BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Finger Lickin' Fifteen (Stephanie Plum Series #15)

Average Rating 4
( 1232 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(598)

4 Star

(316)

3 Star

(180)

2 Star

(80)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Stephanie's at it Again..

Stephanie Plum is back out looking for skips in Janet Evanovich's 15th Plum novel.. 15 is fun, funny, and a bit frustrating. I wish she would just break-up Stephanie and Morelli already and get Ranger and Stephanie together again and STOP nibbling around the edges! This...
Stephanie Plum is back out looking for skips in Janet Evanovich's 15th Plum novel.. 15 is fun, funny, and a bit frustrating. I wish she would just break-up Stephanie and Morelli already and get Ranger and Stephanie together again and STOP nibbling around the edges! This would have been the perfect story to do that in. With Steph staying at Rangers' and helping him out with his problem it would have made much more sense. But, the story is entertaining Lula & Grandma are always good for a hoot. I'm already waiting for #16!

posted by BookChickNY on June 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Same, Same, Same.

First, I've actually read this book and the review that says Ranger and Steph tie the knot and Ranger looks to his East coast partners is no where in this book. Whoever wrote that review didn't read JE's Fingerlickin' Fifteen.

This book is 1-14 with different names ...
First, I've actually read this book and the review that says Ranger and Steph tie the knot and Ranger looks to his East coast partners is no where in this book. Whoever wrote that review didn't read JE's Fingerlickin' Fifteen.

This book is 1-14 with different names and crimes. Well, even some of the crimes are the same. Firebombers, flashers, a murderer or two. Steph loses a few cars (2 are Rangers, 1 is Lula's Firebird). She's off-again with Joe but that doesn't last, as always. She spends half the book in Ranger's apartment but nothing happens, he's concentrating on saving his business. Lula and grandma provide a chuckle or two with bbq sauce and Joyce gives Joe a toxic supper.

In summary, I'm getting seriously tired of Steph reflecting on her life and saying "WHAT am I doing?" After a certain period of time in a normal series, a person has to answer that question and move forward. It's part of what holds interest in the storyline. JE might have wanted to draw out her books by keeping Steph 30 yrs old, and it might have worked for a while, but after reading the same book for years it's not working anymore. Save your money and get it from the library.

posted by barbedwire on May 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1239 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 62
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    Same, Same, Same.

    First, I've actually read this book and the review that says Ranger and Steph tie the knot and Ranger looks to his East coast partners is no where in this book. Whoever wrote that review didn't read JE's Fingerlickin' Fifteen.

    This book is 1-14 with different names and crimes. Well, even some of the crimes are the same. Firebombers, flashers, a murderer or two. Steph loses a few cars (2 are Rangers, 1 is Lula's Firebird). She's off-again with Joe but that doesn't last, as always. She spends half the book in Ranger's apartment but nothing happens, he's concentrating on saving his business. Lula and grandma provide a chuckle or two with bbq sauce and Joyce gives Joe a toxic supper.

    In summary, I'm getting seriously tired of Steph reflecting on her life and saying "WHAT am I doing?" After a certain period of time in a normal series, a person has to answer that question and move forward. It's part of what holds interest in the storyline. JE might have wanted to draw out her books by keeping Steph 30 yrs old, and it might have worked for a while, but after reading the same book for years it's not working anymore. Save your money and get it from the library.

    30 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Author is losing her audience

    The author needs to break the Stephanie Plum series rut and give the readers a new direction. The book is the same old, same old. Time to give Stephanie and Ranger a romance. since she is contracted for only sixteen books, its time to let Ranger and Stephanie have a romantic mystery challenge. The chemistry and the laughs are better brtween the two. Morelli and Stephanie's romance has run its course, should have been over in book six. Why drag it on - its predictable and tiring. It's time for Stephanie Plum to grow up and let go of her teenage years. You can't stay a teenager forever in a thirty something year old body. And,no latino man would wait this long for a woman to make up her mind. If the author doesn't want to put Ranger and Stephanie together, then give Ranger a woman with substance. Time to shake this series up!!!!!! If not it doesn't pay to keep reading or spending the money for the books. By the time Stephanie Plum makes it to the movies no one will care!!!!!

