Customer Reviews for

Finding Our Way Home

Average Rating 3.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Even in times when we think we can't, such as career ending inju

Even in times when we think we can't, such as career ending injuries, faith is a must. And that is what Sasha must have as she moves home after an injury ends her career as a ballerina.
It's not just her injuries that limit her though, the death of her mother haunts her...
Even in times when we think we can't, such as career ending injuries, faith is a must. And that is what Sasha must have as she moves home after an injury ends her career as a ballerina.
It's not just her injuries that limit her though, the death of her mother haunts her.
When Sasha realizes that she needs help, she hires a 19 year old named Evelyn, as opposite from her as one could get. Evelyn sees life as a great opportunity, while Sasha continues to dwell on the could have beens.
In order for Sasha to heal, the two form an unlikely bond that is sweet and really made me think of some of my own friendships and why and how they have formed.
This is a great book and one I would recommend to anyone who was at a loss for faith, at a crossroads in life and needed that little extra pick me up to help them get through the situation.
I will definitely be looking for more of this authors work.


I received this book for free in exchange for a fair and honest review. This review is my own opinion and was not biased in any way..

posted by Fireflychayser on August 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

After my life settled down a tad, I decided to give it a go and

After my life settled down a tad, I decided to give it a go and read this lovely book. The story starts off with Sasha, the once famous prima ballerina… Sitting in an old rocking chair, remembering the years past. After suffering a horrific fall, Sasha moves home...
After my life settled down a tad, I decided to give it a go and read this lovely book. The story starts off with Sasha, the once famous prima ballerina… Sitting in an old rocking chair, remembering the years past. After suffering a horrific fall, Sasha moves home. Eager to separate herself from the ballet world. Due to her injury however she requires a home health aid, Evelyn Burt. Miss Burt is completely opposite of Sasha. Big boned, bossy, sharp tongued.. But she grows on you! Evelyn not only helps Sasha heal physically but mentally as well.

When I first started reading this book, I couldn’t figure out if I liked the book or not. I just couldn’t put my finger on what was with this book. Was it the characters? Was it how the story was portrayed? Nope.. None of that.. Then I realized this was a Snow Globe Novel. The author Charlene Ann Baumbich is famous for writing these books about snow globes and how they are a metaphor for the lead character’s life and blah blah blah! Honestly, I wanted to like this book until I realized it was a snow globe novel. I think this book would have done just fine if the snow globe storyline had just been left out!

I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I was not require to post a positive review. These opinions are mine and mine alone.

posted by gnimelf on August 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    Even in times when we think we can't, such as career ending inju

    Even in times when we think we can't, such as career ending injuries, faith is a must. And that is what Sasha must have as she moves home after an injury ends her career as a ballerina.
    It's not just her injuries that limit her though, the death of her mother haunts her.
    When Sasha realizes that she needs help, she hires a 19 year old named Evelyn, as opposite from her as one could get. Evelyn sees life as a great opportunity, while Sasha continues to dwell on the could have beens.
    In order for Sasha to heal, the two form an unlikely bond that is sweet and really made me think of some of my own friendships and why and how they have formed.
    This is a great book and one I would recommend to anyone who was at a loss for faith, at a crossroads in life and needed that little extra pick me up to help them get through the situation.
    I will definitely be looking for more of this authors work.


    I received this book for free in exchange for a fair and honest review. This review is my own opinion and was not biased in any way..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    The concept of having to find your way home as an adult has many

    The concept of having to find your way home as an adult has many layers. Sasha Davis' life is centered around being and breathing ballet in Boston. Due to a major injury she must end her career and return to her childhood home where her mother has recently died. Where and what is home?? She has left her husband and life that she loved to return to what she had left behind long ago. Only now she is incapable of independence. In order to recuperate she must hire help which comes in the form of her opposite: Evelyn Burr. The two start off as polar opposites. Sasha fine and delicate, reserved and polished, and alone. While Evelyn is large boned, very outgoing and newly engaged. This warm and thoroughly grasps you by your heartstrings novel takes you on the journey of Sasha truly coming home and learning what home can be and is. And what a true friend can be in spite of first impressions. This novel is a must read You will find it one you will want to share with those kindred spirits in your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2013

