Customer Reviews for

Find a Stranger, Say Goodbye

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This is a great book!!

I really like this book. it keeps you guessing until the end and you will definitely be shocked at the end!!!

posted by Anonymous on March 13, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lois Lowry did all right with this book

I read Find A Stranger Say Goodbye by Lois Lowry. This book was about a girl that was adopted when she was an infant. Then when she graduated from high school, she went to look for her birth parents. I liked this book in the beginning, but I didn't like the ending....
I read Find A Stranger Say Goodbye by Lois Lowry. This book was about a girl that was adopted when she was an infant. Then when she graduated from high school, she went to look for her birth parents. I liked this book in the beginning, but I didn't like the ending. If you like mystery then I recommend you read this book. I gave this book three stars, and the reason is because Lowry could have ended the story better than what she did.

posted by Anonymous on April 2, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    love this book

    this book was so good i would recommand it for anybody especially if adopted i think you would enjoy it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2000

    This is a great book!!

    I really like this book. it keeps you guessing until the end and you will definitely be shocked at the end!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    Find a Stranger, Say Goodbye

    This novel is about a young girl named Natalie Armstrong who discovers that she is a little different than everyone else in her family. She discovers that she was adopted at birth and has no information about her real biological parents. Throughout the book it takes you on an adventure to find information about her biological parents and contact them. This book overall was a very good book. It starts off slow but quickly picks up. When I first picked up the book I was a little skeptical but a few chapters into the book I was hooked. It gets really exciting when she finds out that her life isn¿t as complete as she thought it was for seventeen years. I couldn¿t wait to find out what was going to happen. I liked this book because it keeps you on edge about what will happen. She runs into many problems on her journey to finding her biological parents and it keeps you guessing what will happen next. The ending is great and you will be happy with the book overall.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    !!!!!

    Super awesome book that hasnt been reviewed since 2005. When i first saw that i thought, it was too old to read but i gave it a chance and you know what? Im glad i did. I would recamend this book to anyone who.....well, anyone. I loved it and you will too!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2004

    a review

    this is a real good book. I am adopted, and this is how I wish it could turn out. Although, i know this probably never happens in real life, it's a nice dream. I can't say it doesn't happen the way it did for Nat, but it's not the most common. I am glad how it ended, because, quiet frankly, that was a perfect ending to another great book by Lois Lowry. It also teaches a lesson, Be glad for what you have, and if you must look for something more, don't get your hopes up.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2000

    A wonderful story

    This is an amazing book that totally encaptures the reader. The plot is formulated nicely with descriptive character and their problems. An enjoyable book to read in one sitting.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2000

    Excellent Book

    This book was excellent. It kept my attention because some people can relate to it. You can read about her real life struggles, and you can stop and be thankful that you know who your parents are.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    Find a Stranger, Say Goodbye

    This book starts off slow but picks up quickly. When I first picked it up i was a little skeptical about it but I ended up really getting into this novel. If you are a book lover and love to read i recommend this book. If you are not then i would not recommend this book because you may get bored and you have to follow along with the many characters in the novel. In the novel a young girl named Natalie Armstrong finds out that she is a little different then her sister. She finds out that she was adopted and has no information about her real parents. Throughout the book it is an adventure to find her mother and meet her for the first time. It keeps you on edge because she runs into many problems and keeps you guessing. The ending is great!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    Excellent Book

    I was person who didn't read much but when I picked this book I didn't want to put it down. I took it everywhere I went. Every day instead of watching tv on summer vacation I would go into my room and try to read at least 29 pages a day. It was so good I finished it in only 7 days. That is a record for me. Now I Love to read Thanks to My English Teacher Ms.Campbell!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2003

    Pretty Good!!

    This book had all the major elements needed in a good book. It had mystery, intrigue, real-life situations, romance, and a great ending. This book kept you on the edge of your seat. You were with Natalie in her search for her mother. I'm glad that this book, unlike many others, had a great ending that didn't leave you hanging! The plot wasn't totally out there either. It was believeble. It made you ask yourself. What would you do? All in all it was a great book to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2001

    Great Pre-Teen Book

    I thought this was a good book. Not too long, but not too short. Her point was clear and easy to follow. Overall good story. I'd give it a two thumbs up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2001

    Lois Lowry did all right with this book

    I read Find A Stranger Say Goodbye by Lois Lowry. This book was about a girl that was adopted when she was an infant. Then when she graduated from high school, she went to look for her birth parents. I liked this book in the beginning, but I didn't like the ending. If you like mystery then I recommend you read this book. I gave this book three stars, and the reason is because Lowry could have ended the story better than what she did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Teen angst written for preteens young adults only if

    You consider the confirmation age 12 not 19

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2000

    This is my favorite book ever and it is a great story.

    Natalie is also my favorite name. This is the best story and Tallie is truly a cute character. This is just so good. BUY IT NOW!!! if you want:)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1