    24 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    She should just end it

    This series is way past it's prime. It should have ended three books ago with 12.

    This was supposed to be a book that had Ranger and Steph together. What happened to that?? Instead we will get Steph feeling guilty about helping Ranger. Same old stuff.

    Ms Evanovich has stated that a choice will be made as to who Stephanie will end up with. She is making it perfectly clear what that choice is. Since I have no desire to read about Joe and his "Cupcake" I will spend my dollars elsewhere.

    24 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2009

    Ranger book??

    After last year's abysmal Fearless Fourteen, it was hinted that Finger Lickin Fifteen would be a "Ranger book". I think that I, like many readers, were hoping for something new a different in this book. A book, where after fifteen years of the titilating triangle, we would finally get a book where the author would "shake it up", give readers the long awaited chance to see what would happen if Stephanie and Ranger tried "together" - just ONCE.

    At least that is what I interpreted what a "Ranger book" would be. Oh, he's in there - a LOT - but, alas, it once again goes NOWHERE. In fact, I would say all those Ranger Pages are just a tease, to keep us reading and buying books.

    In fact, without rehashing the whole plot(?) of this book, nobody goes anywhere. It is the same old, same old - characters bumbling along, my heroine is STILL broke, is no better at what she does, cars explode, an apartment is fire-bombed - yada, yada, yada.

    This is NOT the Ranger book I anticipated. In fact, it is no different that any of the other books. The triangle lives on.

    I will have to say goodbye to Plum. I cannot see myself reading the same old stuff for fifteen more years. After all, just how long can this go on? Even if the world of fiction, it has to be somewhat believable.

    16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    Same story

    The 15th instalment for Stephanie Plum has her helping Ranger, sort of off again with Morelli, blowing up cars and spending time sleeping at Ranger's apartment, while also juggling Grandma Mazur and Lula. The scenes and situations read pretty much the same as in previous books, although this time Stephanie gets knee-deep in barbeque sauce and stuffed into a hot dog. This is probably a book for someone who's either new to the series or who is looking for a beach read to skim in an hour or two.

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Finger Lickin Lousy

    I'm surprised by all the five star reviews given to this book. I can only give it two since it was a major improvement over fourteen and I actually borrowed the book instead of buying it. Either you love that JE follows a formula for each book with the same conversations, bounty hunting mistakes and lack of progress in the love triangle, or you're frustrated by the lack of any character growth, editing mistakes and dialogue pulled directly out of previous books. I also wonder at the age demographic she's writing these last two or three books for. The fart jokes, runs, flasher...etc. just seem a little pre-teen. I don't expect great literature when I pick up a Stephanie Plum book, but I do expect a fresh story where the author has put in some effort out of respect for her loyal readers. What a disappointment. Again.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    It could have been so much better

    After the abysmal Fearless Fourteen last year, I was ready to give up the series, but then I heard Finger Lickin' Fifteen was a Ranger book, and I got excited all over again.

    Big mistake.

    While there's slightly more Ranger in 15 than there was in 14, the book just didn't cut it for me. It was better written than 14, back to Janet's old standard, but executed just as poorly. What disappoints me the most, though, is that it had the potential to be so much better. The plot of Ranger having a mole inside his security company is largely underused and more or less discarded at the very end, while the plot of Lula witnessing a murder is stretched so thin it tears itself apart. If the time spent on those two aspects of the book had been reversed-more of Rangeman and less of Lula-it would have been a more interesting and action-packed book. As it is, the book moves at a snail's pace until the last ten pages, when Evanovich tries to wrap everything up as abruptly as possible. It's almost as if she stops at the precise moment she reaches the minimum word count for a book priced at $27.95 and decides, plausibility be darned, the book is finished.

    And am I the only one who's sick to death of teenage geek gamers and crude bathroom humor and male genitalia?

