Customer Reviews for

Finding Nouf

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2009

    Great insight to Saudi culture

    This was an excellent book devling into the cloistered lives of men and women in Saudi Arabia. I had pages and pages of emphathy to all the main characters and loved the descriptions of the desert and life in front of and behind a burqa. Highly recommended.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Great debut novel

    A great book about the lives of women in Saudi Ababia. A wonderful mystery, that kept me in suspense till the very end. I highly recommend this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    What A Read

    I haven't been captured by a novel like this in ages. The story, the writing, the cultural information, I could not put it down. This is truly an unforgettable read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    You simply won't be able to put it down!

    A fascinating read about the murder of a young Saudi Arabian girl from a wealthy family. The main characters, a female lab technician who is mostly veiled, and a Bedouin - Palestinian guide of the desert set out to solve this mystery and will capture your heart and your imagination. Pictures of Saudi life are an initmate look at the rich and poor by an author who has personal knowledge of this changing society. A wonderful page turner.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Lyrical descriptions amid gruesome crime scenes

    Ferraris displays a love of the desert, describing both the beauty and danger with poetic images. I really enjoyed her characterizations and the inner thought processes of the main protagonists - after reading this book, I feel as though I have a better understanding of Conservative Islam.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fine Story

    Also published under the title "The Night of the Mir'aj "

    Book1 in the Katya Hijazi series

    This is an unusual and engaging detective mystery that takes us inside Saudi Arabia, to the heart of a society normally closed to outsiders, thus offering a fascinating and riveting glimpse into the stricter side of the Islamic culture.

    The story is basically a run of the mill mystery but what makes it stand above many in its genre is the manner in which the author has conveyed her thoughts on a segment of Saudi life. This exquisitely written tale is told with respect, without judgement and from both female and male perspectives skilfully drawing the reader into the psyche of the author's finely portrayed protagonists.

    The suspense starts with sixteen year old Nouf disappearing from her house days before her arranged marriage and under murky circumstances. Could she have been kidnapped or has she run away? Her brother Othman seeks help from his trusted friend Nayir and asks him to investigate. A week into the investigation, Nayir and his Bedouin comrades discover Nouf's body in the desert outside Jeddah, but this leaves many questions to be answer. The coroner quickly rules Nouf's death an accident but lab assistant, Katya Hijazi, feels there is more to the story and shares her thoughts with Nayir. The fact that Nouf was pregnant and had defensive wounds sets off alarm bells, how can this be considered an accident? Katya and Nayir lead the reader through a maze of Saudi customs to find out what really happened..

    "Finding Nouf" is fast paced and loaded with twists and turns, very entertaining and captivating from start to finish

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Not only is there is ther enough suspense and plots twists to satisfy anyone who loves crime thrillers, what you learnn about women's lives in Saudi Arabia is worth the reading of the book alone. Plus you learn it in the most fun way -- trying to figure out what is going on. Please read this book just so you can read her seoond book "City of Veils" , which is even better but butter read after the first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    Highly Recommended-A must read

    Finding Nouf shows you the hidden life behind the Muslim culture. This book is an adventure full of twists and turns. Finding Nouf showed me the different types of lives all around the world. The book keeps you hooked until the end to find out what happened. Finding Nouf also expands your horizion on different religions and religious views. THis book is a great read and is good for anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    a great mystery

    This is one of the best mysteries I've read in a long time. It is set in Saudi Arabia and I have very little insight into whether it is an accurate depiction of their society but it feels right. I liked the characters and the plot was very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This was a book club selection for a club I recently attended at the Mansfield, MA library. I truly enjoyed this book. Found it to be a page turner, and I am looking forward to talking about it with the ladies at the library who are avid readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    ok to read

    this book was not great, not bad. it kept me insterstead in the way of life in other countries. i purchased the 2nd book. city of veils

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    Not worth the effort

    This book was incredibly contrived and the metaphors were tortured...at one point the deeply religious chaste man who got lost and kept driving around a roundabout of a phallic statue. The novel read as if Ferraris visited the region, saw a little of the culture, then wrote a book as if she were an expert. Which is basically what she did - she lived in the region for a few years when she married a guy from the area. She moved back to the states when they divorced. The whole novel reads like a value judgement on a culture that she's disenchanted with. The 'mystery' is not well-written and nothing becomes clear until the last few pages where the main character has to explain everything. Not worth the time or the money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    Intriguing and surprising!

    Finding Nouf is a completely fascinating mystery that I found hard to put down; I eagerly anticipated the next page. Though it is a 'detective novel' it gives remarkable insight into the Saudi culture, interwoven masterfully. It is the story of the disappearance of the 16 year old daughter of a wealthy and powerful Saudi family from the perspective of various characters. Every character is rich and well-developed, and each required thoughtful consideration on my part. I was completely enthralled and found the story to be entirely unpredictable, something that is a rarity! It is unbelievable that this is actually Zoe Ferraris' first novel and I can't wait for her next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Unputdownable!!!

    This is one of those books that you don't want to put down, but don't want to finish either. I enjoyed reading about the Saudi Culture. I can't wait for the next book from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    good book about Muslims - informative

    references about Koran - like the bible

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Not a bad book but not a good mystery!

    Yes, this is a very interesting look into Saudi culture and for that, I recommend it. But, as a mystery, it's crappy. Who actually "done it" in the end is not plausible or well developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3