Customer Reviews for

Finding Your Zone: Ten Core Lessons for Achieving Peak Performance in Sports and Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    Dr. Lardon Hits One Out of the Park!

    Finding Your Zone is a must read for anyone interested in becoming the best they can be. I found the book very inspirational, especially the section about dreams and how they can translate to really being your best. Dr. Lardon uses evidence based methods in psychology to help athletes and non-athletes achieve their full potential. In a very Buddhist like manner, focus on the moment's activity helps one achieve the Zone. I was enthralled with his many examples of actual world class athletes descriptions of their moments of perfection, and how they went on to use the same techniques in life after sports. I will be giving this book to my children and friends to use for their own pursuits and to achieve their own Zone. Bravo Dr. Lardon for achieving your Zone in this wonderful book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!

    I picked this book up in San Diego and read it in one sitting on the plane ride back to the East Coast. I usually sleep on cross country flights, but I could not put this book down. It is a great read, full of inspiring stories and anecdotes. <BR/><BR/>Dr. Lardon's insight and guidance into how to achieve peak performance in any aspect of life, not just in sports, is worthy our everybody's attention. Having listened to a myriad of motivational speakers over my career and read countless books on the subject, Dr. Lardon's lessons are elegant in their simplicity and applicability to everyday life. <BR/><BR/>As a former athlete, I felt those days when everything I did was perfect -when I was "in the zone". As a professional, husband and father, the experience is the same, just in a different setting. Finding the zone is an amazing feeling ... being able to experience it on a regular basis escapes most people. This book can help us all to experience it just a little bit more often. <BR/><BR/>A very worthwhile read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    I devoured this book!

    As a mental game coach, I absolutely recommend this book to both athltes and people who want to foucs in achieving their dreams. This book helped reinforce my passion in working with athletes. I read it in two days, I just could not put it down! If you want to find your zone and really enjoy and do what you love in life, you should read this book. It is beautifully written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2008

    A success on many levels

    I sat down to read this book without any expectations. After all, there are so many books out there along the lines of 'The Five Steps to ...' etc., etc., could this really be much different? But after reading one of the early chapters on dreams, it became clear to me that this book was a labor of love by Dr. Lardon, and that he had a great deal of original and insightful things to share. First, the book is very accessible. It is not a difficult or slow read at all, as Dr. Lardon brings each chapter alive with entertaining and enlightening stories from many of the elite professional athletes he has known and worked with. The book can be read for the pure enjoyment of these vignettes alone! Yet along with all the interesting anecdotes, Dr. Lardon succeeds in presenting his ideas in how to 'Find Your Zone' in a way that the average person can understand. The book is instructive without ever being dry or pedantic, and the lessons can be applied by anyone, to almost any endeavor. Perhaps that's why he titled it 'Finding Your Zone' as opposed to 'Finding the Zone'. I can't imagine anyone reading it and not coming away with some insight into how to improve their performance, no matter what their field or occupation. And despite the easy readability and entertaining aspects of the book, make no mistake, this is a serious effort at explaining a very real phenomenon, and for anyone engaged in a competitive pursuit, the book should be an invaluable tool, one that can put to lifelong use for achieving their goals. I hope this is the first of many such efforts from Dr, Lardon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    TW needs to find his ZONE

    My hero, TW, has fallen from grace and is now at his rock bottom.
    He needs Dr. Lardon's professional help now. He could start to Find His Zone. I hope he can real soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    Former Nationwide Tour player must read

    I found this book after reading an excerpt in GolfWeek. It is a great read for sharpening your mental performance. I played professionally from 1996-2001 and always struggled with the mental side of the game. I tried Rotella/Valiante/Cohn/etc and all I felt was clich&#233; gimmicks. Dr. Lardon actually has a method and strategy to improvement as opposed to "see it, feel it, trust it" or whatever. In 2008 I decided to dedicate myself to being competitive in state and national amateur golf tournaments. I read his book to try another strategy, and amazingly, using Dr. Lardon's methodology I was able to eliminate all the distractions in my head and focus on the task at hand. In the 2008 US Mid-Am I had a 12 footer for 29 on the opening 9 holes of stroke play and due to engrossing myself in his mental strategy I didn't even realize it was for 29 until after I knocked it in. I felt so strong in the mental process I was developing I decided to enter the PGA Tour Qualifying Tournament that year as a 35 year old amateur.and made it through all four stages to the Nationwide Tour. His 2nd scorecard strategy, as well as numerous other methods truly allow the player to get in the right frame of mind for every shot. If you apply his recommendations correctly and consistently it will be a turning point in the development of your game. Absolutely a must for anyone who wants to elevate their game.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    Peak Performance in life

