Customer Reviews for

Find a Husband after 35: Using What I Learned at Harvard Business School

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    Smart

    I think this book is very smart. It made me think about dating in a whole new way, and at age 58 being back in the dating market for 8 years, that's really saying something! The ideas are really creative -- I can't wait to try them out, especially Step #9.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    I'll try it

    I love this book! I read it in one day and I am ready to begin. The Program puts the process in the hands of women, giving them the tools to tailor an approach that fits their personal style and is very effective. It doesn't ask single women to change who they are as individuals, it just asks them to change the means through which they communicate that style. I love it! I am buying it for 2 single friends over 40 --

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Interesting Concept - But more over the top than necessary

    I was pretty optimistic about reading the book, but found it hard to relate to in some aspects. Calling EVERY friend in in your rolodex and letting them know you are looking CAN come off as just weird, no matter how you preface it. You can have all the confidence in the world but doing this is just unacceptable if you want to maintain some form of class. I do agree that you need to work on yourself: You self confidence, self esteem and become the best you that you can be inside and out. It was harder to read than I thought because the suggestions such as these were so outlandish; I think you end up being more vulnerable than necessary and that's not good for any single woman.
    With this book, you need to be able to "eat the meat and spit out the bones". You shouldn't have to feel like because you won't do Any and Everything to find a husband that you are not still committed to doing so.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    Old fashioned view of the world.

    The writer has not actually had to look for a husband for herself but she is full of good advice like telling you to sit back and wait for him to call. The type of man who would respond to the strictures she suggests is not someone I would want so I did not find the book very useful.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2004

    A dating coach says USE THIS BOOK!

    This is a book that I¿ve been recommending ever since it was published in the fall of 2003. That¿s because it shares not only a perspective, but also a direction, that I¿ve encouraged marriage-oriented singles to take in their search for a life-partner relationship. The secret of this book is to not be misled by the title! This book is not just for single women over the age of 35. I see ¿the Program¿ as being useful to any single, regardless of age or gender, who is willing to make finding a life partner their #1 priority. Greenwald takes a business approach to achieving the desired result ¿ she creates an ¿action plan.¿ This is also a common principle in motivational psychology. The 15 steps of The Program utilize well-known business principles of marketing and advertising. Singles may ask, ¿But doesn¿t that take the magic out of just meeting someone and seeing if it works out?¿ The answer is ¿No,¿ because singles have to be in the right place both mentally and physically in order to recognize suitable candidates to determine if the ¿magic¿ could happen. So what you do, and don¿t do, has to be crafted and deliberate, and always with achieving your ultimate goal in mind. While Greenwald directs her readers to work The Program with ¿a mentor,¿ it is actually an excellent guidebook for working with an experienced relationship coach. This is best exemplified in Step #5 where Greenwald presents the necessity of creating a ¿personal brand¿ to communicate what makes you different from everyone else. Creating an effective personal brand requires a lot of thoughtful reflection and feedback from others to make sure that it accurately and succinctly represents YOU. This is where it¿s essential to work with a mentor or a coach to help you articulate your self-knowledge and your life¿s direction. Other sections of the book are also extremely valuable. I liked how Greenwald cogently and calmly encourages readers to ¿cast a wider net.¿ This if frequently one of the most frustrating experiences that I¿ve had as a coach ¿ getting singles to think ¿outside of the box¿ about who they want as partners. And as singles get older, they stay entrenched in their little boxes, which inevitably limits the number of potential candidates to date. Aaaarrrgghh! But Greenwald gently presents a strategy to help singles s-t-r-e-t-c-h their criteria for what they¿re looking for, all for the purpose of getting a larger number of prospects. I found that following the steps in this chapter to be preferable to putting my clients on a stretching rack! Overall, Greenwald conveys, in a sensitive and straight-forward manner, a goal-oriented action plan for truly marriage-oriented singles. It¿s not for the faint of heart. And it¿s especially not for those women who are still wishing that a fairy godmother wave a magic wand and grant them a husband. That¿s because Prince Charming has already been taken.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2003

    Ideas on paper

    Finally, someone has taken the time to write down my thoughts on how to find someone wonderful after 35!! I have done some of the steps already but didn't always put them all together. Thanks to Rachel as she has put them down and arranged them in a manner that makes sense. I came to the realization this year that dating is different now that I'm 35 compared to how and who I dated when I was in my 20's. I will recommed this book to all the ladies that I meet at Speed Dating Events that are still trying to find the Prince Charming that fits the glass shoe...I mean their type -- ladies get rid of your 'type list' and concentrate on finding someone wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2003

    What have I got to lose?

    It's about time someone wrote a logical dating book. It all makes so much sense. I think I can handle almost all the steps of Ms. Greenwald's program and my mentor is ready for me to get started.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2003

    Feminist Raves over 'The Program'

    I was certain that I would find a book about how to market yourself like a product in order to find a partner appalling, however I was pleasantly surprised by ¿How to Find a Husband After 35¿. This book is clever and practical, but what I like most is that ¿the program¿ is all about women taking action to get what they want. There is no reason why a feminist like myself shouldn¿t take Greenwald¿s good advise and use the same focus and drive to find a mate as I did to find my job and break the glass ceiling. I am recommending this book to all of my empowered girlfriends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2003

    Pathetic

    Have we become THIS pathetic? I feel sorry for obviously intelligent women who would prefer to put on an act and find a husband than stay true to themselves.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1