    I also hate that Evanovich takes great strides in keeping Stephanie stagnant and inept, both in her professional and personal lives, often at the expense of the plot and other characters surrounding her. What used to be endearing and humorous is now irritating and monotonous, like a word that loses its meaning when repeated over and over again. I find it very hard to root for or empathize with a character who routinely internalizes the problems in her life yet does nothing to resolve them.

    Overall, the book was a waste. A waste of time. A waste of money. A waste of words.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    Please end this series

    I used to love this series, but it has become the same thing over and over again, Stephanie's cars blowing up, back and forth between Joe and Ranger, crazy grandma etc. It is time to end this series. How about Sixteen Over and Out.

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny in spots but overall very disappointing...

    I so agree with Christy Brooke's assessment of this book. I was so excited to read this installment, and I must say that I am very disappointed. Whereas I have laughed and laughed--OUT LOUD-- at the antics of the characters in earlier books, I found myself rolling my eyes instead at many of the scenes. I mean just how many cars can Stephanie really destroy?!! There were story lines that weren't tied up as I felt that they needed to be. Was there a reward to be gained at the end or not? And--come on--no lovin' in the whole book??? This is a sad review to write as I have so looked forward to this book--now I will read the reviews BEFORE I buy my own copy.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Stephanie's at it Again..

    Stephanie Plum is back out looking for skips in Janet Evanovich's 15th Plum novel.. 15 is fun, funny, and a bit frustrating. I wish she would just break-up Stephanie and Morelli already and get Ranger and Stephanie together again and STOP nibbling around the edges! This would have been the perfect story to do that in. With Steph staying at Rangers' and helping him out with his problem it would have made much more sense. But, the story is entertaining Lula & Grandma are always good for a hoot. I'm already waiting for #16!

    9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    STEPHANIE PLUM RULES THE WORLD

    I have been reading this series for quite some time. I encourage everyone I know to read it as well. It is so nice to sit down and laugh out loud with people staring at you wondering what is so funny. What a wonderful escape from the stress of daily life. Thank you and continue to entertain us with your creativity. What about the movie?

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    This is more like it!

    I was ready to jump the Evanovich ship after her last two offerings, the boring Lean Mean Thirteen and the horribly executed Fearless Fourteen. I was pleasantly surprised to find a book that will keep me interested in a series and characters that I'd come to love. I had hated the silly slapstick humor of the last two books and I was happy to see the witty writing that Evanovich can do so well. Yes, there is some potty humor but I found myself laughing throughout this book in a way I've not laughed in a long time.
    Ranger figures prominently in this book due to the thefts at his security accounts and there are numerous, toe curling Ranger moments to keep a Ranger fan happy.
    As a previous reviewer stated, the plot, not a Evanovich strong point, is pretty good and Stephanie does a good job figuring out the thefts. She's at her best when she's encouraged to use her head and Ranger does a good job of encouraging and respecting her talents.
    I suspect old time Plum fans may be frustrated with the lack of a decision in regards to Stephanie's personal relationships. If you're expecting resolution to that thorny problem, you will be disappointed. Morelli isn't around much and I have to laugh at Ms. Evanovich's skill in writing situations which bring a little indignity to the character of Morelli. In this book, he's suffering from a case of the 'scoots'.
    All in all, an enjoyable, humorous book. FLF is the book I expected after the dark and moving Twelve Sharp. This reader gives FLF a solid B.

    6 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Big Improvement from Fourteen

    Finger Lickin' Fifteen has elements that long time fans will appreciate, as Janet is back to the writing style we know and love after the deviations of Fearless Fourteen and, to a lesser extent, LMT. As a friend just said to me, "Ahhh - we have Ranger back." Plot is not Janet's strongest suit, but this one is good enough, with Stephanie on board to help Ranger identify the saboteur of his company. The fact that Ranger turned to her to help save his company speaks volumes about his feelings for her, although Janet keeps the physical expression of that mostly in check. There is some sexual tension and innuendo, but true Ranger-philes will bemoan the lack of intense physical activity, while Morelli-philes will bemoan the complete lack of Morelli, whose brief appearances function as a plot device to keep Steph and Ranger platonic.

