BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Find You in the Dark (Find You in the Dark Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    'Find You in the Dark' is a new adult/young adult contemporary n

    'Find You in the Dark' is a new adult/young adult contemporary novel that revolves around Maggie Young, who has had a normal life for as long as she can remember. That is, until she meets Clayton Reed - a mysterious and tortured guy who thought he never had a shot of being happy. Until he met her. They both thought that their love could overcome any obstacles life put in their way. But sometimes the darkness can overshadow the brightest things and the only way to find happiness is to dig deep within yourself.

    I normally don't read contemporary romance novels, but I'm glad I gave this one a chance. It deals with some very serious and heavy issues - namely mental illness - and it's not a story that everyone will enjoy reading or be able to relate to. I was easily drawn into the story and understood what Maggie and Clay were going through because I deal with mental illness myself. I don't want to ruin the story for those who haven't read it, so just suffice it to say that it has a lot of hard issues, serious topics, and it is absolutely heartbreaking to read. I cried - a lot. I normally don't react physically to books like that, so when I do I know that it's had a deep effect on me.

    The story is very well-written and has a believable yet heartbreaking storyline. The characters are easy to identify with and I immediately felt like I knew them all on a personal level - which only made me root for them and empathize with them all the more. Maggie and Clay's story reads like a classic tale of true love overcoming all obstacles if given the chance. This novel was beautifully written and told in a way that really brought me into the story. The romance level was a great fit for a New Adult book. Overall, this is a great contemporary romance that fans of the genre will love.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Emotional Read

    This was one of the most heart wrenching stories that I have read so far. And I hope that in the sequel that Clay and Maggie get their Happing Ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Amazing story....very well written

    Amazing story....very well written

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    amazing read

    this book hit home, I love how its not just some silly love story, its that and more, the way the author got into the mental health issues blew me away! I'd recommend this book to anyone and everyone?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Wow!!

    This book is VERY well written. I truly felt my heart break for Clay and Maggie. I would try to take a break at times but felt myself pulled back and couldnt stop until I finished the book!
    If there is a 2nd book I will most definately read it! If you know anyone with mental illness I strongly recommend this book! It really hit home with me and helped me to understand what they go through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    a must read

    what a great story.. i will never forget maggie and clay.. i cried for them and was happy for them... 2 people with a love so strong that they would do anything for eachother. of course you have to read shadows in the dark to be completed satisfied.. this was def one of the best books of the year.. it got me to understand the problems that people suffer with and it broke my heart.. so happy for clay to be the strong person that he was and for maggie to be right there waiting for him... applause for a. meredith walters..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Powerful..

    I am blown away... i loved this book. The story is incredible and throws you into every emotion possible. I thought it was going to be the typical "boy meets girl" but i couldnt have been more wrong. Amazing story A.Meridith Walters your not just a writer your a genius....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    This is a story of an all consuming first love.  Maggie loves Cl

    This is a story of an all consuming first love.  Maggie loves Clay.  Clay is sick.  Maggie is ready to abandon everything for Clay.  She would go where ever he lead her.




    "But I knew this love was an intense, hungry thing.  I worried for a moment, as I fell asleep, that his love would eat me alive."




    "Sometimes, love can't make everything better, and the best thing for everyone is to walk away.  No matter how much it may hurt." 




    So sometimes you read something and it touches home in so many places.  You may not be sure if you want to go on because the images the book is sparking for you is all to familiar.  For me this book is that.  My very first high school love was similar in so many ways to Maggie's.  Reading this captured so many of those moments.  Moments where myself as a young naive girl  found myself accepting my jealous loves I'm sorry one to many times.  Walters captures these moments with the honesty and vulnerability that they deserve.




    Sometimes in this book universe we joke that reading is our therapy.  I think in a lot of ways that this book is very much one of those books.




    For me I decided that I would love me more than I loved my crazy first love.  In the book Clay gets his much needed help but not after so much damage has been done.




    I love that this book also sheds a huge light on Bipolar disorder and mental health.  I have always believed that there is an awful stigma to mental health as a disease and if this book helps someone who loves someone with mental health or someone who has issues than kudos to you Meredith Walters.




    This is one of those reads that I will think about for a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Go buy this book!

    This is my first review i have ever felt compelled to write. I loved this book! The characters were very relaable...i could see so many people I know in all of them! I couldnt recommend this any more! Cant wait for the next book to come out...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    amazing,must read.

    amazing,must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Great book

    Emotion emotion emotion there's lots of it it was like a roller coaster one min everything is going up the next it come crashing down in a pile of emotions. With that said i cant wait to see what happens next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Excellent! Don't be scared by the topic folks. This is a beautif

    Excellent! Don't be scared by the topic folks. This is a beautiful story about love that transcends high school amd teenage angst. Can't wait for the sequel! Oh, it has some pretty steamy scenes too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Wow

    Oh man this was a great book! Don't keep us waiting ---- when does the sequel come out?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Amazing book!

    Wow, as I finish this book that’s the only word I can think of. This was such an emotional story to read, the highs and lows were perfectly done, and this book weighed heavily on my mind. This story will bring you to places you never expected, it will make you see things so differently. Clay suffers from mental illness, and his struggles and desperation are so well written that you feel you know him, and you want to help and protect him. Maggie falls so in love with Clay that she can’t see what really going on around her. Clay wants to be the boyfriend Maggie wants him to be, but more than that; he wants so badly to be the man she needs him to be. I was always rooting for Clay, for him to find the way to where and what he needed. This isn’t your HEA book, it’s filled with angst, emotions, and love that is so desperate – if you’re only going to read one book, pick this one. I’m so glad I found this author, A. Meredith Walters writes an amazing story and I can’t wait for the sequel, I have to know what comes next, I have to know if...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Awesome read!!!!!

