Customer Reviews for

Finding Fish

Average Rating 4.5
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    The Fox

    Runs away leaving the battered apprentice. The apprentice himself was greyish with silver strewn about in his matted fur.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I thought this book was as good as A child Called It. Not to take away from this author brilliant work, he had me captured from begining to end. I highly recommnend this book for anybody that saw the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Powerful and moving

    This story, unlike the film, covers the life of a boy between both narrative by the author, and the writings of social workers who documented his life view reports and observations from visits with his foster parent and foster siblings. It gives an up close and personal look into life on the other side of childhood, the Unwanted Child.I highly recommend this book to anyone. If you like Pursuit of Happiness, you'll love Finding Fish!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good, Worth Reading!

    Finding Fish by Antwone Quenton Fisher is a memoir of Antwone¿s life. It starts with the story of his family a few months before his birth; as the author believed his families story was his story; even though he did not meet them until much later in his life. Antwone¿s father was shot two months before his birth, and his mother was in jail and unable to care for him. So, he was placed into foster care. The foster family Antwone was placed into was abusive, both physically and verbally; and ¿Mizz Picket¿, his foster mother, did a good job of keeping child welfare from finding out. Much of the story is about his rough beginning in Cleveland, as Antwone recalls his first seventeen years of life with the Pickets. One day, Mizz Picket was furious, and she kicked him out on the street. He was homeless, and it seemed as if his life would go nowhere. That was until Antwone chose to join the United States Navy. This was a major turning point in the story as Antwone, or as many call him, ¿Fish¿, finally gains confidence in himself and begins to enjoy life. After eleven years of service, he retires from the navy and moves to Los Angeles. Fish discovers his true passion in life, writing, and he also finds a love he had been searching for his whole life. This is a story about a young boy with rough beginnings turning his life into something great. Some prevalent themes in this book are determination, perseverance, confidence and hope. Fish had a hard life, but instead of giving up, he persevered through the situation and eventually gained the confidence he had always wanted. He was determined to make something of his life, and he did. Some things I liked about the book were the use of poems between some chapters, and the author¿s inclusion of not just his own memories, but pieces from his child welfare file and his families story. The only things I disliked about the book were a few graphic sections, as well as the morbid theme through most of the book. Overall, this was an interesting and inspiring story. I highly recommend it because of its inspiring message and the everyday lessons within. I almost read the entire book in one sitting, it was hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    Finding Fish

    The book Finding Fish written by Antwone Fisher is about a boy named Antwone who was born into an institution. He had gone in and out of several different foster homes throughout his life starting at the age two. When he was about four he was put into a foster home where he endured physical and emotional abuse with no positive reinforcement. He had to deal with that lifestyle until the age of sixteen when he was removed and at the age of eighteen Antwone enlisted in the United States Navy.
    The book in general was amazing; I usually don't enjoy reading but this book I did truly take a joy in reading and never wanted to put it down. Finding Fish is a very inspirational and emotional book, which I would recommend to mainly teens and adults looking for a serious heart touching story.
    What I liked about the book was that even though the book as a whole was gloomy and depressing the authors voice made it hopeful and sounded as if something good would happen eventually giving the reader optimism and making me want to find out what was going to happen. The author did a nice job of informing us all about his life even with the smallest details which made a difference when reading. Antwone Fisher too did a terrific job of describing things allowing me to have a perfect image in my head of what was happening. That always helps when reading a book.
    What I didn't like about the book was how it would jump parts. Starting with Antowne speaking, then go to a journal entry written by one of his caseworkers. That made it hard to follow along and confused me on to who was speaking when. I also disliked how there were no chapters and just acts, it made it very hard to stop and when you would pick up from where you last left off you would forget where you were and what was happening when you would begin to read.
    I would give Finding Fish four stars out of five and is a book that is truthfully worth reading. Anyone who has gone through fostering would really connect to this inspiring story of a young man who felt unwanted in the world and needed to find where he belonged.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2007

    Captivating and Real

    Heartbreaking, memorizing, and inspiring. This book was more then just the typical novel, memoir, etc. It was amazing. Antwone Fisher captures the most intense and gripping moments of his life. Filled with moments of despair, triumph, joy, Antwone lets the world now that no matter what happens you can always rise above the circumstances.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    Awesome

    I don't read many books, but this one captivated me from the first page and I constantly found myself to where I couldn't put it down. Fantastic book, and is a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2006

    Fantastic

    The greatest autobiography ever written. This story moves the soul.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2005

    EXCELLENT!

    This Book is absolutely wonderful! I love the movie too! 'Finding Fish' is a spectacular book and should be read by everyone! It will make you appreciate life and make you cry at the same time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2004

    Finding Fish: A Memoir

    This is a wonderful display of survival by a strong willed African American.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2004

    Well Done

    It¿s both sad and beautiful. You¿re not going to get through this book without shedding at least one tear, or desiring to hunt down Mr. and Mizz Pickett to admonish them for the damage they had done not only in the life of Antwone but also in the lives of their other foster children Dwight and Flo. And then, after reading Finding Fish, you¿re going to want to find Antwone, wrap your arms around him and say ¿Well done.¿ This book is truly amazing! It is a story about a young man reared in a system specifically designed for failure yet, because of God¿s grace, mercy and the love of others who saw his potential, did not grow up to be what we would call ¿a statistic¿. Antwone Fisher is a star in my book. His story is one I think all teenagers should read to give them hope and to help them to appreciate the meaning of ¿family¿. If you haven¿t seen the movie, don¿t expect it to capture the real essence of Fish¿s story because, in my opinion, it doesn¿t. However, I am in no way taking away from Denzel Washington¿s depiction. I enjoyed every part of the movie. It¿s just that the book says so much more. Then again, books have no limits. All I can say is: Thanks Fish for sharing your story. (I plan to use this book as a springboard to help the youth of today to find themselves and their place in this world when they feel they were dealt a ¿bad hand¿ in life.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2015

    Sage foster

    Great book it was heart wrenching it made me cry i also saw the movie book was better but they both had me look at life in a different way and put it in perspective

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    I love the movie

    Its sad at parts but always gets better. It will change your life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Leapordkit

    "Ya. Im not too good at roaring. Rawr!"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Dawnkit

    "Cool."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    To Jaguarsky

    May I please be Cloudkit?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Dead pool

    He hurts a queen and flame kit

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Night

    Fright. Night yall

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Nightflight

    A strange black and silver shecat padds in. She has four kits in her mouth. She set them down, "whats going on?" She asked.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Firepaw

    Yes only if you stay incthe nrsery your the oldest here you need to protect the younger ons ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5