Customer Reviews for

Finding Cinderella: A Novella

Average Rating 4.5
( 247 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(183)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I found a wonderful and enchanting story with this book. it

I found a wonderful and enchanting story with this book. it is only 92 pages on my tablet and I was surprised at how it drew me in. I would recommend this book to anyone who want a great short read.I hope the author gives me more of her books

posted by nanapie on November 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

No point

This book was inapropet and stupid. I felt gulity after readin 20 pgs. Dont waist your time

posted by Anonymous on February 6, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 247 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    I found a wonderful and enchanting story with this book. it

    I found a wonderful and enchanting story with this book. it is only 92 pages on my tablet
    and I was surprised at how

    it drew me in.
    I would recommend this book to anyone who want a great short read.I hope the author gives me more of her books

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Colleen Hoover Is GENIUS! I loved this Novella!!!. I wish it w

    Colleen Hoover Is GENIUS! I loved this Novella!!!. I wish it would have been a whole book. So thankful that Colleen took to time to give this gift to us. LOVE these characters! Impatiently awaiting the arrival of her next book. READ THIS!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    I could have read many many many more pages about Six and Daniel

    I could have read many many many more pages about Six and Daniel.  Great book!  What a treat.  Thank you Colleen for this.  They have a beautiful story and feel blessed you shared it with us.  I see them so happy  and living there life together.  Love all your books.  You are an amazing author!!!  Keep writing so we can all keep reading.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    So cute

    This book I just so cute. I highly recommend it.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    WOW! I had not read any of Colleen Hoover's books before - but

    WOW! I had not read any of Colleen Hoover's books before - but i certainly will be reading all of them in the very near future!!
    Thank you Colleen!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    I have mixed feelings about the current "novella" tren

    I have mixed feelings about the current "novella" trend in fiction. Shorter works featuring secondary
    characters from a successful full-length novel or covering a discrete span of time before/after the action
    of the original can make sense from both a creative and a marketing standpoint. Problem is the novella
     is a specific prose form that isn't always easy to carry off. Longer than a short story, shorter than a novel,
     it requires careful plotting to get the pacing right. Stuff too much into it and the reader will likely feel
    rushed and disoriented. Provide too little content and they wonder what the point of the exercise was
    other than to make a few more bucks for the writer.

    With FINDING CINDERELLA author Colleen Hoover gives us a glass slipper that fits. 

    The story focuses on one specific story line--the coming together of Six and Daniel, secondary
    characters from Hoover's popular HOPELESS and LOSING HOPE. Setting aside the
    would-it-really-happen factor, Daniel has an intimate encounter with a classmate in a school
    maintenance closet. It isn't a truly anonymous situation, there's an emotional connection beforehand,
    but circumstances don't allow Daniel to explore it. The girl tells him she's leaving the school.  

    Fast-forward about a year, Daniel meets Six. She's the best friend of his best friend's girl. Six spent the
    previous school year in Italy. Hoover lets us know that it wasn't a good year for Six. This early
    foreshadowing is the main reason the piece works as a novella. Without it the big reveal at the end
    would be pure melodrama. Instead, we watch Daniel and Six come together knowing full well that
    she's Cinderella and never expecting the final twist that will threaten their relationship, a complication
    that works because it is based in that initial encounter. This is tight plotting.

    Does Daniel resonate as a character for me? No. He's jaded and man-whorish. Bad enough qualities
     in a grownup. Unconvincing in a young person from a basically decent family--no history of parental
    abuse or addiction or any other trauma to account for it. Speaking of parents, I also don't buy the
    progressive parenting that riddles this particular neighborhood. It struck me as too author-engineered.
    Yet, I did like FINDING CINDERELLA and plan to check out the full-length novels Hoover drew from.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    No point

    This book was inapropet and stupid. I felt gulity after readin 20 pgs. Dont waist your time

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Awesome

    There are not enough words to describe amazing... colleen hoover is a writing genius! Cant get enough of her stories, I always want more.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Dear Colleen Hoover: you are amazing! I have not yet read one of

    Dear Colleen Hoover: you are amazing! I have not yet read one of your books that I did not love.