    I survived cancer through positive thinking and a will to live. I read every book I could get my hands on with regards to having a positive influence on my life and those around me. Finding Your Zone is by far the best book I have come across for accomplishing just that. The great thing about this book is that Dr. Lardons ten core lessons can be applied in all aspects of life wether it is fighting a disease or winning your club championship.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2008

    Enlightening, Engaging and Essential Read

    Dr. Lardon¿s message beautifully envelopes the essence of science, medicine, physiology, psychology, and spirituality in a sports format that the layman can identify, understand and integrate into his consciousness. It is written in such an anecdotal and user friendly format that the quintessential wisdom is absorbed almost effortlessly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    A Winning Formula!

    Many books have been written on how to improve your swing or generally hone your athletic performance. 'Finding Your Zone' focuses instead on the mind and its impact on our ability to perform our best, in whatever area of life. The book succinctly lays out steps even the weekend warrior can use to optimize athletic performance or meditate better! What gives 'Finding your Zone' its credibility is the fact that Lardon is an MD who has done research on the Zone over many years and is an athlete himself, who competed internationally at the highest level. From this experience and his work with top athletes, Dr. Lardon provides great anecdotes to help illustrate the book's points. 'Finding Your Zone' is one of the best books I have read of this genre. It is a wonderful read and I recommend it highly!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    A must read for all who want to achieve their life goals!

    This book is a gem. In ¿Finding Your Zone¿ Dr. Michael Lardon uses clear and concise language to articulate ten lessons that when practiced together lead to peak performance and a successful life. The principles that Dr. Lardon articulates are simple and ring true. Dr Lardon, a sports psychiatrist, has for many years studied a state of being that he calls the ¿Zone¿ or ¿timeless time¿. These are the moments in life when we achieve complete synchronicity between thoughts and actions and perform at our highest level. Dr. Lardon writes that in this state we can accomplish great physical feats yet the mind, paradoxically, remains empty and still. ¿Finding Your Zone¿ identifies ten life lessons that allow us to achieve this optimum state. Dr. Lardon illustrates each lesson with colorful examples that he has observed both in his clinical psychiatric practice and as a sports psychologist to top-level athletes. His firsthand stories about PGA golfers will delight any sports fan. He brings each lesson home to the reader by providing simple yet profound exercises that give the reader a direct experience of the lesson at issue. Finding Your Zone has inspired me to reach for my highest potential and has given me tools to get there. I whole-heartedly recommend ¿Finding Your Zone¿ to anyone who wants to achieve their life goals.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    Professor Boggan's review

