Customer Reviews for

Fingal O'Reilly, Irish Doctor: An Irish Country Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    His usual mixture of laughter and tears, intriguing characters,

    His usual mixture of laughter and tears, intriguing characters, solid plotting, and fascinating information about medicine of long ago.
    Probably the best in the series so far.
    Please, please keep them coming.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Charming and delightful

    Thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Simultaneously couldn't put it down, but didn't want to come to the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    must read

    All of Patrick Taylor's books are interesting - hard to put down until finished. Interesting to learn how "rural" medicine is done, interesting to compare the past with the current also.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2013

    wonderful series

    We have listened to all 8 books in the series, and loved every one of them. The characters are now 'friends' to us and we look forward to the next chapters in their lives. This audio book ran 16.5 hours, and kept us entertained for a good chunk of time. The story was interesting, and took us back and forth between Fingal's earlier days and the present. I can't wait to see how the story progresses in the next book. This book seemed to have more medical information in it than some of the previous books, which I thought slowed the story down a bit, but it was easy to understand, and some of it was actually informative. I highly recommend this series... and especially the audio version with the thick Irish accents of the characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Always a Pleasure

    This series reminds one of the "All Creatures Great and Small" books by Herriot - beautifully capturing a time and place gone by, giving terrific character studies with a lot of heart, and actually giving a good picture of the art and science of medicine at the time. Patrick Taylor always leaves you wanting to know more about the missing years.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Another good read in the Irish Country series

    I always look forward to the next book in this series. This book went back and forth between the latest timeframe and the beginning of Dr. O'Reilly's career. This book helped me see how his young adult life shaped him into the man and Dr. I have come to love in all the Irish country books. I enjoyed this book and am looking forward to the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    I love the way Patrick Taylor writes, not the most difficult rea

    I love the way Patrick Taylor writes, not the most difficult read, but a great way to escape. I've read each of the books in the series, this one is a little more political, but I though it made the characters even more realistic. Can't wait for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Another brilliant book by Patrick Taylor, wonderful descriptions

    Another brilliant book by Patrick Taylor, wonderful descriptions of Dr. O'Reilly in Dublin. 
    This one has to be the best, I could not put the book down .
    I look forward to his next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Number 8

    Anxiously awaiting #9

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    High Recommended

    If you like anything Irish in the 60's this series is a must. Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2