Customer Reviews for

Finding It: And Satisfying My Hunger for Life without Opening the Fridge

Average Rating 3.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable read

In her new book "Finding It: And Satisfying My Hunger for Life without Opening the Fridge," a follow-up to her bestselling memoir "Losing It: And Gaining My Life Back One Pound at a Time," Valerie Bertinelli intimately details her life after the release of her first boo...
In her new book "Finding It: And Satisfying My Hunger for Life without Opening the Fridge," a follow-up to her bestselling memoir "Losing It: And Gaining My Life Back One Pound at a Time," Valerie Bertinelli intimately details her life after the release of her first book. Throughout the chapters, her writing is light and humorous which provides for one entertaining read. We learn about her teenage son Wolfie who tours with his rock star father Eddie Van Halen, gets his first serious girlfriend, and has trouble passing the driver's license test. Then there's Tom, Valerie's boyfriend who has four children of his own and whose witty commentary Bertinelli quotes throughout the book. However, obviously the most interesting character is Valerie herself. Despite her Hollywood stardom, Bertinelli comes across as very down-to-earth. She struggles with maintaining her weight, worrying about her teenage son, and becoming exhausted from all the errands. While writing candidly about her life-so much that I often felt like I was reading her diary, Valerie also discusses her belief-system and the quest to stay optimistic. Before each chapter, Bertinelli even includes a "Notes to Myself" section which lists her thoughts, and often includes inspirational quotations. In addition to being a memoir of Valerie's current life, this book has the bonus of functioning like a self-help book for others out there who are also struggling with a positive self-image and regrets from the past (Valerie's include spending too much time in her miserable marriage, failing to get an education, and allowing herself to gain weight in the first place), while dealing with the present. Overall, I found this book to be a solid read and something I would recommend to not only Valerie's fans, but women in general as well as men who are having trouble understanding their wives.

posted by Alla_S on October 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Valerie Bertinelli's new book

I purchased Valerie Bertinelli's book, 'Finding It', thinking it might be an enlightening book & approach on weight loss & life afterwards. I was sadly disappointed, when she jumped into the political spectrum, not once or twice, but repeatedly. I did not buy her book...
I purchased Valerie Bertinelli's book, 'Finding It', thinking it might be an enlightening book & approach on weight loss & life afterwards. I was sadly disappointed, when she jumped into the political spectrum, not once or twice, but repeatedly. I did not buy her book to have her politically preach her political sentiments to me. I certainly don't shove my political views on her or anyone else! Leave the political bashing at home, Valerie! Bertinelli's book proved she's just another liberal, Bush bashing democrat actor! Her book didn't provide any enlightening toward weight loss or anything else, for that matter! Bertinelli's book went into the dumpster, instead!

posted by 2210141 on November 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2009

    Valerie Bertinelli's new book

    I purchased Valerie Bertinelli's book, 'Finding It', thinking it might be an enlightening book & approach on weight loss & life afterwards. I was sadly disappointed, when she jumped into the political spectrum, not once or twice, but repeatedly. I did not buy her book to have her politically preach her political sentiments to me. I certainly don't shove my political views on her or anyone else! Leave the political bashing at home, Valerie! Bertinelli's book proved she's just another liberal, Bush bashing democrat actor! Her book didn't provide any enlightening toward weight loss or anything else, for that matter! Bertinelli's book went into the dumpster, instead!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2009

    Too Political!!!

    I have to agree that this book lost me after the first two chapters due to Valerie's continual pushing of her political views. My advice to her is to just wait and see what her so called faith in the new administration brings before tooting any horns. Sad to say I decided the book was not worth finishing.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Finding It - Motivation and Inspiration

    I read Losing it and loved it. I couldn't wait to read Finding it. It was also great. I believe it was deeper and more inspiring than the first. I hope you are working on a third book. Maybe you can call it " Keeping It". You are so right about so many things in regard to the inner changes that need to made to really get there. I loved meeting Val and Tom at her book signing in Ridgewood, NJ about 2 years back at Book Ends. Thanks. Deb

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    Huh?

    Enjoying the book but had to comment. She compares surviving 8 years with President Bush being President to having faith in her sons driving. Quite the literary stretch. We get it Valerie. Your a Hollywood Democrat and found a way to tell us.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Valerie all Grown up!

    I feel like I grew up with Valerie. I think Jenny Craig was just the start of her inspiration. After reading this book you will never doubt what Valerie can do or perhaps what you can do once inspired. Whatever your fear of achievement is after reading this book you just might be inspired to achieve it. A truely feel good reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    Enjoyable read

    In her new book "Finding It: And Satisfying My Hunger for Life without Opening the Fridge," a follow-up to her bestselling memoir "Losing It: And Gaining My Life Back One Pound at a Time," Valerie Bertinelli intimately details her life after the release of her first book. Throughout the chapters, her writing is light and humorous which provides for one entertaining read. We learn about her teenage son Wolfie who tours with his rock star father Eddie Van Halen, gets his first serious girlfriend, and has trouble passing the driver's license test. Then there's Tom, Valerie's boyfriend who has four children of his own and whose witty commentary Bertinelli quotes throughout the book. However, obviously the most interesting character is Valerie herself. Despite her Hollywood stardom, Bertinelli comes across as very down-to-earth. She struggles with maintaining her weight, worrying about her teenage son, and becoming exhausted from all the errands. While writing candidly about her life-so much that I often felt like I was reading her diary, Valerie also discusses her belief-system and the quest to stay optimistic. Before each chapter, Bertinelli even includes a "Notes to Myself" section which lists her thoughts, and often includes inspirational quotations. In addition to being a memoir of Valerie's current life, this book has the bonus of functioning like a self-help book for others out there who are also struggling with a positive self-image and regrets from the past (Valerie's include spending too much time in her miserable marriage, failing to get an education, and allowing herself to gain weight in the first place), while dealing with the present. Overall, I found this book to be a solid read and something I would recommend to not only Valerie's fans, but women in general as well as men who are having trouble understanding their wives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Amazed....

    I have now finished reading both books regarding Miz V'z weight loss. The books made me feel like she was having a friendly chat with ME.....a sencere one to boot! I have medical issues (RA/Diabetes/Stenosis....etc)....over weight and esteme issues too....but....she has given me the push I've needed. I may not be able to do it her way (running) or as fast, but I am determined to find a way and deal with my issues and not give up. I know I will not be bikini body, but I do know my health will benefit from it. Enjoyed every minute of reading....she is a real down to earth sounding gal....not too upity to discuss body noises/functions, but classy too...just a regular gal talking about topics that most of us "born without these genes" can relate to.....Thanks Miz V....on to your next book now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Very Inspiring!

    Loved this book...bought it on CD and listened to it on the way to work each morning! She is so REAL and NORMAL...I understood, well have lived, most of what she talks about. The bottom line is...she makes you feel that if she can do it....so can you! Great book, inspiring, funny and she lays it all out there. LOVED this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    good book

    I enjoyed this book as a follow-up to her book Losing It. It helps to understand that even these amazing weight loss stories require a lifetime committment, no matter who you are!! It was also good to hear what she has been up to. If you like Valerie, it is a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    Finding It

    I loved reading this book as Valerie Bertinelli is a great and fascinating actress. To read her struggles with her personal life, family and weight issues is such an inspiration.

    I would love to read her first book Losing It.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    Finding It Loved It!

    Really enjoyed this book. I love the way Valerie writes and tells her story. Very relatable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A good read.

    I enjoyed reading it, although I liked her first book better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3