Customer Reviews for

Finding It (Losing It Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I admit it - I was one of those freaky people who stormed all th

I admit it - I was one of those freaky people who stormed all the Targets within a 30 mile radius on the day that Finding It (Losing It #3) released, looking for my "golden ticket." Sadly, it appears that the copies of Finding It with Cora's golden signature c...
I admit it - I was one of those freaky people who stormed all the Targets within a 30 mile radius on the day that Finding It (Losing It #3) released, looking for my "golden ticket." Sadly, it appears that the copies of Finding It with Cora's golden signature completely skipped the metro Harrisburg area. But, I had fun searching, and in the end I still ended up bringing home another good Cora Carmack book with her pretty signature inside it (in plain black).

In Finding It, Bliss' BFF Kelsey is traveling the world with no real plan, effectively running from her problems and her future. It worked for awhile, but lately, the loneliness and bleakness has started catching back up with her, and no amount of alcohol or strange men can change that. Until she meets Jackson and he convinces her to try something different.

So, here's the thing. Cora Carmack has said that Jackson is her favorite boy yet. When I read that, I was like, "Whaaaat? Better than Garrick? Better than CADE?" Naturally, my interest was piqued. And, now that I've read about him, I get it. I get the Jackson love. This guy takes awesome to a new level. He's adventurous, bold, brave and sometimes a little bit of an ass. He finds Kelsey and makes it his mission to protect her while trying to help her.

Then there is Kelsey - I felt so sad for her pretty much all the time. She has these rich parents who don't give a crap about her. She had some really awful things happen to her when she was small, and her parents didn't believe her. It has affected her the rest of her life and really messed her up. Jackson really came along at the right time.

I loved Kelsey and Jackson together. Jackson has the ability to charm any female, yet Kelsey proves to be a big challenge. She doesn't let him get away with too much. And he doesn't let her get away with too much, either. They really are pretty perfect together. I think they may be my favorite couple of Cora's.

So, if Jackson is an amazing guy and Kelsey is a compelling girl and the two of them together are my favorite couple, why only the four stars? I was really, really into the story, and then it just kinda... fizzled. The entire book was spent building up this crazy tension and suspense between Jackson and Kelsey. There was so much push and pull, and the whole time there were these huge secrets that were being kept. The inevitable point in every book where the secrets come out and people are hurt and mad came, and from that point on the pace took off like a shot.

The last 10% of the book felt so incredibly rushed. To make matters worse, it felt like some major plot points suffered because of it. There was never any resolution between Kelsey and her parents. The book ends in Spain, so we never find out if she ever goes home. I felt so unfulfilled at the end, and that really upset me. I loved the characters and for the most part, I really loved the book. All it really needed was a really perfect ending. and that was the big thing that was missing.

I know that there is a novella soon to be released from Jackson's POV - Seeking Her. After reading Finding It, I was hopeful that the novella would fill in the holes and give me the closure I need. It seems, though, that it's more of a prequel to the events of Finding It. I'm still looking forward to reading it. Like I said - I love Jackson, and this is his mind we'll be in. A very sexy, wonderful place to be.

The story is good. The characters are fantastic. Despite my gripes, it's absolutely a worthwhile read.

posted by Kristas_Dust_Jacket on October 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Disappointment

## This book was such a disappointment. After loving books 1 & 2, I thought for sure I'd love this one too. Wrong. It was depressing and extremely repetitive. Cora really needs to work on her heroines. All three in this series have been very unlikeable. I could forgive ...
## This book was such a disappointment. After loving books 1 & 2, I thought for sure I'd love this one too. Wrong. It was depressing and extremely repetitive. Cora really needs to work on her heroines. All three in this series have been very unlikeable. I could forgive the first two because the rest was so good, but not this book. Man, it was so frustrating. The hero's character was way underdeveloped. He evades and avoids all questions the heroine asks. We never get to know him. By page 160 I almost gave up. And the ending well.....sucked. No "I love you" or anything. I wont be reading again.

posted by 9394860 on October 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Great

    I was hesitant to buy this book based on some of the negative reviews I read. But I loved the first two books, so I decided to give it a try. It goes slow and, for much of the book, Kelsey is no heroine at all. But the pace is right to unravel this complex character and develop a beautiful story of self-forgiveness and finding who you really are. It had to build slowly to make it relatable and realistic. Jackson Hunt, the hero, is a misterious character for many chapters. But I liked it this way, and somehow I trusted and liked him from the beginning. He felt more of a true hero to me than most other male characters you encounter in contemporary romance (no alpha male billionaire and womanizer, thank God!). So there you have it, a book about two very flawed characters getting together in a most unconventionally way and finding hope and redemption. As for the end, yes, I would have loved more (perhaps an epilogue), just because I was attached to the characters. But it is still a beautiful ending and a terrific love story, so it deserves 5 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Ah.May.Zing

    Must read! Can't wait for "Seeking her!"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    A must read!

