Customer Reviews for

Finding Your Way in a Wild New World: Reclaim Your True Nature to Create the Life You Want

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The ultimate guide to your best life

    ¿When the student is ready, the teacher will appear¿ is a truth that will manifest itself over and over as this exciting new book is read and shared and read again. The number of markers and underlines and margin notes in my preview copy are testaments to the fact I was ready. I devoured it and now am going back to start practicing the many exercises. The book¿s purpose is to help you more clearly identify ¿what you should be doing with your one wild and precious life.¿

    The author, Martha Beck, has outstanding educational and life experience credentials for writing this book. It is both a sharing of her own life journey as well as a manifesto for anyone ready to embrace their own best life. With a B.A. in East Asian Studies and master¿s and Ph.D. degrees in sociology from Harvard University, Beck is a trained observer and analyst. Her coaching specialty is helping people design satisfying and meaningful life experiences. She first got on my radar screen as a columnist for Oprah Magazine, where I am regularly impressed with her no-nonsense, delightfully humorous approach to issues about life¿s questions, fears, and psychological roadblocks.

    Martha has known tragedy, sadness, and self-limiting thoughts. She is an excellent guide for empowering others to overcome their own life issues. FINDING YOUR WAY IN A WILD NEW WORLD is her ultimate guidebook, the best of her teaching and philosophy in one zinger of a book.

    FINDING YOUR WAY IN A WILD NEW WORLd is not going to resonate with everyone. Some will dismiss it as just another pop cultural self-help book. Others will use terms like ¿woo-woo¿ and ¿New Age nonsense.¿ They¿d be selling it short. I am a devout Christian with an insatiable curiosity and open mind about spirituality and human potential. This book was filled with research-based findings on the power of our connectedness with each other and with all living things in nature (flora and fauna), and I believe people of any faith will find it enriches, rather than contradicts, their core beliefs.

    Beck includes many practical exercises for each section of her book, all designed to exercise the parts of our brain that we don¿t use enough, to train ourselves to focus our attention, and to tap into the energy that is mostly likely to allow us to find and cultivate our own best selves. They¿re designed to get us out of our mental ruts!

    Here are some hints that this book might be perfect for you right now:
    ¿ If you feel a yearning that you can¿t identify or suppress.
    ¿ If you feel the need for clarity and purpose in your life.
    ¿ If you¿re afraid to do things that you think you¿d love to do.
    ¿ If wild success and abysmal failure both scare you.
    ¿ If you feel fragmented with no clear focus in your life.
    ¿ If your wild fantasies seem impossible but won¿t let you go.
    ¿ If you feel you¿re about to explode with possibilities and potential but can¿t grab on to that one thing that feels just right.
    ¿ If you feel the world is changing so fast you can¿t keep up.
    ¿ If you feel stuck and unproductive.
    ¿ If you feel in need of emotional healing before you can move on to your real purpose of healing others.
    ¿ If you desperately want to make a difference with the rest of your life but don¿t know what on earth you that might ¿look like.¿

    If any one of these rings true, you owe it to yourself to read this book. If the timing is right for you, you¿ll gain clarity, focus, and powerful tools for living abundantly in the best se

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Loved it!

    For me, this book is the culmination of the right-life seeking tools Martha's been teaching in Finding Your Own North Star and Steering by Starlight. As someone who always knew deep inside that there was more for me yet had no clue how to access that inner wisdom, I love how Martha gives the reader concrete science-based information about how to do just that. And in this book, she unleashes her storytelling skills to tell us about the magic that happens as a result using the tools she teaches. This book is the perfect mashup of Martha at her best: spiritual storyteller plus pragmatist with more than a liberal dash of humor. Loved it!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    Reading this book now, every day on a crowded commuter train to

    Reading this book now, every day on a crowded commuter train to a major city. This book has helped me to cope, and encouraged me to look at the bigger picture, and not to sweat the small stuff - and has helped me to stay calm when confronted with rude, selfish and even nasty behavior. Recommended for those seeking more than material stuff, but answers to the more important questions in life, and ways to find a centered - not self-centered - way forward in this crazy world.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Interesting ...

    ... that most 1* ratings for this were from LDS (& FLDS?) Members. Also, that the terms "NEVER Happens", "Only focused on NEGATIVES" & "NO PROOF" were used in those reviews with Obvious Arrogance, Ignorance & Superiority.