    In Hopeless and Losing Hope, we get a few glimpses at Holden's best friend Daniel and Sky's best friend Six. While I honestly never gave much thought to Six, I loved Daniel and his sense of humor. So I was really looking forward to their story. Finding Cinderella is a novella about the journey of Daniel and Six from an anonymous school closet encounter to friendship and love. When they officially meet one year after their rendezvous, they don't understand how they can feel such an intense connection so quickly. They are so good together and I loved their back and forth banter. Daniel is absolutely hilarious, as is his family that we meet. When they finally figure out who the other is, there are some heartbreaking moments and painful truths revealed. I wanted nothing more for them to work it out and get the happily ever after they deserve.

    This is another gem from Colleen Hoover. Fans of her Hopeless series will absolutely love it. And a big huge thanks to her for making it FREE! So go grab it and enjoy.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Love it!!!

    Amazing short story!!! Hope to read so much more about Daniel and Six!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Anonymous

    I HATE THIS BOOK SO FREAKING MUCH!!!!!!! THIS IS THE WORST BOOK I HAVE EVER FREAKING READ!!!!! IT SUCKS!!!!
    HATE=LOVE
    WORST=BEST
    SUCKS=ROCKS
    Haha I tricked you guys....... you thought I was serious lol :-)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Just Amazing.

    I love reading romances. In most books they dont take the time for you to really make you fall in love with the characters love, you end up just likeling them. But this book made you not just like the main charaters but made you fall in love right beside the main characters. In this book you couldnt help but laugh, smile, and stare at the screen/page in shook. It also made your heart break and your hear mend. This book may not be the longest but definitely worth the time! Cant wait to read another one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Young love

    Short and sweet, this is a love-at-first-sight type story wrtten from a high school boy's perspective. I enjoyed the playful banter of the main charachters' dialogs. I would like to read more of these quirky, likeable kids' lives. Were we ever that young and that in love?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Good, quick read but a little disturbing too

    Who was this book written for? I'm an adult so reading about high school juniors having sex in school was gross. If it's written for teenagers then I think it's too nonchalant of an attitude about having sex with so my people. The language was not needed in several places & who speaks to their parents like that and gets away wih it? Is it common for teenage girls to be allowed to have boyfriends in their bedrooms all the time like this book suggests? Also itt seems strange that his parents are so open about him having sex and even joke that they he's not getting any because he's taking cold showers every night.
    I couldn't put the book down. Yet I was creeped out by it and don't think I'd ever recommend it to anyone...I can't think of a single adult friend I'd recommend it to and I certainly wouldn't recommend it to my teenage nieces.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Loved Daniel and Six ¿ their banter and humor with each is incre

    Loved Daniel and Six … their banter and humor with each is incredible, it jumps off the page how much they connect to each other. Colleen Hoover surprised me in this story and I never saw it coming but what happened and how they both handled it was amazing. Now I really want Six's story!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    To 13 year old anonymous

    I read the first several pages girl kissing girl barf. Wjreads this kind of trash?

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Amazing

    Typically won't even read a novella, but love Colleen Hoover & figured...ok! Well worth it, start to finish-nonstop laughter, tears, this book has it ALL

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Wow

    Just wow. I fell in love with daniel and six. I only hope colleen continues their story as well as sky and holder at college. This made me laugh and cry. I couldnt put it down. I just wish there was more...please colleen MORE

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Another awesome Colleen Hoover Book. Finding Cinderella novella

    Another awesome Colleen Hoover Book. Finding Cinderella novella is a must read, and I would recommend reading Losing Hope and Hopeless first, also awesome books. I've read all of Colleen Hoovers books and she makes you fall in love with all the characters as she artfully develops each character's personality fully. I've never been able to put any Hoover book down once I start reading it and Finding Cinderella was no exception! Just Awesome, please write more about Daniel and Six, they we so funny and there just has to be so much more to say about them and their lives with Sky and Holder :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Awesome

    Once again Colleen has done it again!!! Again, the story wasn't predictable and it blew me away. I love the characters and want to see where they end up a little later in life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 247 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13