angels, arch angels and Nephilim have been hating each other for years. Their conflict has been simmering in the first three books, only waiting to fully break out towards the finale. But the ending we are waiting for, never actually results in an epic battle scene. Instead it comes short in detail and misses out on drawn-out one on one fights. The ending in general came too suddenly and didn’t serve all the information about the characters’ futures I was hoping for.

    THE VERDICT

    HUSH, HUSH series- No need to keep this novel quiet, tell all angel novel fans about it!

    Recently I've been feeling highly attracted to YA books with their ­focus on heavenly missons and angelic beings. The HUSH, HUSH series couldn’t score a place on my top list and I wouldn’t exactly recommend it as a first choice read to anyone who hasn't read an angel-related book before. Nevertheless Becca Fitzpatrick has shown her qualitative writing skills with varied sentence structures and easy-flowing dialogues. I am very looking forward to find out more about her next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    Recommend

    The finale is worth reading to see how the story ends. However, in my opinion I felt the past books had been much stronger in content. This is a bit drawn out but still worth reading if your a Becca Fizpatrick fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    This is a typical Young Adult novel. The first book was okay, th

    This is a typical Young Adult novel. The first book was okay, the second was weird and angst-ridden, the third was some strange mixture of the first two, and the fourth was "meh". If you are looking for something that's like Twilight, then this is the book for you. Personally, it didn't do much for me. A friend of mine recommended it, and it's been annoying from day 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Ugh

    Nora extremely annoys me I don't know how Patch or anyone else puts up with her. A lot of times I found myself more interested in Marcie or Dabria.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2