    When principal ballerina Sasha Davis suffers a career-ending inj

    When principal ballerina Sasha Davis suffers a career-ending injury at age thirty-eight, she leaves her Boston-based dance company and retreats to the home of her youth in Minnesota. But Sasha’s injuries limit her as much as her mother’s recent death haunts her. Concluding she can’t recover alone, Sasha reluctantly hires a temporary live-in aide.    Enter the übercapable Evelyn Burt. As large-boned as Sasha is delicate, Evelyn is her employer’s opposite in every way. Small town to Sasha’s urban chic, outgoing to Sasha’s iciness, and undaunted where Sasha is hopeless, nineteen-year-old Evelyn is newly engaged and sees the world as one big, shiny opportunity.     Evelyn soon discovers Sasha needs to heal more than bones. Slowly, as the wounds begin to mend and the tables tilt, the two women form an unlikely alliance and discover the astounding power of even the smallest act done in the name of love.
    Charlene Ann Baumbich delivers a heart warming, charming story about a unique bond that develops over pain, tears, laughter, encouraging and helping others. A good example and reminder of how true friendships can be formed and stand the stormy trials of life. Also how the young can learn from those older than them, and how the  "old" can learn from years younger. 
    A light read that makes one feel good when the last page is turned and completed.
    WaterBrook Multnomah sent me this complimentary copy to review for them. All opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Finding Our Way Home is a winsome story that stirs the heart and

    Finding Our Way Home is a winsome story that stirs the heart and breaks the cobwebs of complacency. You’re left in the end with hope. Evelyn’s voice crackles with youth and optimism. Her stubbornness gets her in trouble, but in the end it is the blessing of Evelyn’s outspokenness and hope which turns Sasha’s life around.

    Sasha begins as an angry, self-absorbed woman who can’t stop feeling sorry for herself. It wasn’t just the fall that took away her ability to dance, but the secrets she feels would have made her estranged husband unforgiving. Instead of allowing Donald Major to be the helpmate she needed during her time of therapy and in learning to walk again, Sasha hides in her mother’s old house

    Who was Jordan? Why did he seem so cavalier and shallow when Evelyn needed direction? The strained relationship with Evelyn and her dad over Jordan is a familiar story. I’m sure every woman and teen could resonate with it, but you’re never sure if Jordan is a bad fiancé. He’s not obviously bad. At times, he is likable and responsible. His home life is a mystery to Evelyn.

    As you get deeper into the novel, it is Sasha and Evelyn who become fast friends, helping each other through the difficulties to come.
    Disclaimer- I was provided an advanced copy of Finding Our Way Home from WaterBrook Multnomah via their Blogging for Books program in return for my review. All thoughts stated here are 100% my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Finding our way home is a book about 2 women in very different p

    Finding our way home is a book about 2 women in very different places in their lives that come together in the town they both grew up in and both learn to trust and grow as they work towards a healthier relationship with their loved ones.

    This book is about Grace. Looking for grace in everyday things, asking for grace when there is nothing else to do, searching for grace when it seems there is none to be found, and hoping for grace when life seems a mess.

    The main characters are Sasha, a principal ballerina who finds herself suddenly at the end of a lifelong dream after an injury. Evelyn who is just starting out on her life's journey and doesn't yet know where it will lead. And Sasha's husband Donald who suffers his wife's injury almost more than she does, but through grace finds his way home as well. The two women, Evelyn and Sasha couldn't be more different and their differences are what makes them work so well together.

    This story is well written, the characters are well-rounded and seem real. The book gives just enough background into the world of dance to give a reader a good grasp on everything Sasha loses with her injury, and how far she has to come through grace to emerge at the end of the book as she does. It touches on small town life and looks at the first flight of a little bird just leaving the nest in Evelyn. It shows her desire to be free of the home nest, but also that its ok to come home if you need to. After a rather bad day Evelyn goes to her parents home and with her tear-stained face tells her parents that she can't even talk about what happened, the next line in the book really stood out for me...

    " They (her parents and Evelyn) stood in a circle until her parents' love soaked thoroughly enough into Evelyn that she could finally dare to look at them" I love the imagery of that sentence!

    I enjoyed this book, again something a little different from my usual choices, but a good summer read that I would recommend to anyone.

    “I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review”.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Home is not a place, memory or gift in this sweet tale Sasha si

    Home is not a place, memory or gift in this sweet tale

    Sasha sits wrapped in her shawl like an old woman, but injury and depression have led her here, not age, and the outspoken young housekeeper Evelyn might be just who she needs to bring her home. Author Charlene Anne Baumbich explores the sudden end of a brilliant ballerina’s career with a sensitive ear for the deadening silence of depression, lightening the tale with Evelyn’s eager hopes for a home of her own. Soon both characters will learn that “home” isn’t a house or memory or gift, but a state of being, chosen and maintained with care and love. It’s a wise lesson well taught in this gentle tale.

    There are some lightly mystical elements in this novel, a snowglobe ballerina whose stance hides precious advice, the sweet blessing of “Grace, Amen,” before meals, and the gentle reminders to lift our problems to God. But church and serious prayer stay far away on the wings—not a “let-me-convert-you” story, or even a “let-me-make-you-want-to-be-converted,” this is more of a tale that acknowledges there’s more to life than eyes can see and lets the reader decide what to believe.

    Sasha and Evelyn are very different characters, petite and large, boss and servant, silent and outspoken. The author renders their points of view very convincingly and gradually reveals the secret hurts both hide. Both awkward in their movements now, both unsure in their loves, they stumble towards friendship and healing and find their way in a world that’s not filled with easy answers but is filled with hope.

