Customer Reviews for

Finding Your Own North Star: Claiming the Life You Were Meant to Live

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Possibly the best life change book I've ever read

I picked up Finding Your Own North Star while doing research for a self-help book I am co-authoring, thinking I would look at it, figure out what was worng with it, and put it down. Instead I was blown away. This was by far the best book on life change I have ever seen,...
I picked up Finding Your Own North Star while doing research for a self-help book I am co-authoring, thinking I would look at it, figure out what was worng with it, and put it down. Instead I was blown away. This was by far the best book on life change I have ever seen, with the possible exception of Barbara Sher's classic, Wishcraft. Martha Beck shows you how to follow your own body and inner awareness to create the life God meant you to live -- a life of joy, in harmony with who you really are. Not pie in the sky in the least, this book lays down the practical steps you need to take to listen to your inner self and turn your desires into reality. If you're the kind of person who believes that life is a vale of suffering stacked against you, that only the incredibly lucky, talented and smart will do anything remotely like what they want to do, and the rest of us have to resign ourselves to our compromised fate with the help of religion, television and ironic wisecracks, then this is definitely not the book for you. But if you secretly believe that you deserve to be happy and do what you love to do, and have been waiting for someone to come along and give you permission and some instruction on how to make it happen, then look no farther -- click this book into your shopping cart. On the jacket sleeve, Martha Beck looks like Mary Martin playing Peter Pan. And she really is like Peter Pan, sprinkling fairy dust on people and telling them they can fly. And she'd never, never tell you to grow up and wear a tie and a serious expression, unless ties and serious expressions really, really turned you on. I heartily recommend this book to any genuine life seeker of any age.

posted by Anonymous on April 16, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

All of book not readable on nook

Can not read the exercise pages on nook. Miss the whole point of the current subject

posted by jda0001 on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2001

    Possibly the best life change book I've ever read

    I picked up Finding Your Own North Star while doing research for a self-help book I am co-authoring, thinking I would look at it, figure out what was worng with it, and put it down. Instead I was blown away. This was by far the best book on life change I have ever seen, with the possible exception of Barbara Sher's classic, Wishcraft. Martha Beck shows you how to follow your own body and inner awareness to create the life God meant you to live -- a life of joy, in harmony with who you really are. Not pie in the sky in the least, this book lays down the practical steps you need to take to listen to your inner self and turn your desires into reality. If you're the kind of person who believes that life is a vale of suffering stacked against you, that only the incredibly lucky, talented and smart will do anything remotely like what they want to do, and the rest of us have to resign ourselves to our compromised fate with the help of religion, television and ironic wisecracks, then this is definitely not the book for you. But if you secretly believe that you deserve to be happy and do what you love to do, and have been waiting for someone to come along and give you permission and some instruction on how to make it happen, then look no farther -- click this book into your shopping cart. On the jacket sleeve, Martha Beck looks like Mary Martin playing Peter Pan. And she really is like Peter Pan, sprinkling fairy dust on people and telling them they can fly. And she'd never, never tell you to grow up and wear a tie and a serious expression, unless ties and serious expressions really, really turned you on. I heartily recommend this book to any genuine life seeker of any age.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sterring Straight On Course

    This has got to be one of the best and most useful books on changing your life that I have ever read. Beck is practical, insightful and compassionate, and she leavens her wisdom with wry, engaging humour. There are far too many books out there that purport to help you make meaningful changes to your life. However, Beck's is the real deal. She presents the tools to recognise what is going on in oneself, and provides simple, pragmatic (albeit not easy) ways to deal with those issues.

    The breadth and depth of her approach is part of why it is so useful. She has figured out the mechanics of change and the ways to deal with resistance. She has walked this difficult road and made those important changes, and shares those lessons with her readers.

    It's not easy work but it is so valuable. I have recommended this book to many of my friends who are also seeking meaningful change in their lives.

    This book is a gift - I salute Martha Beck for writing it

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    Shining Star!

    This book provides excellent questions for the reader to be able to find their own path. Good use of humor and intelligence to communicate to the reader. I hate "self-help books" but I love this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Brilliant

    If you enjoy the sample, you will love the book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    Great book...

