Customer Reviews for

Find You in the Dark (Find You in the Dark Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Good

    Very well weitten, a bit long at times, but enjoyed- thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    First, I would like to commend the author for shedding light on

    First, I would like to commend the author for shedding light on something that is not talked about enough in our society-mental illness. Mental illness awareness is not discussed enough in the real world. There is a stigma attached to it. This novel brought light to mental illness in that it demonstrated that there is light in darkness.

    The series revolved around seventeen year old Maggie Young and Clayton (Clay) Reed. One day at school, Maggie collides (literally) into the life of Clay. From their first encounter, Maggie was intrigued by Clay, the new kid at school. He was quiet and seemed to want to be invisible to everyone else. Maggie makes it a point to get to know Clay. Little did she know that she had pulled Clay out of the darkness he has been facing for much of his life. 

    “You ran into my life, this beautiful amazing girl who changed everything.”

    This book had a heavy subject matter, but I believe the author did a great job on how two teenagers would deal with it. Maggie was your average teenager, but bored with monotony. She wanted more. She wanted a change. And that came in the form of falling in love with Clay Reed. She knew deep down inside something was wrong. Clay opened up with Maggie regarding the mental illness he has been battling for years. The problem that their loved face was that they thought,if they pretended to be normal, everything would be ok and that all the needed was love…

    “And if he went into the dark again, this time I would be there to find him- to follow him. Because I thought, perhaps quite immaturely, that my love could help him, Maybe our love could do even more than just help-maybe it could heal him. Fix him. Fix everything.”

    This ends with a cliffhanger in the sense that something happens where they have to be apart. Maggie fights to save Clay, but they soon find out that Clay needs more help than she is able to give. I fell completely for Maggie and Clay. Although they are teenagers, they dealt with adult subject matters. There are a couple of steamy parts, but for the most part it is really sweet. 

    Love is a scary thing. When you have never experienced it from your parents, how do you know to give love? This is a huge challenge I think Clay faced. He was not used to feeling love from his parents. Clay’s mom and dad are socialites in Miami that are involved in politics. They blame him for his “problems

    “When you’re in a room Maggie, all I see is you. You make everything better. Clearer. You stop the crazy noise in my head. I can think, hell I can breathe when we’re together. What you make me feel is the most unbelievable and scary thing I’ve ever felt”

    Overall, I truly loved this story! I don’t think I have ever read anything like this. The love Clay and Maggie share is powerful and consuming. This book will make you laugh out loud and cry. The author did a great job at allowing you to truly feel the emotions of the characters. At the end, I asked is love enough? Can love survive this? You’ll have to read the next one to find out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Annoying

    It was okay but Maggies character annoyed me so much. I wanted to choke her half the time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Everything but

    The millions of exclamation points, def annoying in the midst of an amazing story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Merideth Walters is brilliant!  I can not believe how much I got

    Merideth Walters is brilliant!  I can not believe how much I got sucked into this book.  
     It is so heart wrenching to experience Clay's emotional roller coaster and  the love of Maggie.
     I laughed cried and was ever so thankful to be able to go right into the second book!
     So well written to be able to really bring the reader into the story!!  
    Even though like so many have commented on this is about having a mental health concern, but
    I felt that there was so much more that this was about.  Parental issues that were by far a huge impact for
     both Clay and Maggie.
      A must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Awesome story

    It had every emotion humanly possible and so worth the read!!! the second one is just as good and continues with Maggie & Clay's struggle with his bi-polar issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Beautiful and very raw!

    I can say that I was personally touched by this two book series. My husband suffers from Bipolar disorser,and reading Maggie and Clay's story was a little like reading my own. Although he didn't get diagnosed until after we were married, the early years of our relationship were full of much struggle. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND that if you or someone you love suffers from mental illness, you need to read these books! It's a very accurate depiction of what the suffer goes through daily and how deeply it effects their loved ones. While it's a very emotional read, it does give hope that it's possible to have a happy and healthy relationship despite the obstacle of mental illness. Cheers to this author for writing about such a delicate topic and not making mental illness something to be ashamed of. Awesome read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    Before I say anything else, I want to say that the idea and the

    Before I say anything else, I want to say that the idea and the story itself is good. I just finished both books in the series and it was a bit of a roller coaster ride. That being said, the grammar and writing was quite terrible. Words were misspelled all over the place, and they're, their and there were used interchangeably. As an avid reader, lover of books, and English major wanting to go into the publishing field, I cannot enjoy a book that has grammar errors in every chapter.  The author also tried way too hard to be funny, and some of the comments took away from the seriousness of the situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Heartbreaking

    The ending ripped at my heart. Although Maggie's reactions irritated me to no end, i realize that it was a very realistic portrayal of an all consuming love. Im about to start the sequel but i just had to put my thoughts down about this book. I loved Bad Rep by this author and I'm extremely pleased to see that she isn't a one hit wonder. It takes true talent to capture such strong emotion and put them into words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    AMAZING

    I can't fathom how amazing this book is. This book gives you a little bit of everything. Romance, suspense, drama! Couldnt stop reading, I was engrossed. RECOMENDED

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Very

    Different, it surprises in the way it depicts mental illness but i hate how Maggie is portrayed. There were times i was so disgusted with it i wanted to stop reading. But was glad i did in the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Very emotional read!

    Can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    LOVED!!!!!!!!

    Awesome, great series. Heck, I really couldn't put this one down, so many ups and downs.. I had to find out what was going to happen next. Very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    a little to crazy

    this book was a little to crazy ..all over the place..the characters were not that well drawn up..i just couldnt get drawn in..and feel like i was a part..i know i wanted to scream..and think really? really really?
    it was sad. but i do not think i will be reading the next book..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2013

    This book brought tears to my eyes. Clayton's character was rela

    This book brought tears to my eyes. Clayton's character was relatable and Maggie's strength was wow! All of his outbursts were heartbreaking but so real. I love how Maggie stood by his side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book will take you out of your comfort zone and take you th

    This book will take you out of your comfort zone and take you through so many emotions that you will never forget Maggie and Clay's story...the struggles, the highs, the lows...it is heartbreaking and heartwarming at the same time. Takes you inside mental illness from both sides...you will learn many lessons from the characters ... it is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    wow

    I kind of love this book but I¿m afraid it¿s so dark...I had to take a break

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Great

    Didnt think I would like but I loved it. Great topic so true andmany ppl suffer from it and arent understood.love it. Reccomend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Loved it

    Couldn't put it down till the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Absolutely wonderful!

    The topic is very relavent and insightful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6