    Wow! This book was great! The only time I put it down,was because I was crying so hard I couldn't see. This is a must read. I can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2014

    'Find you in the Dark' - Brought me from exciting butterflies to

    'Find you in the Dark' - Brought me from exciting butterflies to tears. This was a great read keeps you hoping for a happy ending, but also keeps you personally questioning... what would you do?

    I was with someone with a mental illness when the first time I read this book, so I was able to personally relate to it for other reasons. Honestly it helped in understand in many ways, but also why I think I was so moved by it. Highly Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    This book is fantastic and what a great lesson in tolerance, pat

    This book is fantastic and what a great lesson in tolerance, patience, and the need to reach out for help from others.
    What can I say about this book, wow, it is an emotional roller coaster, such highs and lows, one minute I am laughing and the next I
    am crying my eyes out. I love, love, love Clay he is so troubled yet so loving, my heart breaks for him, the struggle he goes through
     everyday, the deep hurt caused from his parents, they are such horrible people. I could see the writing on the wall of what was going
     to happen but no matter what I could not prepare myself for the devastation I felt, if there was not another book I would be furious
     that I read this. I am so glad I waited until all of the books in the series was written because to have to wait to see what happens
     next would have killed me. I love Maggie, she is funny, sarcastic, loyal to a fault, and so loving. She loves Clay so much and my heart
    broke for her everytime she had to deal with "issues" that came up and how this book ended had me doing such an ugly cry, thank
     goodness my husband wasn't home he would have thought I lost it. The letter at the end of this book was beautiful, truthful, and
     heart-wrenching. The author did such a wonderful job depicting how one acts when dealing with "issues", how others around this
     person may react, and how desperate a person can become to escape it all. I work everyday with young people dealing with "issues"
    and this was a great representation of how some people can act, how some people can be so desperate, wanting to feel "normal"
    how no matter how hard they fight they can't do it alone. I love how Maggie continued to love Clay, support Clay, and yes of course
    she thought her love could cure all doesn't every teenager think love is this overpowering force that can change the world lol, but she
     saw in the end that no matter what he still needed help from others. What a great example for our young people to teach tolerance,
    understanding, to learn what not to do, and to learn to turn to someone else if a loved one needs help, fantastic writing and what a
    great story. I am now going to read on and see what happens to this wonderful couple with my fingers crossed for a great HEA. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Extrordinary and well written

    From beginning to end, you will not want to put this book down. This is an amazing story of love and pain that is caused by mental illness. You almost feel what they feel and you to want to find them in the dark and make things better. Now one of my favorite books...a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    First, I would like to commend the author for shedding light on

    First, I would like to commend the author for shedding light on something that is not talked about enough in our society-mental illness. Mental illness awareness is not discussed enough in the real world. There is a stigma attached to it. This novel brought light to mental illness in that it demonstrated that there is light in darkness.

    The series revolved around seventeen year old Maggie Young and Clayton (Clay) Reed. One day at school, Maggie collides (literally) into the life of Clay. From their first encounter, Maggie was intrigued by Clay, the new kid at school. He was quiet and seemed to want to be invisible to everyone else. Maggie makes it a point to get to know Clay. Little did she know that she had pulled Clay out of the darkness he has been facing for much of his life. 

    “You ran into my life, this beautiful amazing girl who changed everything.”

    This book had a heavy subject matter, but I believe the author did a great job on how two teenagers would deal with it. Maggie was your average teenager, but bored with monotony. She wanted more. She wanted a change. And that came in the form of falling in love with Clay Reed. She knew deep down inside something was wrong. Clay opened up with Maggie regarding the mental illness he has been battling for years. The problem that their loved face was that they thought,if they pretended to be normal, everything would be ok and that all the needed was love…

    “And if he went into the dark again, this time I would be there to find him- to follow him. Because I thought, perhaps quite immaturely, that my love could help him, Maybe our love could do even more than just help-maybe it could heal him. Fix him. Fix everything.”

    This ends with a cliffhanger in the sense that something happens where they have to be apart. Maggie fights to save Clay, but they soon find out that Clay needs more help than she is able to give. I fell completely for Maggie and Clay. Although they are teenagers, they dealt with adult subject matters. There are a couple of steamy parts, but for the most part it is really sweet. 

    Love is a scary thing. When you have never experienced it from your parents, how do you know to give love? This is a huge challenge I think Clay faced. He was not used to feeling love from his parents. Clay’s mom and dad are socialites in Miami that are involved in politics. They blame him for his “problems

    “When you’re in a room Maggie, all I see is you. You make everything better. Clearer. You stop the crazy noise in my head. I can think, hell I can breathe when we’re together. What you make me feel is the most unbelievable and scary thing I’ve ever felt”

    Overall, I truly loved this story! I don’t think I have ever read anything like this. The love Clay and Maggie share is powerful and consuming. This book will make you laugh out loud and cry. The author did a great job at allowing you to truly feel the emotions of the characters. At the end, I asked is love enough? Can love survive this? You’ll have to read the next one to find out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Merideth Walters is brilliant!  I can not believe how much I got

    Merideth Walters is brilliant!  I can not believe how much I got sucked into this book.  
     It is so heart wrenching to experience Clay's emotional roller coaster and  the love of Maggie.
     I laughed cried and was ever so thankful to be able to go right into the second book!
     So well written to be able to really bring the reader into the story!!  
    Even though like so many have commented on this is about having a mental health concern, but
    I felt that there was so much more that this was about.  Parental issues that were by far a huge impact for
     both Clay and Maggie.
      A must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4