Customer Reviews for

A Fine Balance

Average Rating 4.5
( 185 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Time well spent

This book was long, over 600 pages, however I wished it was longer. I still see glimpses of the characters I met in the book in the lives of real people today.

posted by Anonymous on March 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

difficult reading

This was a fascinating story, but the copy on my Nook was very hard to read since apparently a machine (not a person) converted it from print to electronic often resulting in nonsense words. Worst example: any word with an apostrophe (especially I'm) is converted to som...
This was a fascinating story, but the copy on my Nook was very hard to read since apparently a machine (not a person) converted it from print to electronic often resulting in nonsense words. Worst example: any word with an apostrophe (especially I'm) is converted to something indecipherable. This often completely breaks the flow of reading in trying to decide if the word is in Indian dialect or a misprint. I've seen this sort of thing in other books, but this one is the worst. I would recommend against bothering with the electronic form.

posted by ga4444 on January 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    You will not forget the characters, their life journeys or their India. This book has it all! The only book in the past several years that I have given or recommended without reservation. Buy it, sit down and devour it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    Time well spent

    This book was long, over 600 pages, however I wished it was longer. I still see glimpses of the characters I met in the book in the lives of real people today.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2006

    Share it with everyone you know

    Although I finished the book over a month ago, I am still moved and enthralled by it. I am still recommending it. Although filled with horrific occurrences, the characters, their relationships and their love for each other continues to live with me. In any good book the characters become friends, in this book, they were truely a part of me, not only for the mere 3 days it took to read the book, but even today.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    I thought about this book for days after I read it.

    It was a great read, brutally honest and sad. And yet the human spirit seems to prevail...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Painfully, emotionally hard to read, but then so is life to live

    Painfully, emotionally hard to read, but then so is life to live at times.  This story made India and the people come alive to 
    me in such a way that when I spent a month backpacking thru small villages as well as crowded cities I was seeing India
    as if thru eyes that seemed to have already seen it.  I seemed to have already felt it, smelled it, and been hurt and fallen in love with it
    and indeed I had.   Mr. Mistry's writing had transported me there and shown me India's essence before my physical body had
    the experience.
    Just read it if you have the emotional fortitude.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    A Pleasure To Read

    Funny, sad, intriguing, thought provoking, and moving.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read

    Mistry, in his simple prose, puts a face to the nameless tragedies that befall the poorest and loneliest peoples in India. His characters are likeable because of their imperfections, their struggles within an without that draw us in. This story invites the reader to partake of the tragedies and triumphs, the humanity and brutality that exist within the Indian landscape. You are at once repulsed and drawn in.

    I was sorry to see the story end and hope to read more from this brilliant author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    Incredible

    Of the books I've read in my life, this one is my favorite so far. It is challenging and moving, heart-wrenching and inspirational. Even after hundreds of pages and a cover so warn by reading that it could hardly stay bound, I found myself sad to finish it, like saying farewell to an old friend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book - Sad ending!

    A Fine Balance is a well written book with a great story line. It allowed me to have a better understanding for the culture in India and the upheaval that was experienced during the 1970's due to the national Emergency. It is a book that is definitely worth the time to read but it is not the most upbeat book out there!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    Don't be put off by the book's ending...

    Others' reviews have said this book has a bad ending. It's not bad, it's ironic. Once you've read this wonderful book and understand Maneck and the world he shared with the other tragic characters, you will see. This is a very moving story. If you like books that expose you to different worlds and new ideas, this is a book for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    I keep buying it

    From page I was wrapped into the characters' world. I lost count of how many copies I've given away. It is a must have.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    Full of depth

    I read this book many years ago in HS. This book made me smile, laugh, and it broke my heart as well. It is my absolute favorite book and I recommend it to everyone. It opens your eyes a bit to the world. I see life in a different way since reading this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    For those who fear becoming blaze about the hard-won rights and

    For those who fear becoming blaze about the hard-won rights and vast priviledges available to North Americans, this is the book for you. Four characters, each mistreated and without legal recourse in a corrupt society, find a way, through friendship and caring for each other, to render life not only liveable, but treasured. A riveting, inspiring story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Hahaha

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    The most beautiful book I have ever read. I could not get the c

    The most beautiful book I have ever read. I could not get the characters out of my mind for days after I finished it. I found that the ending of the book was utterly devastating yet fitting. I read this book back when Oprah first put it on her list and I can still say, that I will never forget it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Mikael

    Sorrpracrice from sunris to sundown

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Fantastic read

    One of the best books i have ever read, very moving.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    Loved this book

    Loved this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    a strong book that stays with you after you have finished reading it.

    This is a beautifully written book which moves at a fast pace. It is difficult to read because of the description of the events which occur. However, it is fascinating and sensitive----this book is finely balanced.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Pretty amazing book

    This book is a must read. Very sad and touching. Characters are well developed and like real - you will find yourself rooting for them and crying with them.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7