    OF COURSE SEXUAL ABUSE OCCURS IN THE LDS! Just as it does in EVERY organized Religion in the world. Pedophiles exist in EVERY denomination & culture; to say otherwise is complete, blind & mindless Ignorance of the highest order.

    Pedophiles LOOK for situations & organizations where they have access to children. If the organization has distrust for outsiders & belief in secrecy (for whatever reason), that's a Pedophile's DREAM!

    The good Lord gave ALL brains & the ability to think for ourselves; anyone who's willing to surrender that God-given right to ANY group, person or organization is WRONG. To bring a child into that atmosphere is REPREHENSIBLE.

    I was raised in the 1st Christian, Disciples of Christ church; but my Parents never stopped me from going to church with friends, so I attended other churches: Catholic, Church of Christ, Baptist, SOUTHERN Baptist, Methodist, Jehovah's Witness, Lutheran, Old- School Pentecostal, Charismatic/Spirit-filled Pentecostal & yes, LDS. Also, in the past 15 Yrs. or so, I've enjoyed being able to use the internet to research deeper into these & "others" (scientology).

    I have a brother who's an Ordained Minister with 1st Christian & a sister-in-law of 43 YRS. who's Morman ... so don't think for a second that I haven't either been present during "discussions" & part of them as I got older. I've also read the Bible cover-cover several times.

    I've discovered many things over the decades, but a couple of lessons I've learned with NO DOUBT in my mind & spirit are:
    1. A "church" that has secret ceremonies, initiations, rituals &/or beliefs CAN'T BE TRUSTED for the simple but powerful fact that a "church" with secret ANYTHINGS = an organization with secrets to hide.

    2. Churches who perptuate the belief that to be forgiven or to get to Heaven you have to go through another HUMAN BEING; whether it's an "apostle", "prophet", "priest"", etc. is full of it. YOU ask God for forgiveness, direction in life, guidance (the directions for this is in the Bible) ... you DON'T need a "go-between".

    3. A Preacher, Teacher, Leader, Priest can be an "Advisor"; as they've been to Bible College, Seminary, etc., studied the Bible & you should always feel comfortable going to them for help if you're struggling with how to apply Scripture to your life or as a confidant if you need to talk or counseling. They are NOT; however, your "ticket to Heaven".

    I don't believe God decided to have a scavenger hunt for additional books or a "sequel" to the Bible, that a person needed magical peeping stones, glasses, magnifying glass, bum knee or a special lazy eye to interpret it.

    I also don't how a not even mediocre Sci-Fi writer; who said to his poker-buddies "You wanna make money? Invent a Religion" was then touched by God & ended up writing a book most Sci-Fi fans would boycott for lameness ... & then scientology was born.

    READ ... RESEARCH ... STUDY any idea someone tries to sell you, ESPECIALLY IF IT WILL REQUIRE LEAVING YOUR LIFE, FRIENDS & FAMILY ... & if it doesn't pass the "smell test" ... get that thing in your rearview mirror & keep on keepin' on.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Loved it...as I love all of Martha's books, columns and presenta

    Loved it...as I love all of Martha's books, columns and presentations. She does her research and she presents complex concepts in a very easy to digest way. She never fails to enlighten and inspire me. Thank you Martha!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Great timing

    This book really speaks to the current times and how the corporate world is dissolving from the industrial age to a new age. Old job labels do not mean the same and individual talent, that is our God given skill, is more useful than ever. If you never had or just don't won't to fit the normal career labels...this is your time. What a relief for so many people. If you have been a Martha Beck follower...this book will not disappoint. You will get to know her even better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    Ms. Beck offers a wonderful book about navigating the world toda

    Ms. Beck offers a wonderful book about navigating the world today. Utilizing ancient techniques gleaned from shamanism, she lays out how each of us can find our purpose and change the world, in ways big and small. She describes the Four Technologies of Magic: Wordlessness, Oneness, Imagination, and Forming. She offers many real-world examples, often involving animal interactions, as well as exercises to practice these techniques. I have to admit that I still haven't mastered spoon-bending but I keep trying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Iiuytrewertui

    Qeeryuoppyqqryip

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Sikver

    "Ill come," she said and bagan to walk away.~Silver

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Kit

    "You're going to be on the naughty list." The snow white kit giggles, the bow on her head bouncing as she does. "Santa isn't very happy when cats are on the naughty list." She grins, revealing sharp fangs.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Burningstar

    Hunting area
    Burningstar

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2