    A satisfying tale, I enjoyed reading this and would be happy to read other snowglobe tales by this author.



    Disclosure: I received a free copy from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Finding Our Way Home by Charlene Baumbich was a different kind o

    Finding Our Way Home by Charlene Baumbich was a different kind of story of love, perseverance, friendship, and overcoming the obstacles that the Lord places in our lives.
    Sasha Davis was a dancer, but not just any dancer, she was a ballet dancer, a principle dancer in one of the most prestigious academy’s in Boston. She is living in Wanoninshaw, WI now, using a wheel chair, and cooped up in a house full of sorrows. For you see, Sasha Davis took a fall at one of her performances and injured herself to the point where she is unable to dance. Therefore, because it was all she knew and because she still had many years of dance before she had to retire she is living in her mother’s old house, feeling sorrowful and alone.
    Evelyn Burt, is a 20 year old who has chosen to stick around her hometown with her fiancé and do odd jobs for people as she finds her purpose in life, rather than go to college. Evelyn interviews with Ms. Davis for the job of in-home care worker and is chosen. Evelyn is extremely head strong and usually speaks what is on her mind, until it gets her in a few binds with Sasha Davis.
    These two eventually become friends and have a relationship that is different than any other normal friendship or boss-employee relationship. They come to rely on each other in a way that shows God’s hand is behind it all.
    I enjoyed reading this story. This was the first I have read by Carlene Baumbich and look forward to reading more as it was written very well, with great descriptions.
    I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah’s Blogging for Books program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sasha is at home recovering from a career ending fall. She's nev

    Sasha is at home recovering from a career ending fall. She's never dance again and her life is full of misery and self pity. Evelyn has been hired on as Sasha's personal assistant. Their personalities couldn't be farther apart. Sasha is miserable and depressed. Evelyn is optimistic and full of life.
    As time goes by they both realize that they need each other and a beautiful friendship begins.

    This story was sweet. It would make a good rainy afternoon book. It has some depth to it, but if you are looking for a quick, feel good book than this is perfect. The author was able to give the characters some depth and while very little surprised me I enjoyed the flow of the story.
    The book is a fun fast read that I would recommend if you want to end with a smile on your face.

    I received this book free of charge from WaterBrook in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Life can be disappointing, but with drive and determination, Sas

    Life can be disappointing, but with drive and determination, Sasha and Evelyn, the two main characters in this interesting novel find reasonable resolutions. Sasha a famous ballet dancer suffers a career-ending fall; the story opens with her in a wheelchair. She needs help and hires Evelyn, a large, clumsy nineteen-year-old who is madly in love with Jordan, a player. Evelyn decides to forego college to remain with him.

    A snowglobe containing a ballet dancer becomes a tailsman, adding a magical touch.

    I recommend this one!

    Thank you to Kelly Blewett at KBK Public Relations and Waterbrook Press for my copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lives can change in a moment, sometimes for the better and somet

    Lives can change in a moment, sometimes for the better and sometimes for the worse. Sasha Davis was a prima ballerina until a tragic fall ended her career. Her depression is deep, causing her to push away from the people she loves. But she needs help, and Evelyn Burt is hired to be her personal assistant. At 19, Evelyn has her whole life ahead of her, but is dealing with the pressures of her parents desire for her to attend college, and her desire to marry Jordyn. As the two women spend time together, they become friends helping each other overcome negative thoughts and feelings. Will Sasha be able to move past the loss of her dream and find something new to fill up her time? Will her marriage weather the storms? Will Evelyn listen to her parents or to her heart? Can life ever be wonderful again after severe change?

    This is a wonderful story of change, hope, friendship, and love. The characters pull you into their stories and make you feel their sorrows and joys. The story moves along at a good pace and will hold your attention. It will make a wonderful gift for readers of all types, and book discussion groups will enjoy discussing the many topics held in the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Dance Home

    Finding Our Way Home is heartfelt book about a ballet dancer,(Sasha) who suffers a injury that jeopardizes her career in Ballet. Initially, I was skeptical about this book, but after reading it, it is a nice novel for a car trip or a vacation. If you are looking for a book with a great story, this is the one.

    Sasha has to leave her Ballet company in Boston to return home to Minnesota. While in Minnesota, Sasha hires a woman named Evelyn who is recently engaged to a man name Jordyn. The two woman could be nothing but opposite of one another. As the two woman go through different ups and downs, they realize they aren't so different after all. Grace plays a huge role in both Sasha and Evelyns life.


    Sasha hasn't seen her husband and Evelyn wants to be married before going to college. This book has lots of ups and downs, but through it all, Evelyn and Sasha find great friendship, grace and healing in unexpected places.

    Thank you Waterbrook for allowing me to review this book. The opinions expressed are my own. This is a cute little book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1