Customer Reviews for

Finding Forrester

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2002

    WONDERFUL MOVIE AND BOOK

    YOU MUST SEE THIS MOVIE OR READ THIS BOOK!!! BOTH OF THEM ARE WONDERFUL!!!! IF YOU NEED SOME SUMMER READING, THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU TO READ!!! OR IF YOU ARE IN BLOCKBUSTER GET THE MOVIE!!! YOU'LL ENJOY IT!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2001

    Literally Inspirational

    Ellison feeds desire to the heart to read and read and read. I have been so inspired to relish at least one book a week. I love the way the Characters of this novel make books special. Feel your books, smell them and enjoy the curve of each letter as it fills your mind with adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Early in life I was allowed to contribute to the lives of many o

    Early in life I was allowed to contribute to the lives of many others in the doing so of my own career pursuits.
    Later in life I also would come to realize that it had not been by chance or happenstance that I was very spirited
     for my profession, after much like the fictional William (in the book) I would learn that we are led, guided,
    predestined if one will in and through events we would not choose  left to our own devices and motivations for
    the lives for the greater. And while this book is a work of creative fiction to us, it is for me inspired from outside
    of man as a look at our help in redemption and the making sense of the whys and how's and possibilities of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2007

    Finding Forrester

    I think this book was aswome and it was the best but not really all that it was very intersting and that lil boy jamall is very smart and is teacher Mrs.Wallace is very nosie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2007

    Connects to the main character

    Jamal is a young, black boy who is raised in the Bronx of New York City. He lives with his single mother, who has two jobs, and older brother, Tyrell. Jamal has a passion for writing, but he¿s afraid to show his true talent to anyone, even his mother. After taking an exam, his scores are out the roof, this attracts a Warden from a preparatory school called Malior-Callow, and allowing him to go to this school. When Jamal decides to go to this new school, he has to leave his old friends, neighborhood, and old life style to fit into this school that has nothing but white kids. After a break-in the mysterious house, he befriends a sixty-year old man who helps him with his writing. Later does he know, the old man he¿s been working with happens to be the author of a famous book called ¿Avalon Landing¿ William Forrester. Ellison really grabs reader¿s attention. They can connect with the main character, Jamal, for the story: the way he lives, his neighborhood, and the school he goes to. The importance of his friendship with Forrester grows, until he seems like a father figure to Jamal, and his family, how their there for you and to be by your side to the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2002

    "Opens Your Soul And Frees Your Heart"

    After reading just a little bit of this book, you cannot put it down. The author gets right into the storyline; and you immediately are amazed with the characters. You get to know Jamal Wallace personally, and feel for him. He writes in his notebooks everyday, and that's where he frees his soul. After meeting William Forrester, he frees his spirit and soul to him as a son. Their relationship deepens, and you are entranced. There are no words to describe the depth of feeling in this book. You become part of the book. And you will more then likely want to read it over and over; and as you do you will learn more and more and find reasons to your past questions. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys thought-provoking material. It is one of the finest books that I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2001

    Objectively Noble

    The story, 'Finding Forrester', has offered me a new appreciation for the beauty of writing and poetry. It shows the merging of human spirits without color and prejudice, allowing the reader to form their own bonds within the characters. Although it does resemble other plots, it originality should not be overlooked. I feel it was written with heart, and therefore, it should stand on it's own merit. There were many truths in this story that make people defend their race. There should be no defense, and no hard feelings. Just the appreciation of humanity and it's imperfections. Close your eyes and look with your heart, reach out to the soul beside you, and just feel. This is a very intriguing story, that I think everyone could appreciate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2001

    Excellent, but kudo should go to Isabelle Holland

    Finding Forrester is an amazing story of the deep friendship between a boy and a man. However, I've seen this exact premise before. In cases where someone else has published the same story previously, the author/producers usually have the tact to give a kudo to the first writer. Remember when the movie 'Clueless' was released - and they announced it as the 'Emma' of the 80's? Well, I'm very disappointed in this author for not having the class to give even a little kudo to Isabelle Holland - considering that she wrote her story first (in 1972). Something like 'Finding Forrester is the 'Man Without A Face' of the Bronx...' would have been appropriate. For those of you not familiar with the original 'Man Without A Face' by Isabelle Holland (Mel Gibson's movie was a total rewriting - doesn't count) - here's the basic premise: Isolated man in town with reputation for killing (urban legend) meets boy not doing his best. Boy gets man to help him with his writing. Man turns out to be famous writer, and helps boy (who gets into a private school). Man and boy develop deep friendship. Man and boy have serious disagreement. Man leaves country. Man dies while out of the country of incurrable illness that he had the whole time. Man wills home and possessions to boy. This describes Finding Forrester, also. See how they are the same. Both stories are most excellent, and you should read both (keep in mind - Ms. Holland's was written for the a youth reader).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1