BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Find Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    This thriller was darn near impossible to put down. I usually re

    This thriller was darn near impossible to put down. I usually read paranormal so it was a change of pace and well worth it. You hear about writing tripping the reader up? Well, this book did that repeatedly b/c the writing was fresh, vivid... like enjoying a nice hike in the woods and frequently having to pause for an utterly unique butterfly to flutter by. I wanted to write in the book, take notes-this is how you capture the reader. 

    Sentences like:
    (in response to a girl wearing glitter) "I'm sure Jenna thinks it's fabulous. But I think she looks like she was molested by a fairy."

    Or...

    "I take a deep breath, but it feels like the air entering my lungs is wearing soccer cleats."

    I didn't note those so I could snap them out for a review. I just opened the book and jotted the first examples I found. Book is loaded with this kind of magic.

    Griff is tasty. Just sayin'. Bring more.

    Next time you hit the shelves looking for a gripping read, the title says it all: Find Me.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    Guntn gtu

    B bjut

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    How many pages?

    How many pages?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Haron

    You are pretty!

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    I'm a terrible, painfully slow, easily distracted reader, so it

    I'm a terrible, painfully slow, easily distracted reader, so it takes a really engaging, well-written, character- and plot-driven book to get me to not drop it after a couple of chapters and start watching television. Find Me not only pulled me in after a slightly slow start, once it got going, it made me wish I could read faster.

    Bernard's writing puts you into the driver's seat - or the seat in front of the computer screen - right away, and the more you read, the more you feel like you're absorbed into Wick's mind and body. Attitude, little descriptive phrases, sarcasm - you're there. Frankly, I didn't particularly like Wick at first, but by the end, I realized I'd gotten so caught up in everything, I'd grown to care about her a lot and I was on the edge of my seat. And I wasn't about to relax until the story was finished, because I didn't trust anyone - I was never sure what would happen next.

    I also realized, after I finished reading the book, what a masterful character-build Bernard did with her heroine. Wick had put up walls to keep everyone away from her, and I was one of those people - kinda curious but not enamored with her, could almost dispose of her like others had, but as Wick began to let herself attempt to connect with those around her, I began to connect with her and care.

    MKEstes (it wouldn't let me create a pen name)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Smart book and great voice

    I loved how Wick talked, thought and responded. To see where she came from in life and learn to trust even in the midst of the terror she is going through drew me in. Wick has to stop a predator while dealing with the return of her father, throwing off a nosey cop, adjusting to a new family, protecting her sister and falling for her computer lab partner. I hoped the ending would be more After School Special than Joss Whedon. You'll have to read the book to see if it was, but regardless, you'll be happy to have read this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    At any one time, I have about five or six books that I'm reading

    At any one time, I have about five or six books that I'm reading, stored in judicious spots in the house as well as in my car and my wife's car. I read them all in time. Sometimes, though, there are books, like Romily Bernard's Find Me, that I have to take with me wherever I go.

    A bit of disclosure. Though I purchased the book, I am acquainted with the author. I don't read much YA, but I enjoy suspense and found the premise (below) fascinating.

    Wicket Tate has a screwed-up life. Bouncing around foster homes with her kid sister, owing to her mother's suicide and her dad's felon status, Wicket stays sane by hacking computers for women seeking information on their husbands and boyfriends. The work is illegal, but she justifies it, saying that the money she makes will be there to take care of her and her sister. This is a heroine whose life can't get worse. Until the diary of a dead girl shows up on her porch and Wicket realizes a psychopath is after her sister.

    Like I said, I found the premise fascinating. I cracked the book on a Friday evening, sneaking in a couple of chapters prior to my younger son's baseball game. The author's blunt, emotional writing style, and the quick pace from the short chapters, drew me in. Through the weekend, I devoured more pages between more athletic contests and band events on Saturday. By Sunday afternoon, I was anticipating the end so much that I muttered under my breath when my wife pointed out that the nice weather made it a good time to trim hedges and mow the lawn. (Married readers of this review will understand why I put the book down.) With yard work done, I plopped on the couch, determined to finish without interruption.

    The ending didn't disappoint. Neither did the book. It was a fantastic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    When Wick Tate, a computer hacker teen, anonymously receives a d

    When Wick Tate, a computer hacker teen, anonymously receives a diary from a dead classmate, she reluctantly begins a quest to find out who killed the girl. Her investigation gets frightening when the killer's interest turns her way. It's a race against time to find Tessa Waye's killer and it's not helped by pressure from a not-so-friendly cop and an interfering boy who Wick likes too much to put in harms way.