    Finding Your Own North Star is truly an amazing book. It really makes you dig deep within yourself. Martha takes you through the steps on how to find old outdated beliefs that are interfering with your current life and helps you change them. Have you ever felt stuck in life and unable to move forward? Or keep finding yourself repeating the same problem over and over, yet expecting different results? I would recommend reading this book, because chances are your mind has an old outdated belief that is hindering you from moving forward with your life. You won't be disappointed in this book, if you follow the steps she clearly outlines.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Finding Your Own North Star: Claiming the Life You Were Meant to Live

    Exceptional "how to" book for recognizing life changes and implementing steps to help ensure success.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2003

    Highly recommended...very inspiring!

    I had the pleasure of receiving this book as a gift from my sister who knew I was going through some tough times and thought I would appreciate some insight that might help me sort out my feelings. I absolutely loved it. This was an easy read, very motivating, awe-inspiring, and helpful for someone who might be confused or conflicted. I highly recommend this because it is an easy read, grabs your full attention, and it really serves its purpose well: to help you identify what your life means to "You." It doesn't try to tell you how to think or what decisions to make. Rather, it gives you pointers on sorting out your feelings in a way that is acceptable to you. I loved this book. Martha Beck truly is one of my new idols now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2002

    a GREAT book to read

    This book is a good book if you are into Psychology. After I read this book I understood more and I will read it another time! Feel free to e-mail me and we can talk about the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2002

    Wonderful Book!

    This book is wonderful if you are into Psychology. It helps you understand it better and it is a very interesting book. I'm glad I bought it and I already read it twice. Great Book and it keeps you busy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2001

    She's a great teacher

    I've lisned to Martha at a Comference for Special Olympics and her adivce is a good one. I am going to get the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2001

    My teacher reads this book!!!

    I haven't read this book yet, but my teacher said it is a good book and I am going to buy and read it.....even though I haven't read this book yet I know it is a book that has a 5 star rate

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Darkclaw to Ice

    I could. Where at.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Wolfpaw

    She touched noses with her and dragged her self back to the med den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Skyclaw to nike

    I can spy on them i could a cat in their clan and find out things if u like

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Nike URGENT

    Revolution is trying take over all clans and i need your help for more information visit araf res1 and watch out he might be attacking you next so come meet us at araf res1 for information

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Moonflower

    Hello im moonflower a white she cat with blue eyes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    LostSpirit --||-- Clan Meeting! --||--

    LostSpirit jumps up onto the High Log. He looks down at the camp, and the finally active Clan. His eyes shone with pride, and he smiled as he yowled, "ALL CATS OLD ENOUGH TO CATCH THEIR OWN PREY, GATHER BENEATH THE HIGH LOG FOR A CLAN MEETING!" He watches the cats assmeble and nods to them. "Thank you all for advertising! We are becoming active again! Now, please keep adverising, because we don't want to fall inactive again! Please. Even if it's just once or twice a week. Alright, now for more important things! We have gather here today for some ceremonies! First, I'd like to give a warm-welcoming! Moonflower, Echoleaf, Wolfkit, Mossshadow, Fadedblood, Spacepaw, Tawnyripple, Lostmoon, Skyclaw, Blackfur, and Cheetahpelt have joined NorthClan recently! Let's greet them with respect, and treat them as if they were in NorthClan all their lives! Second cermony: Spacepaw needs a mentour! We have many warriors that I could've chose from. But I respect PetalStorm, and she has done lots for this Clan. PetalStorm, please teach Spacepaw your patience, strength, and wisdom! You'll be a wonderful mentour! And i can tell Spacepaw will be a wonderful apprentice!," he stops for a second, catching his breath. "Now! Last part of our ceremony! GoldenHope has picked a MCA (Medicine Cat Apprentice)!!!! Wolfkit, I now name you Wolfpaw! And you will be the MCA of NorthClan! Your mentour is Goldenhope! Goldenhope, teach her your knowledge, and caring spirit! Wolfpaw shall be known as this, until Golden thinks she's ready for a full name! Then and only then, can Wolf become the official second Medicine Cat of NorthClan! Now, thank y'all for your time! Clan dismissed!" He jumps down and pads over to each of them, shaking their paws, and giving them all a warm welcome, and a smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    DappleTail

    Dipped her head and blushed. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Petalstorm

    She touched noses with Spacepaw. ~Petalstorm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Ashstorm's spirit

    He smiles down at his family. He Nuzzled his sister, and purred, "Goldenhope, you will do great things in life..." and then he rose back to Starclan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2