    Sports psychiatrist Dr. Mike Lardon is well known for having worked with PGA, NFL, and Olympic athletes. For almost 35 years he and his family have been friends with my family¿originally through the now-Olympic sport of table tennis. Mike and my sons Scott and Eric won the 1976 U.S. Junior Team Championships at Detroit¿s Cobo Hall, and later that year Mike, experiencing for a time his own ¿Zone,¿ was a finalist in the U.S. Junior Singles Championships at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas. Because of our shared table tennis and golf experiences 'I was once Captain of my University Golf Team', I re-live in reading Mike¿s book much of my own competitive experience, for almost all those who take sports or anything else seriously probably at some time or other have been in a ¿Zone¿¿that is, where you perform at your highest level, but likely don¿t know how it happened. To take an example from my own life¿and Mike¿s book urges you to interrelate like doctor/patient, teacher/student¿when in the 1960¿s six-time U.S. Table Tennis Champion Dal-Joon Lee had not lost a single match to any native-born U.S. player, I opened my eventual loss to him with an unbelievable 21-8 first-game win. When that game was over, I had no idea that I¿d built up such a score, or even that the game had ended. For a moment in Time, but only for a moment, I¿d been in a no-thought trance¿the ¿Zone.¿ How to do it again and again? Since that¿s what aspiring winners want to know, Mike¿s aim in this book is to share Lessons he¿s learned to help you try to find, repeatedly, this elusive ¿Zone.¿ Lesson One stresses the importance of dreams, even daydreams. They can lead you to the path of ¿self-actualization,¿ to your ¿inner drive for higher values and purpose,¿ and so to the ¿Zone.¿ Write them down, think about them¿they¿ll provide internalized energy and direction for you. And perhaps some revelations. Mike gives the example of Dr. Jonas Salk discovering the polio vaccine. During one of his recurrent dreams, ¿he was able to manipulate his perspective from observer to the subject itself, the virus. He said that in this state of being the virus, he saw his own 'the virus¿s' vulnerability¿¿and the vaccine followed. Mike had sometimes caddied for his brother Brad, for years a golf pro playing the PGA circuit, and thus had occasion to learn vicariously from watching some of the best golfers. He was struck¿and wants you to be too¿by how Phil Mickelson, positioned to win the Masters, ¿was napping just prior to teeing off.¿ It showed how prepared he was, how confident he was¿how he¿d made the inevitable anxiety, the tension needed to perform, manageable. ¿Fuel your determination to succeed with unwavering commitment,¿ says Mike. Lesson Three describes ¿your most powerful ally: will.¿ Mike¿s speed-skater friend Eric Heiden ¿played with pain.¿ During his coldest practice sessions in a Wisconsin winter, he¿d persevere when others left the ice. How¿d he do it? By remembering how he used to test himself in summers by sitting in an automobile with the windows closed and the heat on, seeing how long he could endure it. Then in the dead of winter he¿d practice this ¿solipsism¿¿his mind convincingly modifying reality so as to adapt this remembered warmth to the cold. Lesson: manage your reality, strengthen your will. Lessons Four and Five I, as a now aging golfer, have to pay strict attention to¿for I hit many bad shots and ¿freeze¿ on short putts. Problem is: I¿m result-oriented, I¿m afraid I¿ll mishit and add another stroke to my already burgeoning total. What you, Tim, and others like you need, says teacher Mike, is a homework assignment. You¿re all to keep two scorecards¿one for your actual score, the other for those times you unconsciously know what you¿re supposed to do and unhesitatingly do it. For example, you read the line you want your putt to take and just smoothly stroke the ball. Nothing last-second extra is needed. Especially not thought. Keep it simple. ADD an

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    Resetting the Bar for Reaching Your Potential

    As an avid athlete and physician/psychiatrist myself, I found Dr. Lardon's book not only academically precise and professionally sound, but on a personal note, quite inspirational. The wealth of clinical experience he brings to his work with athletes lends a legitimacy that other so- called 'zone coaches' cannot claim. 'Finding Your Zone' is written in an easy, yet inspiring manner that will aid both the amateur and professional athlete alike, as well as anyone who cares about bringing to life their true best self. I have read much of the sport literature, and this book stands above the rest for its accessibility, its beautiful and relevant real-world examples, and Dr. Lardon's passion for his craft, which is evident from page one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    Dr Lardon's perspective re. 'peak performance',derived not only from his own personal experiences backed up by medical, scientific research, but from the personal stories of world class athletes as well, comes across as genuine and authentic. It's also a delightful read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2008

    Great hands on tool

    Finding Your Zone is the best sports psychology book I've read since Golf is not a game of Perfect. I am a golf coach and this book gives me a hands on tool for my students that makes sense and breeds success. Dr. Lardon's book maybe be a little dry because of the interesting scientific explations but his personal stories about athletes are funny-especially Eric Heiden. A good read for the serious golfer who wants to get their head together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    Better Quality of Life/Improved Golf Game

    This book is to the point and could not be more helpful with the tools it gives all to succeed at the highest levels in Life. My thought process is getting better but more importantly my quality of life is improving.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2008

    mind work in high intensity situations

    Dr. Lardon's approach for shaping one's mind to achieve goals in sports and all of life is fabulous. When I recommended the book to a couple of pro drivers they confirmed this is precisely 'the stuff to elevate peformance when every second and every move count'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    Great Graduation Gift

    I love this book and am giving it to all my friends' kids who are graduating high school and college this year. Most of us know the 'zone' is out there, but don't really know what it is--Dr. Lardon helps us to understand and tap into that power in an easily understandable and entertaining way. I've read a lot of 'self-help/motivational/discover the secret' books, and Finding Your Zone blows most of them away--it is a fun read and, most importantly, explains how one can implement its concepts into every day life. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    Find Your Zone

    Finding the Zone is a great read. Interesting personal stories and great insight on improving yourself both in sports and in life. Highly recommended!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    A must read for all athletes!

    By far the most practical and understandable explanation of a phenomenon that has always been described as magical and unexplainable. Dr. Lardon does a great job of explaining 'The Zone' and gives all of us a handbook for achieving our own peak performance. This book is a must read for all athletes looking to take their game to the next level

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1