Customer Reviews for

Finding Noel

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Great

    When I read this book I cried! Not many books make me cry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Read!!!

    A great story teller – Evans always brings a novel to life. As the Christmas season approaches Mark has to drop out of college due to finances and has just learned his mother has died and on one snowy night in November when he car dies, he stumbles upon a girl Macy who has had a horrible childhood and living with a lady who took her in. She has little memory of her birth parents and a horrible adopted family. Her one hope is to find her sister “Noel” as they were separated when they were children and kept apart by the system. Macy and Mark are meant for each other and fate has something in motion, as when one door closes, God places someone there for you. An amazing story – loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    It was a good book until the end when her sister showed up. The

    It was a good book until the end when her sister showed up. The reason she gave for showing up felt like a stretch. What mormon princess digs through garbage? She was supposed to be away at A.S.?
    $14.99 for a several year old, less than 200 page nook book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Live

    Live

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This is an inspiring book packed full of emotion. I couldn't put

    This is an inspiring book packed full of emotion. I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Great read

    This was a very good book but all his books are great. I have read all his books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Great!

    I love all his little books!! I love that they make me smile and they make me cry and they make me fall in love all over again. Great book, you woun't be disappointed.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nice Holiday Story

    It;s stories like this that bring us closer together during the holidays.
    Stories like this are what give holidays their importance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Another Riveting Novel by the Captivating Richard Paul Evans

    Richard Paul Evans has done it again. He has a way of capturing your heart with his characters. His novels leave you waiting for his next piece of craftmenship. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2009

    Touching as always

    As with all of Richard Paul Evans' books, this one is a quick light but totally inspiring read. I would highly recommend this for anyone who wants to read a well written inspiring tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Gem

    This is a touching hankie grabber, (again), from Mr. Evans. This is a story of a man and woman, both who grew up with sad childhoods, how they meet, and resolve those old issues, with a tearful but well-resolved conclusion. Typical Richard, so if you like a little romance, a book with morals and a little crying in there somewhere, this is a perfect little read. And I do mean little. Done in an hour or two, but oh, so worth it. Good, as well, for a little stocking stuffer at Christmas, and also good to read in front of the Christmas tree, on a rainy or snowy dusky afternoon with a hot cup of chocolate! And a tissue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    The Very Best

    I am a very slow reader, and I lose interest quickly if the book doesn't get my attention within the first few pages. Richard Paul Evans has had the ability, in all his works, to hold my interest with his beautiful stories, descriptions, and mix of sadness and humor. However, by far, this book is my favorite. I don't know when I've cried so hard one minute, and laughed so hard the next minute while reading ANY book. In my opinion, you have missed something very special if you do not read this story. Thank you, Mr. Evans for touching every part of my soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2007

    Love finds a way

    This is a story about what the adoption/foster care system can do and does to children. BUT it is also a story about the resilience of children and how they cope as they grow up. Mark Smart is at the lowest point in his life when car failure and a snowy night bring him into a diner and Macy Woods into his life. Macy changes Mark¿s depression into a willingness to go on and the two begin a relationship. Mark discovers that Macy is known as Mary at the diner where she works. He wonders why and discovers that her life was not all roses as a child. A Christmas ornament with Noel is all Macy has left of her birth family. She was adopted by parents that didn¿t really want her, she was separated from her sister who was sent to another set of adoptive parents and when she tries to find her now that she is an adult, discovers that the adoption is sealed. Macy is now living with a woman who is loving and kind but has a secret of her own. Mark¿s own life has had its own turmoil. He was in college in Utah but had to drop out for lack of money. He started to work to put money aside so he could return but during this time his mother died and his family in Alabama wasn¿t able to find him until 2 days after the funeral. Mark and his father didn¿t get along very well and he doesn¿t want to have any contact with him. Mark and Macy each help the other to come to terms with their pasts so they can move forward with the present. It is a story that you will want to read from beginning to end without stopping.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2006

    A Great Find

    Another heart-touching story from Evans. His characters are good but it's his story line that keeps you conneted to this new novel. The serendipty and struggles in Mark's life will resonate with readers and provide hope, not to mention a lot to dwell upon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    Truly Inspiring...

    I read this book in no time at all. It is an absolute page-turner and is filled with memorable characters and inspiring words. I was wrapped up in the story immediately. I think just about anyone could relate to this novel on some level. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2006

    WONDERFUL BOOK, GREAT WRITING

    Having read this book in one sitting, you can see that it just held me captive from the beginning to the very end. Richard Paul Evans has another winner -- don't pass up this book -- it's a definite 'must read.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A terrific allegorical tale

    Mark Smart is extremely depressed. First he made all ¿A¿s in his first year at the University of Utah, but due to cutbacks at the school his scholarship is dropped, his job at the Registrar terminated, and he cannot afford to remain there. His Alabama hometown girlfriend of four years sent him a Dear John letter informing him she is engaged to someone else. At work cleaning toilets at West High School, he is accused of stealing a CD player. These are minor nuisances that add to his anguish. Eleven days ago his beloved mom Alice died. Now driving at night in November, he plans to join her.-------------------- In Salt Lake City during an early snowstorm, Mark¿s sixteen years old car dies. He enters The Java Hut coffee shop as they are closing the place down for the night. There he meets kind hearted Macy Wood, who lets him cry on her shoulders. They quickly become friends, and soon afterward Mark knows his feelings are more than just gratitude he is in love. He proposes, but Macy says no. As he returns to Alabama to mend things with his estranged stepfather Stuart, another waitress Joette, who raised a teenage Macy, knows Macy loves Mark and plans to bring them back together even as his stepfather insists he go fight for what he loves.------------------ FINDING NOEL is a terrific allegorical tale that provides readers with encouragement to go after what you cherish and as a reminder that it is not the biological but the nurturing that makes love. Like Joseph raised someone else¿s child, Stuart and Joette were there to bring up a person not related to them by blood. Well written with a strong cast, Richard Paul Evans provides a wonderful life holiday tale.------------------ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2006

    Put a log on the fire...

    Put a log on the fire, find a comfortable place on the sofa and just enjoy this book. How wonderful it was to savor the experience of Finding Noel. I love books that take me down memory lane and this one did that and more. I love the characters who seem to be even more rich and wonderful. When I finished reading it, I felt as though I knew Mark and Macy and I loved them! I ached for them. I cried with them. And I hoped for them. Richard, this one could be your best yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    Finding Noel- The Perfect Christmas Gift!

    I have read many of Richard Paul Evans' books and have always loved the journey they take me on and the emotions I feel. After learning about Richard's mother passing away in February and knowing he wrote this book for her, it added to the beauty of this story. I really feel like the author wrote it with a lot of heart, emotion, pain, and love. Finding Noel is a beautiful story about how people come into our lives at the right time. As I read I could paint pictures in my mind of the characters, setting, and it made me appreciate the detail and cleverness that Richard uses in this story. It is a book that catches your interest from the start and keeps you hopeful and involved until the very last page. I have to admit the best part of the book to me is the Epilogue. I love the way the author ties in the true message of Christmas. As I closed the book I felt feelings of gratitude, love for my family, and inspiration to help others. This book is a wonderful gift for the holiday season!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2006

    A Warm Holiday Tale

    Finding Noel is a sweet story which harkens back to the roots of the author's past Christmas themes of longing for loved ones and fighting for what's most important in this life... and then holding on tight! His fans are in for a wonderful holiday treat... something to savour and to share.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2