    Amazing, heartbreaking, and beautiful Cora Carmack delivers again with Finding It, a novel proving that while trust can be breakable, it can also be mended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Great read

    /

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Okay, first of all: I read this as an eBook and it was flipping

    Okay, first of all: I read this as an eBook and it was flipping fantastic. And so naturally, I had to go out and buy it.
    To start off, this book and the others in the series are beautiful. Like, I mean the covers are beautiful, the colors, the whole package.
    No regrets about purchasing whatsoever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Wonderful

    Her series is a GREAT read! Finished this an couldn't wait for the next!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Good book

    I love Cora Carmack books. This is a must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    The only disappointing thing with this book was that it ended!

    I fell in love with each of Cora Carmack's characters easily and swiftly. They are so relatable and the premise of this particular story is probably high on some gal's lists (travel carte blanche thru Europe and meet a gorgeous guy?! OF COURSE!) The only disappointment I had was that the book ended and the trilogy is over. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    AMAZING

    This was the best Losing It Series book…I was able to read this book within a day I could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Great author

    I have read all three in the series and this does not disappoint. Great plot down to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    Loved Loved LOVED IT!!! I have read all three books in this seri

    Loved Loved LOVED IT!!! I have read all three books in this series now and loved all three. Plan to read the novella Keeping Her, I have to say these books seem to get better and better. Finding It for me was a very fun and adventurous read with LOTS of romance. Who doesn't dream of touring around Europe! Kelsey's trip seems fun but a lot like her just in a different country! Until Hunt shows up a mysterious good looking and annoying man that Kelsey seems to not be able to shake! But she agrees to give him a week to show her a real adventure but what the pretty spoiled rich party girl really finds is herself the lost pieces of Kelsey punched away piece by piece by the facade of her perfect life. Hunt shows her home is where the heart is but Hunt finds his own adventure as well. This book was very romantic and funny and had meaning and depth. I highly recommend it. Cora Carmack can write a great book and I will read anything with her name on it!. Two words LOVED IT!! okay two more READ IT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    This book from the Losing It Series was wonderful too but diffic

    This book from the Losing It Series was wonderful too but difficult to read. Kelsey & Jackson "Hunt" struggled so hard throughout the whole book. They both had pasts that were so difficult and tried so hard to be happy. I cried for them more than once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Mdxxxjzzzxxkssskakduwlmszjdwsjss dkssssssssjssjsssjjsjsjj skssksskssssxssjsjssssssjsjssjjsjsssjsswwwwssw jsissssjshggrfgugyjebftybyrgcbfgtgfgtxnx ph

    Ssss jjuhjhjhuhuhubhhjsusgggrhvfgfghvgbhdndhddtd r bbi hhh h j n bfbfjffkf n h hj j j j j h j j j j n n fysjco

    0 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Love

    Great author

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Amazing

    This was definitely my favorite of the it series. Cora Carmack does an amazing job and Hint is ridiculously sexy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    So THIS is what the buzz for Cora Carmack's books is all about.

    So THIS is what the buzz for Cora Carmack's books is all about. Finding It is the third book in the Losing It series but it reads fine (more than fine!) as a standalone novel. The previous books are completely unrelated stories that just revolve around Kelsey's friends.

    Simply and shortly put: I. loved. this. book.

    Now onto my long, possibly incoherent, and certainly unrestrained review. You've been warned.

    Even the glamor of traveling through Europe alone and her daddy's limitless credit cards can't get Kelsey Summers out of her post-graduation slump. All the parties, the booze, the hot boys... they're distractions, but they're meaningless to her because she doesn't know what's wrong in her life. She's extremely privileged—blessed, even, with her Barbie-doll looks, theatre degree, and friends back home who love her—but she's unhappy, and what makes her unhappier is she doesn't know why. The bottomless, passionless pit she falls into can't be all there is to life, can it?

    Then she meets the piercing eyes of a handsome stranger in a bar, and her world is turned upside-down. Life may not have been pretty before, but it also wasn't scary until ex-soldier Jackson Hunt came around... scary because for the first time in her life, she's met someone who ignites something inside of her—someone who makes her want to bare the parts of herself that she thought she had long buried and thrown away.

    Someone who threatens to love her even after discovering her secrets.