    This book shoots off and takes the reader on a fast-paced ride. Every time I thought I had things figured out, thing changed, leaving me unable to bookmark and go to sleep. The twists were exciting and the romance was great. Wick is a smart, spunky heroine, who's not always easy to love, but definitely one to root for. I am eagerly awaiting the next installment in this trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    I knew I was going to like this book. I've heard (and read) enou

    I knew I was going to like this book. I've heard (and read) enough of Bernard's writing to know that she is a fabulous writer. Indeed, all you have to do is pick up the book, turn to any page, read any line, and you'll know what I'm talking about. The pace is lightning and the suspense is killer. In some ways, FIND ME was exactly as I suspected. 




    And yet, Bernard still managed to surprise me. Actually, she blew me out of the water. Because I didn't expect to fall in love with these characters -- much less to fall so hard. Wick is as tough as they come, and yet, she is so utterly, humanly vulnerable. Griff is unexpected and different -- and still positively dreamy. Theirs is one of the sweetest and most believable romances I've read in years.




    I don't often see this combination of writing and pace and characters. But it's here in FIND ME, and all I can say is: wow. Just wow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    I have been waiting so long to get my hands on Find Me!! It is s

    I have been waiting so long to get my hands on Find Me!! It is so suspenseful, I cannot put it down! When does book number 2 come out??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    So, I don't do this very often, because I never want to give awa

    So, I don't do this very often, because I never want to give away the whole plot in my reviews, but I don't think any of my status updates are spoilery, so I'm going to share them all from while I was reading!  I think they do a pretty fantastic job of showing the FEELS this book gave me!

    09/13 page 68 22.0% "Ok, Detective Carson? He's giving me a case of the BLEEPS! Cops ARE supposed to be the good guys, so why is he being such a jerk face!"
    09/13 page 92 29.0% "NO! I think I just had a heart attack! Whoever this sick and twisted guy is, he CAN'T want her next!"
    09/13 page 102 33.0% "I have a sneaking suspicion that I might know who this creeper is...and if I'm right, well, let's just say I might throw up..."
    09/14 page 154 50.0% "Although I'm glad to see my top suspect on Wick's list, it also makes me feel like the real creeper is someone else that I don't expect..."
    09/14 page 154 50.0% ""too much CRIMINAL MINDS?" No. Such. Thing. :)"
    09/14 page 207 67.0% "Boy, when Romily Bernard sets out to write a swoon-worthy scene, she goes all out! :)"
    09/14 page 230 74.0% "I'm starting to think maybe I was right about who the creeper is..."
    09/14 page 241 78.0% "I KNEW IT! I knew that's what those 2 were up to!"
    09/14 page 272 88.0% "I KNEW IT! I WAS RIGHT!!! Makes me want to hurl, but I love it when I have awesome 'detective' skills!"

    I read this book in two sittings...I started it late night on the 13th, and I woke up and finished it right away the next morning!  I enjoyed it VERY much!  It's pretty fast paced, and definitely kept me on the edge of my seat.  I think everyone will fall in love with most of the characters when reading this.  Well, except for Wick's dad, her dad's "best friend," and THE CREEPER!  Also, there HAS to be a sequel to this, because I said so, and I will be first in line to buy it when it comes out! :-D

    If I had one complaint (and really, I'm not complaining at all!) it would be that I want to see MORE of the actual hacking that Wick does in the next book!  I love that she's still a teenager, and yet she can hack into just about anything!

    As I wrote on Goodreads when I finished this, unless you think all dark and twisty like I do, Romily Bernard will most certainly keep you guessing until the very end!  (And even though I was right, she still had me wondering the whole time!)  So, GO READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Find Me is a fast paced YA suspense novel that keeps you turning

    Find Me is a fast paced YA suspense novel that keeps you turning the pages. Wick Tate is a strong female lead with quick witted attitude that reminds me of Lisbeth Salander crossed with Veronica Mars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    What a great start for Romily!!! Once you start reading this bo

    What a great start for Romily!!! Once you start reading this book, you're not able to put it down. Once you finish it, you can't wait for the next book . She really knows how to draw her audience in and leaves them wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1