Customer Reviews for

Finding Opa!

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    WOW THIS IS A MUST READ!!!

    This is the second book I've read by this author, and I think they just get better... This was such a treat to read. The characters where so real, the story was so believable and compelling, I was up all night I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    Enjoyable Story!

    I really liked this love story about two people who overcame the death of their spouses and found the strength to love again. Very sweet love story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Simply wonderful story. It was heartwarming tearful and funny. It is one of those books you will want to read more than once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    One of my All-Time Favorite IRR's & Definitely one of Latrivia's best!

    When it comes to IRR's, I'm a rather persnickety reader.. So with that being said, I'll this review short by giving you the basic info. This book was awesome! It had great characters and a storyline that was captivating and well-paced. I love the was that Ms. Nelson was able to give her readers a taste of Greek culture... Except for a few editing quirks, this book was absolutely pitch-perfect.

    Giving this one, 4 solid stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Enjoied

    This was a wonderful book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Anonoymous

    This book was a surprise. It was really a good read. Grieving for a love one can really do you in if you do not allow yourself to love again. This book was enjoyable. I agreed with Stacey sometimes you have to fight fire with especially within the contents of the story. Humility is good but when face with rudeness and racism base on a custom sometimes it is better to deal with it head on as Stacey did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Finding Opa!

    This being my first read of Ms Nelsons 'Lonely heart series' I was unsure what to expect. I am leery of buying books which depict BW as desperate or lacking till the perfect 'hero' sweeps in and turns their lives around - not my cup of tea at all. But this book was a lovely surprise - both Stacey and Hunter were complex individuals who had both suffered personal tragedies which defined their outlook on love & life in general. Both were successful in their respective fields (she, a bestselling author, he, a Doctor) and did not feel a desperate desire to be part of a relationship just because. If anything, I believe Stacey was financially better off than Hunter- a nice little touch.
    The gist of it goes like this: Stacey, struggling with writer's block and looming deadline's, needs inspiration in the form of an attractive male companion to help kick-start her new romance novel. Hunter...well Hunter simply needs a supportive friend and lover. What starts out as an intellectually satisfying friendship - with a healthy soupcon of mutual attraction- soon develops into a loving relationship.
    Stacey and Hunter help each other heal and move on from past losses; finding out they were pregnant was a lovely surprise heralding new beginnings. I found it so cute that it was Hunter who figured it out long before she did.

    Supporting characters add complex layers and parallel narratives without too much distraction but some of the racial issues arising from Hunters family are addressed in an unnatural manner. His family is openly hostile to Stacey because she is black. How how does she deal with it? Well...by boasting to them about her money, clout and connections. She subtly threatens to discredit Hunters brother's reputation with a client, proudly informs his gathered family and friends (it was quite the sideshow) about her last book being optioned for millions of dollars and passes on that her late husband was an astrophycist involved in major space programs. In my view, an immature way of viewing your self-worth. What if she did not have any of these going for her and was merely a regular girl, from a regular family with an average 9-5 job? Would she then have considered herself unworthy of respect or acceptance from his family? Whatever happened to just being yourself warts and all; a hopefully decent human being? If ultimately some family members remain hostile, so be it. Hunter was firmly in her corner and that would have to suffice.
    There was never really any drama between the two, any negativity stemmed from his family but never truly threatened the bond those two shared. Ultimately this was about a couple who having suffered greatly, recognised and nurtured the amazing gift of love they were blessed to receive as a second chance. Nobody was going to tear them apart.
    I really must add that it was refreshing to read a well-edited book which did not detract from the story.
    An overall engaging & quite touching read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Shes done it again!

    Did not disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    It was ok

    I found myself skipping more pages than I was reading. This was a bit slow. I guess maybe if I hadn't read it between the Medlov series I would have gotten into it more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!!!!

    This was the second book I read by this author, her stories are excellent... The characters in this story were well developed, the pace and flow of the story went well... I enjoyed how the characters relationship developed, and I hated it to end... An absolutely great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Good Read

    The book started off a little slow. I enjoyed the characters and how their romance developed. I was surprised how their relationship played out especially with both characters being mature and with one being a medical doctor. I can't wait for more books to come out in this series. I read "The Grunt" first and it was so good that this one was a little bit of a letdown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Great Read!

    Great Book, I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    L

    I loved this book! It ws the first book I read from this author, and I look forward to reading more from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely amazing

    It was truly a pleasure to read this story. Awesome characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    OPA!

    Ms. Nelson is still delivering great stories with interesting characters. Love the "Lonely Heart Series" looking forward to reading the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    The Best Book in the Series

    Finding Opa! is a wonderful love story that brings the reader into a range of emotions ending finally at true love. Hunter and Stacey were perfect together in this story. The love was not rushed and the story wasn't short or long, just right.

    I would recommend this one to anyone. This is what love stories are made of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Beautiful Story of Widowed Spouses

    I read this book in a day. Its a beautiful story of two widows still coping after the loss of their spouses. They were dealing with their own personal tragedies but found a WONDERFUL new beginning with each. Latrivia Nelson is a wonderful author and love the way she brings different situations to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2