    Carmack's gift for crafting the most flawed—and thus beautiful—of characters, is stunning. HUNT asdfasl;dflkasf I can't even begin to tell you how hard I fell for him. He is intricate in all of his worries and insecurities and mistakes, and the way I feel about him constantly alternates between I-love-him-so-much-he-is-perfection and f*ck-f*ck-fucj-why-is-he-fictional?!?! He's that kind of character. Kelsey is fun and flirty, and although she's a bit reckless and a bit irresponsible, she's mischievous, cunning, and absolutely divine; I loved her. She isn't a perfect narrator, but she's complex: a golden girl with an exquisite depth and charm to her that make her so real. She's always been the confident girl, the pretty girl, the one that was never afraid to be bold or brash or independent, but that might just be a role she's always played—a bit too well. And when Hunt slowly, agonizingly breaks through her thick skin only to reach an overwhelming, brilliant fire, he discovers this tendency to slip on the playful party-girl mask to cover up her worst of secrets and most worrisome of fears.

    Both scarred and both searching, Kelsey and Hunt set off together in Europe without so much as a proper introduction, but that's what adventure is—it's taking risks—and that's what love is: it's putting your heart out there. Hunt's battle with self-control and Kelsey's battle with self-acceptance align just so they both recognize the hollows that need to be filled within one another. Their pursuit of a stormy, emotionally draining, but completely worthwhile relationship is invigorating, and it entails a flittering hope that maybe, just maybe, they might be able to teach each other to feel once again.

    Kelsey and Hunt's voyage is both gorgeously scenic of Europe, and sweepingly romantic, which expertly demonstrate the magic of travel and the necessity of companionship. As walls begin to break down and an initially strained relationship softens, the pure tension—both emotional and sexual—will make your heart flip and tumble and dance and sing.

    The romance in Finding It is really something else. It's so hard to find such a realistic—such an ugly but still glimmering—relationship in new adult fiction: complex, soul-searingly deep, and painful at its lows, but absolutely dazzling at its highs. Carmack skillfully demonstrates the sharp, unexpected pain of letting someone into your heart after it's been tightly sealed shut, as well as the hopelessness—the emptiness—the young-and-in-love experience when uncontrollable yearnings approach a startling revelation.

    Carmack's writing is pitch-perfect, as well—another thing I adore! Kelsey is snarky and coy in her narration, but at her most vulnerable points, she doesn't hold back from being perceptive, piercing, and very, very tender. It is tremendously difficult not to sympathize with her—not to fall in love with her, yourself.

    The stimulating conversations, the lust-driven passion and explosive chemistry, and the turbulent drama will have you aching—aching for a love that has strayed or a personal passion that's been forgotten. When two lost souls—that aren't entirely sure of what exactly they're looking for—take the leap and promise to search alongside each other, there's nothing they can guarantee... just that they might end up finding it together.

    Pros: Everything... seriously // Distinct, beautifully human, vividly drawn characters // Smoldering romantic tension and chemistry // Fluid plot and heart-wrenching curveball // Hilarious // Light, charming tone, but still gets deep and insightful where it matters // Hunt... oh lord ♥

    Cons: I may or may not have lost a couple nights of sleep to stay up and keep reading this... but that happens with the best kinds of novels, no?

    Verdict: Intoxicating, exhilarating, and cathartic in its probing, intimate revelations, this last book in the Losing It series hits it out of the park. Cora Carmack is now an auto-buy author for me. (I just bought books #1, #1.5, and #2, but that still won't be able enough!) We have two deeply flawed, deeply fragile characters who recognize a rare longing in each other; we have haunting pasts and bleak futures that teach us to live in the now; and we have an intensely burning, intensely complicated love story that will steal your breath away... Yup, it's been decided: Finding It is an exemplary new adult romance that all books of the genre should aim to even come close to be. Perfect. Just perfect.

    Rating: 10 out of 10 hearts (5 stars): I'm speechless; this book is an extraordinarily amazingly wonderfully fantastically marvelous masterpiece. Drop everything and go buy yourself a copy now!

    Source: Complimentary copy provided by publisher via tour publicist in exchange for an honest and unbiased review (thank you, Harper Collins and TLC!).

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    Loved! It

    Loved! It

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Loved it!

    Great series...hope for more books to come out soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    This never happens

    When is the sequal ever better? Now. This is the besr book in tge series, by FAR. And I almost didn't read it, because I thought the second book was just ok. Take the heat out, and this is classroom quality literature. Leave it in, and it is quality entertainment. There are at least 3 real, quoteable passages that can stir real discussion. My only concrrn is the end is abrupt with too many loose ends. There were plot lines that were not wrapped up. I rarely re-read fiction, but I am holding this book for the holidays. I would like to find the time to read it once, all the way thru. It deserves a solid read. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3