    Ranger enlists Steph's help in finding out who is trying to destroy his business by turning off the security system and robbing clients. The ending is a bit abrupt, and seasoned fans will miss the Merry Men, who, with the exception of Tank and Hal, do not appear. Meanwhile, Lula observes a beheading of a celebrity chef and works with Grandma Mazur to develop the perfect barbeque sauce to 'smoke' out the rather inept killers, who are now after her.

    Meanwhile Steph still has her bunch of crazy FTA's, including a flasher, and she is still is lacking the skills to catch them. While her brain is right on the money figuring out Ranger's problem, she is still woefully uninterested in upping her skill level to advance herself. Most annoying - especially after 15 books.

    On the whole, the book is a vast improvement on Janet's most recent offering (#14), but doesn't quite equal the quality writing of Twelve Sharp. The one thing I absolutely hated was the last line, which was exactly the same as one Steph spoke in Eleven on Top. I know it's not plagiarism, but really - isn't there some sort of rule against authors duplicating their lines?

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Evanovich does it again...

    Stephanie Plum is at it again, in another adventure by the numbers. Janet Evanovich entertains us again with another season in the life of Stephanie, her sidekick Lula, her family, and the men in her life. I read this book in about 2 days, as it is so hard to put down! I have followed the series from book 1 and HIGHLY recommend all of Evanovich's books to anyone who likes fast action and thrills along with the laughs and entertainment. I can't wait for the next installment!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Just Didn't Cut It!

    I love JE and have read all her books but this one was flat, redundant and really only funny in a couple places. Very disappointing. JE is going to have to come up with some new ideas before I shell out bucks for her hardcover next time. Is she running out of story lines? We'll see.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sloppy and unoriginal

    I fell in love with Stephanie Plum and the whole gang years ago. I drove hundreds of miles to have my book signed and read everything that JE had even written while waiting for the next number book. I have to say that after reading the majority of her books I have found the storylines used over and over again. There are blaring inconsistencies that maybe JE doesn't care about but as an avid reader I find it almost disrespectful that no one seems to edit. No one checks to make sure Stephanie's mom has the same name in each book or like in this book Stephanie's mother mentions they will have pineapple upside down cake for dinner and then 2 chapters later Stephanie talks about finishing the chocolate cake. These are minor things that someone needs to double check and JE and her editor need to give her readers a little more credit.

    I also felt like the last 20 pages of the book were in fast forward and the whole thing was haphazardly put together. The Morelli/Ranger thing is going no where and has not been going anywhere since Twelve Sharp. Is the author just trying to drag us along? This is getting almost painful.

    I expect more of Janet Evanovich, perhaps that is wrong of me. I would love to see more quality or at least entertaining books from her and if that ship has sailed and she is done writing then I wish she would wrap things up and move on.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2009

    Quick easy read but series should end

    While I find the stories funny. I am tired of the so called love triangle and the plots are getting weaker by the book. Maybe it is time to end the series. Marry Stephanie off and start writing a new character like Barney from Motor Mouth.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So typical of the others...

    Sorry it just is the same as the others...

    If you read any of the others you've read this...

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    ALWAYS A HOOT!

    I love Janet's sense of humor and her talent for putting it on paper! Truly entertaining with Stephanie's bumbling but she's multi-dimensional, cognitive endeavors, love of life and love....ALWAYS A HOOT!! Yet another bestseller! Well worth your time!!! Don't miss it! I also recommend THE 8th CONFESSION by Patterson and EXPLOSION IN PARIS by Pirrung

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    Very Disappointed

    It seems as if Janet Evanovich has gotten tired of Stephanie Plum. The characters aren't as funny as they were, the people Stephanie is chasing have no depth as in the past, the story didn't seem to go anywhere. There was a lot of potential for the hilarious interactions of the past but everything fell flat. Glad I borrowed it from the library and didn't buy it!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1239 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 62