Customer Reviews for

Finding Me: A Decade of Darkness, a Life Reclaimed: A Memoir of the Cleveland Kidnappings

Average Rating 4.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

I sat down at my kitchen table to look over the book on the day

I sat down at my kitchen table to look over the book on the day it landed on my Kindle, 3.5 hours later I had finished the book, and had not moved from my spot. What an incredible woman, and her story is heart wrenching, yet moving. God bless her and so appreciative tha...
I sat down at my kitchen table to look over the book on the day it landed on my Kindle, 3.5 hours later I had finished the book, and had not moved from my spot. What an incredible woman, and her story is heart wrenching, yet moving. God bless her and so appreciative that she was able to share her story of captivity at the hands of a monster. A must read.

posted by Anonymous on May 6, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

This book only explains the horror that poor victims that are or

This book only explains the horror that poor victims that are or were abducted by psychos go thru. I'm so amaze what this poor young woman Michelle went thru since childhood.
I can't believe that her own parents let this happens to her! And then she was kidnap by this E...
This book only explains the horror that poor victims that are or were abducted by psychos go thru. I'm so amaze what this poor young woman Michelle went thru since childhood.
I can't believe that her own parents let this happens to her! And then she was kidnap by this Evil Man that did horrible things to her! But it's a lesson of strength, hope and the will to live.
All I can say it's that she got away and now she's free, she lost her son which it's the worse of all things that can happen to a loving mom like Michelle but she loves her son so much that she did the best for him by letting his son be happy with his adopted parents.
Michelle you are a inspiration for us women, you are an example of strength, I know that you are going to get the best of life for now on, You deserve happiness for all the sad, horrible times you went thru.

posted by berenice75 on May 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    I sat down at my kitchen table to look over the book on the day

    I sat down at my kitchen table to look over the book on the day it landed on my Kindle, 3.5 hours later I had finished the book, and had not moved from my spot. What an incredible woman, and her story is heart wrenching, yet moving. God bless her and so appreciative that she was able to share her story of captivity at the hands of a monster. A must read.

    32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    This book is amazing. I bought it as soon as it came out and hav

    This book is amazing. I bought it as soon as it came out and have been unable to put it down. It is such an incredible story, and although it leaves you feeling depressed, at the same time it is full of inspiration. I originally bought it because I thought that after all she had gone through the least i could do for her was read her memoir, and I am so glad I did. You have to get this book; it will change your life.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Wow!

    I do not know where to begin! This book was incredibly sad and some parts are just a torture to read. This woman is amazingly strong and positive. I personally couldn't have done it. The ending is very uplifting and I am so happy that she is moving on w her life. Would love to meet her one day and just hug her and tell her how brave she has been for so long.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I found this book to be astounding. The details are so vivid. Th

    I found this book to be astounding. The details are so vivid. The author truly draws you in and keeps you turning pages. At times it is heartbreaking. Michelle should be applauded for her courage and perseverance to reclaim her life.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Remarkable young woman

    Naturally, the book was hard to read at times because my heart broke for her son Joey and the girls. However the book turns into an amazing story of friendship, hope, and survival. This woman is truly remarkable and I wish her all of the love and happiness the world can offer.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    I was hesitant to pick this book up. I didn't really want to kno

    I was hesitant to pick this book up. I didn't really want to know what happened to any of the women in Ariel Castro's (hereafter referred to as 'the dude') prison. I wasn't after some sensational, disgusting account of abuse and slavery. The deciding factor for me was seeing an interview with author Michelle Knight. What a feisty, down to earth woman! So it was with trepidation I turned to the first page. Michelle starts her story from the beginning - her beginning. We are introduced to a little girl living a life of sadness who, somehow discovers faith and hope and refuses to let either go. She is discreet in her description of the hell she ended up living in for 10 years, which I truly appreciated. In telling her story, she manages to make the abuse understood without having to stoop to specifics. The real story here is how Michelle managed to hold on to her faith, her hope and her true self no matter what 'the dude' did to her. I am in no way saying she didn't have and doesn't continue to have issues to work out - who wouldn't!! But her attitude and fierce will to heal and be happy serve as inspiration to anyone who has ever been through hell; to anyone who has wondered 'why me'; to anyone who has dared to take their life for granted. Michelle's story ends up being an uplifting reminder that we can not only survive, but bloom no matter what happens in our lives.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Unforgettable

