Customer Reviews for

Finding Emma

Average Rating 5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I really loved this book! It will capture you body and soul. You

    I really loved this book! It will capture you body and soul. You will be unable to put this book down, absolutely captivating. Incredible writing with incredible character development. I can't wait for the next one.don't miss out on this book. It will pull at your heart and believe me you are going to cry. But you will not put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    I really loved this book. She has a way to bring you right into

    I really loved this book. She has a way to bring you right into the book with all the characters. It so well written and I can't wait for the Emma's Secret. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings There may be qu

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    There may be quite a few books about missing children, but this book tugged at my heart strings and made me think twice about missing children and the different outcomes that could occur from this tragedy. Megan is a mom of three children, two live currently under her roof and one has been missing for two long years. The book begins with Emma home, but quickly moves beyond the two years to a time where this family is falling apart at the seams. Each member of the family has been affected by Emma's disappearance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    Great book. I cried for everyone of the characters in this book

    Great book. I cried for everyone of the characters in this book at one point. Get it, it's a beautiful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    We are proud to announce that Finding Emma has been honored with

    We are proud to announce that Finding Emma has been honored with the 2012 B.R.A.G.Medallion - this means this wonderful book is well worth your time and money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    This was a story that had me on the edge of my seat, because I h

    This was a story that had me on the edge of my seat, because I had intense feelings for each of the characters. Megan and Peter have a lovely family with three children, the eldest is Hannah, the middle sister is Alexis, and the youngest is Emma.
    The girls were enjoying a local carnival on Emma’s third birthday when she disappeared in the blink of an eye. This is where the story begins.
    Megan’s determination to find her daughter turns in to what her husband considers an obsession. He feels that Megan needs to accept that their daughter is gone so that they can move forward as a couple and family with Hannah and Alexis.
    But, Megan sees her daughter in every little girl, and it is beginning to cause trouble outside of the family. When Megan believes that she sees her daughter, she directly confronts each child. Until she sees that each child does not have her daughter’s eyes or dimples, her heart drops and she finds herself having to apologize, when all she wants to do is find her daughter.
    Then the book opens up to the other side of the story. We are introduced to Grandma Dottie and Grandpa Jack who have lost their daughter, and now have little Emma in their house as their grand-daughter. Grandpa Jack is such a loving and doting Grandfather to Emma. When you read about their interactions you sense that she is just as happy as she would be if she was at home with Megan and Peter.
    This is where the book took a turn for me, because I did not know what the outcome would be and hearing both sides of the story was a more compassionate way to see what can happen when a child disappears.
    So many people are hurt. Megan and Peter are on the brink of divorce, Hannah blames herself for Emma’s disappearance, and Alexis feels invisible. Emma is constantly asking for her Mother.
    The question is, when everyone’s prayers will be answered!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    Finding Emma is a very moving and emotional story about what hap

    Finding Emma is a very moving and emotional story about what happens when a child goes missing. Imagine the fear, disbelief, anger and other emotional feelings that must be the norm in a situation like this and can threaten to tear apart a family. I can only imagine what this might feel like. Reading Finding Emma to me was very heartbreaking in that the author's writing made me feel all the feelings that Megan was feeling during the two years that Emma was missing. A true eyeopener of a novel. I highly recommend this book and give it 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Lilac Wolf and Stuff Review

    I knew I'd enjoy this book, but really I loved it. My heart broke for Peter and Megan, whose marriage is being held together by a thread. It's not a surprise that many relationships don't survive this kind of tragedy. Your heart breaks over and over again, it would be hard to not take out some frustration on the person nearest you. And the other problem is devoting so much energy to finding your missing child that you completely ignore your family that is still there.

    The story also goes into the elderly couple. It's so sad because Jack still loves Dottie so very much, that he doesn't see the woman she has become, or he doesn't want to. Honestly, the characters are so rich that you don't really dislike anyone, not even Emma's kidnapper.

    The story is well told, and well written. I had a hard time putting this one down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Captivating!!

    As a parent, can you imagine just turning your back for a second and your child is gone without a trace? I can't begin to imagine and wouldn't want to but I would think that it would be a raw heart pounding terror. And within the first couple of pages of Finding Emma, that is exactly what I felt with the vivid and explicative narrative that the author conveyed with her ability with words and writing style. Heart wrenching!! The characters lifelike especially little Emma with her golden curly hair. Poignant!! The author grabbed and delivered me right into the story line as if I was a bystander. The settings easy to conjure up in my mind. Even the intonation of dialogue between characters and the voice of Emma was as if I was eavesdropping on the conversations. The emotions palpable. The suspense (vague due to not wanting to include spoilers) as to how, why, by whom, and what happened to Emma was a page turner. Captivating!! And what about the person who snatched this adorable 3 year old little girl? What are the feelings toward the kidnapper? That is something that the reader has to decide. Overwhelming!!

    This story is filled with emotions, relationship dynamics, hopelessness and hopefulness, happy and sad, anxiety, depression, wanting to move on yet also not wanting to let go, life and death, of memories good and bad, and above all, truth and love on many levels depending on the connection of kinship. Compelling!! This book is one I highly recommend but be prepared, it will not only tug at your heart strings but will also hold them tightly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1