    I hope Michelle Knight will be able to experience nothing but joy and love the rest of her life.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2014

    I cried.

    I cried.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Beyond excellent

    Picked it up, didn't put it down until I was finished. My prayers go out to her. What an incredible young lady she is.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    Michelle is an amazing person.  I bought her book on my nook ear

    Michelle is an amazing person.  I bought her book on my nook earlier this
    evening and read it completely.   Living near West 105th people in the
    neighborhood always talked about how 3 girls from the same area were missing
    & it never made any sense why not one of them was found.   
    We saw Amanda's mother on TV, we saw the signs up for Gina missing.My
    heart just aches for these women for what they went through & survived.  
    For Michelle to have been treated so much worse by that monster, to have the
    monster abuse her to protect Gina, for her to deliver Jocelyn when the monster
    would not let her keep her babies-her strength and love of her son reflect what
    an incredible power she is.  She is an inspiration beyond belief.  People need to
    listen to her when she says if you see some thing that does not seem right-bring
    it to someone's attention, the police or whomever.  Michelle's family life before
    the kidnapping would be enough to destroy a person.  Combine everything and
    you see that Michelle is one of the most amazing spirits ever to be on this earth.
    I hope to meet Michelle/Lily in person one day to thank her for being a true Hero!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Good read, couldn't put it down.

    With all that happen to Michelle, she still has a positive attitude on life. Strong woman and I hug someday she reunites with her son.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Wow! Read it in a matter of hours. Can't believe what these girl

    Wow! Read it in a matter of hours. Can't believe what these girls went through. Amazing journey of survival. A must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    that poor lady. i read the book in 3 days. she suffered so much

    that poor lady.
    i read the book in 3 days. she suffered so much by that monster.


    I really feel Joey new family need to make her seee her son and just hug him..he is what made her survive and now she cant even see him..how heartless..i hope one day she gets to hold hime again and may she always be blessed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Exceptional book for being such a tragic story.  There were time

    Exceptional book for being such a tragic story.  There were times I had to put it down and walk away because it was so painful to read.  It is amazing the strength that Michelle and the other girls had to have had to survive such an ordeal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Good book

    So glad she's giving other victims a voice, very much an inspiration to others

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    I don't remember the last time I willing have read a book.  I kn

    I don't remember the last time I willing have read a book.  I knew right away I would have to buy this one.  I read it in 2 days.  Such a heartbreaking tale, but a wonderful insirational book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Heartbreaking

    I am amazed at what this woman, along with the two others, has gone thru in there life and the uplifting outlook she still has. It was difficult to read this book, I can't even imagine what it was like to live it. Makes me sick that Ariel died so soon in prison, he deserved many more years of suffering for all he did. What a sick bastard!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    mlcheiie knight

    I read in two days easy and interesting read'
    , you go girl your strenght is crazy, i will pray for you and joey, that boy has the best mom ever not many would think about his life first,

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Got this this book on a Saturday and finished sunday evening, th

    Got this this book on a Saturday and finished sunday evening, that's how good it was. The things she spoke about were heartbreaking but inspiring. Go to show how a little hope can get you through anything. A real good book I've read so far this summer.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Finding me

    This was a true story.it was a great read.and a easy read.it was also a page turner.it only took me a day and half to read it.it kept u wondering what was gonna happen next. I would definetly recommend for adults only to read it though.there was some pretty graphic things told in the book. It is a must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6